Dr. Oscar UrreaVerbal Abuse

P Review updated:

He started the appointment off by taking personal calls on his cell phone. He then yelled at me for not scheduling an appointment with him sooner and when I explained it took his receptionist several months to get me in and that my appointment before that was canceled, he called me a liar and said I fabricate stories. When i told him my mother witnessed all of this, he said that if she supported me and thought i was a truthful person she would've come to my appointment. I am a college student, far from being a minor.I asked why i would fabricate a story about appointments since I want to feel better and he said I want people to feel sorry for me.He continued to belittle me and gave me no choices with my medications. When i asked about side effects he became agitated and said "I'm the doctor, i run this place". He continued to call me a liar and storyteller and when I began to cry, he said that I have "anger management issues".Avoid this guy at all costs. I told him I would be reporting him and he said "go ahead" and laughed. I left without any help.

Responses

  • Br
    Bruno7 Jul 11, 2011

    Dr.urrea was my doctor at the age of 15, ten years ago! He would wear $3, 000 suits and would do the same things to me! Called me a liar and put me on 3 different meds that caused me more harm then good! I was hospitalized and he never came to see me! He is in it for the money no doubt about it! The biggest piece of ### out there he should be investigated!

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bruno7 Jul 11, 2011

    I was 15 and he messed me up so bad with meds I didn't need! He is called the Columbian Wonder but he should be called the Columbian Crook!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    misssusan Jul 26, 2012

    I don't even know quite where to begin. However, in order to save you hours of reading. Just do not go to Dr. Urrea. In my opinion, he simply does not know what he is doing. He went to medical school in Colombia and things must run very differently there. He provided me with a completely different diagnosis than the next doctor I went to and wanted to give me treatments that are meant for someone who is severally mentally ill, not someone who has mild depression. Like another reviewer posted, his temper is also out of control. It is unfortunate because here aren't many psychiatrists around these days.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    misssusan Jul 26, 2012

    I'm so sorry that happened to you honey. I hope you found a better doctor and are doing well.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    katep73 Jul 26, 2012

    stop cutting your medication in half

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    Sharon Alger Jun 24, 2014

    I actually liked Dr. Urrea. He fixed my meds immediately and got me back to my life. My other psych took 12 weeks to just START 1 medication. Dr. Urrea and I had excellent rapport but then again, I wasn't much of a talker and he listened when I did talk so all was good. Barb, his NP, is fantastic. I'd love to switch to him but I don't want to change therapists so I am stuck with my OWN sorry NP (for the psych). Thankfully while an inpatient Dr. Urrea and Barb really worked hard to get everything right.

    0 Votes
  • Jc
    Jcprr412 Oct 11, 2017

    Dr. Urrea just gave me the worst psychiatric experience of my life. He read my notes wrong and immediately decided ij was a drug abuser (based off of reading the therapists notes wrong) told me I am a drug abuser. Wouldn't listen to the reason I came in. Insisted I am depressed and have weak mental health. He belittled me. Wouldn't listen to my concerns about anti depressant side effects. Told me if he prescribed me holy water I would complain of side effects. He told me anti depressant can not cause suicidal ideation and prescribed me an anti depressant. I told him I don't like the way they make me feel and I don't feel depressed. When I am on the (for anxiety which is intermittent anyways, more panic attacks w ptsd episodes) they make me feel like I have mdd. He didn't care. Said it was an expensive med and he'd try to get my insurance to approve it.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jancinator Apr 30, 2019

    he treats people like guinea pigs. puts you in mental ward and flip flops you around on all the "psych" meds, then wont let you out til they take effect.my husband ended up in medicinal shock because of this.he judges people too quickly and labels you as a drug abuser, when he is the one giving you all these different meds that have severe withdrawal.

    0 Votes

Post your comment