The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Dr. Sydney Colemanbuyer beware!

A
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Dr. Sydney Coleman, founder of Lipostructure has more than 50 complaints against him that have been filed with the DOH in NYC. This doctor has no business calling himself the founder of anything much less fat transfer. His fat grafts do not last at all and he harvests fat from areas without the patients' consent and leaves them with new problem areas. He took an oath to protect the patient, but he destroys their lives. He charges exuberant prices and you end up disfigured. Please do not go to him. You will be making the biggest mistake of your life. I made the mistake and have to live with the consequences daily. He has no conscience nor regard for his actions.

Buyer Beware!

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Responses

  • Vi
    victim*** Jul 22, 2018

    A large group are stalking me here on the southeastern half of a duplex. the police are going to murder me or help someone do it. someone help. I don't know what to do. This man is copying me and putting creepy things around the house. He spells his name two ways and the police and state govt let him! I think they want to help him steal my identity. he has something to do with Ptak. 4641 4th st ne Columbia heights

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    Crocadilly Apr 14, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    So this is 2017. Anyone have any input on Coleman? What's the consensus? Go with him or not for facial fullness?

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nabs55 Jun 25, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    hello, I did a visite at the Dr. Coleman place and he was very professional and he showed me beautiful pics about what he has done but now reading all this negatives comments makes scarri...
    please guys give me more info about him sending me some pics. Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Re
    RedOrangePink Jan 03, 2016

    This are not comments
    This is exactly what happened to me.
    I hope it can help all of you.
    PLEASE NOTE: THIS REVIEW WAS CANCEL FROM YELP.COM

    FAT GRAFTING TO FACE CAN COST FROM $15, 000.00 UP TO $ 50, 000.00 UNDER GENERAL ANESTHESIA... “be ready for this cost estimate...”

    Wow …I m glad all of you had great experience. Personally I have not.
    Actually is very sad because I never had the opportunity to meet with Mr. Coleman….:((
    Let me tell you what happen to me:

    A week ago I have call and request an appointment for consultation on face fat grafting. I had been charged immediately $500 dollars.
    So it was ok for me to pay that money to learn something about this technique, since the lady on the phone told me that Mr. Coleman is the best in the world!!!

    The day of the appointment at his office, the ladies at front desk ask me to fill 6 pages (she was very upset because I had not fill they one they have email to me previously…) with all my personal information: in addition to all medical history (understandable), they were asking about all about my business, my husband business and much more.
    So I refuse to fill those papers and ask why they need all those information about my husband…

    Well, Mr. Coleman’ s assistant told me that it is indeed mandatory to release all those information about my husband company if I want that consultation…but she never answer my question: why? Then she told me that she was going to reimbursement the $500 and I could leave!

    This is my story.
    Each of you can make the own conclusions…

    P.S. The day I call for the appointment, during our phone conversation she informed me that fat grafting on face can cost from $15 thousand up to $50 thousands under general anesthesia …and she told me pretty directly: “be ready for this cost estimate.”

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Lee Penman Sep 26, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There seems to be a witch hunt going on regarding this surgeon. Despite all the reviews you read there appear to be NO malpractice and certainly no Class Action proceedings against him no or in the past. Just saying...

    -1 Votes
  • At
    Atom191 Jul 08, 2015

    Heather Morgan... Do you realize that you come off as a lunatic?! You have nothing better to do than rant on this site and what try to make yourself feel better by bringing down a truly gifted doctor? Every person who comments on this site gets either validated or discredited by you-- and don't even try to use that pious holier than thou excuse that you are trying to "save patients." THATS DR COLEMANS AREA OF EXPERTISE. Not only do you sound like a classic delusional but you also are probably on some very serious meds (which you either need to cut out completely or up the dosage immediately). I almost feel bad for you in a way.. But believe me dr. Coleman wouldn't be as successful as he is today after 20 years of practice if he took liberties that weren't his and as you say purposely sabotage procedures. GET A LIFE

    -3 Votes
  • Jo
    Joan Schmitz Nov 25, 2014

    I wish I'd never met Dr. Coleman. I was hopelessly swollen for over a year. I looked liked the elephant man. Even after almost 20 years of his work I still look weird from certain angles. Stay away from him.

    2 Votes
  • Rg
    RG1 Mar 15, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In March, 2013 I had undergone a re constructive plastic surgery - Brazilian butt lift . I had the original surgery done on December, 2011 with a different surgeon (that surgery was unsuccessful and since then that clinic had closed).after running around from one surgeon to the other and looking for the best surgeon out there. I had decided to do the surgery with Dr. Sindey Coleman, who is considered to be one of the best doctors in the world and a specialist in fat transfer. Dr. Coleman charges 3 times then other surgeons but since he is considered as one of the best in the world I went to him thinking that if anyone can do an amazing job it would be him.
    I had multiple meetings with Dr. Coleman prior to the surgery where we discussed the procedure. I paid him 30, 000 $ (all the money I had from my 401k).
    now a year after the surgery, my butt looks worse then it did before the surgery. even though we had. discussed so many times where to take out the fat from and where not to put the fat in. Dr. Coleman did the opposite. he took out fat from the butt itself when he was supposes to add fat in (when I asked him why did he do that, him and his nurse laid to my face and said they didn't - I have the copy of the surgery report + pictures - in them it specifically stated that they did take out fat and how much). he transferred fat under the butt creases (in medical terms they call it "banana rolls". when I specifically repeated prior to the surgery over and over again that I don't wont him to do that. he transferred fat to the side of my thighs when we never discussed that.
    all of this changes to the operation not only resulted in a flat, uneven shapeless butt that is full of dimpling’s and cellulite including creating a major problem with my thighs that are un even and full of cellulite as well, but I am in major physical pain that goes from the butt all the way down to my legs. The pain is constant, when I sit down, lay down, walk. I had told Dr. Coleman about the pain and the answer I got was “I don’t know what to tell you”. On top of that having a disfigured lower back got me to such a depression and mental anxiety that I had started seeing a therapist.
    I spoke to Dr. Coleman and asked him for a partial refund he told me that he will think about it and to come back with in a week. When I did, he said that he will not give me back any refund because it will mean that he did something wrong but that he will do one more surgery for less money.
    When we discussed doing the surgery we spoke of doing only one surgery and now he says to me that he knew he will not be able to do only one surgery. he never said that to me. in one meeting he said to me that the right side under the butt looks over corrected and he needs to take some fat out a week latter it was a totally different story now he wants to add fat to the same place. His story’s changes from one meeting to the other.
    Who would had dreamed that after 6 hours of surgery under general anesthesia and two months of not been able to sit down of lay down on my back . the results will be so horrible.
    Not only did he charge me 30, 000$ for the surgery + 500$ consultation + he charges for every picture and medical record that I asked him for (and that is my right to have them).And now after I spoke to him and explained it all and asked him for money back, he said to me that he will do another surgery for less money. This man shouldn't perform any surgery’s. he has no sense of aesthetics and it’s obvious that all he cares about is the money. I am a single woman that her only crime was to try and look better and now I don’t know if what was done can be fixed or how it will look ever again. I can not look at my self in the mirror so how can I even be in a relationship ? and I don’t know if I will have to live with the physical pain for the rest of my life. I don’t have the funds to do anther surgery and don’t know what to do. I have been looking for an attorney but no one will even consider taking the case. Do anyone know of an attorney who will accept such a case or maybe we can file a law suite as a group. I am sure that as a group an attorney will take this very seriously, after all the more money than can make, the more it will tempt them to take the case.

    0 Votes
  • No
    No going back Feb 06, 2014

    Coleman did my fat graphs over 9 years ago and I am still so sad about the outcome. When I smile or laugh, my eyes become little slits because of all the fat below my eyes and cheeks and my teeth don't show at all. If you are considering this surgery by any Dr, don't do it, you will regret it the rest of your life

    1 Votes
  • Uo
    uorrro Jan 30, 2014

    furthermore, the doctor told me that there were no long-term risks when we spoke.

    0 Votes
  • Uo
    uorrro Jan 30, 2014

    my fat grafting consent form falsely stated in writing something about how the specific risks of fat grafting are listed elsewhere in the preoperative packet. no specific risks were ever given and this was intentionally done to make the surgery appear to have only general risks of all surgeries. Not giving specific risks of a surgery is malpractice due to a lack of informed consent.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Mendes Oct 05, 2013

    Hi I had under eye surgery and slight cheek fill with Dr. Coleman and had absolutely no issues with him. I wish he was a little more friendlier but apart from that am very happy with the outcome.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    texaswoman) Nov 19, 2012

    I know exactly how you feel because my face was also wrecked by a plastic surgeon, Dr. Samuel Lam (Lam Facial Plastics, Plano, TX). I was going to see Dr. Sydney Coleman first but Dr. Lam's office talked me out of it. He raved on and on about how much better he was because he doesn't overfill unlike other doctors (yeah, right) and how I should get it done by him and not by Dr. Coleman or other doctors. If you want to see what Dr. Lam did, look at the after pictures of Lara Flynn Boyle. He look one look at me and told me how much younger and refreshed I looked. He is either a liar or delusional who knows, just know that you're not the only one suffering and I know your pain and I hope you heal from this.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    ducky Nov 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Anyone else having problems after excision of fat graft..like it keeps coming back?

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dartar Oct 09, 2011

    I took a peak and saw that Bisson is a quak. His before photo the chin is down to make wrinkles show. Then the chin is tilted back to make wrinkles look like they are gone. how can his be legal? but it is legal.

    0 Votes
  • No
    No longer smiling Oct 05, 2011

    Has anyone had any success working with Dr. Lionel Bissoon to restore the face?

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jackie regrets fat grafting Sep 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I certainly understand why no one will answer a question which has been answered so many times before throughout this blog. However, I have never noticed the following question asked and if someone has a legal background and could answer this question it would be greatly appreciated. My understanding is that if a physician loses his medical license (lets say for example one or more patients ended up dying due to medical malpractice) and the physician then moves to another state and simply starts a practice there, how would potential patients go about finding out what had happened in another state to protect themselves? My understanding is that the physician does not need to disclose the fact that he lost his license in another state.

    1 Votes
  • Hu
    hun411 Jul 19, 2011

    I don't understand if there are so many of you complaining, why there isn't a record of his abuse on the NY professional misconduct or physician discipline or Better Business Bureau. I also couldn't find anything in public records act.

    -1 Votes
  • Ho
    HotPic Jul 10, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Revealing and therefore very useful. It has helped me make a truly informed decision. No one would be up in arms for so long about something without a serious justifiable reason and that backed up by others with similar grievences. I am grateful to say the least that this complaints board exists. More power to you say I.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    sadaboutit Jun 25, 2011

    Jenny, this thread is pretty old and I don't know what's happened with those making the complaints. I wish I knew. What areas did he graft? Have you found ways to remove the fat?

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jenny218 Jun 12, 2011

    I am a victim of this monster! I filed a formal complaint to have it rejected. Why can't he be stopped? Can we picket outside his office?

    1 Votes
  • Pp
    PPJ78 Mar 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thank you all for posting this- when I checked him out nothing was mentioned regarding how blotched his procedures are! If it wasn't for Corey Taylor Clegg's comment on Daryl Hannah I would have never stumbled on this- surprising cause it should show up! Anyways, I'm really sorry about what happened and am proud that you'll are speaking up. Thanks for the serious slap on the head!! P

    1 Votes
  • Vi
    victim*** Jan 03, 2011

    I compare how you look after fat injecting to how people look after suffering an allergic reaction to hair dye. do an image search on yahoo.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    victim*** Jan 03, 2011

    People need to see that when they are going to a plastic surgeon they are nothing more than another way for the gnarly old guy to make his money. He (or even she sometimes) has no interest in anything but making money off the person. money first. your requests mean nothing and can be substituted by however the gnarly old guy sees fit.
    It is wrong for people to think that an elderly old doctor can make them younger or improve their appearance.
    These plastic surgeons are all blood suckers and pretend to be real people on here. The fat graft is just little lumps that they inject into the skin to make swelling.

    0 Votes
  • Av
    A. Victim Dec 31, 2010

    I have learned the hard way that a high percentage of doctors, especially plastic surgeons are sociopaths. They are drawn to that profession because they can do whatever they want to people while they are unconscious and they know they can get away with it. Don't believe me? Do a google search on what professions are most represented among murderers. You guessed it - physicians. Three out of 5 plastic surgeons I went to were sociopaths. The first one operated on 20 of the wrong parts - parts I did not consent to surgery on. I ended up disfigured & crippled. The second deliberately damaged one part that I didn't consent to surgery on because he was mad at me. The third did the opposite of what he was supposed to do, then when I gave him a negative rating on ratemds.com, he threatened me with physical harm. He then posted lies about me, saying I wasn't a patient, that I was a former employee who stole drugs from him, that I was a drug addict and extortionist. Then
    he had his wife file a phony restraining order against me, saying I threatened to kill her & her children. It was dismissed for lack of evidence. Then he started posting fake reviews of my business, saying I'm a con artist, a fraud, etc. I finally won my malpractice, battery & fraud suit against him, but he is appealing. Continue exposing these [censor], that is the only way to fight them.

    1 Votes
  • Vi
    victim*** Nov 23, 2010

    I do not believe happy client is real. These plastic surgeons are all blood suckers and pretend to be real people on here. The fat graft is just little lumps that they inject into the skin to make swelling.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    happy client too Nov 18, 2010

    Sorry for those of you who are unhappy, but I am someone whose life he saved. My face was butchered by a combination of bad orthodontics combined with a facial fracture which made the effects yet worse. I am one of the success stories pictured on his site. I date my life - at age 43 - as having began the day he corrected the horrendous malformation of my initially beautiful (early childhood) face. I took such a beating from people. I'm white - strangers on the subway would make rude remarks about my appearance. I know how blacks feel in the states, to have people detest you on the basis of physical appearance. Well it's 11 years since the surgery and all holds up well. While I see that what he does is an art - not a science - medicine is an art and things can go wrong - I have to speak up in his defense. My daily life changed like from night to day with the correction of the bone structure. Sadly the human race in the states is as superficial as they seem and appearance is everything. It is such a relief just to have people be friendly and not draw false assumptions about me due to facial characteristics.

    0 Votes
  • Ya
    yaho Oct 25, 2010

    the fat graft will never go away unless cut out

    what a silly question to ask her!

    0 Votes
  • Du
    ducky Oct 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    "Corey taylor Clegg "you use to post on here almost daily, what has changed?
    Did your fat graft go away? Does sit still bother you? Is there some kind of gag order??

    0 Votes
  • Xo
    xor Oct 03, 2010

    beware 99.9% of all plastic surgeons, not just coleman.

    2 Votes
  • Xo
    xor Oct 03, 2010

    Who would be dumb enough to go to him and find out???

    1 Votes
  • Du
    ducky Sep 27, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Does Coleman still overfill or has he lightened it up?

    0 Votes
  • Xo
    xor Aug 23, 2010

    Rachel Uchitel: You claim your lips are larger from injecting but I see in 2001 you always had large lips. What is with you and those fart bag doctors?

    0 Votes
  • Oe
    oeerrr Aug 21, 2010

    Frank Ryan's was exposed when Heidi showed her damaged face so he drove off the cliff. Everyone new the truth so the monster had nothing left to do but die. Just read his writing on his myspace page and you will see what a con he is. How he uses words to persuade people so that he may prey on them.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jackie regrets fat grafting Jul 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I feel deeply for any one who has been disfigured. Fat transfer was done to my face years before anyone blogged
    about it. It was done on the west coast. There was nothing on the internet regarding these kinds of problems. I isolated and hid from the world for many years.
    Finally, now I am in a very good place, in part thanks to this blog, wonderful kind and caring friends, family and fellow bloggers and meeting with those who have had a similar experience.
    I spent time researching how to fix the problems intermittently over the years facing the challenges described so
    eloquently in these blogs.
    It is now my goal to make studying, researching and learning more about this subject a full time project. Already, I have seen physicians on the east coast, west coast and many places inbetween. Unfortunately, many plastic surgeons do not know much about this subject, much less how to undo the fat grafts. I am gathering information on how the damage of a fat graft can be undone or at least mitigate the disfigurment. It is very time consuming but a rewarding project.
    There are many people out there with these types of challenges and it helps to share information. It is so hearth warming to share experiences.
    There has been much shared on the blogs, I have read each one of them and I appreciate all those who have shared there experiences, tragic and personal and difficult as they are and have been. I do not understand people who enter a blog designed to help those who are disfigured and then use this forum to go on and on how they think their results are so amazing. It seems odd and cruel to me. Anyone can become disfigured at any time via car or plane accidents, fire, gun shot wounds etc. Since some seem to have no idea what a disfigured person endures and apparently do not believe these gut wrenching descriptions here, please google Katie Piper. Her parents did not recognize her. Katie begged them to kill her. I do not see her burns I see a beautiful, lively, brave caring young women who is now wise and so full of love and joy.
    On some of the blogs people have asked for names for doctors able to undo the fat grafts. I have asked those questions myself and now I finally understand why they cannot be answered in a forum. It is too complex to anwer that without knowing what the problems are, what a person wants to correct, what has the person already tried, can the person travel, which doctors has the person already seen, what were they told etc.
    For years I did not want any kind of surgery. Recently I have healed to the point were I can trust and move forward.
    I now look forward to each day and learning more and more about procedures which may help.
    Looking forward to being and looking my best and enjoying life each day. For every person who has suffered from being disfigured I wish you all the best from the bottom of my heart. Thank you for sharing and continue to be the beautiful persons you are.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    ducky May 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Heather morgan can you please mail me, I need to talk to you.

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    spongeb May 13, 2010

    yes, Coleman's photo of the man with the cheek sucked in is totally unbelievable! It implies that one could replace their lost jaw bone with fat! Either the guy photo been computer altered or he had his lower jaw replaced where it appears to be missing. That photo is not real and does not represent fat grafting. It is so dishonest!

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    spongeb May 13, 2010

    Naloh, you are so dishonest and so wrong. Not just "anyone" could post before/after photos to show how they look before and after an accident and then after a reconstruction. This is why doctors will show before/ afters to patients. If your story were true (that you look "better" than before an accident) then you would be the first and would be proud to show off your miracle to us by posting your before/afters. I know if a doctor made me look even better than I did BEFORE a disfiguring accident that I would be very thankful to the doctor and want to post my photos here!
    You are obviously not telling the truth and do not even sound credible.
    Besides, if your results are so great then why doesn't Coleman have any miracle photos on his web-site that are typical of your story? His work is mainly crap! love the picture of the man sucking in his cheek and then letting it out for the after shot!

    0 Votes
  • Ug
    Ugly Duckling May 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Naloha, you sound so defensive and insulting. These people have been traumatized. Maybe you should go on another site and share your happiness. These people have been deeply hurt and for you to minimize their suffering and pain, call them haters, and sound condescending is inappropriate. Sounds like you have an axe to grind. Please show compassion for the mutilated. You say that you were happy with you result. Well Good for you, but don't use that to hurt and discredit the reality and suffering of others. People have been multilated and traumatized. Thank God it wasn't you! It could of been you. These people went to the doctors and that in self was a disfiguring experience.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Naloha May 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thank you for your kind words ; ) I do look great. I had reconstructive work done and look better now than I have ever looked...before my accident. That's pretty impressive. As for posting pictures I would be uncomfortable having you see what I look like as you are evidently missing a player. Furthermore if I did post my beautiful results you would never be satisfied that they are genuine because it doesn't take a rocket scientist to know that anyone could say they went to Dr. Coleman and provide any pictures and say they are post surgery and actually be completely full of it...like you...

    Not only do you seem totally loco you also seem to be a major hater. Haters don't have a lot of credibility with reasonable people. I read all your bs rants about Dr. Coleman before I ever contacted his office. That's how credible I find you. Say you for a reason.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.