Genco MarketShipping / failiure to pay / broken promises

B
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

My complaint starts Back in October 2009, I was e-mailed an offer from Genco Market place as usual.

The offer was for $1.7 million dollars of Sporteck womans clothing that was being liquidated at 10% of the price since HBC / Zellers needed to get rid of it from there stores ( aperantly due to a breech of contract ).

I was asked by the agent Jason Blank ( rep for E. Ont. Can.) to confirm when Payment of $170, 000 would be made.
I had agreed to 10 - 14 days. Since this was a deal of a lifetime ( and having trust in a huge corporation ) i scrambled to get the money and have my client ready for the purchase. Successful i was... ready with the money to be transfered and client waiting for the merchandise.
I had taken the money out as a loan with a brutal 9.2% interest rate.

After had waited for the the invoice 2 weeks later, i had called the Agent to ask him about the product and invoice.
He had mentioned to me that HBC /ZELLERS were doing inventory still and asked if i could be patient and wait 1 more month. Patient i was, , , , 3 months later after and thousands of dollars later in interest charges... I was told that the product was no longer available.

I thought to myself ok, it was not intentional, i'll give therm a break and not make a fuss out of it ( prety stupid of me ) but its just a series of things that have added up.

while waiting during these 3 months for nothing, i purchased $9000, 00 of tv's from them.
there was 1 tv missing from the BL ( manifest ), after weeks of complaining, i finally got an email stating that i have a $150 credit with the company.

Once again, i let it go and didn't hold a grudge

Its the last thing that was completely insubordinate of the company and made me realize that Gencomarketplace is nothing but a bunch of crooks.

I had ordered 3 truckloads of furnature from TN. USA.
I admit i paid almost 2 weeks late . there was banking wire issues that were completely out of my hands.
if it were such a problem, they should of canceled my order and sold it to someone else { as part of there policy }.

but they were patient . when the money arrived, they took about 10 days before they were ready to ship it to me.
I had ordered 4 containers. they loaded only 2 and a half of one.
telling me at the last minute that they sold 1 truck load.
Why did they load a 1/2 container on a full 40" container, how irresponsible, , now my shipping costs are up to my neck.
shipping overseas costs aprox . $53oo, + taxes
not only did they not get me a piece count for the shipping documents nor the seal codes ( giving me more problems and costs to shipping )

after having complained, they de activated my account as if i had done something wrong .
Why am i being penalized for there mistakes?

and wore off then all of that, they owe me $6500. which they completely admit to and everyday that i cunsult with them for my money back ... they keep saying ...today today ... and it never comes.

thousands of dollars lost, just trying to do simple buisness

Responses

  • Jo
    Josh Harthburg Jan 20, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    GENCO is definitely a scam, as I have dealt with Ray Gallagher as well. No matter how many times you ask simple questions, and follow their directions to receive your money owed to you they will ignore, lie, and send you on the go around over and over again. You call customer service and they "investigate" the issue. You speak with the director of sales, and they will "get back to you". Even trying to actually purchase a load from them is difficult as Ray Gallagher is completely incompetent. Definitely don't purchase from GENCO, as they definitely have it coming to them.

    0 Votes
  • Op
    openboxsalesgroup Aug 13, 2013

    Reliable? Give me a break. Genco is as big a scam as they get. I bought a shipment for $20, 000 and was shipped less than a quarter of it. They avoid my calls and emails, and finally after a letter from my lawyer essentially tell me tough luck. See my horror-story below:

    WARNING- GENCO IS A SCAM. Deal with them at your own risk ...

    On June 21st, 2013, I purchased a load from Genco Marketplace. It was sold to me as an Overstock load (not returns or salvage). I paid $20, 000 USD for it the same day it was ordered, it cost me another $8, 000 with shipping, duties, taxes, etc. Genco had various minor issues finding the payment and pushed to have the load picked up before they closed their Ohio facility. No big deal.

    The shipment of 19 skids arrived at my shop On July 15th, 2013 and I immediately noticed it was in very bad shape. Most of the skids looked as if a dinosaur had eaten them ( I have many pics), and many were mangled and bent beyond salvage. I notified Genco the following day July 16th. At that point, I was unaware of the worst part, which I shortly discovered after inspecting and cataloguing the load.

    After inspection, it became very clear that I was either being scammed or Genco had made a huge error somewhere. I was missing 75% of the items I had purchased. Of the 25% that did arrive, only half was salvageable. This is a serious issue that a reputable company would want to look into asap. Not so for Genco. I informed my sales rep (Ray Gallagher) at Genco Marketplace on July 19th via phone message and email and received no response.

    On July 22nd we completed inspecting the last few skids and our suspicions of having been shortchanged were confirmed. At this point I checked our Bill of Lading and found that the shipment was actually short 4, 000lbs (of 13, 500lbs). I immediately sent a follow-up email to my sales rep. He requested a list of what was missing and damaged. On July 23rd we sent him a complete list of damaged and missing items with a summary and pictures. No response was received.

    On July 25th, we sent another follow-up email requesting an update. No response. July 26th, I decided to go above my sales rep and phoned their customer support and spoke with a lady by the name of Carol. I passed on all the info and was promised a response. None was received, so I followed up with an email addressed to both customer support and my sales rep. No responses received.

    I phoned again to customer support and was passed on to Vince Curtain, Director of Sales, and left him a voicemail explaining the situation. I received a brief voicemail the following day explaining that the “alledged issue” was under review. I called back several times and left him a voicemail to please contact me, no response. I finally got ahold of my sales rep by phone (same day I filed a BBB complaint, hmm). He assured me they wanted to keep doing business with me and that they would review the issue. I asked what sort of timeline I could expect for a response, and was told he was not sure. At this point I was becoming increasingly concerned at the lack of interest in the problem, and that they were ignoring the majority of my emails and calls, and that I had been given no explanation or timeline for a response to my inquiries.

    I finally had my lawyer draft a letter, to which did get a response from Vince saying only that they had upheld their portion of the communication, and that the issue was under review. I also filed a Better Business Bureau complaint, and received the same one line response “the issue is under review”. What did this review entail? When would it provide me and answer? More importantly, what were they going to do about selling me a product and not delivering it?

    By August 8th, almost a month since I first reported the issue, NO ONE has contacted me for additional information. NO ONE has taken the initiative to discover what has gone wrong. NO ONE has made any effort whatsoever to rectify the problem, except to infrequently answer my calls/emails when pressed by my lawyer or the Better Business Bureau. I had my lawyer send a second email to the CEO, a Mr. Robert Auray Jr warning that legal action would be taken if no responses were received. Today, August 13th we received a response saying that their position is that the load was “shipped in tact”. No explanation. Not one person phoned me to ask questions about the missing and damaged shipment. Is this how you investigate a claim? This is how you ignore one. Genco was very communicative when it came to taking my money, but has avoided my calls and emails and now says essentially ‘tough luck’.

    The photos below show 2 of the damaged skids ... almost all of them were like this. That was the least of the issues ... most of the load never arrived.

    AVOID GENCO MAKETPLACE ...

    Comments
    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shameongenco Aug 03, 2013

    Look at those pictures. Those are labels their people already put on the TV's. IT was already tested as bad broken screen by Genco.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shameongenco Aug 03, 2013

    I agree. Don't buy from Genco. I had bad experience with them as well.

    I purchased an over $11, 000 lot of 119 HDTVs from GencoMarketplace. These were advertised and sold as "un-inspected customer returns". Upon receipt it was blatantly obvious that all 119 HDTVs had been inspected and tested as bad with the vast majority of them having broken screens. Not a single serviceable or repairable TV in the lot, which they unquestionably knew when they deceived me into paying $11, 000 for the privilege of taking out their garbage. Genco deliberately misrepresented the lot to garner a higher price for their trash. This lot should have been labeled as salvage or parts only because they were obviously rejects from Genco’s test line and had even been labeled with what was wrong with them such as signs that said "broken screen" on the boxes. How could they be uninspected if they labeled them with what was wrong with them? Blatant fraud on Genco’s part. Genco refused to offer any kind of credit/returns for this load, instead they offered me another load at their "cost". No Thank You! They should be paying me to get rid of their trash, not the other way around. For those of you curious about buying from Genco, this is what you get.

    Comments
    Comments
    Comments
    Comments
    Comments
    Comments
    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    HateGenco May 03, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    NEVER BUY FROM GENCO. THEY SCAM you. All the positive comments are from Genco. That is who they run their business. They have some people to come here and make comments and call us minority. Never buy from Genco. I lost $12000.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    GecoVictim Feb 13, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is for the Genco comment above: A lot of your big customers who are not "minority" have the same feedback you are getting here,

    calling your "customer service " is a waste of time . I think the best thing to do is to email Sears and other stores and make them a ware of your practices or even file a class action against you... I think its coming..

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    GecoVictim Feb 13, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I think this is part of the way they run their business; through scams, they make you think you are getting a good deal when in fact you pay for items you will never get or just junk . Dont trust them with your business and never buy what you dont see.

    I heard Jacob trading is better and honest to deal with

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    need product May 01, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too am having the same issues with Genco. They fail to send us what we pay for, and when the shipment arrives, the manifest says we received more than we really did. To top it off, when something is missing, they want you to prove it by sending in the orange tag that was on the product. Don't ya think I need the product to get the sticker...duh?!?!!? I'n not sure where to turn, they make us feel as if we are a pain, when all we want to do is purchase from them and do business!!

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    GENCOMarketplace.com May 13, 2011

    Liquidation companies, such as GENCO, could not possibly be in business for as long as they have been if they were a scam. You must be in the minority with your opinion but you're fully entitled to your opinion. If you or other GENCO customers have issues, please call our customer service line [protected].

    Thanks!

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    FEDUP124 May 13, 2011

    YOU GUYS AT GENCO ARE FULL OF IT. WHO DID YOU PAY TO WRITE A RESPONSE FOR YOU THAT WAS FAVORABLE. YOUR ALL THE SAME, BAD NEWS. ALL LIQUIDATION COMPANIES ARE A SCAM. STAY AWAY FROM GENCO AND ALL LIQUIDATORS.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    GENCOMarketplace.com Oct 20, 2010

    We are always more than willing to understand an issue and help to resolve it when possible. In this case we did resolve the issue, however, the customer still has the right to their opinion.

    Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    smc1234 May 11, 2010

    Genco marketplace is a reputable company. I have done business with them for many years and have yet to have any complaints. I don't know where this person got off on the wrong foot...I deal with Jason Blank all the time...he is the best rep...he always keeps me informed of the inventory and he is very knowledgeable...as well as quite a funny guy!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ag
    Agent Blank May 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    First off, It took him a month and a half to pay us, also, we didn't have the additional truckload as stated, but we he failed to mention was we did in fact cancel the 4th container as well as refund the customer in full for the missing inventory. Also, this customer has been permenantly inactivated for verbal abuse to Genco employees. Please check out our website, www.gencomarketplace.com for merchandise.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.