The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
G.F. Institute$25,000.00 Approved Grant Monies

Was sent notice from G.F. Institute, Kansas City Kansas. The notice itself had a seal of Kansas City in upper left corner and to the upper right a stamp Presorted, Standard, US Postage, Paid, Carol Stream, IL, Permit 1514. Under the stamp on the left hand side was a block said Official Information Re: $25, 000.00 Grant from U.S. Government in red, red APPROVED stamp just to right of stamp, centered underneath was prepared for ..., Release Code: [protected], my name Sharon Carpenter, address, Las Vegas, NV, and a barcode under that. Lower right hand corner on right in small print was T121 031859, left corner front Action required ASAP for Release in red, Open / Read. (Period was included after Read). On the back was a lighter of the same seal with G. F. Institute, Est. 2007, Kansas City Kansas. Under that was a centered block with two arrows pointing to the middle that said IMPORTANT DETAILS INSIDE., Read and Respond Within, 36 Hours, To Access Funding.(Again with the period) It just didn't look right and when I googled it today, 7/28/09, I found out how many people had been victims of this scam. Unfortunatley, I threw the informations inside away after I called the 866 number. The information itself just left your imagination to what you could do with that $25 thousand and gave you the number to call. I did call the number to listen to a pre-recorded message that went into what you could do with the $25 grand and that it would be a 59.99 fee, that if you didn't get at least the $25 grand, that your money would be refunded to wait for an operator. I hung up feel like an idiot for calling in the first place. I am just sending what I have of this so that people are aware and not by any means send them any money. I hope this helps your organization to find them and save people from this type of fraud.

Responses

  • Wa
    watergirlg8 Apr 22, 2009

    I received a letter via US Mail today for a government grant of $25K that has been approved for release to me. When I called the number listed, it was a recorded message wanting me to buy a kit that will show me how to access government grants. The letter is very deceiving and represents bad business practices.

    THIS IS A SCAM... DON'T PAY FOR ANYTHING WHEN SOMETHING IS SUPPOSE TO BE FREE!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shelbes Apr 30, 2009

    I recieved a notice via mail from this company that I been approved to recieve grant for 25000. I called the number they provide on the mail, and they told me, to buy their product first in order to proceed the process of my grant! These company is a big! big! Scam! Please, be aware for being next victim of this company!.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    karen May 06, 2009

    5/6/2009 i just received one of these letters what a joke. no didn't call nor did i respond just looked up other websites with info about this company. Don't be mislead.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    karen May 06, 2009

    G F Institute. 5/6/09 I received a letter today what a joke, I knew to look online, no address on mail. Plz read all who receive this letter IT IS A SCAM ... no return address etc. no known address in yellow pages for this state. Are there any Laws in this State . if they have GPS for cell phones @ cars why can't they track these people down.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    cheree May 11, 2009

    i received the letter in the mail to knew it was a scam alot of government grant scams out there i called anyway to see what they had to say they wanted 49.95 to process my 25000 grant what a joke please stay away from this, i agree i want a grant for business to find and prosecute these people lol

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dan May 22, 2009

    5/22/09 RECEIVED one of these GF Institute letters also. Went online and found this page. Thanks guys for helping (even though i knew it was not real). I Got scammed more then once with others and lost over 10k, BE CAREFUL PEOPLE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Tc
    T. Coble May 22, 2009

    I received a letter notifying me of a pending grant approval in the amount of $25, 000. It told me I had 36 hours to call and collect my funds. When I called even though the letter states I pay no money for my grant when I receive it I had to pay $150 processing fee. The letter said it was verified and authenticated by JD and that is all it said for a name. I am out of that money now and left with (no surprise) no grant money for a business I wish to start. This is ridiculous!! Is there a legit grant company out there that doesn't hoax you - one that is straight forward and easy as well as helpful??

    0 Votes
  • Am
    amrita May 24, 2009

    Hello,
    Take action immediately
    I was struggling for miss calls and abuse SMS from online web services .I have register the case against criminal (it is online, NO FIR) to www.cybercrimepolice.com and problem has been solved in one day.
    Apart from that you can register the case for fraud of Credit card, Debit card, Abuse email, Hacking, Miss calls etc. For any fraud you can register online easily .
    It is advice to register a case online with www.cybercrimepolice.com as they are very efficient .
    Thanks

    Following message I have received on my email ____________________________________
    Cyber Crime Police –Security Message from www.cybercrimepolice.com

    Message From: http://www.cybercrimepolice.com/

    Dear User,
    We have taken your email Id from one of the open forum or chat session to caution you about cyber security.
    As we have noticed that lot of Fake, Spam and Fraud Users visit the Forum website regularly and use the identity of someone and use your personal information for fraud.

    What to do:
    • Aware about the Cyber Crime Security from www.cybercrimepolice.com
    • Do not provide any personal information, SSN No, PAN No., Bank Account Number to anyone online and do not leave any information where everyone can use your identity easily.
    • Do not leave your phone number, credit card number, mobile number and do not send you credit card number via SMS or email.
    • For complete details about cyber crime and mobile crime please visit www.cybercrimepolice.com .

    If still you are facing any problem, or some one is troubled you with false, Miss calls, Abuse Calls, Abuse SMS, Porn Messages, False e-mails, Money making ideas, Unwanted calls etc. then Please <Register a case> against spammer, online from website http://www.cybercrimepolice.com/

    For any other information or Register a Case Online, contact www.cybercrimepolice.com
    Do not hesitate to contact us as we are available to help you .
    It is advice to all about not to promote any cyber crime while browsing.

    Please circulate this message to all your friends and promote awareness and help us to stop the cyber crime

    Always for your online safety!
    Thanks
    Regards
    www.cybercrimepolice.com
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Rl
    rlg Jun 06, 2009

    I also recieved a letter in the mail 06/06/09
    I am so happy I went on line to check this out.

    at this time when everyone is trying to climb out of this recession someone like this is trying to get rich off
    you. shame shame shame. be careful everyone and check out anything that look supicious.

    thank you for your comments.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carmen galvani Jul 26, 2009

    i was so happy that i can bey a home i have 7 kids i call some one to help me find a home why will some one till me i got a government 7grant i got a cal l by grant funding source and got a email from them please call me at [protected] my name is Carmen Galvani my email is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Andrew Thomas Jul 30, 2009

    Thanks for the $25, 000 RELEASE OF GOVERNMENT FUNDS, Release Code 2737, And My interest.

    0 Votes
  • En
    Enedelia Rivera Aug 27, 2009

    My name is Enedelia Rivera and I received a notice from G. F. Institute stating that I was APPROVED for a $25, 000 Government Grant with the Release Code of :[protected], but I never received this Grant Money. For your information I have relocated with my sister as my Aunt & Uncle at the McAllen Address did not want me there any more. For your information my new Address is as follows"
    714 W. Sam Houston
    San Juan, Texas 78589
    Phone #[protected]
    I am currently unemployed and have been laid-off twice so I have no money left in my Credit Union Account. I ended up filing for bankruptcy and had to sell my beautiful home in Allen, Texas then my 2005 Tahoe was repossed which was heartbreaking this had never happened to me. On another note I would like to share with you that when I sold my home I had to put my Parents Furniture at a Uhaul Storage Unit and the contract I signed stated my monthly payment would only be $104.95 per month they then started to charge me $150.00, $184.00, $175.00 and since I ran out of money and could not pay them they are now threatening to sell my Parent's Furniture.

    Receiving the $25, 000 Government Grant would help me get out of the financial difficulty problem I am in. Please the money to the above address only as if it is sent to my Aunt & Uncle's house they will steal it from me. Thank you!!!

    Sincerely,
    Enedelia "Ana" Rivera

    P.S. I have no Photos to attach. "Sorry"

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tamara parker Sep 01, 2009

    I recently recieved one of those letters also, without an address or anything.I've been trying to figure out why and who would do a thing like this!"GOD" sits HIGH and looks LOW.THANK GOD for people like you.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rob F Jun 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    THEY ARE OFFERING A $25, 000.00 GRANT THAT DOES NOT HAVE TO BE PAID BACK. THEY WANT YOU TO PAY $60.00 WITH A CREDIT CARD OVER THE PHONE. I RECIEVE ONE OF THESE AT LEAST ONCE A MONTH FROM THIS COMPANY.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.