National Processing DivisionHarassing Phone Calls

K
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I just received a call from a man stating that he was from the National Processing Division and that I was going to be "downloaded" in the Court system because I was being sued by Sonic-net. When I asked which pay day loan company I supposedly owed money to (since 11/2007) he didn't know and transferred me to his "supervisor"...He states the same thing and got angry at me when I called them frauds and stated that I would be arrested on Monday, but my file was being downloaded today at 5:30 pm (when I received the call it was 5:03 pm), and hung up on me. Does anyone have any information on this company? I suspected something was wrong when he had a very strong Indian accent.

Responses

  • Ju
    JulianH Jan 10, 2009

    I had a very similar experience with them in December 2008. They contacted my cellphone thirteen times within a ten day period prior to Christmas regarding a debt that was settled in April 2008. Each call was more threatening. They finally stated I had 48 hours to contact them or have my case "downloaded" into the Federal Court system. They were very explicit in these threats. The contact person, D. Cooper (Cooper), had a very heavy Indian accent, and must have been from that country. Cooper stated a criminal complaint would also be filed. He was not specific in stating what district anything would be filed. Furthermore, upon challenging Cooper concerning venue he only stated it would be the "Appropriate court for my area." He refused to provide more specific court information. Additionally, Cooper had all of my identifying information, DOB, SSN, address, UDL and so on. I shall file an identity theft complaint with my local police.

    Cooper stated he would not download the complaint if I paid them $750 to settle the matter. Payment must be made via electronic funds transfer from my checking account. He would accept no other payment method! Cooper was extremely pushy, demanding that I not speak or ask questions while he spoke, and only listen. Cooper threatened criminal action for check fraud! Ultimately I challenged all of allegations, demanded a full address, and accounting of any debt due. Cooper stated that the accounting would be in the court documents, and refused to send anything in complete violation of Federal law. He also fought giving me an address, and only did so after a great deal of arguing. The address he gave was: National Processing (Service) Division, 960 Park Avenue, New York, NY 11213. The zip-code was for Brooklyn, NY not New York city. The telephone number is [protected]. A certified letter was mailed demanding a full accounting of the so-called debt. I also included a demand to cease and desist or face legal action against them. The letter was returned as undeliverable, with no forwarding address.

    After the initial conversation I contacted the prior creditor to verify any unknown outstanding debt. They, and their collection agency, stated that nothing was due and owing. The original debt was satisfied in full. I recontacted National Processing Division, and informed Cooper of these facts. Cooper was told his actions were illegal, and to cease or face legal action on my part. It was clearly stated that any court action initiated by them would net a counter-suit for a significantly higher sum of money. Cooper promptly told me to never call again, and hung-up.

    One other thing, I had called the night before and spoke to someone with a very heavy Indian accent. He did not understand me. As noted before Cooper, and others there had very heavy Indian accents. These people confirmed my belief that they were located in India.

    This firm are bottom feeders who use fear and intimidation as their weapon of choice. They attempted to browbeat, and silence me during the conversation. They also made several illegal statements during our interaction vis-a-vis filing of legal action without written notice, threats of criminal action, defamatory statements, violation of collections practices to-wit only one firm can collect an account at a time. When caught they became abusive and blustered even more. I would recommend anyone being attacked by them promptly hangup and file a complaint with your states attorney general and the FTC.

    I want to be included in any class action case against them. Though believe, as they are located off-shore, it could never be prosecuted.

    0 Votes
  • Cb
    Cbruce Jan 20, 2009

    I recieved a phone call from these people on one day from a guy with a heavy indian accent. Then 2 days later recieved a phone call from a female with a heavy accent and as soon as I answered the phone they demanded my last four social security numbers. Then they called me back I after hung up on them they called me back 4 more times within 1 hour and threatened court action. They called me 2 times the next day and said they were picking up my 2 friends and taking them to the courthouse because of me. They left a phone number od [protected] and said that I can stop this by calling them by 11:00am this morning. First and foremost, if they are a legitiment debt collector for them to threaten legal action is illegal under federal law if they do not plan to follow through with it, also to threaten to pick up your friends and such is also illegal. I will be contacting a debt collector lawyer and speaking with them about this and what can be done. I have since used my tmobile family allowances and made it so these people cannot call me anymore all they here is "your call can not be placed to this number at this time". But when they called me they showed up with a 941 area code out of florida and when you call that number back it is a verizon cell phone that is no longer in service. I will be also notifying verizon wireless and filing a complaint with them allowing these people to use a number assigned to them and commit illegal actions doing so. I am sure that a lawyer will give me more insight on this regarding this.

    I would like to be part of any legal action case against this company.

    0 Votes
  • Dm
    DMR Jan 28, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    help - I just received a call from this same company demanding the same stuff. (i.e. fax them a letter with my signature, credit card number, expiration date and 3 digit code on back of credit card) - what do you do?

    0 Votes
  • Eb
    eb2883 Feb 05, 2009

    These people are harassing me too! They told me I owed a pay day loan company but told me Crown Lending. So I called them and they do not even have an application with my name on it! What do I do? They have ss# and bank acct info!

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arturo Lepe Galindo Sep 05, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @eb2883 i got several phone calls by them and they have my social also i am fillng a complaint

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Retta Feb 09, 2009

    I just had someone like that call me on my cell phone and also at my work number. He had a very heavy accent and demanded I fax a letter within 30 minutes with all the information of my debit card, etc. He said it was for Crown Lending pay day loan from 2008. I don't want ot give them information but certainly do not want court filing either.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    magicsmom Feb 18, 2009

    I have just received the same calls. They called my cell phone and my sisters' phones as well. They have all of my personal information. They very threateningly told me that if I did not comply within the hour that I would be suid for $5, 000.00. The fax number given was [protected] and phone was [protected]. I have never had a loan with Crown Lending as thye suggested, but I cannot afford a lawsuit. Any help is greatly appreciated.

    0 Votes
  • Im
    imagine1313 Feb 19, 2009

    Just 1 hour ago recieved the same call. Very threatening, very scary...also, called my 20 yr old son, threatening him. They have all of my information. I have no idea who Crown Lending is, and the caller would not say who they are. I am very upset. Does anybody know how to connect the dots here, maybe we all did the same thing recently that is how they got our information.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    pixi_dust7 Mar 05, 2009

    I just got a call from these people yesterday. They said I took out a $200 payday advance loan 3 years ago and that I defaulted. I do not recall this. They will not send me anything in writing. I can barely understand him and he says if I do not pay I could face time in jail. He said I owe $400 now. Same place NPD. They emailed me a form for me to email back that included my debit card information. They have all of my information. They have my social security number & my address from 3 years ago. They called my sister (her cell phone number is new as of 2 months ago) and her boyfriend (he got a new cell phone number the same time). They also called me at work. Who do I contact to file a complaint?

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    missey92 Mar 09, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just received a call from this same company today telling me I received a payday loan from Crown Lending in December 2007. They could not give me an exact date. I also received a call from this same company over the summer saying I owed money to Sonic Cash. I have contacted the Massachsusetts Attorney Genreral's Office and I will be filing a complaint. Today, a woman with a heavy indian accent left me a message and when I called back I spoke to a man with a heavy indian accent. He told me I was a criminal and that I would be going to the county court. I used to work for the county district attorney and now with a local police department so I began to question him further. He could not tell me what court or any other pertinent information. I asked what kind of firm they were and he said they were a law firm. I asked to speak to a lawyer and he said he was a lawyer. I asked him for his bbo # so I could veryify it with the New York bar and he hung up on me. I am concerned because he did have my information but when he read it to me, ex. the bank and account number, I told him that was not my information. DO NOT give out any kind of information to these people and contact your states attorney generals office to file a complaint.

    0 Votes
  • Ea
    eam Mar 13, 2009

    I am also currently dealing with these rude individuals with the indian accent. They have gone so far as to call my husband and I derogatory names and have threatened me several times. It's nice to know that I am not alone!!

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kitten_69_florida Mar 18, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been receiving calls from this company "national processing division". The name is Zach Conor. the number is [protected]. My debt collection lawyer can not get a hold of them.
    I am glad that I am not alone here. Thanks for the information.

    2 Votes
  • Ma
    matthew Mar 29, 2009

    ignore their calls. by law legally they have to give you a written doccument of the account you owe on.they have to give you that within 30 days after you requested it.you have the legal right to dispute any debt with them in writing.this is all a scam because any reputable debt collector would send you a written document of the account.btw no judge or mediator in any court is going to give them 9 to ten thousand dollars in a court judgement for such a small amount of money.i have talked to lawyers about that myself.they left me a mesage telling me i was going to get investigators sent to my home and place of work too.i called them back and told them that i wanted a legal written document of the account and not to bother calling me again until they can mail me legal written documentation of the account.since then i have not heard back from them or gotten any more voicemails from them.the fair credit act gives debtors rights and what this place is doing is illegal.do not pay or agree to pay these crooks and scam artists anything until you get in the mail a legal doccument in writing verifying the amount of money you owe and what company its through.for a 300.00 to 500.00 payday loan there is no way they are going to get the amount of money in court that they threaten you with too.most lawyers would advise them to write off a small amount of money like that and most lawyers wont even touch a case with a small amount of money.dont let these crooks scare and intimidate youand dont give into them or attempt to work out paying them anything until they give you written documentation of the acct.stand up and defend and enforce your legal rights.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    john darrah Apr 25, 2009

    I just got a call today from an individual with a very heavy accent, telling me he was a federal prosecutor, and was calling for crown lending. I had a loan with this company back in 06, they took 90.00 from my pay every 2 weeks from oct 06 to apr 07 when i put a stop pmt, because I could not contact them either by phone or fax. They called me at work and I paid them in full with my debit card in apr 07. Now this bozoo is telling me I owe this loan. I hung up on him and told him to sue me. I will contact my back and get a copy of my acct from apr 07 to veryify this payment. This is all a scam scam scam from these foreign ###.

    0 Votes
  • Tm
    T_momma Jul 03, 2009

    I just got a call from someone with a heavy accent ( I could hardly understand them, I even stated that). The one guy that called said "are you Trina Smith, you are being sued and you need to pay your debt or we will file with the Federal Government" I tried to ask who this is and all he said " you are being sued, I am going to transfer you to my supervisor and you can ask him questions" The next guy that got on the phone said" This is Mark Johnson, ( they both had a heavy strong accent) with the American Legal Processing Division, you took a loan out with CASH NET an internet day day loan and have not paid." I said "that I have not taken any loans out of any sort for a long time." I asked again who this was and he said " Then prove your self in the front of court, I have heard this excuse many times." and he hung up.

    A couple of months ago I searched for a payday loan on the internet however I decided against it. I figured with the fees I would be in more trouble and it would be harder for me to get out of debt so I did not take any loans out.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nieto Aug 03, 2009

    I received a call on my cell, one at work and a call was also placed to my best friend who I usually use as a reference. The caller, a Mr. nixon from American Legal Processing Division, had a very american name for someone who had a very strong accent. he told me and my friend that " I was in big trouble, that I had until 6:30 p.m. to resolve a debt that I owe or I was going to be sued for thousands of dollars." The man used a lot of "government talk" in his speech, saying the line was federally monitored. He told me I owed $935.67 to "cash advance" .I have defaulted on a loan before but have since taken care of it. I asked this Nixon person the name of the company sueing me and all he said was it was a law firm, or cash advance. He would not give me a name. I asked him why haven't i heard of these charges before? He said I was surprised that I hadn't heard of this before. Like the idiot I am, i didn't research this company and told him I could pay him half today. He told me he first needs a letter of apology from me, notarized, with my card information and the dates I will be paying them back. I didn't have anyone to notarize the letter so I didn't sent it and now that I have seen all the websites calling these people frauds, I won't be sending that letter. I called My. Nixon back today with my case number B5254 and asked him if I call the California state attorneys office and give them my case number, will they be able to say if this is legitimate? He said no because they never "downloaded the file since I said I would pay them." He also asked me not to look into their business because it is legitimate and federally monitored so there is no reason for me to do a search. I asked if they had a website and all he told me was the companies name : " American Legal Processing Division, California Code. I also told him that by law, he needs to provide me with this information in writing and he told me I will get everything once I pay my balance in full. I have closed my card account that they billed me from. There are numerous websites linked to these people claiming fraudulant activity. It seems they were first based out of New York and have since moved to California. I have my identity has been compromised and am worried about my security. I will be filing a report with the California state attorney's office and the FTC. I already filed one with my state

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jimu Aug 03, 2009

    Please people dont be foolish, dont get intimidated by these crooks. Dont give your hard earned money to thieves. Just ignore their phone calls and demands. I have received so many phone calls and they leave messages, I just delete them because I know I dont owe anyone any money...that's it. Report to the credit bureaus, do a fraud alert on your bank accounts, on your credit reports. Tell the credit bureaus in writing you dont want to share your information to anyone, no one. Lodge a complaint with the Federal Trade Commissions. Be sensitive.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    Luis04 Sep 10, 2009

    I agree I received a very harrassing call from an Andy Brown at [protected]. He stated too that I had a pay day loan for Cash Advance who was his client and that I was facing criminal charges. He said that I would have to pay 850.00 to settle out of court. He told me that I would have to send my credit card number with authorization of payment through fax to [protected]. When I asked him for a tax ID# for their company he became very irrate. I told him that it all seemed very fraudulent to me. He stated since it was an on line application he could not send me any written correspondence by fax or mail. I told him that I have worked for the government and I currently work for an attorney and there have to be written correspondence if you are filing charges against them. He started yelling so I told him to go ahead and file whatever charges so that I can deal directly with the court system.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AMCD72 Oct 27, 2009

    Way to go Luis04! I just made friends with a guy named "Tom Moody" today and we went rounds about how all my debts are to be included in my bankruptcy...boy that sure made him scream! He told me to "SHUT UP" several times and said "[censored] YOU" as well...incredible. I started laughing and begged him to send the police as I would like to talk to them about his threatening way of collecting a debt that wasnt even mine. He said the police would be at my house tonight and then I would know who he was. The number that he phoned from is [protected]. I was transferred to a few different "officers" who also had thick indian accents. I even asked to speak to one with less of an accent because I couldnt understand the initial call...all I heard was "Count 1...internet fraud, Count 2...online something deception...Oh and after I argued with him he tacked on a couple more counts for arguing with a court official. So I sit here waiting for the police to cuff me and haul me away for $253.00. On a serious note...I am going to file this with the FBI, FTC, and BBB based on what I read in this link: http://800notes.com/Phone.aspx/1-412-360-8423

    0 Votes
  • St
    stargirl881979 Nov 03, 2009

    WOW...this is like deja vu. I received a call yesterday from a man by the name of "Bob Walker" (with an Indian accent) from "American Legal Processing Division"; he told me I was being sued for a payday loan from "Cash Advance" that I submitted online. I told him I had never heard of a company just called "Cash Advance", and was wondering who they were affiliated with; he told me there are hundreds of payday loan companies underneath "Cash Advance". He then told me that I was going to be committed for fraud and charged $5000 worth of court costs if I did not pay $955.65 by 6:30PM last night. I proceeded to investigate the so called company with the California Better Business Bureau and the FBI. I then called them back and told them they have been reported to the FBI and Mr. Walker hung up on me. DON'T BUY INTO THIS!!! They are taking advantage of people whom are not familiar with the legal system.

    0 Votes
  • To
    toyaboo78 Dec 01, 2009

    I got a call yesterday. How is it they know so much information about you??? Hey said that the loan was supposedly given to me in Feb 2009 and it was for $300. I HAD MONEY ELECTRONICALLY DEPOSITED FOR THAT AMOUNT IN FEBRUARY!!! So they've evidentally hacked into my account or something. I can't afford for my money to be STOLEN from me, so right now I'm considering closing my account!

    0 Votes
  • Lb
    lbone Dec 03, 2009

    These People are scam Artists. If Charles Robinson Calls you and asks for money follow the steps below. Otherwise call the Attorney general.


    The California Bar Association Bar #113197 actually belongs to a Charles Furlonge Robinson that works for the university of California. He is not affiliated at all with the scam. The people that call you are scam artists impersonating attorneys. Please let the real Charles Robinson know each time someone impersonating him calls you. He is aware of the situation and needs more information to prosecute these people. By the way he is a white guy and his info is below. THESE INDIAN CALLERS ARE SCAM ARTISTS BREAKING THE LAW DO NOT PAY THEM.

    Address
    The Regents of the Univ of California
    1111 Franklin St 8th Fl
    Oakland, CA 94607

    Phone Number [protected]
    Fax Number [protected]
    e-mail Not AvailableCaller ID: [protected]
    Caller: American Legal Processing Division

    0 Votes
  • Lb
    lbone Dec 07, 2009

    THESE PEOPLE ARE A SCAM!!! DO NOT PAY THEM. USE THE NUMBERS BELOW TO HELP YOURSELF.

    The real Charles Robinson
    Phone Number [protected]
    Fax Number [protected]

    His Secretaries e-mail is adrienne.[protected]@ucop.edu

    Call them and e-mail them they will need your info for their lawsuit against American Legal Processing Division.

    The Federal Trade Commision to file a formal complaint. They are investigating the group. Their # is 1.877.382.4357

    And Finally Equifax to keep them from opening credit in your name or further scamming you. Equifax will notify all 3 credit bureaus their # is 1.800.525.6285

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jimu Mar 15, 2010

    Thank you. This will greatly help if they try calling again. They have for some reason stopped calling. I reported them to the Attorney Generals.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    ืnita Jun 03, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just got a call from Tiger Tayler who spoke with heavy Indian accent. His demand is similar to those posted before me. I don't owe money to anyone. The scary thing is he has all my id info.

    0 Votes
  • Iz
    izap Jun 26, 2010

    i had edwin walker, and jason, david, who who there all the same broken down english from india, they have called my job, my home they read the 'miranda rights' on the phone to anyone, they call all hours of the night and say they our the f.b.i, crime unit they have told my co-workers i have three counts and i am being invistagated, and what bugs me is that i never asked for any loan they took out money from my account and my bank had to close the account and open me a new one i reported this to cunsumer affairs and now there investigating edwin waker and all his little indians, they owe me money, and please involve me in your law suite.

    0 Votes
  • Cc
    ccccompt Aug 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too was called by the same people but frist time I was told the name was American legal processing division and today 8-11-10 they said it was National legal Processing Division. i informed the caller not to call me again and i was reporting them. He told me he was going to send the info to the law. And the funny thing is my nephew used me as a reference on something.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    amazing8687 Aug 19, 2010

    I got a call today and a guy with a thick accent was asking for me. I asked may I ask who's calling he says so and so from american legal processing looking for my friend. I say listen I have problems of my own to be worrying about someone elses debt so I hgup. The guy called me right back. I answered saying how dare you call me right after I hgup I said ill make this call unprofessional so I started dropping the f bomb thinking he will just hgup he didn't and says he will call me ten thousand times a day looking for her. I said if I'm just a reference I'm not responsible for her debt and I don't have to talk to you. So finally my male friend takes the phone and starts talking to this guy the guy on the phone calls him a jerk. How can a legit company talk this way to people due to quality reason calls are recorded and monitored so that was a sign especially to call u right after u hgup doesn't matter if it was a "collections" call. Not to mention its a illegal to call u so many times a day especially in an hour.So finally he said his name was John and calling from american legal processing stating my friend took out a loan with cashadvance. While my friend was on the phone with this so called employee me and his wife began googling this company and found out they are fraudulent and scammers. My male friend began telling him this and that its all over the internet and the guy said he wasn't aware of this. My friend threatened he would contact BBB and they are out NY so he advised he would contact local precints. These people are losers. So I called my friend who they so call are trying to get a hold of she says she has never gotten a call and doesn't have a loan out with cashadvance. While me and her were talking her other friend texted her telling her she was just called and told she and my friend are being sued. What would u sue a reference for? Not delivering the message? Stupid and makes no sense whatsoever.

    0 Votes
  • By
    BYASBB Aug 30, 2011

    I TO HAVE BEEN RECEIVING CALLS SINCE LAST NOVEMBER!! SAME INDIAN ACCENT BUT THEY HAVE NOW STARTED CALLING MY JOB. WHAT CAN WE DO TO SOP THEM, I HAVE GONE TO THE POLCIE WITH NOTHING SOLVED AND I TOLD HTEM HOW CAN YOU ALLOW THESE PEOPLE FRO, ANOTH COUNTRY HARRASS AMERICAN PEOPLE. I HAVE BLOAKCE OVER THIRTY CALL ON MY TMOBILE AND THEY JUSY KEEP CALLING WITH DIFFERENT NUMBERS. THERE HAS TO BE SOMETHING WE CAN DO TO GET RID OF THEM.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scared citizen1 Jun 07, 2013

    These people called my job today from [protected] with a "case number" speaking of records and debts that I was unaware of I asked for the name of their company and their address so that I could contact them via USPS to send a cease and desist letter. Robert Butler advised me that I would never know their address, then he started to get upset because I told him he was violating the fair debt collection act. then we got into a verbal altercation he threatend me several times, he stated that he knows where I live and he knows all about me and he was going to get me . Then he advised me that my mother shouldve aborted me . Then I hung up and tried to callback to get contact information so they could be reported. Everytime I attempted to call I was advised they were going to transfer me to the "legal dept" and it was "Robert Butler" he is the "Director" .. I have filed a complaint with my local police department I have contacted the Atty General in addition to the FTC and I have also updated all my numbers on the do not call registry. The madness needs to stop! These bottom feeding collection agencies are too agressive and not legitimate. Do not ever pay these people or admit to a debt of any kind always deal with the original lendor. They buy accounts for pennies on the dollar, and they need to be banned!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    johnben Feb 21, 2017

    i receive calls from this number [protected] claiming to be a division of processing credit collection. they are located inn Saltville VA. I never answer calls from unknown sources. every time they call they leave voicemail threatening me of legal action against me and use some hard intimidating verbal language to make it sound very serious. As an advice, never give any information about your identity to whomever called you. the caller should know your info if he is real agent from a real institution. Do not be easy scammed by these new scams

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem