MLP Media Ltd, Chorley, LancashireMiss-sold advertising

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

In November 2010, MLP Media contacted me as they had found my number through The Federation of Holistic Therapists, offering a slot to advertise in my local pharmacy. Promising a leaflet would be produced by end of December, which would be placed in each prescription bag, for 2 years. I was in the process of setting up as a mobile holistic therapist, and they said they had secured another similar professionals for this advertising, i.e. counsellor, acupuncturists, chiropodists, hairdresser (all mobile). It seemed too good an opportunity. A contract was signed and the first instalment taken. Receipts for the remaining instalments arrived, but nothing else. Each time I phone they had a technical problem/staff problems and I was asked to contact them again in a week. I submitted a complaint 24/05/11, asking for my money back as it was 30 weeks since I met with their salesman. They had taken my £304. Again, lots of stalling tactics and a copy of the leaflet was posted to me July 2011. The other advertisements included a counsellor, mortgage advisor and taxi company.

I kept attending the local pharmacy and the leaflets did arrive but until September. They are on a shelf, staff don’t give them out, have no intention of doing so, despite me asking them to on many occasions. The company did offer my a £50 refund, which I said was not sufficient. I really wanted all my money back in May and now in January, that is still what I want. Now I cannot get any reply from the company at all. As an independent trader, this is a lot of money, which I cannot afford to loose!

Is there any redress?

Responses

  • Kl
    klickdm22 Sep 28, 2012

    I am having some problems i am a gym manager and i recieved a call from CAS MEDIA and they said can they come in and talk about advertising us in doctors surgery, i had just started my own business part time - as a Herbalife distributor, i thought it was a great opportunity for advertising what i did, after Andrew Thompson went through a few ads they previously did, he started to ask name, address and filling out this agreement, and said oh i'll do it at 250 plus vat, so thats what he put he never explained the 2 year term or even let me read the terms, or even show me the terms, i paid within a week £300 without any communication as to my advert, a few weeks later got intouch and got a very basic designed to which i never was told was going live, or anything.
    i read the 2 year term later and just thought well that'll teach me, didnt think i'd have to pay £300 until next annum, as it says per annum, yet i have received 2 letters, one that says invoice, and says advert £500 and VAT £100 paid £300 but at bottom it says 2nd payment of £150 was due on 17/7/12 bear in mind i received this letter 6/9/12 and 3rd payment due 17/9/12, but i feel i havent even had any communication from them and wether my ad is live and very worried as this shouldnt be due til next year, every saying its a scam and i cant find anything on the company to say it isn't legit, please please HELP !!! any advice would really help

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Call me for legal advice Apr 16, 2012

    Firstly I should say that I am a civil litigator and have experience with recovering damages for breach of contract. I should also say that I myself have suffered at the hand of MLP, it's a horrible thing to happen and I sympathise will everyone here that has shared the same fate. If i can help you I will!

    Poppadom, the reason your proceedings have not been accepted is because you are issuing/serving against the wrong legal entity. Company law 101: a limited company is a legal entity and retains its own liabilities. You should have served against the company with which you engaged a contract. This limited liability, retained by the company is known as the corporate veil and is intended to encourage investment and business. It can be lifted where fraud, sham or facade are proven however these have to be exceptional circumstances. The issue with this is that MLP Media Ltd, although still active on companies house may not have any money with which to pay us out, even if you have a County Court Judgement against them for the debt.

    I have posted on here before and until now haven't been able to help anyone because my costs outweighing the amount being claimed; these are small claims cases. If enough people need my help and we can push the value up into the fast track (over £5, 000) then I may be able to recover costs and help everyone in a group action without charging anything more than i recover from MLP, again this is subjct to confirmation that they have enough money to pay me out! I will have to look into this so no promises but if everyone who is owed money from MLP within the last 6 years (limitation for breach of contract) then I will try and put something together.

    Call me and I will advise you without asking for a penny (although I would reserve the right to charge if I win the case against MLP whereby I will recover the money from them and not from you).

    I hate this sort of fraudulent trading that damages the little guys, if I can stick it to them for you I will!

    I will shamelessly plug that I also do personal injury and indutrial disease work so I would ask, if you appreciate my kindess to you, that you repay me with a reccomendation to anyone you know that has been injured and would like legal advice (again at no charge).

    Good luck everyone, call me!

    Colin Goldring
    Civil Litigator
    Broadgate Legal Solicitors
    Tel: [protected]
    Fax: [protected]
    e-mail: [email protected]

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.