Eagle Gate CollegeLiars and scam artists

A
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

In August of 2008 I started at Eagle Gate College. I looked at alot of different colleges. Even though Eagle Gate College was very expensive I chose them because before I even signed up, I met with Elba. I asked her very specific questions like " What is the job placement like?" She said they had 100 percent job placement and I was definately going to get a job.I told her I was paying the high tuition because of there job placement. My very first term one of the teachers did'nt even have a degree! She was a Dental assistant teaching . She didn't know half the material.Her name was Shauna.Eagle Gate claims to be fully credited! I went through 12 months of college there. One of the teachers kept asking me all year if I could find her xanax! I got a 4.0 G.P.A and perfect attendance. When it came time to be assigned a externship, I got no help from career services! I had to find a site myself. I was on my own looking for job leads.The one person they have working in career services was horrible. I had to beg for leads, and when I got them they were very few, and they were on the computer for anyone to see! I asked for a meeting with the dean. When I first met with her, she wanted me to do a sample interview.She was just buying time. The next meeting she said I could volunteer in the dental clinic, and she said she would for sure have me placed in 2 weeks, that was 3 months aqgo! The next meeting she told me I needed to curl my hair once in a while! She complained about my personality, and said she had such great charisma, and such a great appearance that she could get the job I wanted with no education!Her name is Jana Coylar. She also avoided all my requests to meet with the president! Eagle Gate are liars, and scam artists. They only want money. I have over 2 dozen former students ready to stand with picket signs that say Eagle Gate College ripped me off aske me how. If they don't return my tuition, my goal will be to talk atleast 50 people a year out of going to Eagle Gate. I have already talked 27 out of going there just this year! Eagle Gate Sucks! They don't care about you, just your money.

Responses

  • Ch
    Child_Of_God Sep 27, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I completed my program (Passed National Certification and Graduated) then turned in my hours. Before about 2-4 weeks before completion I was informed that the man I was working for/doing my externship hours with was a Registered Sex Offender and the Doctor has an ongoing litigation for calling in opiate prescriptions for patients in exchange for sex. I asked my program director to change where I was doing my externship hours and she told me I should "stick it out, because I'm almost done" so I did. I turned in my hours and found out that someone told the (manager/sex offender) that I knew about his registration as a sex offender. He then tried getting the documents with my hours back from my Supervising MA. She called me panicking stating "I think he knows that you know and now he wants the final assessment to add some comments and change some things but I already faxed it and I told him I no longer have it" I was disturbed with what she was telling me so I tried contacting the MA Instructor she told me I have nothing to worry about. Her boss (MA program Director) then gave me a call stating there were some discrepancies with my externship hours. I went into the school and ended up filing an appeal. (In the appeal I begged both the MA instructor and program director not to send any other students to this "site") She told me I would hear back in 24 hours if they will be dropping me from the program or letting me redo my externship. I never received a formal call as promised by the program director. Instead The Financial Aid advisor I was dealing with sent me a text about costs of taking my Externship again. I set up the appointment to meet with her. Then I receive a call from a program director in Provo which I have never met nor know stating "(manager I was working for) called and let us know that you threatened an MA and the police are there getting statements and you should be getting a call from them soon. In the meantime I think it's best you don't even show up to the campus." I asked and begged him for more information as I have done no such thing now will I ever be capable of doing such thing. I asked for proof and asked where he was getting this information because it is a lie. It's been about 3 months and I never received a call from any officer. I then received a paper in the mail letting me know I was able to re-do my externship, a day later a received a letter letting me know I was withdrawn from the program. Stay away from Eagle Gate College.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    Hondo5 Aug 13, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    How this "school" is still operating is astounding. I graduated 3 & 1/2 years ago with an associates degree, (which only put me $60, 000 in debt) and I can not use. "Career Counseling" is just someone pulling jobs off of Indeed.com (i.e. Petco is hiring). I would ask my program director about job opportunities and would just receive some vague answer stating "pretty much anything." I guess he was right in the sense that a part-time, low paying job, which has nothing to do with my degree is in fact "pretty much anything." So thanks, Eagle gate, it was always my dream to never retire and die trying to pay off an absurd amount of money for a useless degree. In closing, don't go to eagle gate. It is a scam. They have ruined me.

    2 Votes
  • St
    Stephanniej Jan 25, 2017

    I have been a student of Eagle Gate College and I just ended up racking up a bill with the feeling that I wasn't learning anything. I had one instructor who had been a student. She was not technically an instructor. So at this point and time I just had to stop going because I just not getting the material and I felt that the instructors truly did not care. Either you got it or you didn't. Now they keep asking for their money outside of the student government loans I received.
    Now I'm trying to find a job and because I just had one class to finish but apparently didn't make the cut I'm having a difficult time finding a decent job in anything.
    My opinion is really do your homework regarding which school you attend.

    1 Votes
  • Am
    Amy Broome Aug 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just graduated from the nursing program at eagle gate. I have gone through different colleges such as the rip-off fortis and a few others for various other programs and I have to say that eagle gate is the best program that I ever attended. The tuition is high but I loved my teachers. They sincerely cared about me and my success. Sorry you guys had such a problem but maybe u just didn't have what it takes in that field. Who knows!?

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sarah salazar Feb 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Im attending there now in the medical assistant program im supposed to be in my extern and i was placed and fired from 2 places. For not showing my skills with i was only showing what i was taught and trying to adjust and addapt to learning the way of my site. So now the school is telling me that i have to find my own extern site to finsh my hours within 2 weeks or i will be dropped and still have to pay $13, 000.. This school was bye far the worst choice they had all kinds of issues after a month of being there. I am looking into a way to sue to either get my debt dropped or something.

    5 Votes
  • Un
    UnknownUser104 Dec 10, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree 100% with you. I see now how people can be and yes to be honest I did think that eagle gate college was going to be a great start to me finding myself in the graphic arts field. Not only now am I paying the lowest rate I can (50 Dollars) I am now struggling to make these ends meet. I have struggled and nearly spent all of my time looking for work just to make ends meet. I feel the same way. They treat you great in the beginning but after so long they start taking stuff out of your hands and putting it into there pocket. I can not even begin to express my frustration with the school. Something definitely needs to be done. I have tried talking to the dean as well Jana is her name and she called me stupid. On top of that she called my boyfriend who also went there a cry baby because he wanted the administration to treat him and I better. I wanted to transfer my first semester and I probably should've. I really cannot express how really upset with them that I am. I am getting to the end of my ropes with these people. TUITION IS WAY TO HIGH and they expect that 50 dollars a month or you are going to be dropped. I feel like I am lining these people's pockets with my money and that is ridiculous I should not have to pay a damn dime until 6 months after I graduate! This is ridiculous.! I am glad that you feel the same way we should try and see if there is a way we can file a lawsuit!

    2 Votes
  • Li
    littlethisandthat Feb 21, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm attending Eagle Gate right now. Poor teaching methods. I had the opportunity to do an early internship with a big law firm. Left message after message, Was totally ignored by staff members. Got the internship, but when I went in, they told me I absolutely could not do it.It had to be on their terms. Why would I trust them. I had heard too many horror stories with bad internships that others had gone through. I'm going to take care of myself and make things work for me. That don't care about their customers or students. I'm still going to go work for free for this company because I want the experience. Eagle Gate also will pull this scam. You are suppose to take two classes per term. Watch out if they only give you one class per term and do it another time. It adds ten weeks to your program and they charge you for it. I caught them in this and confronted them in it and they totally tried to deny it and that made them mad. Don't ever allow them to only take one class per course. It's a totally scam. It's them trying to get more money out of you. You sign so many papers and they will make you pay for it.

    2 Votes
  • Ri
    Rippedofff! Mar 05, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am having the same issue! And went to the same exact school. Same program. Just two years after you. It would really assist me if you would stand with me in this cause.

    2 Votes
  • My
    my2cents7 May 05, 2010

    it's sad that all of this happened to you, especially after attending classes and I'm sure paying for any tuition differences that your loans may have not paid, I worked at a Vocational School before and you are partly right. it is a 100% profit from all students. I think you're Idea of picketing outside the school is wonderful, not only will propect students see you but all of the other students currently attending will raise hell as well. if you do that post pictures, good luck

    you can always call the accrediting company they used to file a complaint. thier accrediting agency is ACICS

    http://www.acics.org/

    now of course you are going to need more than yourself to be effictive, 1 complaint could be considered a disgrunteled student, 25+ complaints there is difinately is an issue. and if teachers where asking you for xanax you should report that to ACICS also.

    hope this helps and dont forget the pictures!!!

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.