The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Igive.comNo check ever sent

T

I have been a member of igive.com since 11-2008 .The site says it owes me over 165 dollars.I have sent many emails and never gotten a straight answer as to why they do not send me a check .I must have sent 15 emails over the years and there is no phone number to contact.I have no charity, check sent to self checked off and they have all my correct info on file. So far this whole site feels like a scam to me.I am going to use ebates.com from now on. I hope no one uses igive.com

More Igive.com Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Ig
    iGive Support Jun 01, 2009

    Checks to iGive members who choose not to select a cause to support, but prefer to receive a personal rebate check are issued quarterly. Our records show that all members with amounts generated over the check issue minimum were issued at the end of the first quarter of 2009. This would have included one to Trevor. We consider this matter resolved. - The iGive Team

    0 Votes
  • Ig
    iGive Support Jun 01, 2009

    Also, if your check is missing, or lost, feel free to contact [protected]@iGive.com

    Check out iGive on Facebook and a brand new toolbar is coming soon to iSearchiGive.com

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    fireflyrn Sep 21, 2009

    I was concerned after reading complaints about iGive.com so I went online to the Better business bureau and they only have 3 complaints and 2 of those are settled. If you go online to BBB and look under charity you will find iGive's phone number and you can file a complaint .

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marisa#1 Jun 10, 2010

    Our non-profit has been registered with igive.com for several years and have nothing but positive results. We have several members that have selected our cause and we have received all checks that were/are owed to our agency.

    Marisa

    0 Votes
  • My
    Mysti Distance Nov 25, 2010

    igive is just that...GIVE...you might have selected send check to self but that is not their program...that selection is for if you are the non profit organizer. If you read the agreement you signed, you will see it is STRICTLY a non-profit site. We have a non profit signed up with them for years and they get every check. It is an amazing way to GIVE BACK...I have been out of work for over a year so I understand every penny must count...but truly isn't it better to give then recieve.
    Mysti

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    Fundraiser Feb 12, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I contacted Igive myself awhile ago. And they said it is for "non-profit" charities and that they don't give tax advice. But in fact, you didn't have to register as non-profit. I would declare this as some time of income and apply for non-profit status, but this cost money. As I understand, you actually can take the money for yourself (effectively you are the "non-profit." It is a rebate system for donation. I like IGive, but they have issues that I think can be remedied with diligence. I am glad to see you are having good luck with it, but some others are struggling and their site offers rebate. :)

    1 Votes
  • Fu
    Fundraiser Feb 12, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In the above by Fundraiser, I meant to say some type of income not "some time." This program is a quasi donation program, but if you get enough money, I think you have to declare it in some way. I wouldn't be too worried and I don't know what to do about non-profit status. I would likely use it directly from Paypal and keep detailed records. Good luck! Thanks to Trevor for feedback.

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    Fundraiser Feb 12, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Here is from Igive's site:

    Your Tax Donation Preferences
    I want to take a tax deduction for my shopping donations.
    I want to donate anonymously and not take a tax deduction.
    I prefer to receive a check and not donate anything.
    NO MONEY will be donated, and NO CAUSE will be selected.

    0 Votes
  • J9
    J9j Nov 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I registered with igive.com to earn money for a non-profit charity. Soon the money added up and I was informed that a check was on its way to my charity (I'm also the cause administrator). I waited and waited, but no check arrived. I contacted igive after the required 90 day waiting period and they said they would send another check. This one did not arrive either (waited 90 days, no check). I contacted them again and got the same response. Again it did not arrive. I wanted to believe in this site given all the good reviews/comments, but it is clearly a scam. AVOID.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SandiS Jan 05, 2012

    @J9j - just open a support ticket with iGive, they're really responsive: http://support.igive.com. Make sure you verify your charity's address that they have on their system. Our synagogue receives checks regularly from our shoppers efforts on iGive.

    0 Votes
  • J9
    J9j Jan 06, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @ SandiS - I thought the same thing about the support at first, but I verified that everything was correct and the said they would send out another check. Like the first, that one never came; when I contacted them again they told me I needed to wait another 90 days before reporting it missing. So I did. Then they promised to send it yet agian. This third one also never arrived. So nearly a year after my charity was supposed to get the money I gave up, deleted my account, and de-listed my charity. When the first check didn't show up I was forgiving, when the second one didn't show I was doubtful, when the third failed to come I say SCAM.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions