National Geographic MagazineFailed receipt of gift subscription

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

From: Susanne McAllister [mailto:[protected]@kensingtoncommodities.com]
Sent: 22 March 2011 15:34
To: '[protected]@customersvc.com'
Subject: FW: 1 DEC 2010 SUBSCRIPTION STILL NOT ARRIVED <<#[protected]#>>

NGS,

It is now the 22nd of March and I still have not heard from your office. If you cannot address this order by the 5th of April (1st issue received by Ron McAllister, 3509 Daffodil Crescent, Virginia Beach, VA 23453) I will demand refund of my subscription price. This is ludicrous.

I am copying this to the Complaints Board.

Sincerely,
Susanne McAllister
_______________________________
Susanne McAllister
President
Kensington Commodities LLC
3 Marina Walk
Killaloe, Co.Clare, Ireland
+353.85.205.4700
skype: kensington.commodities
www.kensingtoncommodities.com
[protected]@kensingtoncommodities.com

From: Harry T FI [mailto:[protected]@customersvc.com]
Sent: 11 March 2011 20:16
To: [protected]@kensingtoncommodities.com
Subject: RE: 1 DEC 2010 SUBSCRIPTION STILL NOT ARRIVED <<#[protected]#>>


Thank you for contacting the National Geographic Society.
Unfortunately, we will be unable to assist you with your request. We have forwarded your E-mail to our office in Amsterdam who will investigate your situation as quickly as possible. If a further reply is necessary, we will contact you shortly.

The address, phone, and FAX numbers for our office in Amsterdam (the office that will handle your membership) are as follows:

National Geographic Society
P. O. Box 20507
1001 NM Amsterdam
THE NETHERLANDS
Tel: 31.20.4874115
Fax: 31.20.4874119
Email: [protected]@customersvc.com

Thank you for your patience! We appreciate the opportunity to be of service.
Sincerely,
National Geographic Customer Service
www.ngmservice.com

Help us to reduce the amount of correspondence we send you through the mail by using our online services, available 24 hours a day/ 7 days a week at www.ngmservice.com. You can change an address, check an expiration date, renew an account, report a missing issue and much more. So get started today! Just go to www.ngmservice.com and use your account number or key in your name and address as it appears on your addressing label for immediate access to your account information.


EMAIL OPT-OUTS and PRIVACY POLICY:
For more information on how to opt-out of marketing communications from us and our partners or to read our Privacy Policy, copy and paste this link into your browser:
http://www.nationalgeographic.com/community/privacy.html

FOR FURTHER OPT OUT ASSISTANCE, PLEASE CONTACT:
NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC CUSTOMER SERVICE
Attn: Consumer Affairs
3000 University Center Drive
Tampa, FL [protected]


--- Original Message ---
From: "Susanne McAllister" <[protected]@kensingtoncommodities.com>
Received: 3/9/11 4:37:46 PM EST
To: "'National Geographic Customer Service'" <[protected]@customersvc.com>
Subject: RE: 1 DEC 2010 SUBSCRIPTION STILL NOT ARRIVED
I will look forward to hearing from the Amsterdam office though I fail to understand how the membership falls into their remit when I made an online purchase in the United States for a gift subscription to a recipient IN the United States. The only thing European about the transaction was the payment from my Ulster Bank account for payment. The screen print from my bank account clearly notes a currency conversion into euros (i.e. not a whole dollar amount but the conversion on the day).

When I didn’t receive an email confirmation within 24hrs I rang your customer service department who informed me that the subscription had gone through and that my disabled brother could expect to have his first copy in Virginia by Christmas. It was the present that he had requested and I am frankly quite put out that I have disappointed him. He has been looking forward to its arrival for nearly four months and as he is bedridden, things such as this become a real fixation.

Frankly, I don’t care which of your offices addresses this matter—I simply want it addressed. I now see that he will be lucky to receive it by Easter!

Sincerely,
Susanne McAllister
_______________________________
Susanne McAllister
President
Kensington Commodities LLC
3 Marina Walk
Killaloe, Co.Clare, Ireland
+353.85.205.4700
skype: kensington.commodities
www.kensingtoncommodities.com
[protected]@kensingtoncommodities.com

From: National Geographic Customer Service [mailto:[protected]@customersvc.com]
Sent: 09 March 2011 18:51
To: [protected]@kensingtoncommodities.com
Subject: RE: 1 DEC 2010 SUBSCRIPTION STILL NOT ARRIVED <<#[protected]#>>


Thank you for contacting the National Geographic Society.

Unfortunately, we will be unable to assist you with your request. We have forwarded your E-mail to our office in Amsterdam who will investigate your situation as quickly as possible. If a further reply is necessary, we will contact you shortly.

The address, phone, and FAX numbers for our office in Amsterdam (the office that will handle your membership) are as follows:

National Geographic Society
P. O. Box 20507
1001 NM Amsterdam
THE NETHERLANDS
Tel: 31.20.4874115
Fax: 31.20.4874119
Email: [protected]@customersvc.com

Thank you for your patience! We appreciate the opportunity to be of service.
Sincerely,
National Geographic Customer Service
www.ngmservice.com

Help us to reduce the amount of correspondence we send you through the mail by using our online services, available 24 hours a day/ 7 days a week at www.ngmservice.com. You can change an address, check an expiration date, renew an account, report a missing issue and much more. So get started today! Just go to www.ngmservice.com and use your account number or key in your name and address as it appears on your addressing label for immediate access to your account information.


EMAIL OPT-OUTS and PRIVACY POLICY:
For more information on how to opt-out of marketing communications from us and our partners or to read our Privacy Policy, copy and paste this link into your browser:
http://www.nationalgeographic.com/community/privacy.html

FOR FURTHER OPT OUT ASSISTANCE, PLEASE CONTACT:
NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC CUSTOMER SERVICE
Attn: Consumer Affairs
3000 University Center Drive
Tampa, FL [protected]


--- Original Message ---
From: "Susanne McAllister" <[protected]@kensingtoncommodities.com>
Received: 3/7/11 10:44:05 AM EST
To: <[protected]@customersvc.com>
CC:"Michael McAllister" <[protected]@hotmail.com>, "Ron McAllister" <[protected]@hotmail.com>
Subject: 1 DEC 2010 SUBSCRIPTION STILL NOT ARRIVED
PLEASE ADDRESS ISSUE NOTED BELOW
Please not the date of payment for service was 1 DEC 2010.
This is the 3rd time I am writing to you regarding this issue.
If I do not have a response within five days I will notify the US Complaints Board
http://www.complaintsboard.com/new_complaint/
Sincerely,
Susanne McAllister
_______________________________
Susanne McAllister
President
Kensington Commodities LLC
3 Marina Walk
Killaloe, Co.Clare, Ireland
+353.85.205.4700
skype: kensington.commodities
www.kensingtoncommodities.com
[protected]@kensingtoncommodities.com

From: Susanne McAllister [mailto:[protected]@kensingtoncommodities.com]
Sent: 06 February 2011 01:04
To: '[protected]@customersvc.com'
Subject:

To Whom It May Concern:

Two months ago I made a subscription request and payment for service. It has been five days since I received an email from your US office indicating that my enquiry was being handled by your office. I am attaching a screen print of my bank statement that clearly shows I have been charged for the subscription on 1 DEC 2010.

Please advise when the subscription service will commence. I request you use my business email as on the footer for future correspondence. I further request an extension on the subscription as it did not arrive as contracted.

Regards,
Susanne.

Copy of email received:

On Tue Jan 25 09:56:27 EST 2011 Susanne McAllister wrote:

Account Number :
Magazine Code : NG
Name : Susanne McAllister
Address : 3 Marina Walk
Company/Apt :

Date : Tue Jan 25 09:56:27 EST 2011
Email : susanne.[protected]@gmail.com
Home Phone : 00353.85.205


Country : 005Ireland
City : null
Postal Code : 99999
Subject : Donor/gift question


SubType :

Gift Information
Giftee Name : Ron & Michael McAllister
Giftee Address1 : 3509 Daffodil Crescent
Giftee City : Virginia Beach
Giftee State : VA
Giftee Zip : 23453

Comments : I ordered a Christmas gift subscription on December 1, 2010 for my brothers Ron & Michael McAllister, 3509 Daffodil Crescent, Virginia Beach, VA 23453. Service has not yet commenced. I can provide a screen print of my statement which shows the payment of €12.03 which reads: NAT*GEOGRAPHIC, MAG, 800-NGSLINEUS, USD 15.00, Rate 1.3009, Charge 0.25, ERTF 0.25. It appears on my statement on the 1st of December.
I would be obliged if you would address this and confirm the subscription by return.
Kind regards,
Susanne McAllister
+353.85.2005.4700
_______________________________
Susanne McAllister
President
Kensington Commodities LLC
3 Marina Walk
Killaloe, Co.Clare, Ireland
+353.85.205.4700
skype: kensington.commodities
www.kensingtoncommodities.com
[protected]@kensingtoncommodities.com

------ Please do not remove your unique tracking number! ------
<<#[protected]#>>

More National Geographic Magazine Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Ja
    Janet Collins Dec 15, 2012

    ref number444725543 NFCLCV9
    I asked for one gift membership be sent to Miss Olivia Howard, Heatherdene, Brackley Avenue, Hartley Winteney, Hook, Hants England RG27 8QU and another one r sent to Miss Rebecca Kerridge, Strathmore, Belle Orchard, Ledbury, Herefordshire, England. HR8 1DD
    You have sent me a letter enclosing two cards but only Olivia Howard's name and address is at the bottom of the letter. Please confirm that one membership is for Miss Howard and one for Miss Kerridge. I do have an email address which you have. [email protected] and my home address which you also have is 24 Greenwood Road, Crowthorne, Berkshire, England.
    I have told you this before by email. Please reply as quickly as possible as Christmas is very far away. I will repeat this information by phone in the nxt business hours and write another email to you. as a reply to your last email.


    ard,

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bili.Charly.Germany Dec 10, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I retired from teaching in July, 2012. Now I`m missing my NC (English edition) very much. I had a fax sent to you from school at that time to post it to my home address from then on but sadly nothing arrived. As I was a teacher of bilingual lessons as well my English must have become worse a lot. Please, send me the missing copies as I have paid my subscription a long time before and I don`t want to buy a second copy each or the German edition either. I would be glad for an information how to settle our conflict peacefully. You may apply to me via E-mail. NF [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Rs
    R SHALLCROSS Jul 14, 2012

    I renewed my subscription oof many years to my son on line in the beginning of this year the renewal due june never happpend.After many phone calls I managed to get some acton.U nfortuneately this was only a letter whith gift card and cofirming order.oney was deducted from my bank but the promised June & July copies have not arived R SHALLCROSS [protected] NFCG9N4

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sam.smith Dec 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Is this some kind of scam going on? The email addresses are all legit, I checked them on the NG website. I still cant believe what NG is upto!

    0 Votes
  • Su
    susanne.mcallister Dec 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    NO, Sam, I haven't had the issue resolved and it is more than a year now. I am extremely frustrated. I was hoping that registering my complaint with the Complaint's Board would have some effect but they appear to be as ineffectual as the cretins at National Geographic. I'm tempted to hand it over to my solicitor on breach of contract.
    Regards,
    Susanne.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sam.smith Dec 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have exactly the same issue with National Geographic subscription. When I wrote to customer service I got exactly the same email as you received from them. They told me that the Amsterdam office will look into the matter and get back to me soon. But it's been now more than a month and I havn't heard from anyone yet.

    Did your issue got resolved yet?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.