The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
National Credit Solutionsbmg music

D

Posting $ 173.80 from BMG muisc to the above listed collections with out making contact to myself. Thsi debt was from 2004. It took 5 years to post to an accout?

Responses

  • Mi
    Millard Mar 15, 2011

    I never ordered anything from BMG, and yet My credit report is claiming $145 in default. This collection company claims I owe this when I never ordered or received a product of any kind.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bigbad_momma Nov 06, 2010

    WTH I'm shopping for a shiny new gun anyway, I need some target practice. LOL

    0 Votes
  • De
    defineboredom May 07, 2010

    I believe the above "complaint" by Lisa19072 is in violation of FTC guidelines for contact concerning debt collection. If this person is in the employ of NCS, NCS could be held liable in court for harassing contact.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa19072 Jul 01, 2009

    Here is my response to a lot of questions and misconceptions I see out there. I am glad to help however I can not correspond via email ( I will give you a contact number below) If you have any questions or haven't recieved any notices then you need the proper information right away...call in tell them where to send it, and they'll mail it out to you as soon as possible.
    It is in thier best interest as well as yours, that you are well informed about the situation.


    FAQ'S

    What kind of agency is National Credit Solutions?
    NCS is a third party entity; we are not affiliated with the original creditor although we collect unpaid debt on their behalf. Sometimes organizations hire NCS to work on their unpaid debts, and in this case we do not own the actual accounts. Any money collected goes back to the creditor, minus a percentage of the debts that is decided upon as the earnings for the agency. Other times NCS actually purchases the debt portfolio from the creditor for an agreed upon amount. This means that NCS owns these debts and will keep any money collected.

    Who regulates a collections agency?
    The Federal Trade Commission is the primary regulator of collection agencies. There are varying city-wide and state-wide laws that also regulate collection activities within their jurisdiction. The Fair Debt Collection Practices Act is the primary United State Federal law governing debt collection practices. For more information check out http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/credit/cre01.shtm In addition to state and federal laws, NCS is a certified ACA International member and has agreed to abide by the association's code of ethics as a condition of membership. ACA's standards of conduct require its members to treat consumers with dignity and respect, and equip agencies with the tools and resources needed to professionally address all consumer complaints.

    What tools does NCS use to collect?
    • Skip tracing – investigation of account bearer, verifying contact information and whereabouts.
    • Investigative Software
    • Credit Reporting Capabilities
    • Sophisticated Lettering System

    National Credit Solution will not harass, bully, or threaten any consumer and we do not support these tactics in any situation.

    Is it legal for NCS to report to my credit?
    Yes it is legal. You may or may not have been contacted by the original creditor for attempts to receive payment before they handed over the account to a 3rd party collections agency. It is frustrating to find something on your credit report without any warning HOWEVER once the account is handed down to a collections agency (the last step) they have the right to report it to the Credit Bureau without notification (With the exceptions of 3 states).

    National Credit Solutions gained credit reporting capabilities after the company was audited and fulfilled the requirements set by Credit Bureau. Unlike other agencies NCS contacts the credit bureau every Friday for the quickest possible updates to your credit. Whether you establish payment in full, a payment plan, a settlement, or have the account closed there is a difference in each option and how it affects your credit report. If you have any questions or would like to make an agreement that best suits your situation please call into the office at [protected] and have your account number ready.

    Do I have to pay extra fees to NCS in addition to the principle balance?
    Any additional late fees that have accumulated on your account depend on two things. These fees will vary according to the contract that you entered into with the original creditor at the time of your transaction. Varying state regulations also dictate what kind of fees and collections are permissible. If you have any questions about your account you may call National Credit Solutions at [protected] and ask for a breakdown of your charges.

    Does NCS have to provide proof of purchase before collection?
    The answer to this question is No. After NCS sends you validation of the debt they are not further required to prove any of the details of your original transaction with the creditor. Validation includes an itemized statement of your transaction, contact information of the original creditor, and your last known billing address. Even if you didn’t actually receive the product you were charged for that is an issue that needs to be taken up with the original creditor. When the agency receives accounts from the original creditor they trust that the accounts are correct and valid. Due to the large amount of accounts some errors and cases of identity theft may occur. In these situations the burden of providing proof lies with consumer. You must submit substantial evidence to NCS that proves that this debt is not yours, an example of this would be submitting identity theft policy reports and the official affidavit.

    Will my account be closed if I send in a complaint?
    There is a difference between filing a dispute and a complaint. If you feel that the debt is not rightfully yours send in a written dispute and submit proof accordingly to the NCS office. If you have experienced harassment or witnessed any unlawful business practices there are a number of places you can submit a complaint. However, filing a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission, Better Business Bureau, your Attorney General, or on the ACA International website does not close the account.
    We will respond to any complaints filed through these organizations and provide validation. We pride ourselves on maintaining a healthy relationship with the Better Business Bureau and the Federal Trade Commission and wish to defend our reputation and handle any and all complaints in a timely and professional manner.

    What is the best way to dispute a debt?
    • A dispute must be a written request.
    • Provide proof that supports your claim
    • Be clear in your request for deletion
    • Be patient in waiting for a response ( may take up to 30 days for investigation)

    Should I contact the original creditor?
    If a mistake has been made and you have proof that you paid and closed your account with the original creditor, mail any documents you have directly to the NCS office with a request for deletion. It might be hard to contact the creditor and many times they will simply direct you back to NCS. The original creditor no longer has your account on file and NCS is not able to give out their contact information. If you wish to speak with them you will have to use your own resources and it is very important if for any reason you receive any instruction or approval for deletion that you get a written statement and mail it in to NCS.

    How can I prove this debt is not mine?
    Once you receive validation this means that the debt is in fact under your name and the agency that you are dealing with has legal authority to collect the debt. If you have never lived at the address on the file or were a victim of identity theft or have any special situation in which the debt being pursued is not yours you must send a written dispute to our office and also submit sufficient proof. After a dispute is filed an investigation will be taken up and you will be contacted within 30-60 days.

    TIPS:

    *If you have moved and currently have a new address it helps to call in and correct the information so you can receive any reminders for payments, receipts, or notifications concerning your account. You should have received an initial letter 5 days after any contact with NCS informing you of your balance and your rights. If you have found something on your credit report and haven’t received a notice from NCS yet please contact our office so that we can get you the information you need as quickly as possible.

    •If you contact NCS and make a request for payment in full (PIF) your account will be closed and the Credit Bureau will be contacted. We will request that the collection be deleted from your credit report entirely. NCS reports to the Credit Bureau with any updates to your credit every Friday. This ensures quicker updates than many other agencies out there. All that NCS can do however is notify the Credit Bureau and after that it is their obligation to make any changes as they see fit. The time that it takes to see any immediate results or removal varies.

    •If you are seeing the date of December 2008 this is when National Credit Solutions received your actual account, this is NOT the date that indicates when the actual transaction occurred NOR does this date effect the fall-off date of the collection on your credit. The fall-off date for the collection on your credit is seven years from the last activity on the account. Your credit report will have this date listed. NCS does not “re-age” any accounts or manipulate any information illegally. NCS operates in compliance with the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA). We are licensed and working continuously to adhere to different stipulations that vary from state to state. We follow a strict code of ethics and treat every one of our consumers respectfully.

    •There are some consequences that come from leaving a collection report on your credit and waiting for 7 years for it to fall off. These consequences include but are not limited to drastic changes in your credit score, high interest rates, high insurance premiums, and difficulty acquiring loans or purchasing a house or car and may affect job eligibility. For more information on Your Rights: Credit Reporting & Credit Reports & Scoring visit http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/menus/consumer/credit.shtm

    National Credit Solutions is a debt collection company. This is an attempt to collect a debt and any information obtained will be used for that purpose. To ensure compliance with federal laws pertaining to debt collection, we are unable to correspond electronically. Please feel free to call the office at [protected] our hours are online at www.nationalcreditsolutions.net

    This information is not to be construed as legal advice. Legal advice must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. Every effort has been made to assure that this information is correct and up-to-date. This is not a full and exhaustive explanation of the law nor should it be used as or considered legal council.

    -1 Votes
  • Fi
    FightBack Jul 01, 2009

    The comments above from "Lisa19072" is obviously tainted since she works for NCS. My original comments 3rd from the top is still the best advice.

    If you owe the money pay it otherwise if you got caught up in their scam don't them push you around. The statement "National Credit Solution will not harass, bully, or threaten any consumer and we do not support these tactics in any situation." is TOTAL BULL. If you believe that I have some ocean front property in Arizona I would like to sell you.

    Take it from me a person not affiliated with NCS but, a victim of their scam they will try everything they can to extort money from you...don't let them win...they hope you will just give up, pay, and go away!

    1 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa19072 Jun 08, 2009

    If you see that NCS has reported something to your credit report this means that the account has been overdue for an extended amount of time and the original creditor has transferred your uncollected debt to National Credit Solutions for collection. Someone had to provide two types of identification and legitimate credit card or payment information for these original transactions... so whether it was you ordering from BMG a long time ago and you just can't remember OR it was someone with your information ordering the merchandise EITHER WAY the order is under your name because of the information that was provided. If you submit a WRITTEN request for validation NCS will supply that to you no problem at all ( they have 30 days to get it to you)

    You may or may not have been contacted by the original creditor for attempts to receive payment before they handed over the account to a 3rd party collections agency. It stinks to find something on your credit report without any warning HOWEVER once the account is handed down to a collections agency they have the right to report it to the Credit Bureau without notification (With the exceptions of 3 states).

    NCS is a certified and licensed collections agency and is in compliance with regulatory state laws. They are NOT a scam or fraud because they were thoroughly inspected and passed in order to be able to report to the credit bureau. They are also rated A+ with the BBB.

    NCS contacts the credit bureau ever Friday for updates. Many other agencies contact the credit bureau every month making any updates and clearing your credit a much slower and strenuous process. After NCS receives contact from you or contacts you personally, 5 days from this initial contact you will receive a letter stating your rights and the amount owed. If they don't hear back from you it is assumed that you have received the notice.

    After receiving this first notification from NCS you have 30 days to send in a formal written request for validation. After 30 days NCS is not legally obligated to send you a validation but may or may not as a common courtesy.

    It is very important to resolve any issues with collections agencies in order to avoid increasing fees and to maintain a good credit score. Some people might say don’t pay, reporting to your credit is just a bullying tactic. This is bad advice because the longer you wait to pay your debt the more fees build and your credit worsens. In extreme cases your credit card may be cancelled, you may be refused a loan or unable to make any serious purchases.

    Full payment, payment plan, settlement?

    There is a difference in each of these options and how it affects your credit report. Also keep in mind that the quicker you resolve your debts with the agency the better -- as the account sits in the system it accumulates interest fees and becomes more and more expensive with time. Stay calm and make an informed decision, but do not blow your payment off. This only costs you more in the long run.

    Full Payment- quickest, guarantees that your credit will be cleared

    Payment Plan -National Credit Solutions offers various payment plans over extended periods of time based on how much you are financially able to pay. This process takes longer to clear your credit but eventually does. they can set up automatic withdrawals according to the payment plan you have established.

    Hardship Settlement- On a case by case basis NCS may or may not qualify you for a hardship settlement after assessing your situation and financial standing. Different factors affect their ability to settle such as ownership of the account and what type of account it is. If you chose this option your credit report will show that you settled for less than the legal amount owed. They can't guarantee the degree to which your credit will improve it varies in each situation.

    Best way of paying
    They accept payments over the phone or by mail, from checking, savings, credit or debit cards, mail orders, or cashiers checks. (Discover, Visa, MasterCard only) They will prob. encourage you to pay over the phone which I was uneasy of at first but when I checked into it I was told this was for a few reasons. It is a lot faster and actually more secure to pay via phone. If you mail in your payment there is a difference in the amount paid versus the final balance ( which includes any fees that were accumulated while your payment was in the mail).

    They really do want to help you close out your account at NCS because that is in their best interest too. People who I have talked to say that they are more flexible if you are nice and communicate clearly.

    After I pay how long will it take to get it off my credit?

    NCS reports to the Credit Bureau with any updates to your credit every Friday. This ensures quicker updates than many other agencies out there. All that NCS can do however is notify the Credit Bureau and after that it is their obligation to make any changes as they see fit. The time that it takes to see any immediate results or removal varies.

    Two other options... Cease & Desist/ Dispute

    Cease and Desist is a formally written request. Be advised, cease and desist does not make debt go away. Requesting cease and desist will simply terminate any written or verbal communication towards you from NCS employees. NCS will honor this request. However, the debt will still show up on the consumers credit report, the account is still open, and the individual is still held accountable for the debt.But don't send a cease and desist and ask for verification...that doesn't make sense.

    If you are disputing the debt it is best to file your dispute through Transunion.com or experian.com, or mail it directly to NCS addressed to Blake Taylor for the quickest response.

    IF YOU ARE FILING A DISPUTE KEEP IN MIND:
    1.) You must provide proof.
    2.) After a dispute is received by NCS they commence an investigation that can take up to 30 days.

    If you feel that this debt is not yours and you have legitimate proof to clear the account from your name then we suggest that you file a dispute. After our office receives a dispute an investigation is taken up that lasts 30 days. After this 30 day period NCS has 30 days to contact you. This takes time.

    If for example you are disputing the debt on the grounds of identity theft you must provide a police report and the identity theft affidavit for that relevant period of time when the debt occurred. Another example would be a person who was overseas at the time of the transaction, if the correct documents were submitted to prove this the account would be closed.

    With millions of accounts there are bound to be mistakes or cases of fraud HOWEVER many people claim identity theft with no proof in an attempt to get out of paying.

    If you don’t think the debt is yours do not file a complaint submit a dispute!

    Complaints should be very rare. File a complaint if you are reporting any harassment or if the agency has broken the law.

    Any other questions let me know...im here to help!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Consumer Advocate May 02, 2009

    Take five minutes to file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission regarding the unfair credit reporting and debt collection practices of of National Credit Solutions. You can file online at: https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Consumer Advocate May 02, 2009

    I too just learned that my great credit scored has dropped as a result of frivilous, erroneous debt collections placed on my credit report by NCS. All of a sudden, my credit limits have been decreased signficantly as a result of NCS' reportings. Folks who find themselves in this situation need to understand your rights under the Fair Credit Reporting and Debt Collections Practices (see www.ftc.gov). I know my right and will not allow the unfair practices of NCS to continue to go unaddressed.

    WHATEVER YOU DO - DO NOT AGREE TO PAY DEBT THAT IS NOT YOURS. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE NOTIFIED OF THE DEBT AND OBTAIN WRITTEN VALIDATION OF THE DEBT.

    I'M PREPARING A COMPLAINT TO FILE A LAWSUIT AGAINST NCS. BECAUSE OF NCS, I HAVE LOST $24, 000 IN CREDIT LINES, MY DEBT RATION HAS ALMOST REACH 95% BECUASE OF DECREASED CREDIT LINES.

    For example my $27 line of credit which had a balance of $7k, resulting in debt ratio of 26%, is now at 70% because my credit line was decreased to $10k!

    Stop this injustics. Email me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    FightBack Apr 18, 2009

    National Credit Solutions / BMG is running a scam on bogus debt that is years old.
    Here is what I suggest you do if you receive a letter from NCS, BMG music and or Capital Assistance Group if you do not owe the debt.
    1) Call [protected] and tell them you want proof that you owe what they are claiming.
    2) Send an email to [email protected] requesting proof.
    3) Send a fax to [protected] requesting proof every day until they sent it.
    4) Mail them a letter with a return receipt to:
    National Credit Solutions
    PO Box 15779
    Oklahoma City, OK
    73155
    or
    National Credit Solutions
    3675 E I 240
    Oklahoma City, OK
    73135
    Based on the many complaints I have read on [redacted].com and this website including my own experience they probably will not provide the proof and hope you just pay it.
    If they try to use strong arm tactics like they did with me then report them in a professional manor to the BBB http://oklahomacity.bbb.org/ and the Association of Credit and Collection Professionals at [email protected] ask them for a complaint form and explain in a professional manor what happened. It is easy to let your emotions blurt out what happened but, that will only muddy up the water just stick to the facts and don't be sarcastic.
    Here is an outline of what they have done to me that I reported to the BBB and ACA.
    -Requested proof of debt on these dates, mail, phone call, email, fax...no response. Spoke with Blake Taylor at extension 112 and was told proof was on the way. Never happened.
    -Use of strong arm tactics (threatened to access my credit report on a daily basis which can lower your score, was told I had to prove the debt was not mine before they would do anything, hung up on me when asked repeatedly for a copy of proof that I owe what they are claiming, negative report on my credit file before I was given the opportunity to review the debt and pay off if it was mine).
    If warranted contact a lawyer and or the Oklahoma Attorney General for help.
    Finally I also suggest you contact Chris Murphy at [email protected] [protected] x 2530
    I found Chris to be quite helpful in coming up with a solution to this problem.
    Capital Assistance Group https://www.caghub.com/ they apparently own BMG music and associated debt.
    There are many resources if you do a little digging on the net. I hope this helps!

    1 Votes
  • Li
    LizC Apr 07, 2009

    File a complaint with BBB. Also, send dispute to credit agency.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.