Kuala Lumpur International Airport Immigration ScamImmigration Detained Scam by Fake Immigration Officer

C
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I have met a US Army man online via a online dating site. His name is John O'Brien and his email is [protected]@yahoo.com.

He claimed to be a US Army soldier serving in Iraq. I knew him for a few months and we dated online for a month. He informed me that he has completed his army contract on 24 Feb 2011 and will meet me in Singapore on 28 Feb 2011.

He said that he will be flying via military flight and will arrive in Singapore Changi Airport Terminal 3.

On the day of his arrival, I received a call about 1.5 hours before his arrival time. It is a Malaysian mobile no. +[protected] by a woman's name Jasmine Henry/Jasmine Bt Abudllah. She claimed to be a Malaysian immigration officer at KLIA (KL Int'l Airport).

She explained to me that Mr O'Brien is being detained at the airport as he failed to declare his luggage. She wanted me to pay USD$2, 500.

I was suspicious and I tried to question more. However, I was also in love with Mr O'Brien and really hope that he is here with me. So in the end, I listened to the story. Mr O'Brien spoken to me on the phone too but prior to this, I have never spoken to him before.

In the end, the story was the custom needed him to pay USD$7, 500 and he had already paid USD$5, 000 hence if I helped to pay the balance, they will release him to fly to Singapore. However, I explained to Jasmine that I do not have so much cash on hand. She finally agreed to allow me to pay USD$1, 000 then she can help to release him.

Initially I believed in her as my love for Mr O'Brien run deep. I transferred the money. Thankfully, the name which I transferred the money was incorrect & they could not pick up the money. After much thinking and some internal research, I withdrew back the money.

They tried to contact me when they knew I withdrew back the money. I just ignored them.

To all out there, online dating is very dangerous. This is my 2nd time being cheated. The 1st time I was cheated of some money. Now I have learnt to be more vigilant.

I hope my sharing will help some of you out there.

Be careful.

Responses

  • Fo
    ForeverTravelling Oct 16, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just recently had a similar experience. Met someone online (claiming he was in Australia) and he said he would come to visit me in Toronto. He even had a fake flight confirmation made up. We conversed for a month and said he was already planning a trip to the US and would stop over before heading there for us to finally meet. The day before he was supposed to arrive, claimed he got detained at the airport in Malaysia by customs and I needed to wire him 975.00 to western union in order for him to get a certificate so he could be released as he said he was travelling with more than 10, 000. I began to get suspicious and thankfully after doing some research, nothing was sent. So unfortunate the lengths people will go to nowadays :(

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scared now Jan 24, 2014

    if you know this man name Adam Thompson a civil engineer from US but living in London, together with him is a filipina name Michelle Lucas Baquiran her address17 Jalan/234 Jalan Selangor, Kuala Lumpur Malaysia and the numbers their using are +[protected] and +[protected] same as other story was detained in KLIA Custom for bringing big money need to pay for the certificate, these are the photo the he send to me maybe we have the same scammers.

    2 Votes
  • Ru
    RUPITOK Mar 22, 2013

    instinct told me. And I decided to end it once and for all by ignoring this man totally. I shut my door at him and would not allow any single movement from him to invade into my life anymore. NO MORE!!! A true man will never ask money from the woman he loves. A true man will face his problems and handle them by himself.

    3 Votes
  • My
    MYL Aug 16, 2011

    I met a Canadian man online and he said he lived in US Miami Florida. He was very handsome in the pictures, females would not control but fell in love with him. He claimed or presented himself to be so, of course, it could all be counterfeit. We went dating online for about three weeks, he was very romantic and loving in his words to me, he said he loved me, wanted to marry me, and even sent me a marriage form. I did not want to agree out of ignorance, of course. I told him we had to meet up first. So, he arranged to come to meet me in my country. On the day he arrived at Malaysia airport, he told me he got into trouble with the airport authority. They saw he brought with him a lot of money and wanted to confiscate unless he could purchase a certificate to prove the money belonged to me. Because he did not have enough money in his wallet, he could not pay for it. So he asked me to pay for him and he would repay me once he reached Singapore (Very lame, isn't it?!!! I was not born yesterday). I asked him to seek help from the embassy. The embassy representative called me faster than expected and said the same thing as he said, I had to help him to pay for the certificate. I thought this embassy representative was very inefficient and a numbskull, he could not help one of his fellow country men at all!!! Then for the rest of the day he kept pestering me with calls and sms to pay for him. But, I kept telling him I had got no money. He made damn lame excuses, he had not enough money, what about his credit card? His mother was crying, then why did he not ask his mother to pay? He had said he was scared to travel to Asia and would not want me to tell anybody he was coming, then why did he bring so much cash along to travel? Were he not scared to get robbed in Asia? He could carry cheque book, credit card or whatever safer document rather than a luggage of cash!!! He also sent in the bank account information for me to transfer the money over. I grew more and more distressed, vexed and annoyed. I hated this man and all his lies, his fraud, his cheating. My woman's instinct told me. And I decided to end it once and for all by ignoring this man totally. I shut my door at him and would not allow any single movement from him to invade into my life anymore. NO MORE!!! A true man will never ask money from the woman he loves. A true man will face his problems and handle them by himself.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jefi newton Aug 05, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @MYL I have experience just right now he introduce himself from canada he name Kenneth Hughes bowen.. We just chat like 3 days he say he really interests with me and want a serious relationship i was shock but i want meet up first bfore that. All text from him just to sweet he says he really falling in me but we never talk just chat i was surprise we never meet and just start chat like 3 day im suspicious and the same time yeah i admit it i was happy too lol.. Last we chat he tells me if in not reply i was taken off flight and will be arrived at 10am malaysian time and will call when arrived.. The next morning like almost ot midday i try chat where are you? Everything alright?.. No reply and suddenly i got call from Malaysia no, im was surprise he's voice totally india men im pretty sure that was first time we talk he say he in trouble!! He bring like 3000 thousand usd and he cant pass and hes not understand what the in counter say and he pass the phone to women and explain she say you friend cant pass go to sabah because he just bring 300 thousand usd that overpass limit so if you can help him pay like three thousand so he can pass.. Im sure the women who talk to was Chinese... Then i realise this was all planned from the start he chat me.. No wonder he's never want make video call or voice call before.. Just be careful and never ever fall with this trick.. I was really disappointed hurmm but that ok next time i not gonna fall to this trick anymore.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kimiko tamaki May 03, 2011

    I know Michael O'Brien.
    He was said to have served in Iraq.
    He said.
    Please send cash in the bank because it does not work in Iraq.
    I decided to take him to feel suspicious.
    It is also unclear what the person in this picture.
    He sent me a photo.

    Michael O'Brien
    [email protected]
    skype name: miky6572

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Cheated_On_Love Mar 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    fmi - do u have his pictures? maybe we can exchange to see if it is the same person...

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Cheated_On_Love Mar 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    just beware all ladies...

    2 Votes
  • Fm
    Fmi Mar 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    He use another name "Michael O'brien. His e-mail is [email protected]
    Beware!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Cheated_On_Love Mar 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi Chaba

    This is definitely a scam - just ignore the calls. It will be over...

    Please do not send any money over...

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chaba Mar 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was called on 28 Feb by a malaysian phone number of a man I knew from a dating site. He said he could not fly to see me because he was held at KLIA because of money laundry.The immigration has asked him to pay 5000 us$ but he had only 3000 Us$.He claimed he contacted his friend who sent him 1000 us$ but he still needed 1000 us$. He asked me if I could help him .I told him I had only 400 US$ and he told me he would discuss about this with an officer.That officer talked with me he said he had pity for the man so he would release him and he would have to send him the balance. The man called me with his cries that the head of the Deparment came back and knew what the officer would help him so they didn't let him go. Until today he is still there, keeps calling me to send him money. But I don't have it.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.