Homepages DirectoriesLiars

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Homepages Directories! They will try everything and say anything to get you to sign a contract for an ad that you are then stuck with! Liars!

More Homepages Directories Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • St
    Stacey76 Jan 20, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm so happy to know I'm not the only with this experience. Same story as everyone else: they lied about fees, payment, and said my business won't make it without their advertising. Now they are coming to my house! We should all get together and do a lawsuit. We all have the same story! At least I can sleep at night knowing I don't do a dishonest job. Their reps deserve to be treated like they've treated us.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    Wayne Linda Baxter Mar 02, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Stacey76 Same story here, we should get together, here is what I sent to
    their company... To whom this may concern,
    I am writing this letter because of this bill. My husband canceled this a long time ago and yet we still get a bill in the mail and now a collection notice. There is a problem in the way this company allows their salesmen and women to do business… They follow people into their driveway then try to talk them into sign up for the yellow pages directories. My husband works hard all day, he is a painting contractor and after a long day of work one of your salesman follows him into our driveway and wants to talk to him about putting an ad in the yellow pages directory, he repeatedly tells the salesman, No, I don’t want to take out another ad we already have adds in four of your books… So this salesman was not taking NO, for an answer, he places the ad. He then took the bill and sent it back with a note to cancel the order, then a couple of months later he must have seen my husband’s work van in a driveway where he was working and this guy comes and knocks on the door, the owner of the house answers the door and then this guy asks to see my husband, he is working!!! this guy is still trying to get him to place an ad. This is not acceptable!!! This salesman gets people when they are tired or busy or even when they are at a client’s house, when they are working ….. We fill this is Wrong and do think we should be liable to pay this bill….We canceled this order, this salesman is relentless!!! My sister also has had someone come to their home from this company and they would not take no for an answer. I hope someone from your company will do something and take care of this. We have spent over a $900.00 on ads in these books. We cannot afford to place anymore ads…..

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim Kva Dec 06, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been in business for 35 years 2 years ago I had to have rep. taken off my property by the law. The home pages rep this year is Cory he claims will make payment plan also to be paid in cash after doing so he tells me can't put me in plumbing class only in handyman and this is not what we agreed to he refuses to give money back. Cory also said thy need my plumbers number when I refused he said thy will just make one up this is e legal and will be going to court and bring charges against them.

    0 Votes
  • Va
    Valerie Buisse Jun 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As a business owner, I have never felt so disgusted and taken advantage of by a solicitor. At the beginning of last year a sales rep for Home pages directories stopped in to try to solicit our business and have me purchase a business card ad. Because I generally leave the advertising up to my wife, I told this sales rep that I was interested but not sure at the time, and that I would talk it over with my wife prior to committing to purchasing. The sales rep then told me that was completely fine, and that she would get back in touch with my wife, but asked me to sign a contract, stating that with my signature they would be able to come up with a rough draft to go over. Several days later my wife received a call from the home pages rep and after much thought decided against placing an ad in home pages. My wife asked the rep if there was anything we needed to do to insure that we would not be charged. The sales rep assured that the contract would be null and void, and we thought that the matter was over and done with. Come to find out they went through with with placing the order anyways. We received a bill for $410 several months later and have been fighting it ever since. Now we are getting letters from, Brennan and Clark Ltd, lawyers who are threatening us that we will be taken to court if we don't pay the now $570. Also, if we do get taken to court we will be fined $1500.

    We are a small family business, open for just 2 years when this mess started. Home pages Directories is a horrible business, and employs people who obviously have no morals. This company preys on small businesses and is completely corrupt. Especially when a quick review search shows the same situation to so many other people. It's pitiful!

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Diane DeCero May 26, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As a result of my horrific experience with Homepages I have a No Solicitation sign on my door! A young gal named Sarah came into my Studio to sell me Homepage advertising. I told her from the moment she walked in that I had a business partner and that I don't do anything without first discussing it with her. That I would be happy to look everything over, discuss it with my partner and then get back to her with a decision. I was also very clear that I did not think we could afford the cost as we had spent our advertising budget on other things. Sarah would not give up. She suggested that I sign the contract just to hold the space and that I could talk to my partner and let her know. I was uncomfortable with that and so then she told me that she was going in for some knee surgery and that it was going to be difficult for her to get back as she was going to be laid up for a couple of weeks and that it would be easier if I just signed everything so she didn't have to come back out, because of course there was a deadline. She told me that if my partner did not want to do it she would just destroy the contract! So after speaking with my business partner we decided not to do it so I called Sarah to tell her we were not interested only to find out that she had already submitted the paperwork and that there was no way she could cancel the contract. I was furious telling her that she lied to me but realized at that point that I was very stupid to have believed this lying conniving salesperson. I received the bill months later and I told them that I wasn't going to pay because I was lied to by Sarah. I have refused to pay it and now I am being hounded by a collection agency. I am hoping I can figure out a way to get out of this if for nothing else the principle. And the best part is that I did not receive one phone call from Home Pages, not one! I would never recommend this to anyone!

    0 Votes
  • El
    Elsie Ragle Fuller May 13, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I found that automatic withdrawals are being taken out of my personal checking account for my son’s business ads with HomePages. He is not authorized on my checking account and all I did was pay the down payment for him as he did not have enough cash on him when the salesman was with him. He was supposed to be billed for the balance within 45 days. He told the salesman that it was his mothers account. I did not authorize any monthly automatic drafts. I did not sign anything except the check for the initial payment. They then proceeded to draft my personal checking account for monthly payments.

    0 Votes
  • Wr
    Writer76 Jan 27, 2015

    I must have had the same sales representative. I was approached while eating lunch at work and told them no. Then after 3 phone calls over a 2 day period i decided to sign up for the advertisement last September. I told them i couldn't sign up because winter is slow and i have limited income. She assured me that i could start paying when my work picked up in March. Within a month i was getting emails and calls about the payment. Now it's January and a lawyer is threatening to sue me and charging me more money which i do not have. They do not care about honesty and integrity. They say whatever they have to so they can get that signature.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mad cow towing Jan 24, 2015

    My husband was working hard as a small business owner of a mechanic shop and one day this home pages guy walks in and harasses him to sign the contract and he would be under no obligation he just needed a signature. My husband was the only mechanic in the shop and very busy and was liking the sound of all the promises and no obligation and so he took a 2 min. break to sign so he would leave him alone while he was working. He then left and I come in and he tells me he was approached by this guy and to gave me the paperwork he left. I read the contract and was extremely upset that he signed it. I call the immediate next business day and told them that this needs to be canceled because my husband was bothered while he was working and was promised everything opposite of the contract. he spoke very rude to me in kind of a ha ha way saying well mam our contracts are non cancelable and it says it and your husband signed and we already started working on this. I said its the next business day and I am not paying you so don't run the ad. They ran the ad and now sent us to the collection agency and I am still standing by my claim that the sales rep should not have bothered my huband while he clearly had not free time to read a contract and took advantage of that by promising him no obligation signing. I hate people like this and I have emailed and called several different people non of whom can explain to me why this is acceptable other than well he signed it. Furthermore, another mechanic in the same town had a similar account only worse. The salesman followed his wife home and told her that her husband said to sign it. They make a living off of taking advantage o busy hardworking people by lying to them anyway they can just to get that signature. I think they need to be stopped because the salesperson has to learn it from the upper sales management. Fire them all I say...

    0 Votes
  • Th
    The enforcement Sep 23, 2014

    ### company

    1 Votes
  • Ww
    WWR1 Jul 10, 2014

    This is not just a disgruntled customer. They did the same to us. We agreed to advertise in one area, see how it goes. Liar representative told us to sign for another area too. We said we didn't want another area yet, until we see how this goes. He said that we were under no obligation if we signed. Liar - we didn't want it, he (Scot Oman) told us that our signature was to just guarantee us a spot IF we wanted it, that he'd check back and we'd sign paperwork to get it if we wanted it at a later date - ugh, what a crock. They are a scam company, wish I could sue them, they should not be in business.

    2 Votes
  • Re
    Representative1973 Oct 26, 2012

    I was surprised and disappointed to read your post. This seems to be a disgruntled customer? I've been with the company for more than 5 years and I can tell you it's a very straightforward presentation and a very ethical company. Maybe you had a bad rep? Anyway, it's not typical of the company and it sounds like a huge misunderstanding. Our company is in business to help local business owners, not mislead them. I love what we stand for, our low prices, locality which is sensible, I can't imagine what you are referring to here.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    reedbow Dec 06, 2016

    @Representative1973 your sales people are liars i am gonna try to start a class action lawsuit with this company. they lie when they try to get you to sign she told us we can make any payment we want till its paid not true she lied about everything

    2 Votes
  • St
    Stacey76 Jan 20, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @reedbow I will join you!

    2 Votes
  • St
    Stacey76 Jan 20, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Representative1973 We are not disgruntled! We are honest business owners, your company is not. Next rep on my property will be escorted off by police.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.