The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
CRBfraudulent debt collection

I received a collection letter and a phone call from CRB claiming I owe $135 to a company called First Financial Credit. First I have never done business with a company by this name nor have I even heard of them. A Google search shows that the company is in the industrial machinery and equipment industry in Denver, Co. They make it very easy to pay as they accept Visa, Mastercard, Moneygrams, and Western Union Payments. Certainly, I have no intention of paying this.

I have heard that there are fraudulent debt collectors with the following scam. They claim you owe small amounts of money and hope that instead of fighting you just pay them off to get rid of the annoyance. HAs anyone else heard of this or had experience with this collector?

Responses

  • As
    Asholian Dec 30, 2013

    They tried to link me with some debt that I had nothing to do with. I sent them a Cease & Desist letter and that was the end of it. Anyone else that is contacted by these clowns should do likewise.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MarkG222222 Sep 02, 2012

    I just got a letter from CRB (9/1/12), signed by Syd Greenberg. He had left me a voice mail and when I returned his call the office was, of course, closed for the day. I left him a message with a different phone number to use to call me back but he never did. Letter says I owe $168.68. It'll be interesting to find out what it's for; I just checked my credit report and there's nothing on there that I don't know about. Having had my credit card number hacked a couple of different times, I imagine it's in relation to that. Good thing I know a bunch of attorneys!

    0 Votes
  • Za
    ZArizona Jun 22, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have just received a letter from CRB indicating that a chargeback transaction to host Vacations that has been determined to be unwarranted. Our client has confirmed that the goods or services were received and is now pursuing the charged back amount due of $3084.75. I am writing a letter disputing the claim. I am not aware of any transaction. ZArizona

    0 Votes
  • Tf
    TFIND Apr 18, 2012

    I also received a collection notice from CRB claiming I owed a company by the name of HD Concepts for 141.58. You are right, they do make it very easy to give your money to them. I tried calling their number but of course it leads right to an automated system and then asks you to leave a message. I have never heard of either company...so, therefore will not be sending any money.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scottyboy89 Apr 17, 2012

    READ MY COMMENT IF YOU WANT TO FLAT OUT BEAT CRB AND HAVE THEM CLOSE THE ACCOUNT WITH NO ARGUMENTS AND NO CREDIT REPORTING
    http://www.creditinfocenter.com/rebuild/debt_validation.shtml

    ^^^^^^ SAVE THAT SITE AND REFER TO OFTEN FOR USE WITH CRB... dont refer to it as in tell them about it...but read through it carefully and see what you can use against crb... especially the validation part. Before you request validation however, request verifcation either verbally or through writing. I would immediately ask that you no longer be contacted through the phone or in writing unless you request so. Then when they give you the letter giving you the original 30 day time period, request verification through UPS Priority mail, not US registered Mail (registered not as reliable as UPS priority mail), and keep receipt that you get emailed that they received your letters (use sample letters on the website I gave you and just fill in the info that will make it work for CRB and yourself. They will probably forget to reply or lose the letter hence invalidating the debt, say they've already reported it and invalidate it again, send you either verification and claim that its a validation as you requested, either way, if they don't provide the mailing address of the original creditor aka the company they say you owe money to then they have invalidated the debt, call and ask about the letter and if whoever you've been dealing with and addressed it to says they don't have it or that their manager keeps all letters then they have tampered with mail because the letter was addressed to them and it was supposed to be signed by them (they may ask you fax a copy because they never got it...tell them you will not do so because you have the receipt that they did get it and its not your problem they lost it...also this could mean that you were trying to send payment with a check, debit card, or credit card info in the envelope and they have lost sensitive info as well as they are supposed to keep every letter sent to them especially those coming from debtors such as yourselves for documentation and compliance purposes and if they don't have it and they signed for it then they have invalidated the debt, just keep reading through this site and also read through the fdcpa site (the link is available on site I provided) and read through any other relevant links for debt collection. Keep contacting them through legitimate letters signed by you and keep scanned copies after you sign with a date on top, keep a saved copy of letter, keep a copy machine version of letter, and send the original signed by you letter to CRB, also use UPS and request signed receipt when they receive it and if they contact you again after you know they have received this letter or after you requested no contact then they have violated the law and ruined the whole collection...then constantly call and ask for more info and ask about receiving things you've requested also pick apart what they have sent you and ask about parts of the law and if they have met these terms of law and ask where you can find on their letters and such how they fulfilled these terms...then use words like fdcpa, lawsuit, suit, attorney, summons, affidavit...keep at it and keep documenting everythign they do...they are not smart, they will screw up and when they do make note of it...after you have a good amount of these screw ups or as many as you can get...call them and ask about where your attorney can send a cease and desist letter or where he can send his summons for a civil suit to and list all the legal mistakes they made so they can see youre being honest (be sure to be as respectful as possible through all this so as to keep your cool and let them get mad, let them make the mistakes, this also shows intelligence and that you are serious)...Most likely they will back down and close the account as they did with me...took me about 30-60 days to do this but I have gotten them scared and they have backed down from a $549.00 from Lalib Co...they are really dumb folks... Toni Owens at one point tried to tell me it was too late for my attorney because she had already reported it (although this was only 20 days about since I received first letter) I told her she was lying I had checked my credit reports in past 24 hours and there were no negatives on any of the bureaus and she says to me, "Did you check all four?" LMFAO Toni you con artist, there are only 3 credit bureaus you idiot...thats harassment right there, illegal!!! ANyway do this and your good! Read the website I posted at top very very carefully and compare the info it provides about collections to your letters, calls, actions, conversations, and all in all every little detail of your interactions with CRB and their employees and their collection methods. DOCUMENT EVERYTHING AND COMPARE INFO FROM THE WEBSITE AND ANY LINKS THEY PROVIDE ON THE WEBSITE SUCH AS FDCPA LAW WEBSITE FROM US GOV AND ALL OTHER IMPORTANT AND EVEN WHAT MAY SEEM UNIMPORTANT TO YOU LINKS AND INFORMATION; COMPARE ALL THIS IMMEDIATELY AFTER EACH INTERACTION AND OCCASSIONALLY A FEW MORE TIMES TO YOUR CRB INTERACTIONS. TRUST ME IN THAT IF YOU REMAIN CALM, COOL, AND COLLECTIVE AS WELL AS INFORMED DURING THIS WHOLE PROCCESS WHILE CONFRONTING THEM AND QUESTIONING THEM THEY WILL ROLL OVER LIKE HURT PUPPIES AND STOP TRYING OR PRETENDING THAT THEY ARE COLLECTING FROM YOU AND THEY'LL CLOSE ACCOUNT. THEY WON'T TELL YOU THEY ARE THOUGH YOU HAVE TO KEEP QUESTIONING THEIR METHODS AND THEN CALL 24 TO 48 HRS LATER TO INQUIRE ABOUT STATUS OF ACCOUNT.

    REMEMBER: BE CALM, AND RESPECTFUL! BE FIRM AND EVEN DEMANDING IN YOUR QUESTIONING AND IN POINTING OUT THEIR ERRORS AND YOUR COUNTERTHREATS OF LAWSUITS AND REPORTING THEM TO AUTHORITIES AND ALL. TELL THEM YOU HAVE AN ATTORNEY ADVISING YOU TO DO ALL THESE THINGS LIKE SENDING LETTERS AND ALL (remember a lawsuit is not worth your debt to them or fake debt in most cases, a lawyer is too costly for em and this may expose their practices to authorities too much!) BY BEING CALM AND RESPECTFUL THEY WILL BE MORE COOPERATIVE HENCE ALLOWING FOR MORE TIME AND GUARANTEED OPPORTUNITIES TO CATCH THEIR MISTAKES, EMOTION WILL NOT HELP YOU IN LEGAL BATTLES BUT THE FACTS AND INFORMATION WILL, THEY KNOW THIS THAT'S WHY THEY THREATEN US TO GET US EMOTIONAL AND SCARED GETTING US TO PAY OR GIVE UP INFO THEY CAN USE AGAINST YOU! ABSOLUTELY IGNORE ALL THREATS OF THEIRS OR YOU WILL NOT HAVE UPPER HAND ON THEM EVER, THAT AND BE EDUCATED, FIRM VERY FIRM AND CALM SO THAT THEY KNOW YOU ARE SERIOUS. CONTACT THEM MORE THAN THEY CONTACTING YOU ALWAYS INFERRING YOU'RE FOLLOWING AN ATTORNEYS ADVICE AND YOU THAT WANT YOUR ACCOUNT CLOSED AND WHY. IF THEY REFUSE SAY OK. AND REQUEST MORE INFORMATION THROUGH LETTERS AND OTHER MEANS I RECOMMENDED. SOREY FOR LONG POST BUT I WANT TO HELP AS MUCH AS I CAN I KNOW HOW STRESSFUL THIS ### IS POTENTIALLY RUINING CREDIT AND ALL, YOU'LL BE FINE THOUGH BECAUSE NOW YOU ONE STEP AHEAD GOOD LUCK EVERYONE AND I HOPE I HELPED!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    janny1 Oct 31, 2011

    I got a collection notice from a company called CRB (2834 Monroe St, STE A-142 Sylvania, OH 43560, phone [protected]) regarding a bill from PHONE BILLER INC. I called CRB and they confirmed, like many of you above, that the bill was for a phone call to a sex line. I requested a copy of the original bill and they sent me one that looked like it was made on a home computer with a credit card number listed that I've never had, and a cell phone number that used to be mine but isn't now. Thank goodness they had wrong information. I filed a report with the Federal Trade Commission, the local police department, and the United States Postal Inspector. Sending fraudulent materials through the mail is a federal crime, which may help any agency that actually tries to prosecute these guys. I also called a lawyer who specializes in credit reporting claims and he knew of this company and said they've been sued previously unsuccessfully. He also said they are not a legitimate collection agency and credit agencies should be aware of this. I looked into getting the claim off my credit report and apparently credit report agencies want a copy of a police report stating my position that this is a fraudulent claim. I haven't confirmed this myself with the credit agencies yet. I spoke to the local police who aren't going to investigate anything, but it may make your position more legitimate, as its illegal to file a false police report. Good luck to all of you who are going through the same thing.

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    MccrayEdward77386260 Oct 09, 2011

    my best friend's mom makes $77 an hour on the computer. She has been out of job for 9 months but last month her check was $7487 just working on the computer for a few hours. Read about it here MakeCash3.com

    -1 Votes
  • St
    strausbl Oct 02, 2011

    CRB DBA ROYAL OAKS FINANCIAL SERVICES DBA TELECASH ALSO DISGUISES THEMSELVES AS COLORADO MANAGER INC. AS THEY ARE REBUFFED THEY REINVENT THEMSELVES IT IS THE NATURE OF THE BEAST. AS STATED PRVIOUSLY THE BUY CHARGEBACKS ( SUCCESSFUL DISPUTES BY VICTIMS AGAINST OTHER SCAMMERS) AND TRY TO RECOLLECT THE SAME FRADULENT DEBT AGAIN. DON'T FALL FOR [email protected] CLAIMS. JUST ANOTHER ###.

    0 Votes
  • St
    strausbl Oct 02, 2011

    CRB IS ASSOCIATED WITH ROYAL OAK F INANCIAL SERVICES THEY BUY CHARGEBACKS FROM MERCHANTS AND THEN TRY TO RECOLLECT THE DEBT

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kimatmicro Sep 30, 2011

    Well Paul, looks like your biz is making people suffer. Like the economy isn't bad enough. We need to come home from work if we are lucky to have a job at all and find stupid crap like this in our mail boxes. I believe in Karma and yours is coming, sooner or later. How do you sleep at night? Got my surprise in the mail today and after putting my family through the grilling about "Special Events" I came across this site. Feeling much better now and will be calling those folks previously posted for help. Thanks for everybody's postings and efforts to stick it to these bloodsuckers.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jason V Sep 29, 2011

    I'm in the same boat. Got a notice from CRB that claimed I owed $64.44 to Standard Events. It's some kind of scam. Called Jim referenced in an earlier post and he seemed to know how to take care of it.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kelly06 Sep 29, 2011

    My husband just got a letter in the mail today from CRB saying he owed $64.44 to Standard Events. We've never heard of this company and I told him to call up. I said "I feel like this is a scam your credit is perfect." Sure enough they didn't answer and I said "What collection company puts ours on the bill and then doesn't answer the phone or have a voice answering service I think this is a scam. Let me google Standard Events and see what comes up." Don't you know the first thing that popped us was this website! We have NO intention of paying this bill and we will be contacting the BBB and the attorney generals office in Ohio.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    CRBFraudsters Jul 02, 2011

    Paul @ CRB, your company is a fraud company. Your so-called business placed a negative record on my credit report and knocked my score down with the fraudulent claims that I owe money for services I did not use. Thank God I know how to write a letter to properly dispute a claim with the right authorities and get your bogus records removed.

    People, do not be deceived by their B- rating. They are fraudsters.

    1 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul @CRB Jun 30, 2011

    We are not a scam Company but have been in business over 8 years collecting on Internet based accounts.
    Check out our BBB Report. We have a B rating and have responded to all BBB inquiries.
    We collect on over 20, 000 accounts per month and have a very small BBB complaint %.
    99.3% of BBB inquiries have been resolved or CRB made a good faith effort to resolve.
    We also work with Law Enforcement in identifying true Internet based fraud.

    -1 Votes
  • Pe
    peculiar1 Jun 21, 2011

    OMG!!! my dad just received a call from CRB i answered because they dnt speak English. I spoke with Mrs. Martin [protected] she said my dad called lifelinks and used a credit card and he owed the money. I said send me something stating when the calls were made and how they got my parents phone number because the number they are claiming the calls were made from has been disconnected for more than 1 year.
    ITS all a scam OMG! Thank you everyone for posting this i totally thought it was my brother calling phone sex places!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    ColoFraud May 03, 2011

    It is a scam.
    Shell websites that lead to other 'shell' websites.
    I have never had a real collection agency be this 'aggressive' over alleged charges.

    I don't pay for porn on the Internet period, it's free.

    They pull the purchase from Lalib Co, because it is international and hard to do anything about. Then the collections is factored to a shell company in Ohio to look legitimate, which is supposed to be a subsidiary of a larger business, Royal Oak Financial, which when you search comes up the CRB.

    It is a whole game of chasing your tail around, while they threaten you with criminal prosecution...
    They can't do ###!
    Don't give then a red cent!
    File complaint with the FTC.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    dan hates fraud May 01, 2011

    Hello all. i have just read all your great info. i recieved a collection notice today, saturday from CRB collections and freaked out. i have never been late on a bill in recent years. its stated that the originating company was "3G Collect to cell" and gave me an acct number and such. i tried to call, of course they are closed on a saturday. CRB is looking to collect $99.28. So, after doing some surfing, it occured to me that the acct number listed was a cell phone number...just like a phone bill. so i did a reverse search...and sure as heck the number was listed to me!!! the carrier was verizon wireless..a company i am not a part of for cellular service.

    i called verizon and they were very concerned. they told me the number i reversed searched had been cancelled since last year, the person who had owned it was still a subscriber with them for cell service and had "multiple lines". i was floored. i asked them if my name had any history with them or to the number...absolutley no they assured. they asked that i give a call to their fraud dept, they are very concerned that someone entered my name and address somehow to use this collect call website called "3g collect to call"...

    what a mess. so monday i need to call verizon first and start that paper trail, and then contact CRB and assure them they have the wrong person. i just ran all 3 credit reports and none of this shows up which is good, but looking at all your posts i am concerned someday it might. i will continue forward, and will come back and re-post how it goes as i hope my path with this can aid someone else when they get caught in a scam as well.

    being that verizon was the carrier involved, i already filed an online coplaint with the FCC, informing them in brief the situation and pointing out that verizon has an issue of some sort here, how can someone with multiple lines be allowed to do this?

    Thanks again all. more to come!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mailin7 Apr 18, 2011

    EVERYONE FILE A COMPLAINT TO GET RID OF THIS COMPANY, CRB Sylvania, Ohio. 5834 Monroe St., Suite A-142. Toll Free: 866.392.9505.

    They are very unprofessional and obviously not a legit company! They hung up on me when they knew they could not provide any personal information I requested. They could not verify my information.

    I spoke to a Ms. Williams, Ms. Martins and when asked for the full name she said it was Stephanie Williams. They reported that I owe $450 which is purely fraudulent.
    I AM CURRENTLY FILING A COMPLAINT WITH THE FTC & I HOPE YOU WILL TOO.

    I told them I would file a complaint to FTC and they responded with, "no problem" and hung up. Just be careful and ask the right questions if you deem something to be suspicious.

    1 Votes
  • Ms
    Mseuth Apr 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband is facing the same thing with CRB on his credit. We have attempted to dispute the account twice with no luck. I think I am going to try to do the registered letter thing so that we can get this taken off of his credit. The amount they are saying he owes is only $119.00 but it's the principle of the whole thing that gets to us. We will no be paying this debt because it is not our debt to pay. This is the company information on his credit report:
    CRB
    Potentially Negative Closed
    [protected]
    Mailing Address:
    5834 MONROE ST STE A142
    SYLVANIA, OH 43560
    Account Name CRB
    Account # 56XXXX
    Account Type Collection Department / Agency / Attorney
    Balance $119.00
    Date Opened 2/1/2008

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Megan1 Apr 03, 2011

    I just received the Webcams mailing from CRB (Paul Snyder) saying I owe $40.47, which was a fraudulent charge on my credit card probably a year ago. Thanks everyone for posting. Now I know the letter is a sham. I will report them as well. If anyone else has additional specific info on how to go about this, I'd appreciate any guidance.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bountyrider2010 Apr 01, 2011

    I recieved a letter from this company trying to come after me for money in regards to a fraudlent charge that I won with my bank over a year ago. I called them and they hung up on me because I advised them how they had violated FDCPA law and wanted proof of this. I will be filing a complaint with the attorney general first thing in the morning. I suggest all others do so as well.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    frustratedX2 Mar 14, 2011

    I too have just received a letter from "Paul Snyder". I am currently trying to correct my credit and had never heard of the company until today when I Googled them. I too will be contacting the FTC, Postal Inspector and BBB. Thank you all for posting about this fradulent company, I may have just paid it.

    0 Votes
  • Mw
    MWS38 Mar 10, 2011

    My son, who is away at college, got the Webcams mailing, here at home, from CRB as well. I realized something might be fishy when I continually tried to call as well and got no answer. Not even an answering machine. Decided to Google them and this website is what I found. My brother-in-law is an attorney. Nothing better than free legal care. I might have a little fun with this.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Henry_J Mar 10, 2011

    I received a letter from CRB today to collect $63.88 and the original creditor is called "Standard Events". I was so confused and called the phone number in the letter. The call was made at 7PM EST and their office hour is 8AM to 8PM on Wed. But nobody took my call. I went online and googled "standard events crb" and found this site. Apparently this is a fraud charge. It seems easy for law enforecement to track them down. But seems it is still making these fraud charges to innocent people. I am going to file a complaint soon.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    bangolandVA Mar 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Also just received a notice from them claiming $490 - Our credit card was stolen, and within 3 hours we were able to cancel the account, and all money returned. Now 6 months later I'm being billed from a sex website. Any advice as to how to deal with these fraudulent claims?

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    piotrz Mar 09, 2011

    I just got a letter yesterday saying I owed something called Webcams $40.47 (sounds like a porn thing to me, which I am absolutely certain I never charged). I'm going to follow through with the advice on this page. If we keep filing complaints maybe we can put these jerks out of business for their fraudulent practices.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    peeved_too Mar 09, 2011

    I also received a letter from CRB for $40.43. Coincidental? I'm going to file a complaint with the Ohio Attorney's General Office.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    seekmk Mar 02, 2011

    I also received the letter from CRB for $40.43 . I dont know what should I do now.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Debbie Lewis Feb 24, 2011

    On 2/22/2011 I also received a letter from CRB stating my account balance of $29.99 was placed for collection action by HOH. I got a similar bogus story about charges made to a porn site by someone I'd never heard of. They asked if I'd had any fraudulent charges on any credit cards and I told them no. They said to just forget about it and no other action was needed. That's what they think! I will take all the advice above and complain to the FCC, Postmaster and anyone else who will listen until I learn these fear mongers are in prison!

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    arrgh Feb 16, 2011

    letter and phone calls from a Mrs Thompson and Paul Snyder trying to collect money that I DO NOT OWE! They will not provide any proof and will drop the bill to half if you try to work on it ! Thanks to the internet and research they will not be paid as they are a scam !1

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    flappy1 Jan 26, 2011

    CRB is still at it. LALIBCO made a fraudulent charge on my credit card. I contact the bank, and the funds were recovered. Then CRB sends its letter demanding 159.99. Paul Snyder was the name of the account manager. Instead of a payment I send them back a letter by certified mail: 1) disputing the charge; 2) stating I am aware of the scam; 3) that I am filing complaints with FTC, Post Master, AG for OH and PA, and the BBB. Also put fraud alert out with the credit agencies before letter is sent. Order copies of credit report from all three agencies. Review and correct if need be.

    1 Votes
  • Fi
    Firedog471 Oct 24, 2010

    I have had a similar problem with CRB located in Sylvania, OH. I noticed back in June that I had a charge for $59.97 on a credit card that I haven't used in over a year, a card I keep in case of of emergencies. I disputed it with my credit card company who in turn credited me the funds back.

    A few months later I got a letter from CRB for $84.97, stating that a company called "Standard Events" was collecting on a debt that I had supposedly incurred with them for a website called "epgbills.com/marketsocial" for an adult website I never visited. When I contacted CRB they gave me the same story as everyone else, that someone else in my home probably used my computer. CRB told me I needed to fill out an affidavit and file a police report for identity theft and only then would they review my account to see if I was in fact responsible for it.

    While I waited for CRB to mail me the affidavit, I did a little research of my own into this whole matter. That’s when I discovered not only this message board, but a few others with everyone making almost identical claims. Some people stated they contacted the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and the Ohio Attorneys General Office. So I figured that would be as good a place as any to start.

    The BBB had at that time no less than 108 complaints against CRB and the Ohio Attorneys General Office had 107. The Ohio Attorneys General Office advised me to send CRB a certified letter requesting any and all documentation on the attempt to collect the debt and they give them 30 days to respond. During that 30 day period I decided to look up “Standard Events” and “epgbills.com/marketsocial” on my own.

    I discovered that “epgbills.com/marketsocial” was located in Frankfurt, Germany. And when I attempted to look up “Standard Events” by the name of the company and the phone number for them provided by CRB, I couldn't find anything at all on them. But when I Googled the mailing address for “Standard Events”, it came up as a company called “Premier Payments Online”. I contacted “Premier Payments Online” and spoke to a woman named Michelle there who claimed she had no idea what I was talking about but she knew someone who might and said she would get back to me.

    After a few weeks, I hadn't heard from her and I also contacted CRB again to ask them if they plan on sending me the documentation I requested. They flat out refused to send me anything and said they would be happy to provide the requested info to an attorney with a subpena or an investigator from my local law enforcement.

    I then contacted the woman at “Premier Payments Online” again and she stated since she hadn't heard from me she assumed that her contact had contacted me. She then said she would contact him again for me. A few hours later I received a phone call from a gentleman by the name of Jim who claimed he was the go-between, between “Standard Events” and CRB. He told me that he has the authority and would tell CRB to cease attempting to collect on this debt. I told him that I needed documentation from CRB stating that I am not responsible for this debt for my records. He complied and about a week later I received my letter from CRB canceling the collection.

    So if anyone has a problem with Standard Events attempting to collect on a fraudulent credit card charges, here are the people to contact.

    1: Ohio Attorney's General Office to file a complaint against CRB
    2: Michelle at Premier Payments Online [protected]
    3: Jim (the go-between) at [protected]

    1 Votes
  • Mo
    Mom4TwoGrls Sep 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got a letter today from CRB saying I owed $58.86 to Phone Biller, INC. I have never heard of this company. Nor have we ever gotten a bill from Phone Biller INC before. I like how the "collection letter" wants you to go to a western union to pay for the bill.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Be More Cynical Sep 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Contacted by CRB $254.92 for Original Creditor: STANDARD EVENTS. My sons debit card was compromised and the bank sent us another one and reclaimed this money. It was a company over in Cyprus scamming for $38.28 or $38.88 each month hoping you would never question the charge. Like I said, the bank found out the card, and others, were compromised and sent another card. CRB is trying to collect for a fraudulent debt. Another name on the roster of [censor] working for this sleazy semi-criminal company is Jim Felix [protected].

    And never pay anyone when requested by a letter. Read up on the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act.

    Send them a registered letter saying you do not want to be called, you will only correspond by mail, and for them to send you written proof of the debt.

    Never pay anyone outright for something like this and never give them credit card or debit card information. If you are going to pay you need a contract acknowledging that your payment completely satisfies and resolves this debt.

    0 Votes
  • Gt
    gtschida Sep 02, 2010

    I tried submitting a complaint on the OH AG website and did not get anywhere. I just submitted a call to action to Channel 11 in Toledo, OH. I enourage everyone to click on this link and flood their inbox. Maybe they will do a story on it and finally shut this A**holes down.

    http://www.wtol.com/Global/category.asp?C=1993&nav=menu34_7

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tallrugger Aug 10, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ok, to be fair, I posted about blasting them with phone calls and faxes, and I got results. I don't know if it was blasting all those people (i.e. cumulative effect) or that I just happened to get the right one with my shotgun approach. However, a Ms. Moore contacted me and told me that since I was claiming fraud (the charge was clearly not mine) over the internet, I needed to get the local police to investigate and fill out CRB's form with the case number. I did that and they sent me a letter saying that they would release the charge.

    So I disputed the charge, but I do not have the results back yet to tell if they were true to their word. Ms. Moore was nice and helpful, though, so I think it will all work out.

    Still a pain in the butt, though.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rich99999 Aug 06, 2010

    Same story for me.

    1. contact your credit card company and have them fax the fraud information to CRB.
    2. file a complaint with Ohio Attorney General's office.

    The Ohio Attorney General's office will contact CRB and they will go away.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tallrugger Jul 10, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had the same experience. I have a charge for $40 from them. I tried disputing through Experian, but CRB just pencil whips it, says that they verified it, and keeps it on there. Tried that several times, same result.

    I called CRB and wrote to them. The provided me with documentation of the charge that showed that it was on a credit card for someone else, and for services rendered to yet another someone else. My name is not even on it anywhere! Still they did not take it off. This has been going on for years.

    I just called their office and left about 5 minute voicemails for 13 different people. I also sent a letter to their office and faxed that same letter to 13 different recipients in their office.

    Here is a list of mailbox numbers that you can use to bombard their office to try to get some action:

    [protected]

    205: Ron Bernard ([email protected])
    204: Tony Shore ([email protected]
    206: Tammy Oter ([email protected])
    203, then press 1: Chris Lee
    207: Ms. Black
    209: Chevela Moore
    210: Ms. Green
    211: Toni Owens
    212: Oliver (that's all, just Oliver)
    213: Ms. Martin
    214: Ms. Jones
    215: Ms. Adams
    216: Also Chevela Moore
    217: Ms. Allen

    Their fax number is [protected].

    Please bombard them as I have. It may be your only hope as they will not let go easily.

    0 Votes
  • Kt
    kt 13 Jun 30, 2010

    I too just got a letter, this is in the form of a supposed phone call to a porn agency. Charging us only $5, which I dont mind paying. However this call was never made, I checked with Cox communications to see if maybe my kids called it, the call was never made. I am calling the fcc and fbi to inform them of this situation.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scamsnomore Jun 22, 2010

    Phone Biller, Inc. cost us over $700 in charges and overdraft fees. I already responded to BBB that I expect every cent back to me. Now CRB is involved. They threatened to call the Police on my husband and I if we didn't pay asap. Woman claims they have audio tapes of my husband making the calls. He told them to send us copies so we can prove that it wasn't him. We have our bank and cell phone company investigating both companies as well. As far as the audio tapes go, Phone Biller never mentioned that they had audio tapes of the calls or else we could have resolved this a long time ago. I already filed a complaint with the BBB on both now I will contact the FTC and consumer affairs as well.

    We need to do what we can to shut these people down.

    It would be great if we could scam them.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.