The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
National Fitness Financialfraudulent billing practices

Totally fraudulent business practices. They keep charging your credit card beyond your cancellation or contract expiration date; they claimed I still owed them money even though they charged me for 8 months of personal training I didn't receive because I'd cancelled in writing when I moved. Then they started sending threatening letters and making almost daily harassing phone calls to my work and cell phones, even after I told them to stop. They refused to cash my $100 cancellation fee check, saying they couldn't cancel a membership that was in arrears, and they repeatedly threaten to send me to their "Advanced Collections" department. The harassment began within a week of my telling my Visa company to put any charges from National Fitness on hold pending my dispute. This nightmare has been going on for months now, and I've hired an attorney. Their new claim is that my "auto renewal" cannot be stopped. These bozos are complete scam artists and even have ties to Roger WIttenberns, CEO of Diversified Health and friend of Christopher Gambino, aka Mafia. Be careful to never sign a contract with a fitness club that uses National Fitness Financial for their monthly billings and debt collection. Mieko's in Washington State uses them, as well as others. Professional Fitness, the personal training company, is also in on the scam. They spout the same lies as National Fitness does. Professional Fitness is based out of Raleigh, NC. National Fitness is in Layton, Utah.
I reported them to the Attorney General, have written local news investigative reporters, and am making signs to display on public property by their gym, so the public can know the truth. I will not stop fighting these scheisters. They deserve to go out of business.

Responses

  • Lu
    Luis Duran Nov 20, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been on the phone all day, trying to fine the new collection agency for National Fitness. An account 3 years old is still on my credit record and would like to get it cleared. Can any one help with any useful information. Please! The gym I went to was call Better Body's Fitness in Colorado

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    Adelaida garcia Jul 20, 2015

    Yo hice un contrato con lady of america y en el mes de febrero por haber cambiado mi residencia llame para cancelarlo. Me pidieron pruebas las envie 3 ocasiones. Me pidieron incluso statment del banco lo cual es un riesgo para mi. Hace una semana me llamaron despues de 4 meses para decirme que ahora es que es efectiva mi cancelacion pero que debo 300$. El punto es que dejaron pasar el tiempo y no me avisaron para ahora estafarme mi dinero. Y no pasa nada? Porque veo muchas quejas y ellos siguen

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chrisr17 May 12, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have an even worse situation. The gym closed over a year ago and they continued to charge me monthly fees. I sent two letters (the last one certified) explaining that they actually owed me money. I finally changed my debit card so they couldn't continue to take the monthly fees out on a Shapes gym that doesn't even exist anymore. These people are horrible. Despite all this they continue to call and send letters stating I owe them $30 + late fees which is equivalent to me paying the three month notice needed to cancel the contract. That makes no sense since the gym was sold over a year ago. They actually owe me at least $50. I have turned them in to the FTC. I may see about the attorney general as well. Is there nothing else that can be done? They just won't stop calling. They have even called my mother in another state. It is beyond a scam to withdraw/demand money on a closed gym.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    FrustratedCustomer2015 May 01, 2015

    Signed up with Lady Fitness in Layton Utah. I specifically told the representative that I only wanted the one year contract. She signed me up for a renewable contract. I spoke with a representative over the phone and they explained that I would have to send 30 days notice to cancel something that I didn't agree to. Do not sign up with Lady Fitness in Layton Utah. They do whatever they have to do to make money!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen Obed Apr 12, 2015

    In November 2013 as a member of WOW in Norwood Ma, I signed up for personal training . I signed a 3 month contract. I called National Fitness to find out how to cancel so I will not have any problems. They gave me an email address and other info. Once I sent the email the following month I was charged again. I called and they stated that I did not cancel within enough time. Fine but the following month I was charged again but they reimbursed that charge. 7 months go by without a charge and then I was charged 120.00 for Oct/Nov 2014. I did not catch this until Feb 2015. Once I called NFS and spoke to several people someone finally after my 2nd request sent a copy of my contract and billing history. I called the gym and they can clearly see that I should not have been charged and stated I will be reimbursed immediately. NFS after the 3rd call stated that I will receive my money. I've called at least 3 more times and was told that they are waiting for the gym to release my money and there was no manager or supervisor around that I could speak to. I called the gym and was told that was not true. These people are clearly giving me the run around probably hoping that I will forget. They blamed me because the email I sent went to different department in the company. I told them that was the email I was given so if it was wrong NFS gave me the wrong email because I could not make it up, I don't work there. I am considering going to small claims court. I wish I knew about this company before signing up for PT at WOW.

    0 Votes
  • He
    hellfire44 Mar 25, 2015

    I've been attending Zoo Gym in Manchester NH for less than a year and my monthly fee is always paid on time. I dont use the personal trainers or any other additional services. I've started getting voicemails and emails from National Fitness stating that I "haven't paid a bill of $130 and they are demanding paynent". This is completely out of the blue snd I thought it may have been a simple mistake until doing a Google search and finding all of these complaints. Im going to check with my gym first to see if they have any clue why this money is being demanded from me and i'll then call National Fitness.

    0 Votes
  • Y2
    Y2kee Jan 29, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had the same problem as a lot of people. My wife sent in the required letter to National Fitness to cancel her membership at Achieve Fitness in Aiken, SC. Six months later we are still receiving charges on our credit card. I contacted a representative at their Layton Utah address who told me that National Fitness has not received the cancellation letter, and that there is nothing that then can do. I was informed that the letter should have come by certified mail with a tracking number. I did find out who owns National Fitness, and sent him an email directly. As of now I have not received a response.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rich65 Jan 20, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Son signed up to a Gold's Gym in Wilmington NC while attending college. He told them he would be moving after graduation and they said that would be no problem. He also signed up for one month of personal training. When filling out the paperwork, they used his drivers license which had his home of record on it. When he moved back home he joined the local Gold's Gym (which thank God is not a part of national fitness) and sent a copy of the new contract to NF. They now say that because he used the same address on both contracts that it does not count as a movement and even a copy of his contract from his apartment in Wilmington will not work, he must pay the remainder of the contract. They have also added 2 $140 fees for personal trainers when he never signed up for it. I called NF and the woman I spoke to was very rude. I asked to speak to her supervisor and was told that there was not one available to speak to me, but they would call me within 24 to 48 hrs. I then said no, I want to speak to one now and she said they had things they had to do also. I said a few things I should not have said over the phone and hung up before I went to far. This place is a criminal organization and should be investigated by the AG. I will be filing a complaint with the NC AG. If anyone is seeking to file a class action suite, please let me know and I will gladly sign the line. I am getting up with the Gold's Gym in Wilmington and telling them that if they do not support us they will be dragged into the fray.

    0 Votes
  • Ct
    cta2rlm Nov 20, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just rec'd a call from these people. I told them never tocall me again and I called Ultimate Fitness in Bettendorf, IA to fix this mess as they never said a word about enhancement fees. Just emailed Koral at Ultimate Fitness per his instructions to get this cleared up.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    slisalaw Apr 17, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree totally this is a bad company and something has to be done about this company practice in billing and collections. Even with the credit bureau look at the amount of complaints from various states this is not right.

    0 Votes
  • Ef
    efgreenwood Feb 14, 2014

    National Fitness and Body Armour is a freaking scam. I bought out my lame ### contract only to find out that the lady who i was doing the transaction with, cancelled my buyout and stated that i changed my mind because i was being rude to her. It took for ever to get them to get me a manager who i dont think was the manager to explain to me what was going on. I totally flipped. I WILL NOT STOP UNTIL I GET MY MONEY BACK. i have filed a complaint with the BBB of Utah since those thieves are located there. Anybody who lives in the Minneapolis area and wants a trainer at Snap FItness, Stay away from Body Armour. Stay far far away.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bentronics Jan 11, 2014

    scam of a company I was a victim of the target scam my wife goes to Shapes national called for payment we advised the issue spoke with the rudiest rep name ruth employee 547 or 574 if that is a valid id. I asked how to cancel they said fax in and mail payment for 3 months. I asked why 3 months she said thats there policy. I asked for a supvisor she said they wont get on the phone. I am noting going to give National Fitness a new card based on what I read above sounds like they will continue to bill. I will send a money order for this month and next month the rest they can bill there mothers. I too will file a complaint with the BBB Attorney General and everyone else. I will never do business with a gym or company that uses national fitness

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Drechani Dec 10, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am in shock and extremely depressed to read all these posts...i moved to Spain and have been trying to show them that I am VERY far away...but each time I send them new proof, they say that is not what they need and I've had it with them. During one of the calls, the idiot who was talking to me simply said: "there is nothing we can do"! Nothing???? That is unheard of!!! There is always a solution to every problem, especially when the person moved half around the world and can't continue going to the gym! Uduhhhhh!!! But they won't listen and don't care! I will continue to fight...

    0 Votes
  • Jj
    jjjmom May 14, 2013

    Thank you for this information. My story is identical to many of the previous postings. I have been trying to close the membership for over 6 months now. With your suggestions, I now know who to contact and have begun seeking assistance from BBB and the state's Attorney General. It is sad to say I am not the only one affected by these poor practices but I am grateful to learn from your stories. Thank you, again.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    Skip Z May 01, 2013

    I too am a member of something called Pro-Fit 24 in Jacksonville, Fl, which is managed by National Fitness financial. The gym closed up back in March. No notices, no nothing, just gone. My account continues to be charged. I have stopped payment on that account and have notified the State Division of Consumer Services. My contract states that the gym can close for up to 30 days to relocate and it has to relocate within 5 miles of it's old location. So far, nothing. National Fitness says they have turned off the billing on my account, but they cannot close my membership until they hear from the gym owners. Their phones have been disconnected. those people are gone. The gym is in violation of it's own contract, but the management company can't close the account. A Class Action lawsuit really needs to done. How do we do that?

    0 Votes
  • Jd
    jdowd Feb 20, 2013

    I have had the same problem! They have given me the run-around for months, and they continue to charge me. They have hung up on me, ignored my emails, claimed I never submitted documents, asked for a lease, then said they don't accept leases, blah, blah blah. It's all BS. Absolute scam. Their employees should be put in jail for being hucksters. I even disputed the charges with my credit card, so NF responds by charging me $15 for every month of my contract for disputing. No, I am not kidding. I got a past due claim for it, and a threat of being sent to collections. Someone please tell me we have a way to get them back for being crooks.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Lauren0625 Aug 07, 2012

    I moved and provided them with documentation of the move and the gym's own form for cancelling membership. They continued to charge my card for about nine months before I just cancelled the card. Now three months later, the original contract I signed is up and they've started spam calling me. When I got fed up and tried to speak with a representative, the call disconnected!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mad as H#$% May 09, 2012

    Don't trust the Zoo Health Club in Allen, TX. I agreed to a monthly draft for the health club, so I signed my electronic signature on the pin pad. Did not think anything else about it until I received this yearly club enhancement fee charge on my checking account. I called the 800 number on my bank account which turned out to be national fitness. I told them to terminate my membership, that they will not receive any more of my money for charges I did not authorize. Of course the rude man on the phone said I had to send in the 30 day written notice to cancel my contract. CONTRACT, WHAT CONTRACT. I went to the Zoo and talked with the owner and he stated any problems would have to be taken up with National Fitness. He was reluctant to even give me their information. Then went to my bank and cancelled my debit card and filed a dispute. I just received a letter back from my bank that my dispute had been closed as National Fitness provided documentation. I received a copy of a contract with my bank letter I HAVE NEVER SEEN!!! They used my electronic signature and added to a contract. This contract did not even have my current address and the date by my signature was NOT in my handwriting. They have not started calling YET, but they will as the card they have on file is closed. Of course the contract they have me illegally tied to is the one that is non cancellable even though my contract term is one month. SIGN ME UP FOR THE CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT. I DO NOT APPRECIATE MY ELECTRONIC SIGNATURE BEING ADDED TO SOMETHING I DID NOT SIGN!! BEWARE ANY COMPANY TIED TO NATIONAL FITNESS AS THEY ARE ALL CORRUPT!!

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nitaboo Apr 27, 2012

    OMG!!! I am freaking out! I can't believe I am seeing all of this information. I tried to do the right thing too and these people will not give me back my $90 dollars. They won't send me anything in writing and they won't let me talk to a manager. They won't tell me who runs this company and I am at my wits end. This crap has messed up my bank account and caused overdraft fees and drama for me. I have to get a new bank card and everything. I wish I knew about this before but I am going to spread the word in Richmond, VA about these people. My membership was with American Family Fitness. I am writing and calling their head and the AG in Utah and VA. I feel so stupid. I did everything they asked of me and gave them access to all my money! It's crazy. Anyone out there forming a law suit I am all in.

    0 Votes
  • He
    heisking Apr 19, 2012

    Well they have moved into the community of Collierville TN and under the name of Omni Health and FItness have set up shop. They are using National Fitness Management P.O. Box 497 Layton UT [protected]. The sales people do not tell you about all of the fees and once you sign it is a mess. They are nice until you sign the dotted line and then they don't want to talk to you or hear about it. I hope this helps other people before they sign.

    0 Votes
  • El
    Elizabeth1967 Mar 28, 2012

    I joined a local gym that offered personal training I went for my first complementary training period and decided that I did not want to continue te following day I called the young man that signed me up because he told me I had three days to change my mind. I did not hear anything back from him and then four to five days later a trainer called me to schedule an appointment. I told him what I already typed above and he advised me thatI had to call a diffrent phone number and send in a letter requesing that my contract be cancelled. I did not hear from anyone and had no charges other than the one from the gym formy monthly fee. Then all of a sudden I had $120 taken out of my account and was told I had to send a "CETIFIED LETTER" I was never told this and now they want me to pay 250 bucks to cancell my contract. Please help me I am living off Unemployment right now...They suck !!!

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Loho Mar 07, 2012

    I signed a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission today about National Fitness who is used by Gold's Gym. I took the proper steps in cancelling a gym membership that was stated in my contract and I thought everything was ok until I received a letter from National Fitness 3 months later stating that I owed $139, I have been fighting with them and trying to contact Golds Gym to settle this false dispute. I was told in January by a National Fitness representative that if I did not pay they were going to put it on my credit report for an amount of $1272, I explained to the representative if they did that it would be a false claim and I would sue them for harrassment and report them. I was in the process of buying a house and I have to clear all debt before I am approved for a loan and the credit report yesterday showed that national fitness did put in that I owed them $1272 ( which happens to be more than the actual contract and they never deducted what I had already paid towards the contract) I will NEVER use any service that uses this company.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    SerenaRina Sep 13, 2011

    Hi. I'm from Ohio where the scam goes by the name of Ladies Premier Fitness. Same company but of course different name. Ever since I attempted to cancel my membership I have been getting the threatening phone calls and letters claiming that I owe them nearly $2, 000 dollars for both my contract and my sisters since her contract is in fact not legel (being that she is a minor and I am not her legal guardian and they gotta bill somebody). They actually pulled a bait and switch on me. The contract that I discussed with the representative and filled out was not the one that I ended up signing in the end. I have reported the attorney general and to the Better Business Bureau. I've also heard talk of the AG in Ohio setting up a case here soon to sue and am about to take the owner of the one here in Middletown to small claims court. It is crazy just how widespread this all is. They have businesses everywhere under various names and all of them are more or less scaming the public. Poor, unsuspecting people. It is absolutely rediculous.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    suzannem Jul 21, 2011

    i have a membership at crossroads fitness, and i signed a contract for a year for $ 16 a month. i was reveiwing my my checking account statement and there was 1 charge for $42.00 and one for $48.00. so i called my gym and asked them what this was all about. and they said it was a enhancement charge. WAIT A MINUTE, WHAT ENHANCEMENT CHARGE. they said it was in my contract, so long story short i looked at my contract it said nothing of the sort. im going to dispute this with my bank tommorrow. the problem is more people need to come forward.

    0 Votes
  • I was a member for three years. The facility was nasty - water leakage and mold in the track area. musty smell. They painted the ceiling tiles in the lobby to hide water leakage stains. When I went to cancel at the end of my three years they ran me through worthless hoops in order to do so. I would recommend any health club other than CourtSouth or National Fitness.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jordan T Apr 12, 2011

    SCAM SCAM SCAM!!! I cannot emphasize this more. I signed a contract with this company. (fist mistake) The contract called for a 24 month gym membership. The gym was offering 3 months of FREE, yes read that word again FREE, gym membership for three months. Now my contract states that I did not really get three free months but that I signed a contract for 28 months, with four months free. Who the hell would sign some crap like that? Well that bozo is me and they say I owe 400 dollars but will take 196 to complete the contract. Screw that!!! I will never do business with this so called company ever again, EVER!

    1 Votes
  • Mu
    Muscles Mar 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I actual am a gym owner who used CFM to run a promotion at my facility and there billing company is National Fitness and can't believe the billing practices. I have been speaking with several different people at NF to get answers on why they would try to enter customers in their computer system because of their mistake and try to collect money from them a year after the promotion was done and these people didn't use my gym at all. I have threatened them several times with the Attorney Generals Office and BBB. I told them just yesterday that they were a fraudulent company and would never do business with them or CFM in the future. I'm not the one getting billed but very frustrated that because of their poor business practices it reflects on me as a business owner. Very frustrated in Massachusetts!!! There so called reports that I supposedly can print so I can check to see if members are current on their bill is not even accurate and not sure if members are using my gym for free or not. POOR POOR business...they should be shut down! I'm ready to tell all my members that joined during this promotion to stop paying them!

    0 Votes
  • De
    defraudedfranchisee Aug 13, 2010

    Thought I would also share an interesting picture of what Roger Wittenberns is doing with your money. You don't think he worked hard for this do you? He scammed so many people to keep up his lavish lifestyle. Your monthly dues that you have to continuosly pay even though you have satisified your agreement are keeping his huge boat gassed up for the races.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • De
    defraudedfranchisee Aug 13, 2010

    Guys keep writing those letters to Attorney General in your State and keep positing experiences with these fitness franchises. I can tell you that I was a fitness franchisee for Ladies Workout Express and I was also scammed by Roger Wittenberns. Not only is the customer tied to contracts but the owners of the clubs are in a no win situation because they are owned by Roger Wittenberns! No Joke...I was in a class action lawsuit in 2006 but on the franchisee side. I'm sorry that you all got scammed.

    0 Votes
  • Bm
    bmwjax Jul 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Count me in, wrote the letter, sent it certified mail and received a confirmation phone call that our accounts would be cancelled and no more pays after a certain date. Lo and behold, that date has passed and there is another withdrawal - not for the monthly fee - but five times the monthly fee! This is Just Fitness gym in Jacksonville, FL and National Fitness is their management company. I work for a corporate company that they offer discounts to so will be informing my company of their shady practices and am building a file on all the complaints.

    0 Votes
  • Cn
    CNAZARIO May 17, 2010

    I have the same problem with Nation Fitness. I joined Lady's of America in Puerto Rico almost 4 years ago and after I paid 2½ years ago and I send them a letter to cancelled my auto renewa they call me because I "owened" two months, and if I do not paid we are going to a trial. Of course I am going to send a Letters with all the evidences I had to The Attorney General, DACO (office in Puerto Rico that hellp the consumer) and to them. I will NOT paid them anything.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    TaraB2010 Feb 17, 2010

    I had no idea about these people when I joined Ladies Workout Express. I did not like the gym and no longer wanted to be a member but they demand I pay $800 (will settle with me for $400). They call constantly to my cell and work. I never answer their call. I told them I am not able to pay and could not keep up the monthly payments and did not like th gym but they are neither friendly nor helpful. I am going to compose a letter to them and copy it to the Attorney General of my state.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Viqui Jan 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi, I actually just sent a complaint to the Attorney General against Professional Fitness. I was a member at Mieko's gym and have been wrongfully charged since May. I was actually trying to figure out how to set up a class action law suit, I've seen so many complaints about this company since this all began. I just wish I would have seen before signing anything. Hopefully this will be stopped, it's disgusting what these companies have been doing to people.

    2 Votes
  • Be sure to file a complaint with the Attorney General's office in your state. I am requesting via the Public Records Act and Freedom of Information Act a list of all the people who have enlisted the help of their Attorney General. Then I am going to look into organizing a class action suit against these thieves. It's time this stops happening to innocent people like us.

    2 Votes
  • Jp
    jproellrn Aug 01, 2009

    I have the same sort of issue with National Fitness. I am actually in advanced collections now because they would not accept their own "accepted forms" of proof of move. I tried to cancel in February and this is August and I am still getting harassing phone calls from them. In February I sent them a letter showing my drivers license had been changed to reflect my new address. A month later they called and said that I owed them money because the account was not cancelled. Then I bought a new drivers license and sent a copy of that to them and they stated they could not accept that. All the while, I am talking to a representative on the phone and they tell me what I am sending will be fine. Finally they stopped charging my account after the third proof of address is sent to them. But they do not stop charging until that is processed, unlike other places that will protate you back to when you tried to originally cancel the account. I got a letter from them stating that I owed them $182.00. but they were willing to take a settlement of $91.00 as of July, 26. But today, August 1, they want over $200 and changed the settlement to $157.00. I have acted in good faith in trying to deal with this company, but they will not be rationale and it is very hard to get a supervisor or management on the phone. Today I spoke with a supervisor and she was very nasty. I asked to speak to her boss and she would not let me. I then asked to leave a voicemail and again was denied.

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    fury Mar 14, 2009

    I completely agree! They will not let me end my contract!

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    MommyFirst Jan 22, 2009

    This company is awful. They are money hungry disgusting human beings that should not be in business.

    Due to a family tragedy I could not submit my cancellation letter to them within 3 days and I spoke to every employee, manager and janitor in that place and they "could not help me". I work in a financial instituion myself and we make exceptions when there is an unordinary situation.

    Do not ever sign a contract with them!!! I wished that I had done some research online and found that out for myself before I went ahead and signed a contract with them.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.