The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Neibauer Dentalfraud

too much pressure to sell dental to me and when i went for second opinion they lied about what i needed . very mad . chain dentisry. they have convenient office hours and thats what lured me . do not go there they are out for you pockets . if you go you'll see what i mean

Responses

  • Na
    Nacombs Jul 04, 2016

    I went to the one in centreville a while back I have no complaint regarding services but my last visit I had a 220 ish bill that was being run through my insurance and I told the girl at the front desk to bill it to my fortiva account as it was auto pay and I still had quite a bit of credit available... Needless to say they didn't and while I was out of town dealing with a family emergency they sent it to collections who posted to my credit report... Now I have no clue if there is any recourse to fix it. I'm not too picky about most things but when I ask someone in a professional field to do something I expect them to do it. In this case they wrecked my credit which has taken years to get where it was.

    0 Votes
  • Dd
    ddtomato Apr 21, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I went because of care of a broken filling in tooth...was told I would need a crown. I paid cash for a crown before so I had a pretty good idea of the costs...or so I thought. I had the crown done and it fell off not once but twice.
    I was told they were affiliated with my insurance...they were not within my preferred providers' plan. I paid every time I went in whether it came from my savings or on a credit card. I am still trying to find out what the total bill was. I held off paying the last amount until everything was accepted from the insurance...I still could not get a total print out. The amount of the bill finally came out the same for two billings...I paid it only to find out months later they turned it in for collections, which I have no notice or bill or address of the collection agency and only two phone calls that came after I paid the bill in full. Now they are claiming I owe 55 dollars more. This happened in the Prince Frederick, Maryland office.
    NEVER RECOMEND THIS DENTAL NETWORK TO ANYONE...OR GET ALL PRICING UP FRONT...AND YES DEFINATELY GET A SECOND OPINION.
    I have since changed dentists again... which he refers to my "made in china " crown.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    P. Anne G. Dec 15, 2014

    I will agree that there are SOME doctors that over do it with the treatment. But I wouldn't judge all doctors under the Neibauer name. The one I deal with in Leesburg is very honest and conservative when it comes to treatment.
    As for the cost - if you think you are being charged too much, pay attention! If you have dental insurance, Neibauer offices use your insurance companies' contracted fee schedule! Yes, they have their own offices fees, but if you have insurance the insurance company sets the fees dental offices are allowed to charge. If your fees seem high, it's probably your insurance. If your coverage seems off, your coverage probably doesn't cover certain procedures. Familiarize yourself with your policy!

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    t_in_hampton Dec 14, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband and I were patients at the Fredericksburg, Va. location but refuse to go there anymore because of similiar complaints to everyone else. Basically, it's all about the money and you are treated like a number instead
    of a person/patient. Be suspect of them and don't be afraid to get a second opinion.

    0 Votes
  • No
    no-so-sure-you're-legit Oct 09, 2014

    Upon my first visit, i was told I needed a crown replaced which I hadn't had for 8 years. That turned into a 4 visits and a root canal. Now not even a year later, I am being told that I need a 2 filings replaced one of which will require a root canal because, of course, I'm told it wasn't done right the first time. Fine, maybe I have bad luck, but I certainly work hard at caring for my teeth ever since my first crown. I begin thinking, how can I continue to have problems after working so hard to care for my teeth? Then my wife goes for a visit the next day and she is told she has a cavity. So what? No big deal. The catch:, my wife had never had a cavity in her life until 6 months ago. She reportedly had two fillings, comes back, and has a 3rd? A young lady with a lifetime of perfect teeth and impeccable and admirable dental hygiene has 3 cavities in 2 visits. Myself, on my second root canal of my life in the same year, a new alleged cavity, and a need for another replacement filling. Has our oral hygiene gone downhill in the last year? No, if anything we've worked harder since the beginning of our year was traumatic enough. The only thing that changed in the last year was our dentist. We will be getting second opinions and changing dentists, nonetheless. We are completely suspicious of Fairfax location.

    2 Votes
  • St
    Staffordva Jun 20, 2014

    Never go to Neibauer!! I had 2 root canals and crowns done at the Garrisonville rd location in Stafford. Ever since I had to go back to the office in excruciating pain three times!! They even charged me for the visits that were only due to their negligence!! The Dr had to refer me out to an endodontist and I've seen him once now and have to see him again on a few days! 5 visits I've had so far after!!! I made the mistake and paidw Neibauer over thousands of dollars out of pocket after insurance was maxed out. I've lost all that money and am still having to see an endo for the wretched/ incomplete root canal job I got. I am filing a grievance and looking into filing a lawsuit. Protect yourself and please take yourself and your family to somewhere else! This is a chain dentistry that has no regard for patients. They are rude and careless.

    1 Votes
  • Fa
    farhan chohan Dec 16, 2013

    They are theives and rip you off. They lied to me about everything and charged me 3 times more. They are very unprofessional but it goods that I went there only once and they will never have my business again. This is why please do not go there even if you have insurance.

    1 Votes
  • Wo
    Worse than the Root Canal Oct 30, 2013

    USED CAR SALES FOR DENTISTRY IS RIGHT! They had me sign an agreement to pay the balance of a root canal $600, after the insurance portion. Sat me in the chair for 3 hours, and the dentist/hygenist work on other people teeth, with my mouth held open (for 3 hours) with 2 contraptions, just for them to tell me, a month later, on the day to have the permanent cap placed that I owe $1600.00, and how will I pay the balance, because the after the service, it was verified that they do not take my or my husband insurance. AFTER THE SERVICE!!!

    1 Votes
  • Kc
    kchadwell Sep 27, 2013

    This dental office told my son that he needed to have 5 cavities filled but when he got a second opinion the new dental office said he had one small cavity. They told me that 4 of my teeth were beyond repair and needed to be pulled and dentures made. They also told me one tooth needed to be capped and that a filling would not work even though I had a filling that worked for over 40 years. They seem to be far more interested in sales and making money than they do about the patient. I have had no pain or issues with the teeth they told me are beyond repair. I also told them to do a cleaning that was covered by my insurance but when the appointment was over they charged me $50 and told me I was not on a normal cleaning plan. I will never use their services again and would advise anybody who goes there to get a second opinion before having any work done.

    0 Votes
  • Kc
    kchadwell Sep 27, 2013

    Neibauer Dental is awful. They told my son he had 5 cavities but when he went to another dentist he was told that he had one small cavity. I went today and they told me 4 teeth were beyond fixing and they need to be pulled and I needed dentures. They also told me a needed a tooth capped and that a filling would not work even though it has been filled for 40+ years with no issues. I walked out with them telling me I needed $2, 000 in work. They are just looking to make money. I will never go back to them again and will find a more up front and honest dental office for my families care. I would be very careful about taking their advice and get a second opinion.

    1 Votes
  • Le
    LESTER LEE Apr 28, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I like that people that expressed their opinions about the dental clinic. I feel that the person that said [in effect] that' if you take care of your teeth you will not need a dentist'; is way, way off base with that retort. If that comment was true; how does one explain wisdom teeth? Injuries? Teeth that are growing in crooked from childhood? Some people are on medications and some have inheritance issues that complicate teeth formation. None of these issues would be prevented by 'taking care of your teeth.' AND in most cases, require a dental consultation. A dentist is also needed to help steer a person in the right direction to [hopefully] avoid HAVING TO GO to a dentist.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Betsy Ahrens Apr 20, 2013

    I went to Niebauer in Manassas to have my denture a soft reline. I also asked for my other denture to be sent out for a hard reline. They screwed up the soft reline so bad, I cancelled the hard reline. I have been waiting since the end of February for my refund and today on April 19, they told me another month. I am through with them and don't go.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    corey301 Aug 09, 2012

    Any one have tricare? If you do you need to file a grievance with the company about the workings of Neibauer. They should not be taking on military families. They are a scam and should be denied all military families on tricare. Fro me even after insurance was paid they came back to me to try and get me to pay what the insurance company did not. That's against the tricare rules. They are not suppose to do that. They are suppose to write off the remaining balance not bill the customer. I also got a mouth gaurd from them and they told me that insurance would completely pay for them both. When insurance was billed one of my insurances came back denying the service. The office should have know that they didn't cover it but they told me it was covered. The damn mouthguard doesn't even fit and I don't wear it because it hurts my teeth. I sent the dang thing back to them. Then they did a crown on one of my teeth. The tooth was very weak and the dentist that did it went back to india or somewhere. 1.5 months later the crown came off and I told them that they need to credit that crown back to my insurance company and they wouldn't. Now i'm in a battle with them currently but I am not giving up. I very well may sue the crap out of them for their faulty practices. Class act lawsuit...anyboby down to join me?

    2 Votes
  • An
    Angry mom012 Jun 19, 2012

    DO NOT GO TO NEIBAUER!!! They told me my son had 8 cavaties and it sounded strange, so I got a 2nd opinion and he had NONE!! They told me my daughter had a cavity in the back but she really didn't have one there. This makes us believe all of the work we had done there has been LIES. The Pakistani female doctor has been there and lies to us every time and tried to get us to pay 1000s of dollors. Strange enough everytime we have been we've had cavaties.

    1 Votes
  • Pr
    Princess Amani Apr 25, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would like to say that everyone's complaints regarding Neibauer Dental Offices is absolutely true!! While the dentist and his chair assistant were very nice people, the way the company is run is totally as a used car salesman - they are out for your money! Their complete service is geared towards how quickly they can get you back into their office again! Unfortunately, when I went I was already in pain and had a terrible infection inside of a cavity. So, they had me at their mercy. But to their disadvantage, I have been to the dentitst before and I had a great dentist in Southern Va - but I had moved to Northern VA and had not yet obtained a new dentist. First, they attempted to FORCE me to sign a statement that said I would not hold them liable for my filling if I did not immediately purchase a crown within two weeks. I realize that a crown is needed following a filling, but it's not usually immeidately. I still have my last filling with no crown from EIGHT years ago. I did not sign anything, but I did proceed to obtain the root canal and the filling. I obtained the filling in Dec - it is now April and the filling is gone! It is as though they placed silly puddy in my tooth that simply dissolved over time! I will never go to them for service ever again! If anyone wants to save money or at least not through your money down the drain DO NOT use this dental company for service!! As said before ... PLEASE STAY AWAY

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Margoops Mar 19, 2012

    I agree with the above reviews. I too was RIPPED off. I broke front tooth, the dentist whom I could barely understand told me she cannot fix it for 2 weeks and only if I gave them $1400 to make appt. I was desperate and put $1400 on credit card. This Indian dentist also told me I need $1600 crown/build-up on tooth on other side of mouth without taking a x-ray. Well I saw Dr Titesman in DC who was able to fix my tooth on A Sunday for a small amount of money and NO I DON'T NEED $1600 crown on right side of my mouth. PLEASE STAY AWAY

    1 Votes
  • Yo
    yoliex Mar 02, 2012

    most people are too quick to believe that dental care is not as important as your medical care. But when you have that toothache at 7pm on christmas eve and the dentist is there for you, then you love them. Take care of your teeth in the first place and you dont have to worry about whether you are 'BEING RIPPED OFF". NDC is an awesome organization and i have been going to see Young Dr. Neibauer for years and he has never steered me wrong and i love the work he does. Do not judge one dr. by your experience with another. Dr. JN would never hesitate to see me on a sunday, if i was in pain.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joyce A. B. Jul 29, 2011

    Have had a recent experience in the Gaineville VA office. First provided with a $4000.+ estimate for work. (I had dental care done 6 months ago, so it isn't like I have never seen a dentist). Once I objected, they gave me another estimate for the most essential work. When I called to try to schedule appointment, they would not make an appointment without getting the number of my flexible spending account credit card. I would owe $703 after insurance. When I said I would give the card to them when I came for an appointment BEFORE the procedure, they said that they do not schedule appointments without assuring payment first. I told them I would pick up the films and go elsewhere. I have sent them an email so at least I feel I have tried to tell them my issues. I am contacting my flexible spending account and dental insurer to see if it is ethical to charge before the procedure. If not, I will go from there.

    1 Votes
  • Le
    LeesburgResident Jul 26, 2011

    Agree they are overpriced. Went to Leesburg VA office they charge 1102.00 per tooth for a Crown. That doesn't include all the extra fee's such as xray, mounting, etc. 1 cap and 1 cavity filling cost me and my insurance $1500.00 which is crazy.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    jamiek2070 Apr 10, 2011

    Outragous pricing!! I was in almost 3weeks ago with tooth pain. I was told I need all 4 wisdom teeth removed and 2 cavities filled. I agreed to pay their crazy prices even though I think it is rediculous. And now I have called 3 times and left a message for an appointment and still haven't heard back. Luckily for me my tooth that was hurting isn't so bad or I would have been suffering in pain for the past 3 weeks waiting around for a call back. I will be someone else and I recommend everyone else do the same.. This is unacceptable!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    mrdeeds Apr 02, 2011

    I'm quite surprised Neibauer hasn't been sued yet, or has he?

    2 Votes
  • Al
    allane Mar 22, 2011

    Just went to Neibauer 6 months ago. I was a first time patient and had a coupon for Free Teeth Whitening Kit. THey told me I had 2 cavities but I was not feeling too sure about that. Went to another dentist and I have NO cavities. Guess that's their way of getting their money back for promotions!

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary in Waldorf MD Feb 07, 2011

    Neibauer has twice told me that my part of the payment, after insurance, was X amount. Twice when I went to leave I was told the $ amt was more than the insurance would cover. Once it was becasue of an xray that they did months prior and I was just now being told the insurance would not pay it since I had it done within the last 3 years. As a military family that just moved here, I brought along all my records that showed when I and my family had treatment. Since I hadn't these records to the clinic, I assume they should look at them and let me know if I am going to be charged for something. Since we have moved 13 times, I have run into the xray problem before, but other dentist have waived the fee since they wanted their own xray.
    Thanks for supporting your militar families Neibauer.

    1 Votes
  • Jl
    jlmrn2000 Nov 10, 2010

    I had to change from a dentist I loved in Warrenton because he no longer participated with my dental insurance. I have good teeth and very healthy gums. The NDC office was staffed initially with a dentist from India I liked very much. I saw her once for a cleaning. She said everything was great. I had a complete new set of Xrays and opted for the flouride treatment that I knew I would pay out of pocket for (but I like them :o). I scheduled my 6 month check with her when I left.

    When I returned 6 months later, I was told I was seeing a different dentist because mine was no longer there. So, after a decent cleaning from the hygenist, the new dentist came in and told me one of my fillings needed to be replaced - as he could see from the XRAY I had 6 months prior. He says all this without ever looking in my mouth. He shows me their digital screen of my XRAY and tries to show me some "haze" he thinks he sees near an existing filling.

    So, I scheduled another appointment with this man I can barely understand. I am taken back to the room and he promptly numbs my mouth. He says he'll be back in a few minutes and we'll begin. AN HOUR AND A HALF LATER - I am getting up asking where he went. I was completely numb and not a single person came to check on me or tell me why I was left there.

    Long story short, he comes in and says he had an emergency and he would begin. He replaced the filing with the newer white composite, as opposed to my old gray filling. So, it looked nice - but then it hurt for days after. So, I went back saying something must be wrong. You guessed it - he didn't let it set and water had gotten under the filling and I had to do it AGAIN!!! The best part - he said, he wont charge me for the second visit - I promptly told he I wouldn't be charged for ANYTHING related to coming back and should consider charging him MY hourly rate since was was so inconvenienced last time and now again.

    I had to have my original filling replaced AGAIN and to this day, it still doesnt' feel right. I HATE this dentist office. The office itself is very pretty, and the receptionists are nice. The dental hygenists are variable - some good, others terrible - and I never see the same ones more than twice.

    Dr. Ali - DON'T GO TO HIM - HE'S TERRIBLE.

    1 Votes
  • Le
    leddond Aug 07, 2010

    I agree that Neibauer can be a overzealous on the marketing and sales pitch, but they gave me treatment and financing options to repair my front teeth and replace lost teeth that were excellent. (I went to the Great Mills, MD office.) I compared their recommendations with another dentist and found the costs to be within 5% of other estimates. I have been very happy with the results and the quality of care I received from

    That said, I found that they did try to increase cost based on increased costs of materials ( my dental work was done over 18 months time) after treatment had begun, but when I told them I was holding them to their original estimate, or going elsewhere, they completed the work for the originally estimated price.

    People, if you are spending money on dental care keep on top of the treatment options, costs, your insurance coverage, and payouts. Take charge of your care and finances and don't be pushed around. That's a good approach for dealing with any medical or dental practice. They are consultants offering services and you are the customer paying them.

    1 Votes
  • Ba
    Bankai9 Aug 03, 2010

    Not to knock what you're saying about NDC, but you people's ideas about how dentists in this country are educated are very incorrect. Why don't you look into what a person has to do to get a DDS/DMD before spouting off nonsense. I bet you even think there is a difference between DDS and DMD to boot.
    @arti99 The United States does not let anyone with a dental license from a foreign country to practice here. Your Indian dentists that you hate so much DID go to school in America to get their license to practice here; it is illegal to do otherwise.
    Its obvious none of you know the similarities and differences between medical and dental schools so don't talk about topics that you have no clue about. So, instead you rely on common pop-culture scuttlebutt, assumptions, and things you've seen in movies to support your comments on dental education.
    So keep your comments in the scope of this thread and don't talk about things when you have no idea how they work.

    2 Votes
  • Ar
    arti99 Jul 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They run clicnis with cheap dentists from foreign countries who are deperate for visa or money!! Dental schools in india are the worst in the world...!! .This is totally unlike medical schools which are among the best in the world!!
    I went there because my medical doctor is a wonderful physician of Indian origin and thought the new Indian dentist at Garrinsonville office would be good too...!! wrong!!! wrong!!! they are so cheap with thier attempt to try to sell you thier work adn get money out of you...they will lick your [censor] till you agree for the expensive treatment plan...!! Neibaur is like the Mcdonalds for dental care...!! chain store with cheap docs for low quality work!! please do not go there..!!!esp. do not go to the garrisonville office.

    3 Votes
  • Mj
    MJB2010 Jun 27, 2010

    Neibauer Dental in Short Pump, Richmond is a scam. The dental hygienist and dentist were both blatant liars.

    I went in for a cleaning, and was told they could not do a standard cleaning because my teeth were in such poor condition. They explained I had many cavities and would need fillings, along with a special cleaning procedure because my gums were unhealthy.

    Total cost would have been around $2500! They became perturbed and abrupt when I said I would go somewhere else for a second opinion.


    Went to a family dentistry down the road, had X-rays taken, dentist said my teeth and gums were very healthy, no cavities, and I was able to get a regular cleaning. Only one minor concern; some of the enamel was worn off due to my aggressive brushing. Again, no cavities, no need for a $2500 procedure.

    Total cost was $110 for exam and cleaning.

    1 Votes
  • Ky
    kys1172 May 12, 2010

    I had a similar experience in their Prince Frederick office. I was told I needed much more dental work than I actually needed. I'm so glad I went for a second opinion. I will not return to their office, and would never recommend them to anyone.

    2 Votes
  • Be
    BEKKER Jan 27, 2010

    THE USED CAR SALES OF DENTISTRY!!!

    1 Votes
  • Tr
    trevorsgranda Dec 23, 2009

    DO NOT GO TO GAINESVILLES, VA office. They do shoddy work. They lie. I have never been so disrespeceted and lost so much money. What a rip off. Then they show pictures of terrible teeth they've supposedly fixed then and then tell me I need a specialist for caps. What a joke. DO NOT USE THIS COOKIE CUTTER CHAIN OF DENTISTRY!!! Their the reason the joke about dentist was made "what do you call someone who flunks out of medical school?" "A dentist" Better yet a Neibauer Dental Care Dentist. Because of places like this dentist get such bad reps.

    Comments

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Julienq Nov 05, 2009

    I totally agree. They charge you alot and they send the dentures to be made oversees so it is cheaper for them but poor quality. Don't let them touch you

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.