The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Dugan's TravelsFraud and scam

D Review updated:

Do not waste your money with this travel at home opportunity through Dugan's Travels. You get no support from this company at all. They charge you to join there chat list on yahoo which cost them nothing. A couple of times i needed to ask a question and tried to call the office never any answer only voice mail. The only other way to contact them is by email and they answer that when they feel like it. I was also very shocked by the nasty emails that the owner post to the message board always has a attitude. I think if people are paying a company to sell their product they would be a little nicer to their people. Do not sign up with this company it is a very poor company and does not support YOU the paying customer. Also charges a fee to cancel a contract if you decide you don't want to work with them. PLEASE BEWARE!!!

Responses

  • Gr
    GregG71 Jun 26, 2019

    I have worked part time with Dugan's Travels since 2008. I have always been treated respectfully and communications have always been professional. Jennifer has done a great job finding people to help her run the business - agents who are passionate about travel, and their enthusiasm is inspiring. In my opinion this host agency feels more like a family as I am comfortable contacting any other Dugan's agent for help with advice on trip planning where I'm not yet an expert. Our shared client software does a great job recording reservations and tracking commissions, and with our Facebook group we have another great way to communicate - with answers sometimes coming in minutes.

    1 Votes
  • Sk
    Skotson Jun 26, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    LOTS OF HELPFUL PEOPLE and RESOURCES!!! I was with Dugan's for over 3 years, needed to take a personal sabbatical, and am back now. The training is even more thorough now and there is a great mentoring/training program to work new agents into the business. Many people underestimate what there is to selling travel - it definitely can feel like resource overload, but I am so thankful to have everything I need at my fingertips plus a large supportive base of agents to collaborate with. Jennifer Dugan and her staff (many long term) have responded very quickly to questions from my experience and observation. I see her taking steps all the time to improve the process! Not every Host Agency will fit every individual, and that is why it is great we have a choice! My experience with Dugan's was great the first time, and even better this time!

    0 Votes
  • Sj
    sjaeger Sep 26, 2014

    I have been an agent w/ Dugans for four years now. My experience has been great. I have no complaints. I receive plenty of support and always in a very timely manner. My commissions are also always paid on time. I guess some people are just never happy.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    corf Dec 04, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As always Dugan's Travels appreciates constructive criticism in our effort to work to be a better host agency. We work to be the best fit for new, inexperienced agents as well as those who are seasoned pros. Dugan's Travels has worked tirelessly over the last few years to update our technology and work on new processes and procedures to help our amazing agents work smarter. It is not an agency best practice to be combative within our agency and I am sorry if that is impression you were left with. We want all agents and prospective agents to walk away impressed with our agency whether or not we are the best fit for them. We wish you the best of luck in your search for a host agency.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stayclassy Nov 23, 2013

    Jennifer you should just stop replying. Most of it just comes off as unprofessional. The defensive attitude you take and ease you use is disturbing at best, sounds like your used to it and that speaks volumes. Even though I can see through the bitterness of some of the posters have towards you for reasons that don't seem to be your fault, your public perception is shot with me. I will go another direction in my search for a new Host Agency hopefully I will wind up with one with an owner that has much more professionalism then you were able to display.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stayclassy Nov 23, 2013

    Well I found one host agency not to go with. Who wants an agency so combative. Thank you everyone.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    Dugans Travels Operations Manager Jun 10, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is not us, this is a PHISHING SCAM created by a guy namd Jeff Howell who is NOT with our agency. If you go to our website www.travelathome.com we have a warning. I am sorry you were scammed by this guy we have only had 2 people out of hundreds actually take this to the bank. We have called the attorney generals office of NM, the local police departments of those who have received them and they will not help us get this guy caught they tell everyone to throw it away. Again these checks are not from our Travel Agency. Anyone reading this please do NOT Cash any money orders or cashiers checks. We only pay commissions by direct deposit and to agents that have paid the fee to join our Host Agency.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terese67 Jun 10, 2013

    Dugan's is trying to scam me as well. They sent me a check made out to me clearly in the "Pay to the order of" line. I deposited it because I am a travel agent ( NOT w/Dugan's) and clearly assumed it was a commission check since it had my name on it. Now they are trying to get me to return the money to them claiming it doesn't belong to me. (Their accounting errors are not my problem.) My attorney has uncovered almost 30 scams by this company and advised me to stop payment on the check I returned to them out of good faith that it was my mistake. However, he also advised me that I was probably the one being scammed. A genius way to make someone feel guilty and send them money. How would they get my name, address and telephone number in order to send a check and contact me if this was a "mistake"? I've never worked for them. They are harassing me on a weekly basis hounding me to send them the money. The fact that the owner is so foul and unprofessional is also a huge red flag. Watch out people! It is a complete scam! If you're affected at all GET AN ATTORNEY!!!

    0 Votes
  • Bk
    bkm1234 May 02, 2013

    Jeff Howell is a scam artist. He is running a phishing scam against Dugan's Travels. Jeff Howell is not an agent with Dugan's Travels nor has he ever been.
    He has been sending out emails to individuals/message boards claiming to be an agent advertising for new agents.

    He is using emails of [email protected] and [email protected] Do not respond to these emails. He may even be using different emails. If you see the name Jeff Howell do not respond.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    busceme May 02, 2013

    @Debra. I spoke with you today on the phone. The company you signed up with is not Dugan's Travels. A scammer named Jeff Howell is presenting himself as Dugans Travel and contacting people directly by email to be "travel coordinators." Jeff Howell has nothing to do with Dugan's Travels in Rio Rancho NM.

    As I told you on the phone we are doing everything we can to stop this scammer. We appreciate you contacting us, giving us info about how you were approached and the documents you received. What you experienced is not the way we do business. I'm glad you are savvy enough to detect the scam and were not harmed by this malicious behavior.

    Virginia, Dugan's Travels General Manager

    0 Votes
  • De
    Debra Geigel May 02, 2013

    I just joined Dugans travel. I went to cash check today and is a counterfeited check. This company is scaming people thru bookings. I received my instructions and never was in contact with any customer.at all. All they asked me was to retype the ittinenary sent. now..now working for hotels and tour operators and travel agencies in no Agency world this happens. They pay you to wash the stolen checks the write...Whos going to pay you $230.00 just to retype an itinerary to email client...please

    0 Votes
  • Du
    Dugans Travels Operations Manager Apr 18, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Your personal Concierge on call, we do not offer leads, we offer training, tools and resources for those interested in starting their own business as a home based travel agent . We give marketing ideas however the actual marketing is up to the agent. We do now have a system that allows us to deduct the fee from the agents commission making the fee collection much nicer from the accounting standpoint. However agents who choose to join us then do nothing with their business including paying the monthly support fee which covers costs such as the CRM tool, the agents only website and staff to assist them, those are the ones who complain. We dont force anyone into a contract, if they want to join great but its not an overnight money maker it takes hard work and dedication. Those who complain just dont want to pay the fee that they agreed to because they failed to hold up their part of the commitment which they can choose to end at anytime with a phone call or by sending in a letter requesting termination from the agency. Once we receive this letter they only pay what is left on their account, if they have commissions due to them we will deduct it from that and we always wish them luck in their future endeavors. If we see agents are not making bookings we call, email and reach out to them to see what we can do to help them build their business. Check us out on the web Host Agency Travel Reviews and Find a Travel Host Agency both of these sites have reviews of our agency. You can also ask agents who work with us, post a question on our Dugans Travels Facebook page and please we encourage you to research us. We are not the perfect fit for everyone no Host Agency is. Its important to do your homework and partner with someone who fits your needs. We have expanded our management team, we have upgraded our systems, we have really worked very hard to be sure that anyone who works with us or wants to work with us will not be disappointed.

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    YourPersonalConciergeOnCall.com Apr 15, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a suggestion from an accounting manager's perspective (I don't work for this company, , , , yet :)
    I am assuming the 'company' is providing their agents the 'leads' if that is not accurate, please clue me in as to where the leads come
    from.
    If in fact the 'company' does provide the leads to each agent, would it not be more efficient (and less obviously irritating ) to have
    the 'company' deduct the 25% fee out of each check before they disburse the agent's payments? It would seem more logical,
    again, assuming that the leads are being generated through the 'company' and then referred to an agent, THAT IS THE COST OF
    DOING BUSINESS, ladies and gentlemen???
    It sounds like you want the 'company' to pay the cost of ADVERTISING so you get leads (and the leads are what you earn your money off of). You are an 'independent consultant' who gets to work at home, so essentially, you have NO TRANSPORTATION COSTS of your OWN, NO PROFESSIONAL WARDROBE COSTS, and IF YOU USE A CHEAP NO COST PHONE SERVICE LIKE 'MAGIC JACK' YOU DON'T EVEN HAVE A PHONE BILL? I'm sorry if I sound dumb, but THAT SOUNDS LIKE THE PERFECT JOB TO ME!

    Maybe I'll sign up and see for myself???? :) www.YourPersonalConciergeOnCall.com

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bethbmy1986 Mar 11, 2013

    We do recognize that in 2004 there were some delays due to home remodeling. In 2004 we were a much smaller agency with a management staff of 2 and less than 100 agents. Today in 2013 we are proud to announce that we have a much larger management staff, new tools, website, Client Data Management system, 24 hour commission reporting access and over 600 agents! We are sorry for your experience in [protected] please ask any current agents of ours now how they feel about our agency and they will tell you they are happy. See reviews here: http://hostagencyreviews.com/host-agency-list/dugans-travels/
    Please note that Dugans Travels never was and is not now a “card mill” agency. Thank you for sharing your feedback agents like yourself are what have helped us build a better Host Agency.

    0 Votes
  • Js
    jsmith7727 Feb 26, 2013

    I worked as an Independent Contractor for Dugans travels in the past, and was very disappointed. I would verge on saying that are becoming a "Card Mill". At the time I was with them, Jennifer Dugan was so busy building her "new home" that she was completely unavailble to answer any phone calls or emails. When I finally got a response from her, it was extremely nasty. She basically told me that if I needed to ask questions, that I needed to go elsewhere. So I did. Best move I ever made. She is about the MONEY, not the agents. She would not refund any monthly fees due to my leaving, and I wasn't about to be dealt with like a child, by a rude and greedy woman. They are all about getting you to sign up, and pay all their various fees. More fees than I've ever paid elsewhere. (Hence the new home..) Do yourself a favor - GO WITH ANOTHER HOST AGENCY. Trust me!

    -1 Votes
  • Sa
    Sava Jan 08, 2013

    I would like to say That i was Looking for a Home base business and decided to look at WAHMS. My lost job I had was selling time share vacations out of a Bass Pro Shop. So when I saw a forum about home base travel agency it caught my attention. The ladies on there were expressing great pleasure with there exp. with Dugans. I went on Dugan"s website and it was very easy to understand I did however email them with some questions and in less then a hour Ms.Dugan herself got back to me very promptly. I have spend the last 7 hours doing nothing but Comparing her company with others. As of right now cannot find a better fit. I decide to google complaints against her and I was surprise to see on this site She stands up for her agents and company! I never seen walmart, sears or any other place take the time to do so. I am still looking up something such as state laws here in Iowa with Ms. Dugan herself advised me to do on her email she sent. If everything looks good on my end I will not hesitate giving Dugans travel a shot. I am very much looking forward with working with them.

    2 Votes
  • Du
    Dugans Travels Dec 14, 2012

    Dugans Travels has a new management team, new websites, new agent forum, and just received an award at Sandals Star award ceremony. Our agents are outstanding. With any business, there will be people who complain because they don't succeed. If you do your research and see what this website is, you will see Dugans Travels offers so much for the independent travel agent looking for a home. I am very proud of our agency, management team and agents. Just read our reviews on websites that actually make people be accountable for their statements and you will see. We could spend thousands of dollars to pay to get this garbage removed from the internet, however we would rather spend that money on things that actually help like our fundraising efforts for various organizations. Hopefully anyone reading this website and looking at whether they should join our agency or use one of our agents for their travel plans will see it for what it is. You can complain without having any proof or reasoning.

    2 Votes
  • Re
    redruby62 Aug 11, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I almost gave her my money thanx for the insight all!!!

    -2 Votes
  • Vo
    VoiceOfReason70 Aug 09, 2012

    I was researching becoming a TA and came across this post. I have been an Accountant for 30 years and had a real estate lic for 20 years. The negative commenters against this company are totally ignorant as to how a real business operates. It takes investing money to make money. A $10.00 non-compliance fee is nothing!! They seem to be oblivious to the fact that when signing an agreement - you are bound to follow the limits and specifics of the agreement. This is a "sales" job. You sell, everybody reaps. You don't sell - everybody pays. The company "assists" you - they need to maintain policies and regulations to run their company - all of which (from all that I've read) are perfectly normal business "norms". Ms Dugan is simply defending her company by replying to these posts for which I do not blame her as this is the first post that comes up when "searching the Internet" for her company. I would go further, if I were her, and file a law suit. These are slanderous allegations that are definitely affecting "new agents'" decisions that are researching her company.

    2 Votes
  • An
    Ana North Dec 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a new agent with Dugan's Travels and have found the experience overall and with some patience to be great. All of the tools are in place to be a successful agent with the online tools and questions forum that is answered promptly. My trainer is patient with all my questions and being able to ask questions of long-term agents is giving me some insight that I would have to learn on the job and over time. The $130 sign up fee is doable as is the $10 per month support fee and the yearly $50 for E&O Insurance. Being overwhelmed and frustrated is part of starting out in a new field...I did feel that way. Now after 4 weeks, I'm beginning to catch on and plan to be with Dugan's for many years to come. You may want to take another look at Dugan's...they've come a long way since 2009. Ana North

    2 Votes
  • Cr
    Cruiseboy Travel Oct 23, 2011

    It is important to do your own research first, It is not Dugan's Travels job as a host agency to hold your hand. However, it is their job to give you the tools and resources to help you sell product. Dugan's Travels is not scam or fraud! It provides good customer service and an excellant commission spilt arrangement for larger host agency.

    Cruiseboy

    1 Votes
  • Je
    Jennifer Dugan Oct 04, 2011

    Not all our agents choose to be listed. This is a personal choice for agents. I am not sure why you are questioning my honesty but we do have close to 700 agents. There really is no reason for us to lie about how many agents we have. You might do some more research before publicly attacking someone.

    Jennifer Dugan

    1 Votes
  • Bk
    bkm1234 Oct 02, 2011

    Agents are responsible for listing themselves on the website. Not everyone wishes to be on the website for whatever reason. There are 700 agents with the agency, but only 184 who wish to be listed on the website.

    Thanks!

    1 Votes
  • Aj
    ajbjsquaredaway Sep 29, 2011

    ERROR! I am so sorry that I posted that there are 900 agents according to Ms Dugan. On her webpage, she says there are 700. My error. Of course, her error is that there are only 184 but who's counting!

    -2 Votes
  • Aj
    ajbjsquaredaway Sep 29, 2011

    Just to be accurate, there are exactly 184 agents on Dugan's site. 184, not 900. That's quite an error for a businesswoman to make, especially since it can be checked so easily.

    -2 Votes
  • Aj
    ajbjsquaredaway Sep 29, 2011

    I've been sitting back, reading all these posts and I have a question. Ms. Dugan says she has 900 agents (perhaps it was an agent who said this but it was mentioned in one of the posts and not recanted by anyone at Dugans.) My question is IF there are 900 agents, why do only 200-300 show up on the Dugans Travels site? They are listed by state and there are nowhere near 900. Just a question I'd like answered. If the reason they don't show up is that they haven't met a quota, or whatever, how will they ever if Dugans doesn't give them a chance to pick up clients from the website. I can't think of a good answer for their being deleted, can anyone else?

    Also, unless Ms Dugan reads every email her staff sends out (from their personal computers which she doesn't have access to) how does she know someone hasn't been rude to another agent? It's called CYA and those with a short fuse cover their tracks by blaming problems on someone else, someone who isn't getting paid by Ms Dugan. That's the way it works in the corporate world and I don't know any reason it wouldn't be the same in the travel agent world. Just saying.

    -2 Votes
  • Ep
    E.P. Aug 16, 2011

    It's a shame how one bad apple spoils the bunch. Dugan's "supports" its members by allowing them to book travel for THEIR business without having to spend thousands upon thousands of dollars obtaining their own credentials and insurance. They give at-home agents all of the tools they need to be successful. Whether someone uses those tools to their fullest potential is up to the user, not Dugan's. And $10/month? Are you kidding me? A pittance compared to what you'd pay if you did it on your own. Perhaps Dugan's doesn't exist to coddle whiny brats -- if that's the support you want, you shouldn't even think about starting your own business. If, however, you are a hard worker who will use the tools Dugan's provides and someone who will strive to make their business successful, you couldn't find a better (and less expensive) opportunity

    1 Votes
  • Kc
    kcspader Aug 16, 2011

    Dugan's and their agents are all very helpful & provide all the training you need. If you have any doubts about anything, they are there to lend a helping hand. They are quick in replying to any help you need. They are all very kind and friendly. I have never had any issues & absolutely have no regrets.

    2 Votes
  • Kc
    kcspader Aug 16, 2011

    I can honestly say I have absolutely no regrets. Everyone was always willing to help out, give their advice, help me find the best deals. They provide you with training & support. If you're not ready, they'll work with you until you are ready. It's your own business & it's what you make it. They are not there to just 'give' you clients. As with any business, you need to advertise & find a way to bring in your own clients. I have never had any issues.

    2 Votes
  • Je
    Jennifer Dugan Aug 14, 2011

    Yes Dugan's Travels makes a profit but it does not go into my pockets. I make a salary as well as others who work for the agency does. Extra earnings have been put back into the business as well as put into savings because we want to make sure we are here for the long haul rather than when something terrible like 9/11 we can make it thru. So many agencies can't make it thru hard times due to mis-management of money and we will not be like that. When we need money it will be there. We paid out over 140, 000 to agents this month alone. Agents never have to worry that they won't get paid because we have spent their commissions.

    But a HUGE number of our agents make the $3000 quota and do not pay the $10 fee. Our agents are successful and great at what they do. Ask suppliers what they think of our agents- we constantly get emails, calls and letters from suppliers praising our agents from suppliers. Suppliers come to our agent seminar each year just to see our agents because they want them to work with them.

    Those who are successful don't sit there and worry about what people are earning or attack others for being successful. They are excited and want to do better themselves. There is no reason to get jealous but rather look at ways you can be successful yourself. It took a very long time and alot of hard work to build Dugan's Travels to what it is today and everyone who works for Dugan's Travels deserves what they earn! That includes not only our agents, our staff but also myself.

    Jennifer Dugan

    3 Votes
  • Be
    bethbmy1986 Aug 14, 2011

    People who do not pay their fees are deadbeats. That is rude and unprofessional. Signing a contract and not following through with what they signed. By signing that contract, they committed to paying their fees.

    Beth

    1 Votes
  • An
    Anny Nonomous Aug 14, 2011

    Are you trying to imply that the agency does not make a substantial profit?
    The agency has a right to continue to operate, just as those of us who are past agents have the right to tell of our experiences. Prospective agents should know the truth. I honestly believe that more past agents would tell of their experiences but they fear retaliation. I was disgusted when I read on another board how Jennifer called a past agent "a deadbeat". That was very rude and unprofessional. People should know what they are getting themselves into.

    -1 Votes
  • Be
    bethbmy1986 Aug 14, 2011

    Anny Nonomous-

    Do you have any clue how to run a multi-million dollar business? You need capital to run it. There are a lot of things the $10 monthly support fee goes for. First, there are many licenses that have to be renewed each year, many of these require the agency to be bonded. Being bonded costs a LOT of money. A business does not run itself. There are many more costs to running a business, these are just a few of the many costs.

    Being a travel agent is all about knowing how to do research. You are given the tools needed to be successful, but you have to be motivated to succeed. Barb and Angela are always available to help answer questions.

    Jennifer has every right to come to a website and defend herself and her agency if people want to come on board to bash.

    Many changes have been implemented over the past few months. So many of your complaints are no longer an issue.

    You are no longer with her agency, move on. Focus on your business and leave Jennifer's alone!

    Beth

    1 Votes
  • An
    Anny Nonomous Aug 14, 2011

    Telling new, inexperienced agents to look up the questions they have in the handbook is not exactly what I would call "support". Is that worth $10/month? Perhaps if you would open your eyes and learn from what past agents are telling you, you could use that info to better yourself and your agency. You have managed to find the time to constantly monitor this board, but you don't have time to assist your inexperienced agents? That's just not right.

    -1 Votes
  • Kb
    kbprez Aug 13, 2011

    I have been with Dugan's Travels for 8 years and appreciate Jennifer's efforts in trying to keep expenses low for us. We pay our E&O Insurance premium & $10 per month. The $10 monthly fee is waived if we make $3, 000 in sales... that's 2 Cruise staterooms or 1 Honeymoon per month -- Where else can you have a job expecting so little sales? Basically if we can show the agency will make something from our month's work, we get access to all the agency's contacts & supplier relationships (including very high commission levels) for the price of 20-25% of our commission. Sounds like a win-win to me. Any better commission splits in the industry come with monthly fees closer to $100 per month which will never be waived.

    Most of us don't book millions of dollars per year, but we are trying to build a substantial business with limited funds. She implemented our "chat list" as a free way for us to help each other. We have the benefit of 600+ agents' experience and knowledge if we are looking for suggestions. This allows each of us to accept requests that are out of our comfort zone, confident that we can get help to make good choices. I have asked and answered many questions. There is also a process in place to contact management when there is an administrative issue. I have always found this system to work, even if I didn't always like the answers given.

    Jennifer has always tried to respond to feedback from her agents, such as this week introducing a new CRM & commission process. Yes it will take a while to get used to, but all progress does.

    There are 2 accusations in what I've read here that I will respond to:
    1. For much of this year Jennifer herself has been unavailable, due to having twins after a rough pregnancy. She tried to make sure the agency worked seamlessly while she was gone, but I did experience delays during this time, and things were a little less organized than usual. However since Jennifer's return this has improved.
    2. The agency did throw her a baby shower (online) but I have gone to many of those types of things at most of the offices I've worked. I see nothing unprofessional about any of that. Many of us interact with her and other agents regularly, and as such we feel like friends. Many of our agents are stay-at-home moms and look up to Jennifer. Those who did not attend (I personally didn't) were not penalized or treated any differently. I appreciated being kept up to date with her status in the company, as well as sharing her joy welcoming her new son and daughter into the world.

    1 Votes
  • Bu
    busceme Aug 13, 2011

    Hmmmm. I'm reading all of these comments and scratching my head. I've been with Jennifer and Dugan's Travels since the beginning--1999. If all of these terrible things were true I would have moved on a long, long time ago. I was with another host agency prior to 1999 and I'm MUCH happier with Dugan's. Jennifer has given many people an opportunity to build a business with very little up-front cost and low monthly fees.

    The $10 monthly fee is not a penalty . . . it's a fee charged for all of the back office expenses that are part of doing business.

    The $3000 is not a quota . . . it's an opportunity to have the fee waived.

    I don't think there is any other host agency out there that can offer a new agent such low start-up costs and monthly fees.

    When I've had a question specific to Dugan's I've always been able to get an answer from Jennifer or one of the staff. I'm considerate of the fact that I am one of many agents and didn't expect an instant answer or a long answer. Jennifer could have a larger staff and more techno stuff but then we'd all be paying higher fees. For the small amount it cost me to do business I think I'm getting a heck of a deal.

    Dugan's gives you basic training for the travel industry and how to book travel. It's up to each individual agent to DO something with that training. You have to be a self-starter to be in business for yourself. Each agent has to dig in and learn--about suppliers, destinations, regulations, and about how to sell to clients. I've been in the business over 10 years and still do lots of research. It takes time and effort. When I have a question I pick up the phone or get on the internet and find answers. I don't expect other agents to do my research or answer every question.

    If it's not for you then move on. Find what works for you. But that doesn't mean it won't work for lots of others.

    I've recommended Dugan's to many people. And I tell each one of them that it only works if you are willing to put in the time and the effort. Dugan's has been a been a BLESSING to many people. It's allowed folks with no experience in travel to learn and to build a profitable home-based business. It's working for me and for hundreds of other Dugan's agents.

    I would highly recommend Dugan's to any one looking for a host agency.

    Virginia Busceme
    Your Personal Travel Connection

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    KarlenesCaribbeanTravel Aug 13, 2011

    I have been with Dugan's travels since Feb 2003 (almost 9 years) and I completely disagree with all the negative comments. Jennifer Dugan is a very fair, honest person and it has been a pleasure to work with her. I started with her with no prior experience or travel knowledge and they helped me learn the business. I still work a full time job and have 3 year old twin boys so travel is not full time for me but I still find time to help Jennifer out with some administrative duties. When I was looking for a host agency I wanted to find one that did not cost a lot due to the fact I was not doing this full time. Dugan's Travels was the lowest costing host agency out there at the time. There were some that wanted hundreds of dollars a month for who knows what. If you make your $3000 in sales you pay nothing that month, its that simple; and the yearly fee is for insurance. When I started there were around 100 agents now there are almost 700! All 700 of us can't be wrong! Thank you Jennifer for everything you do for us!

    Karlene Penick
    Karlene's Caribbean Travel

    1 Votes
  • Tr
    Trip Of A Lifetime Travel Aug 13, 2011

    I have been with Dugan's for 2 1/2 years. I have always enjoyed working for them. From the start, any questions I had were answered in a timely and friendly manner. In the time I have been an agent, I have made my $3, 000.00 is sales almost every month. Those months that I did not, I paid my $10.00. Yes, we do get the invoice on the 25th of the month. If I do not make my sales, I simply log in and pay my invoice. If I have already made my sales, I log in right away and dispute it and it is taken care of. We have access to several suppliers and a daily message board with other agents answering questions and providing experience.

    I have no complaints about the staff at the agency. I was lucky enough to meet some of them at the seminar we are welcome to attend each year. I look forward to staying with Dugan's in the future as well as referring anyone interested in being a travel agent.

    Desiree Beyea
    Trip Of A Lifetime Travel

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    Roxann Schneckloth Aug 12, 2011

    I have been with Dugan's about 5 years now. I had been with another host agency that took 50% of my commissions and only allowed me to do bookings with 4 suppliers. This was not a successful start. I researched Dugan's travels and thought this was a host agency that would allow me to make my travel business my own. When I first started I tried to make sure I met the $3000 per month booking quota so I would not have to pay the $10.00 monthly fee and I was fine with giving the host agency 25% of my commission because I was just beginning and did not start out with a lot of clients at first. Well after my first year I knew my business was doing pretty good. I had met my quota allowing me to apply for my own IATAN card and Jennifer had just announced that for $5, 000 you could basically own your own business by making 100% of your commissions and no monthly fees. I decided to pay the fee so I would have the freedom to not worry about the monthly quotas and get paid the extra 25% that I had worked hard to earn. I have been VERY happy with my business and the only expenses I pay out to Dugan's Travels is $50.00 annually for E & O insurance, any shipping charges I might have for shipping client documents and I like to attend the annual agent seminar that Dugan's puts together every year to help us with our business.
    I feel Jennifer is human as well as a boss of a large company and she does a great job trying to let everyone run their individual businesses as she is trying to run Dugan's Travels.
    I have been very happy with this host agency and have referred 2 other people that have signed up to have their own travel businesses with Dugan's Travels. I would not hesitate to recommend a new agent into our flock.
    Anyone reading this just remember there are 2 sides to every story and don't believe everything that you read.
    Roxann Schneckloth
    Goofy Travelers

    1 Votes
  • Je
    Jennifer Dugan Aug 12, 2011

    We are actually in the process of going automated for our agents for commissions. We are doing it free of charge for our current agents. We may begin to charge new agents who join but for the time being, it is free to those who are current agents and those who are joining us right now. Our agents were strongly against changing the way we did things mainly because they did not want to have to pay for it, but we have decided it is best for everyone if we make the changes. This will be rolling out in the next few months as we get set up. Our current set up is not hard at all, it is just something that agents who are making alot of bookings say they found takes alot of time. So anyone who told you it is hard is not being truthful. My 11 year old son (at the time) was able to do it to show that is simple. But we have decided to make the change to allow our agents and our agency to be more productive.

    We want producing agents - that is why we require the $3000 in sales for the fee to be waived. We also do not want agents who are not making any type of booking. That is the reason for the requirement to make a single booking in a 6 month period before renewal. That is not at all unreasonable because if you are going be an agent, you should be able to make a booking in 6 months.

    We are not going to give a CLIA card to anyone who wants it just so they can get discounts. This is what a card mill does. We aren't looking for the person who wants to be an agent to travel for free. We are looking for those who want to have a successful travel agency.

    I won't respond to the ignorant post above since we don't even have close to 900 agents plus more than 60% of our agents make the quota each month. The fee that agents do pay goes towards the costs of running an agency which this person must know nothing about. We get so many people who have no experience and they become successful agents through our program. The whole idea of our program is to help those without experience.

    Talk to one of our real agents.. not someone who just wants to cause trouble. We have been in business for over 14 years and wouldn't be if we were a scam or not a good host agency.

    Jennifer Dugan
    Dugans Travels

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.