The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
National Association of Family Benefitspoor business practices

S Review updated:

In my opinion, it is a huge scam. They conned my mother into a policy which they said would pay her bills and collect insurances once she passed. This cost about $1500 plus about $70/year which is absolutely ridiculous. My mother has very few assets and while she thought she was doing us a favor it ended up being a huge mistake for all involved. When we tried to call the guy who came over to my mom's, the number on his card only rang to the main company and there was no way to talk to an actual person. They also only gave 3 days to cancel. It was a huge headache and we ended up using the bank to cancel the transaction.

The fact that they meet you in your home may sound like a benefit, but it also is just another pressure ploy that insurance agents and other salesman use to get you to make a decision without taking the time to think it over or talk with an outsider.

Responses

  • Cw
    cwilliams38 Oct 14, 2009

    ths it just 1 complaint? sounds like it could be a good company. Besides your mother is a grown woman and many people need estate planning and $1.500 is a great deal.

    -5 Votes
  • Mu
    MUFFY Oct 26, 2009

    I agree with you about this scam.i was also scamed by them.Not the same as your mother was.But another scam I have been mislead and lied to by them.

    2 Votes
  • Ed
    Edna Y Jun 06, 2010

    We were scammed by them also! Luckily we had our friend who is an agent SHOW us what a scam this company is! They are out just to get your money! They come into your home asking to see your assets and then they want you to put them into an annuity!

    2 Votes
  • Li
    Linda Delong May 31, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    THIS COMPANY IS DEFINITELY A SCAM COMPANY AND DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THEM FOR "ANYTHING"
    They had some jerk come to our home and talk us into signing up with their company for a wonderful plan that would supposedly save us money and our kids money once we passed away.
    We had signed up and paid them $1495.00 then they had a lawyer call us for another $495.00 and when we asked them for our money back they sent us a letter stating that they only will do that within 3 business days from the date of purchase. EVERYONE BEWARE...they said we would receive a big kit in the mail of information which we did NEVER receive, then about three weeks later a lawyer called us to send him more money...I contacted them and they told me to send back the form asking for THEM to cancel the agreement and they would do what they can - - - well guess what - - - they can't do a dam thing except keep the $1495.00 that we gave them...THIS IS THE BIGGEST RIP OFF COMPANY I HAVE EVER HEARD OF...so please read this and keep it in mind if they happen to contact you.

    3 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Knoell Aug 19, 2011

    Just signed with them and now am afraid I made a big mistake. How do I get out of this?

    2 Votes
  • Sa
    Sarah Pat Feb 29, 2012

    I see a lot of people upset about the money they didn't get back, but when my family signed up for this program it was clear as day in the paperwork that YOU SIGNED that you only had 3 days to cancel & get your money back. It's not the company's fault you can't read.

    -5 Votes
  • Tr
    Trust-a-Trust Mar 06, 2012

    Everyone needs a trust. That's pretty cheap 1495.00 compared to what attorneys make from you and your family. Do your homework, attorneys wills are the biggest scam of the century...that was in Oct. readers digest. Also articles that a trust is the only way to go...You are the owner of everything you own..they are not filed.. Until you go through probate with an attorney, don't say stupid things..Educate yourself, a trust is the only way to go...That is a cheap price, plus the services they offer. Just calling an attorney cost your kids thousands... go to your courthouse, pull someones last inherittance tax form from probate...who made thpusands AN ATTORNEY...not with a TRUST.

    -2 Votes
  • Ha
    Harley H Jul 04, 2014

    Yes, my elderly and not very astute mother fell for the scam also. She is not as sharp as she used to be and they played her. Only a ### would prey on the elderly, take their 'membership' fee and then ask for more money for services that are not needed.

    Can only hope that they did not pull any sneaky moves with the information they got from the deed to the house, etc. Hate that the money is gone, but my real fear is that we might discover evil maneuvers later. Anyone that does business this way can not be trusted.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    matt42 Nov 04, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree, this company is a HUGE SCAM. After my mother passed I found out she had signed up with this company. They sent out a rep. All he did was go over a check list of things that we need to do. Of that check list, only 2 things i did not do. One was to obtain a tax ID. He offered his company to get that tax ID, for the price of $75. It cost nothing for me, or your local accountant to obtain. Now, 8 months past her date of death, i find a charge on her back account for this membership.

    4 Votes
  • Mi
    Miss Bliss Jun 03, 2017

    Hello, I googled complaints because I just went to their seminar interested in getting a living trustand it sounded like a good deal but dont want to give a company I dont know money that has no locations near me. I checked the bbb this company rated a+ and only shows two complaints. if all the people complaining on this complaint board would post it on the bbb everyone could see it and it would make a difference!

    2 Votes
  • He
    hermina kalf Jul 18, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Miss Bliss I was thinking the exact same. Why does no one complain at the BBB it would be more obvious. Did you read the lengthy responses of this company to the complaints on the BBB site. It seems they go out of their way to say the complaints are false and people cannot read and people forget.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kimbarella Aug 05, 2018

    I used them, after a hotel seminar, for a living trust only. I didn't put all assets into the trust, just the house. I'm very satisfied with their service.

    1 Votes
  • No
    notafanofnafs Aug 23, 2018

    My wife and I used them, we do not recommend them. The legal firm is difficult to connect with via phone (phone tree with 8 options, no live voice to talk to), and made numerous mistakes on our trust documents. The notary who came to our house to notarize our signatures (we could have done this for free at our credit union) was not at all familiar with the paperwork we were signing and was unable to answer any questions, told us the person who would be coming to help us fund our trust would answer questions. The young man who came for that second appointment kept telling us that he couldn't give legal advice; in reality, he's a sales rep for Puritan Financial Group and came to try to get details of our finances (even though we had already told NAFS and him that we were not interested in financial products, just wanted the RLT). In the end, we asked him to leave after an hour and a half - waste of our time. Cost of the trust is cheap, but remember - we get what we pay for.

    2 Votes
  • Bq
    Bqc333 Oct 25, 2018

    I have read all the complaints. I feel that MOST people who goes to these seminars and are confused as to what they really want or they end not NOT understanding what this company does. Why? Because they do not do any preliminary research. All the listed complaints on this complaint board has been dated as far back as 2009 (almost 10 years). As in buying ANY product whether it's an ITEM or a SERVICE, you have to KNOW what you are buying to get what you want, right? For example, if you want to buy anything electronic like a cell phone, a TV, tablet, etc., you don't just don't go to ONE store, just point to the first item you see, plod down your hard earn money and buy it right?
    You want to know about what features it offers, right?
    You want to know what WHISTLES and BELLS it has to offered, right?
    You want to know if it is "compatible" to what you want, right?
    You want to know what OTHER companies are offering any similar items with the same features, right?
    You get on YELP or COMPLAINT boards to find out what the REVIEWS are, right?

    If you are looking for a LIVING TRUST because you own your OWN home, then tried to remember HOW you bought your house. Did you just BOUGHT the FIRST house you see?
    OR did you do some research like checking the condition of the house, checking out the deed to see if there are any liens on the house, checking out if the house had a bad history; checking with the city planning and permit office to see if any remodeling or re-construction is done that is within code. Find out if the area is in flood zone or not.
    (maybe that's why the price is SO LOW). Find out which way the house is facing depends on how much sun you will be getting. So the bottom line is that you do not want to be departed with your money and end up with a headache later on...then do SOME research, GET SAVY!

    DON'T KNOW anything about ESTATE PLANNING? THEN FIND OUT YOURSELF!!

    1. GO TO SEVERAL SEMINARS...BRING A NOTE PAD to dot down notes unless you go a PHOTOGRAPHIC memory!
    2. DON'T SIGN UP WITH ANYONE OR SIGN ANYTHING. At first, imagine of all those facilitators are dressed in a RED SUIT, with HORNS and a LONG TAIL...and they are all leading forward with a PEN for you to "SIGN HERE".
    3. GATHER all your information. GO HOME...GET ON GOOGLE. CHECK YELP. CHECK COMPLAINT BOARDS, ETC.
    4. Still confused with TOO MUCH information and legal jargon?
    5. GO to Nolopress.com. They sell all sorts of legal books for LAY people. (Estate Planning, Doing Wills and Living Trusts, How to do your own Divorce, How to Adopt a Kid, How to do Probate, etc, etc. You named it, they got an EASY book on any LEGAL sujbect on layman's level!!!) MOST of the forms are inside the book. Some books comes with tutorial discs. If you are SLOW on learning...play that disc over and over again until you get it! Their books may be a bit expensive, you can get them USED on AMAZON.COM
    6. Of course, you need to have it EXPLAINED to you in A MUCH further simpler terms...then go to the book section on AMAZON.COM. They have books like: ESTATE PLANNING for DUMMIES, WILLS & TRUSTS for DUMMIES, etc. and if that if STILL TOO COMPLICATED, then you can try the books : ESTATE PLANNING for IDIOTS; WILLS & TRUSTS for IDIOTS.
    7. If you are a limited budget and you do not have to money to spend on books, go to your local library and you can also borrow any these books from your PUBLIC LIBRARY and see if it's too hard for you to understand.

    Once you have done STEPS # 1 - 7:

    Your local County Courthouse has a FREE hand out that list all the probate attorneys in the area (either with
    or without their bar number). You can checked out their website. You can check out the State Bar to find out if there are any complaints against them or if they are in good standing. You can crank out letters and send them out to them requesting what type of service you need and what their fees are. Do some comparative shopping!

    And for those who do not follow Step #1 - 7, I guess I will find you writing in on the NEXT complaint. If you are THAT person, I guess I make you an offer you can't refused. How about me making you a dream offer to sell you the STATUE of LIBERTY or the GOLDEN GATE BRIDGE for a bargain price of $1.00. ?

    5 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.