The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Just lettingStole our deposit money

K Review updated:

We rented out our townhouse with Just Letting and our last tenants really messed up the place. We complained to the agent and she said they would keep the deposit to fix everything that was broken. It has been 5 month since this has happened and now they are refusing to fix the main problems even though they've kept our last tenants deposit money. I have written a letter of complaint and called head office more times than i should have to and still i havent been contact about this problem. Please dont use just letting services they are incompetent and have no clue about customer service!

Responses

  • Si
    simphiwe Feb 09, 2010

    Just Letting in Northriding Johannesburg owe me money, they collected money for electricity and water but never paid the bills. I currently sit with a judgment against me for levies they did not pay - but deducted from the rent payable to me. They have not paid my former tenant his deposit which has now been outstanding for over 6 months. They are completely incompetent and have cost me thousands. Do not use them to manage a rental property on your behalf and certainly to rent any property through them

    0 Votes
  • By
    ByteGP Mar 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just Letting are without doubt the worst rental agency in South Africa, they really have no idea what service delivery is, they are too me worse than the Government offices. I have been living in an apartment for the last 5 months, in which they have no fixed or repaired a single thing. I have finally written to them to tell them I am taking this to the media immediately.

    Should you want to keep in touch with me or make our case stronger please email [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patrick74 Mar 15, 2010

    Hello
    I do have exactly the same story about just letting in Illovo. They rented me out a place with a damp in the cupboard and since october 2009 it is still not fixed. This month i did not pay my rent and now they are sending me the attorney...What can i do?

    0 Votes
  • We
    Wess Dec 02, 2010

    Just bear in mind that the Gauteng Housing Tribunal as well as the Consumer Protection Act are on your side.If you entered into a lease agreement and Just Letting did not give you a copy of a valid Electrical Certificate Of Compliance the lease is invalid according to the Occupational Health and Safety Act

    0 Votes
  • We
    Wess Dec 02, 2010

    1.You have the right to complain to the Gauteng Housing Tribunal
    2.The Consumer Protection Act
    3 The Housing Rental Act
    4 The Department Of Labour if you were not given a copy of a valid electrical certificate when you signed a lease.

    0 Votes
  • Just Letting Moreleta Park owe me money. The place that I was supposed to rent burnt. Now its a battle to be refunded. I had two days to find a new place. Just Letting just said that its not there problem. I'm still waiting my refund for a fire that was started by someone else.

    0 Votes
  • Eb
    E Berowsky Jan 14, 2011

    I have never in my life experienced such bad service as am getting from Just Letting N1 City branch in Cape Town. When we were supposed to move in on the 1st of Dec 2010 the house stank so badly you couldnt breathe in there! The carpets in the rooms smelled of cat pee and the bathroom stank of dog. The oven and toilets were not cleaned and the pool was green! They were supposed to fumigate the house which they never did so the whole place was flea infested. We had to arrange for someone to come wash the carpets ourselves! By the 4th we still couldnt move in and the carpets were still stinking! We called them to come to the property to smell for themselves but they declined. The smell got worse and we insisted they replace the carpets. to make a long story short we could only move in on the 15th. We were also told that the house had an alarm which just needed to be linked but it ended up being broken and needs to be replaced. This is going to cost us R1800 to fix! They just said its not stiplulated in our contract! (How were we supposed to know it wasnt in a working condition!) Just Letting just deny any wrong doing. We are taking them to the rental tribunal to claim back the 2 weeks that we couldnt stay in the place. They have a cheek to tell us that we were not inconvenienced and chose to only move in on the 15th. We are at the stage where we would rather just find another place to rent but we cant do that either as they want to charge us R6000 in admin fees to cancel the lease! I will NEVER EVER use them again once our lease has expired!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scambier Jan 24, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with all the above...never in my whole life have I battled as I am battling with Just Letting. First they told my landlord when I moved in that I hadn't paid my rent for 3 months, and when that didn't work they tried to tell landlord that I HAVEN'T PAID ELECTRICITY for 2 months and I'm going to be cut off...after paying, and sending proof of payment. I cannot do this anymore. They claimed that rooms were painted, but they weren't. The list goes on and on and on ... JUST LETTING BEDFORDVIEW please never ever use them. They are hideous, and I still have 2 years to go.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marha May 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have also been scammed out of my deposit money.
    See my comment below:
    Just letting — Not paying back their client's deposits

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alfred Floyd Apr 27, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I rented flat from Just Letting and signed up three year contract. Once my contract was over I decided to change apartment but Just letting is not paying back my deposit. I haven’t broken a single rule from my contract so there is no reason for them not to pay. Don’t trust Just Letting.

    0 Votes
  • 90
    90Rosa Jul 30, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I asked Just Letting in Krugersdorp to find me a tenant. Cathereine Stoltz found me a tenant which she recommended as she knew him very well. Later (after I singed the lease agreement) I found out that she had not written the special conditions in the agreement after I tried to contact her she would not receive my call or return them. I went to their office several times but she was never there then one day I got there and she was there I made her write out the special conditions and I signed all three copies till today she has not sent them to me. I went to their office and asked for the document and it's not on file at all. We now had to evict the tenant for not paying rent and electricity to the amount of R40 000.00 he left the property without paying and left by vandalizing my property. We have quotes to repair the property it now stands at just over R200 000.00. She was gross negligence and misrepresented in her work she also did not tell me he was blacklisted and he was about to leave a lawyers property to move into mine.
    He left that property with damages to the amount of R15 000.00. The worst is that Just Letting refuses to accommodate me for their gross negligence, and I now sit with a vandalized property a bond to pay on the property and on top of it all am not working as I relied on this income to cover my monthly expense. All this after I paid them for their service!
    I will never recommend them to anyone!!!

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bitta Jun 18, 2015

    JUST LETTING has the worst service ever, every poorly educated agents, ad never reply to requests.
    Will never ever recommend this rental agent. Very bad!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    PissedOffClient112 Oct 15, 2015

    I have had similar problems with Just Letting Randpark Ridge.
    1. They refuse to pay monies owed for electricity.
    2. They never even notified me of my tenant leaving. I only knew about it after my place was empty for 1 month.
    3. They did not do inspections and released the deposit (or kept it to themselves) before fixing the apartment back to original condition.

    I have now been struggling for more than a 2 months to get my apartment fixed up and to get the final month's electricity money.
    I will NEVER do business with these incompetent people again!

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr T-man Dec 11, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    they still owe me my deposit, the told me they will pay me on the 15 December 2017. I must just wait and see. these people are so unprofessional. I am going to be behind them cause I want my money. never use these stupid people of just letting Centurion.

    0 Votes
  • Oo
    Oom Marius Jan 27, 2018

    Just Letting Stellenbosch are really bad. I don't know what makes agents feel like they are really important that they have to shout at people and manipulate contracts. The current crop of agents are really bad. I would advise Stellenbosch students to stay away from them. So unprofessional and abusive.

    0 Votes
  • El
    ELSABE20 Nov 22, 2018

    I AM EXTREMELY UPSET WITH JUST LETTING IN MOSSEL BAY. THEY LET A OMMERCIAL PROPERTY FOR ME. WHEN THE TENANT LEFT I SAID THE 3 WALLS HAD TO BE PAINTED WHITE AGAIN (LIKE THE WHOLE PREMISES WERE) BECAUSE I NEVER GAVE PERMISSION FOR THOSE TERRIBLE COLOUR PAINT ON THE WALLS. FIRST THE AGENT SAID IT WOULD BE DONE. THEN I GOT A RUDE ONE-LINER EMAIL INFORMING ME THAT THE PRINCIPAL DECIDED TO PAY BACK THE DEPOSIT AND THEY WERE JUST GOING TO IGNORE THE FACT THAT I NEVER GAVE PERMISSION FOR THE TENANT TO PAINT MY WALLS THAT COLOUR. TREATING YOUR CUSTOMERS LIKE THAT IS SHOCKING.

    JUST LETTING MOSSEL BAY - I FOUND THEIR ATTITUDE DISGUSTING. I LEFT MESSAGES FOR THE PRINCIPAL TO CALL ME BUT NO RESPONSE.

    0 Votes
  • El
    ELSABE20 Nov 22, 2018

    JUST LETTING MOSSEL BAY. I TOLD THE AGENT I NEVER GAVE PERMISSION FOR THOSE COLOURS AND SHE CONFIRMED THAT THE WALLS COULD BE PAINTED WHITE AGAIN BEFORE THE DEPOSIT WAS RETURNED. I FOUND THEIR ATTITUDE SHOCKING - I WAS NOT PHONED AND SPOKEN TO. JUST A ONE-LINER EMAIL TO INFORM ME THEY DECIDED DIFFERENTLY. WILL NEVER WORK WITH THEM AGAIN. WHAT HAPPENED TO THE CUSTOMER AND THE CUSTOMER'S RIGHTS??????????????

    0 Votes
  • El
    ELSABE20 Nov 22, 2018

    I WILL BE TAKING THE MATTER UP WITH THE ESTATE AGENTS BOARD.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.