The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Cor ConceptsScam job opportunity

It is a fraud marketing company which uses new grads to do their door to door sales of office supplies. Commission only, many unfullfilled promises, cult like working environment and an extremely disappointing experience overall.

More Cor Concepts Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Tr
    Trustworhty Applicant Apr 21, 2009

    If you enjoy not knowing if you will get a paycheck each month then give it a good. You basically drive around to strip malls and ask to update the stores phone line because you would be a contractor for a large phone company "they got people". You have to drive you own car and they say you get reimbursed through you taxes. Its a real joke of a job.

    0 Votes
  • Us
    USHEKA mancala Aug 01, 2009

    scary office. many names, same company. AVOID THE CULT!!

    1 Votes
  • Co
    Cor Concepts in ethics Aug 18, 2009

    Read another complaint at : Cor Concepts of ethics...
    This company will be investigated by IRS sometime soon...

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Cor Concepts in ethics Aug 18, 2009

    Here it is:
    Cor Concepts Complaints - Unethical Concepts by Cor Concepts
    Review all Cor Concepts complaints
    Cor Concepts
    Posted: 2009-08-18 by Cor Concepts in ethics


    Unethical Concepts by Cor Concepts

    Complaint Rating:
    Company information:
    Chicago, Illinois
    United States

    Just read between the lines when:
    They are hiring a lot of people during this bad economy
    Commission only- but not stating when to you get pay and when the sales you make are part of "Training"
    Making sales calls (lots of them) is part of the job - and you use your own phone with no reimbursement.
    Website looks like a college blog : www.corconcepts.net
    Cor Concepts takes advantage of young new grads, full of hopes that don't know what to ask and even that they have the right to ask...
    Owner told the ripped off person who finally decided to leave after one month, a huge phone bill and only $70 that she would not losse sleep over his "misery" ... tops that with a good laugh...
    If you care to know the company is on 750 N Orleans St # 1
    Chicago, IL [protected]
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Disapointedinthesystem Aug 18, 2009

    COR CONCEPTS dont get scamed like I did!

    I worked for COR concepts from the end of June to The begining of August and did not recieve a paycheck until the end of the 4th week. This check was for $71.20. This Job requires you to work 11 hour days and make very lengthy phone calls to place orders for products. Leaving me me with a phone bill of $350+ dollars. Add this to the total amount of having to pay for Public Transportation in Chicago to and from my Area code Sales area which can cost anywhere from $5 to $7 a day. Leaves me with another cost of anywhere from $[protected] days X 5=, etc.) I even tried my hardest to eat the cheapest meals for lunch but still spent $4-5 for lunch each day. This adds another cost of $92-115. There is no way to carry lunches all day around with you and I knew people in my situation that were having to not eat lunch. Even before adding dry cleaning for the suits I had that were ruined by sweating in them for several hours a day. So now when I actually look at the total this "GREAT OPORTUNITY" this company offered me cost me anywhere from $557- 625. I don't know how treating employees like this is legal or what loophole is being used. What I do know is that I guess I have the old school mentality that you are paid for your hard work and working 11-12 means you get paid for it. The DAYS OF A COMPANY HAVING BUSINESS ETHICS ARE TRUELY GONE WITH THIS COMPANY!!

    1 Votes
  • Lo
    lookingforwork Aug 20, 2009

    I have an interview with them tomorrow in their Chicago offices. Should I go or would it be a waste of time after reading all your comments? Should I just go for the hell of it but not commit and then wait to see what they have to offer? What's the best route to approaching this "problem"?

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    VictoriaWinters Sep 08, 2009

    I worked for a company like this Marketing Fx, and or Rock Executives... what a complete waste of time. The managers and owners are only in it for themselves and care really nothing about their employees. They call you in for an interview, you sit in the waiting lobby with a bunch of other candidates applying for the same position which all get hired, they screen you for about 15 minutes and then tell you that they are going to wrap up the interview process and get back to you by the end of the day, weird!!! When they do infact call you they have you come back for a shadowing day where you go out and walk door to door for 11 hours and then fill out a stupid survey at the end of a long day. This job is SOOO not worth your time or anyones!! They will fire you if you complain or bring anything to their attention and if you don't produce numbers within the first week, they can and will fire you!!! This is a cult... totally illegal and one day, they will get what is coming to them... hint hint, IRS!!! Better business bureau!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    makeithappen Sep 21, 2009

    These offices are not cults, I did work in one of them for a short period of time. And no I did not like what they offered for an opportunity. But by no means is it illegal or a cult. they are upfront about commisions and explain when and how you get paid. They do not lie about compensation or anything else. It may not be the ideal job for everyone out there. But don't listen to these writters it is not illegal, it is not unethical and it is not a scam. And it definatly is not a pryamid scam, if you want to argue about that look up what a prymid scam is and they do not fit the discription. I understand people who worked there and did not have the ability to make sales made no money but thats what sales and commision only jobs do. I worked there for 3 months didn't like it, but I still was able to make 800-1000 dollars a week every week. so these people who rip on these companies hands down just can't sell. Thats it. Its not that the job ripped them off, they could not to the job.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Renee from RI Dec 09, 2009

    I worked for one of these companies, and although I did not make it through the training program to managment, I gained unbelieveable amounts of experiences and knowledge that I have since taken to my new position.

    By no means is anyone scamming you out of anything. If you read these posts, everyone is screaming the word scam, what are you being scammed out of?? You could not make the sales happen, or figure a way to carry a lunch around with you?? WOW, you were scammed??!!

    Its an entry level position, you have to work if you want to be successfull. Stop thinking you are such a victim and own up to the fact that you were not that good! I loved everything about my experience at CorConcepts, get to know people before you judge them. Stop feeling like you deserve a paycheck and earn it.

    Business to business sales are not for everyone, but if you have a cool personality, great work ethic and are generally likable, you can go far in this business. Gabrielle might not get along with everyone, but at the end of the day, you have to respect her for her success. And believe me, the managers are not in it for themselves! They only succeed if you do!!

    I encourage anyone to give CorConcepts or Rock Execs a shot, if you want a great experience, and resume builder.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    paulactor Dec 29, 2009

    This job is not for everyone.

    Not everyone is built for sales. If you have a poor attitude, are prone to complaining, or are not very charismatic, then sales is not for you. And if you are not built for sales, you will not do well at this job.

    However, if you are a great salesman and are willing to work your ### off, there is a lot of money to be made here.

    So, if you have thin skin, are easily confused, or don't have a really solid work ethic, then forget it. You'll go through the training, feel like you got jipped, then post complaint on the internet.

    If I was a better salesman, I would still be working there. It's a very welcoming environment and they are incredibly nice people. But I am not a good enough salesman to make a full commission job work.

    So, there you go. If you're good, you will be rewarded accordingly. If you suck, or are a big whiner, then you'll fail. Easy as that.

    0 Votes
  • To
    tony12333265 Jan 08, 2010

    I worked at Corconcepts and was there for 6 months I made roughly 800 a week but then I had to minus my expenses making the number more like 650. The company is definately cult-like and is a pyramid scheme. Each person who graduates the program is forced to pay homage to several other people just like in the old country. The liens become bigger the further away from the top dog you get. So the person who started the company makes money, but each person after that will make less, which is why people call pyruvian schemes pyramid schemes. The only difference is that it is not related to investment of money you are just investing your time. This company is a classic pyramid scheme but I do not think there is anything illegal about it as you are investing time not money.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeff from VA Mar 01, 2010

    Hmm, I wonder if the last two posts besides "Paul" and "Renee" are affiliated with the company, CorConcepts? Or posted by the company. I went for an interview about a year ago, obviously a scam and did not go back for the second interview because I did research and found out they were all idiots trying to take people for granted with the sleazy door-to-door sales approach. Yeah, you have the possibility of making money, that's anything with sales. One has potential to make as much as they want selling anything. I could sell pumpkins on the side of the road and have the potential to earn millions. BUT ITS NOT REALISTIC. Why would you two, "Paul" and "Renee", only comment on this post and actively defend the company? "Paul" and "Renee", you obviously are a good sales people, selling CorConcepts, by using demeaning and challenging words defending the company so hard, trying to influence whomever reads this that the company is so great. It's hilarious actually, nice try.

    0 Votes
  • Ol
    OldPainLess Apr 18, 2010

    I worked for CC for eight months and loved every minute of it. From my training to my daily sales calls it was the most awesomest time i've ever had anywhere - and that includes the time I worked for the donkey circus. My first week I made 1200 dollars and 221 monopoly figurines. After you took out my meals ( I eat six small ones a day ) and my gas ( Jet A for the salesmobile ), I was down to 113 figurines and a five dollar bill with Andrew Jackson on the front. I would definitely say this was a scam but everyday I arrived at 4 AM and bought a cup and they poured free coffee into it and scammers don't give stuff like coffee away for free. I also enjoyed reading my associates sales notes - I love it when they use capitalized letters to indicate SCREAMING but they miss and put the emphasis on THE wrong part of the written idea. I have since moved on from CC to a much more exciting enterprise of selling pumpkins by the side of the road. The lucrative concept was brought to my attention by something I read but I can't remember where anymore - suffice it to say it's way easier to sit on my road and sell pumpkins and they also make great hats when you need shade from the sun. Anyhoo - I think I prefer a sales job to a non sales job, as long as it's not too salesey and you don't have to actually do anything or talk to anyone or really get out of bed at all.

    1 Votes
  • Ol
    OldPainLess Apr 18, 2010

    I forgot to mention my experience with Pyramid schemes - they work like this: There is a head honcho - he's the number one guy ( The Pharoh). After him are a few honcho types ( Priests, Holymen and usually Lawyers ) . As you get further down the line everyone makes less money because they have to spend most of their time building the pyramid and they can't focus on the real work . Its classic pyramid stuff - by the time you are dealing with the "entry-level" folks there is hardly any money being made and they get treated like "entry-level" jerks and paid "entry-level" wages - which is totally unfair. In stark contrast to that scam you have corporate America which works like this - Number one guy, the head honcho. He's followed by some other honcho types. As you get further down the line everyone actually makes more money because the honcho is actually responsible for creating the pyramid himself ( AIG did an awesome job - they built a ridiculously sweet pyramid out of thin air ) . I'm also not sure if any of it is legal but it is definitely fun for the head honcho - so much fun that most of the time he does it for free. That, ladies and gentleman, is how a pyramid scheme works and why you should avoid them and when possible tell everyone as much as you can about them. Just make sure to note that it is indeed "classic" pyramid stuff so your audience knows you have a firm grasp on the pyramid concept.

    0 Votes
  • Pg
    pg1000 Jul 31, 2010

    Just a quick FYI. Corconcepts recently opened up in Houston under the name KCS concepts. I posted my resume on the Houston chronicle's job website, and I got a call the next day for an interview. I am one of those new grads that seems to be the target demographic for this scheme.

    Maybe what they are doing is not technically "illegal", but it is unethical and completely exploitative. Anyone who just graduated knows how difficult it is to look for a job in this economy and they are playing off of people's anxiety and financial desperation.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark_1 Sep 15, 2010

    'Gabrielle' is obviously pre-op. I mean seriously; look at those gigantic man hands and that horrendous face not even a mother could love. She or one of her gullable minions obviously posted on this site; 'I encourage anyone to give CorConcepts or Rock Execs a shot'... yea, that sounds like an entry-level door-to-door salesman's recommendation.

    $100 says Gabrielle is a man.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scott6188 Feb 13, 2011

    I started working for rock executives two weeks ago. Sure you have to go door to door to do sales but the management and everyone underneath them is very supportive and wants to help you get better. At first I was skeptical of the opportunity because in my situation I need guaranteed money and Jimmy Brock was more than understanding about my situation. People that say this job is a scam are just not cut out for sales. There's definitely the opportunity to make all your dreams come true with this job you just have to work for it. This job is not about senority, you get promoted based on your work ethic and attitude. This job is in no way shape or form illegal. The people that don't work for the company anymore and are saying it's the companies fault are the ones who had a bad attitude or poor work ethic. If you show the managers that you are a hard worker and want to get better and are asking for help then the will absolutely help you in anyway you need

    0 Votes
  • Im
    Immelivewitit Feb 18, 2011

    Wow Lol. I went on my 1st interview today. And to me it just seemed like outside sales w or w/out transportation. Dena was extremely nice and Cody the same. And Monday I am supposed to go on a "shadow" with a excutive. Hmm Im wondering how complicated it could be. Id assume you would base your commission on your sales and how hard can it be. I suppose its worth a shot. If not Owell.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Grande Feb 20, 2011

    I worked at another company like this one called Impact Executives, coincidentally also located on Orleans in Chicago. Same deal. I thought the shadow day (where my executive didn't make a single sale) was maybe just a fluke, so I gave it a shot after they hired me. I then went on 2 more training days with one of their top sellers, and each of those two days, we didn't make a single sale. So not only did I not make any money, supposedly one of their top sellers didn't either. These weren't short days either. Each of the 3 days, I was there from 7:30am to 6:30pm. So in total, I worked 33 hours with people who should be successful at this job and all of us didn't make a dime. I actually lost money from this job having to pay for gas and public transportation costs. Not to mention, hot shot owner Adam Balsinger giving us a in house training session, which basically trained us how to talk to people like machines and told us not to care about the customer. I sent in my resignation the next day.

    0 Votes
  • Up
    UpsetApplicant Feb 25, 2011

    Well...I had an interview for Rock Executives tomorrow...but thanks to these reviews. I won't be going. Look out for the address of, Rosemont, IL 60018 Suite 600. The crazy thing that confused me, was when I got two confirmation emails from them, saying the exact same thing, and two emails about the interview information. I felt like something was fishy. They even mentioned a salary of $30, 000-45, 000...which seemed fishy. I spoke to some woman from a 630 area code number, and even after she explained to me my job description, I still didn't understand it.

    0 Votes
  • Qw
    QWILL Mar 06, 2011

    I head that ADAM BALSINGER had SEX with CHRYSANTHI HALKIOTIS, which is probably true.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    josh936golf Mar 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The truth is that you will basically work your [censor] off for 12 hrs a day in a really drama-involved cult surrounding. It is very much like a cult... I stayed with them for 4 frustratingly long months in the hot heat.. on Houston, Texas city streets. Ask me? go ahead... ask me? How much money did I make... - 200$ and yes that is a minus sign because i actually lost money trying to do my job... lunch, rent, gas mostly... And all happening in this disgraceful economy.. I mean come on!!! They tell you that.. "You COULD make between 30, 000 - 45, 000 a year starting! REALLY??? Yeah right!!!... Its not a scam! It's just misleading... But wait!!! "You have no place to stay?"- says the charming MANAGER that fills you up with lies that you will be richer than Donald Trump if you just WORK HARD... that's BS. Just stay with us---- yeah... thats where it plays into a cult type environment... Team night... Party night... WHATEVER! Its just a another way to attract you into a slave bussiness where the only person making any money is the owner... Don't be sucked in! Think about it... you basically advertise all day for some stupid product that anybody could get cheaper online...coming around and bugging them in person... really doesn't help whether its B2B or Door to Door. Oh and I found out that my so called executive boss really makes less money per year than my local subway manager... Seriously!!! yeah.. she lives in a crappy apartment for 500$ a mo and drives a crappy old piece of crap.. wow... $100, 000 a year salary... really? :) I really doubt it! LIARS! And you have also been doing this for the past 7 years??? wow.. what inspiration.. I wanna be just like you!!! We should all just boycott marketing and advertising and move straight to working the old fashion way!!! You know... where your boss is ruthless... but he allways pays on time and cares more about you than his business... because his business wouldn't be anything without YOU! :)

    0 Votes
  • Kk
    kkct7 Apr 15, 2011

    COLLEGE GRADS BEWARE!
    I interviewed with Rock Executives back in December. Apparently, they "liked" me so I came back for a 2nd interview, which was shadowing one of the "Account Executives" (lol). Some girl brought me around the Chicago suburbs. We went to a bunch of random strip malls and stores (i.e. Starbucks, Chase Bank, Kroger, GNC). It was absurd. The majority of the people got pretty heated when we barged into their place of business and tried to sell them T-Mobile phone plans (and they had every right to be mad).
    In the interview, they tell you it's face-to-face marketing. Let me tell you it's NOT. It is basically soliciting. The only people who are making money in this company are the owners/managers. You will see if you go into their office. I am an unemployed college grad and I would much rather do nothing than work for that joke of a company.
    I almost couldn't take them serious when they e-mailed me. They asked me to send them my favorite rock song. Cool.

    Do not take a job at this sad place.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Digruntled Employee Jun 13, 2011

    Rock interviews is a scam! After your first interview they hire you to go on a "training" day with one of their employees. You basically drive around (using your own gas money), business to business, unannounced, trying to sell Quill products or T-Mobile phones. It is basically soliciting. I knew I was going to hate the job after my interview, but when offered, for some reason I took it. Most of the companies basically tell you to "### off". The only way you sell something is if you get lucky and the business is out of ink (which is mainly what we sold). Everyone there has dreams of making $100K a year (which the managers will tell you will happen), but let me tell you this will not happen. You waste more money than you make, when you consider gas and food. You can do a $15, 000 salary + 10% commission, or no salary + 28% commission. It s a cult environment. In the morning they make you do these ritual chants involving stories of how people got sales (which are just annoying). You work long hours (7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.) and this job just plain sucks! If you found these guys on careerbuilder or monster, keep on searching! Don't waste your time and money like I did!

    0 Votes
  • Ax
    AxelDurbin Jun 24, 2011

    Jimmy,

    How do you not see your company as a scam? You hire tons of people on a daily basis to do soliciting. AND fyi, there is NO such thing as "face-to-face sales." In the busy world we live in, there are things called cell phones, e-mail, fax, etc. People don't want to be suddenly bothered in person with nonsense like this. They have more important things to do. That's why people get mad when your account executives come into their store. What kind of business is that? Also, I noticed that the "account executives" falsely identify themselves as T-Mobile or Quill employees on their name tags. That alone is a scam and is probably illegal.

    I would keep going, but there is too much wrong with your company, and too little time on my hands.
    I'm not saying that you are a bad guy Jimmy, but maybe you should rethink your career path. You're better than this.

    Sincerely,
    Axel Durbin

    -1 Votes
  • Ax
    AxelDurbin Jun 24, 2011

    Type Rock Executives into google and the first thing that comes up is "scam."

    Enough said.

    Game over.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Toadily Cereal Jun 27, 2011

    It's a management training program. My biggest concern with this company is this: how are all the people who work in this office going to become managers? Especially when you sell a crappy product that anybody could buy at the same price (at their own convenience, rather than on the spot) on the internet. It's absurd. This company is a joke. They think that they are going to dominate the industry of selling office supplies just because they go door-to-door. NEWSFLASH, door-to-door marketing is dead. We now have a little think called the internet, which eliminates the need to ever see a salesperson again. It's ironic because that's how they lure all of their employees in. Work for them for two days and then tell me it's not a pyramid scheme. You're better off selling steak knifes. COLLEGE GRADS BEWARE!

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jimmy Brock Aug 31, 2011

    I had a hard time deciding if or how I wanted to respond to the posts about Rock Executives on this board. My first instinct was to be defensive and stand up for what I’ve worked hard for and for all of the people that I am lucky to work with on a daily basis. Then I thought “If I defend myself or my company, I will look weak or unsure of myself.” So after some thought, I have decided to just address the issues that have been brought up.
    1) I first want to apologize to anyone that we have negatively impacted while working at Rock Executives. That is clearly not one of our company goals. We are not a perfect company by any means but we are constantly striving to get better… in all areas.
    2) I want to make it clear that the other companies mentioned in the string of posts are NOT affiliated with Rock Executives. We are similar because we do sales and marketing for other companies but we have different standards and practices. Outsourced sales and marketing is very common in all markets and with most industries. I can’t speak for the other companies, only Rock Executives.
    3) This business isn’t for everyone. I don’t mean that in a challenging or demeaning way. I mean it in the same way that not everyone likes chocolate. Sales and marketing is a very dynamic field. It’s exciting and fun when things go well and can be frustrating when things do not. I can say that because I started at the entry level position and learned how to minimize the ups and downs. Our goal is to teach people how to be consistent and minimize the dynamics. I’ve found that some qualified people are not willing or are not interested in learning how to do so. That doesn’t make them a bad person by any means. It’s kind of like me not being willing to learn how to get good at golf. I am not a good golfer but I haven’t taken the time or had the interest to do so.
    4) This is a performance based business. So inconsistency will cause inconsistent compensation and growth. We have an office full of individuals that make an average of $30k/yr or more based on their performance. We focus our training on helping individuals learn the tools it takes to be consistent immediately. As far as travel expenses, we offer bonuses (performance based) to help compensate for fuel or public transportation. There are training pay and base salary options that are also available to each employee. These are discussed and negotiated throughout the interview process.
    5) I’m struggling with the reference to a “cult-like” environment. I do know that when I started I was not used to the positivity and team orientation because of my previous work environments. I chose to look at that as a good thing and saw it as a choice… I could’ve looked at it as weird or I could’ve looked at it as a better way to look at things. A team is an empowered work unit. Any team ranging from the Chicago Bears to the Miami Hurricanes to Rock Executives will have unique traditions that to the uninformed will seem odd and out of place. In a standard work environment there are no huddles or high fives, but we think “Why not?”
    6) There are a few blurbs referencing “pyramid schemes” or “scams” which completely puzzles me. First, pyramid schemes are illegal and we would not be in business if we ran our company as one. If you draw out the corporate structure of any company (Wal-mart, Ford, Target, etc.), there are less people at the top of the ladder than there are at the bottom. That’s how companies work. One difference between our company and the standard corporate structure is that each entry level employee has the opportunity to move to the top. That might be where people are confused or feel like they are being scammed. Our goal is to help everyone get promoted and grow in the company. As I stated previously, not everyone will. The time frame for an individual to move up is based solely on their performance and merit. Learning how to market and sell services for our clients is the beginning stages of the business. Then we start teaching them how to be leaders and develop other people in the company. Everyone, including me, starts at the entry level. I apologize if someone felt mislead or duped into working here, that is not our intention. That would be completely unproductive for us to hire someone that does not want to do a job. The easiest way for us to explain the position and the business is to show someone. So we do a full day second interview (7-8 hours), similar to a job shadow to give each candidate a chance to experience what would be expected of them if they are hired. This interview is also designed for us to learn more about the intangibles of the individual.
    As much as this website has been frustrating, I kind of look at it as a preliminary filtering tool. Not that people are in the wrong for reading it and choosing not to pursue a position with the company, but it’s a “complaint board”, so that’s what people come here to do. As far as I know, there are no “I love my job” websites and it would be kind of weird for us to ask our employees to write something on here. If someone takes the time to read all of this post, then they are concerned with their career (which they should be). If they are digging this deep, they should take the time to come in and talk to me or one of the managers personally about the company.

    Sincerely,
    Jimmy Brock
    Team Rock

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    Adamb4598 Sep 13, 2011

    Jimmy Brock, how can you lie to people and sleep at night, you are a lie "I want to make it clear that the other companies mentioned in the string of posts are NOT affiliated with Rock Executives. We are similar because we do sales and marketing for other companies but we have different standards and practices. Outsourced sales and marketing is very common in all markets and with most industries. I can’t speak for the other companies, only Rock Executives."Jimmy Brock.
    You are engage to Gabrielle Corcoran, probably married by now to her, she was the president of Cor Concepts inc and used to promote work nights together with her office, stop lying to people admit that you are part of a Scam.

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    Adamb4598 Sep 13, 2011

    all you have to do is Google Jimmy Brock and Gabrielle Corcoran and you will see pictures of them together and their engagement. stop playing with peoples future Jimmy Brock and yes i use to work for Gabrielle at Cor Concept.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Grande Oct 05, 2011

    I also worked for Gabrielle at Impact Executives. Why do you feel the need to lie, Jimmy?

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jake Smith Oct 13, 2011

    Jimmy Brock,

    Your company is an absolute joke. The only people you hire are bums. If you want to interact with real, smart professionals, you should get out of this scam.

    I interviewed at both Rock Executives and Impact Executives. I broke out laughing in one of them. I only went because I was naive and didn't know what I was walking into.

    Jimmy, your company is a joke bro. It's okay, though, you'll get out of this rut one day. Best of luck to you.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jake Smith Oct 13, 2011

    Jake Smith,

    Why don't you come into Rock Executives and say these things to my face? Oh that's right, you won't, because I will knock you out.

    Rock Executives is not a scam. WE RULE! DURRRRRRRRRRRR

    Sincerely,
    Jimmy Brock
    Team Rock

    0 Votes
  • La
    laguna09 Oct 24, 2011

    Thankfully I came across the reviews of Rock Executives the night before my interview. I was so excited to have landed an interview after applying to 100+ companies with no luck. I should have known something was up. These complaints saved me from driving all the way to Rosemont to end up disappointed and discouraged once again.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    JimmyB567 Dec 20, 2011

    I am unsure as to where you guys are getting your information.

    Rock Executives and CorConcepts are both great companies. If you are a recent college grad, please send me your resume.

    Rock On!

    Sincerely,
    Jimmy Brock
    Team Rock

    0 Votes
  • C3
    C33 Feb 09, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Jimmy your a joke.

    I had a so called interview with your company and how they were so excited to meet me and set up and interview. I took some classes specifically on how to get jobs in today's world and one of the main things was research the company. The first thing I saw was scam all over the place. So I e-mailed a very professional e-mail asking what this was all about and if you could clarify why it says these things. Next thing I know your workers disappear without a trace no follow ups no e-mails nothing. Cut the crap and quit posting generic responses to the people who you pissed off who are warning others not to work for you.

    Kori

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jimmy Brock Mar 13, 2012

    Kori,

    I appreciate your thoughtful feedback. Unfortunately, I've never met you so it's hard for me to determine if you are a real person or a so called "joke". I've only posted one response to these "complaints" and it is probably more detailed than it had to be. It's kind of long and detailed so it may have been hard for you to follow. I agree with you that you should research the company but college also teaches you to use credible sources. A complaint board will most likely have only complaints on it. If you read the so called "complaints" you will notice that they are mostly about a) me being engaged to someone, b) people upset that they interviewed thinking it was something else, and c) people saying that we are slave drivers preying on the weak and innocent young adults.

    So let me clarify for those interested. I apologize to those of you that couldn't care less, I'm sure I'll meet you some day.
    a) I was engaged... key word is "was". Things happen... we all make mistakes...
    b) Every job posting we have talks about us doing face to face sales. It makes no sense for us to "trick" someone into coming in for a job interview hoping that we can somehow convince them that sales is for them. I think that most people read what they want to read. I also know that society is generally negative. So most people choose to look at what they don't like versus what they do like. The easiest way for us to explain the position and the business is to show someone. So we do a full day second interview (7-8 hours), similar to a job shadow to give each candidate a chance to experience what would be expected of them if they are hired. This interview is also designed for us to learn more about the intangibles of the individual.
    c) I find this part the most offensive because we have a strong team of sharp, career-minded individuals. This is not an easy business so a "weak" person would never make it through the screening process.

    We will continue to grow and develop leaders in our industry. We work with some of the largest companies in the world and we will continue to grow their client base and footprint.

    Cheers,
    Jimmy

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Complainant29381 Mar 13, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    First of all, let me be straight forward in saying that I am a current employee of Rock Executives. This post is completely unsolicited by Jimmy and/or anybody affiliated with Rock Executives. Usually, I wouldn't waste my time commenting on such stupidity. But the sheer amount of [censored]-ery from people on this complaints board has compelled my to speak my piece.

    My name is and I have worked on the T-Mobile campaign at Rock Executives since October of 2011. And just like everybody on this board, I interviewed with Rock because my previous employment situation wasn't ideal for me. After my initial interview, I too was very skeptical about doing a full-day second interview. I had close to no idea what I was getting myself into, but had the attitude of "what the hell, I'll give it a shot".

    Yes, it is initially a bit disconcerting for individuals with little to no sales background to see (and eventually do) B2B sales. But as somebody who has gone through both processes, I can now appreciate why we conduct full day interviews in the first place; if one is afraid to even see it in action, there's NO WAY they can actually make a living at doing it.

    Sales is absolutely not for everybody. And honestly, there were definitely times that I thought it wasn't for me. It's hard work. Really hard work. But hell, if it was easy, everybody would do it, because there is a lot of money to be made and a lot of opportunity for upward mobility. But it takes a certain mentality and work ethic for somebody to be successful doing this job. And that's actually one of the things I like most about the job; not everybody can do it. I wasn't always so positive about that aspect of the job, but once I made up my mind to be successful, I was.

    I have had weeks that I have made some SERIOUS money. And I am now one of the individuals that conduct the second day full-day interviews and I'll let you all in on a little secret; if you aren't offered a position with Rock; it's because your interviewer didn't think you could do it. Simple as that.

    Now to address a few of the comments from people that were employed with the company but were either let go or simply quit:

    1. If you got let go, it's because you sucked. We don't want people wasting their time and their trainer's time not making any money. You were given a kindness, so you're welcome for the mercy.

    2. If you quit, it's because you sucked or lacked the vision to last in the long run. So thank you for not wasting your and our time.

    3. Yes, Atmosphere seems a bit wonk-y and cult-ish at first... But no more so than a football team running drills before a game, or a singer doing voice exercises before a concert. The reasons why we do the things we do in the morning is the same reason why anybody warms up for anything; practice makes perfect. Or for the nerds out there, "One Does Not Simply Walk into Mordor".

    4. The pay is (and should be) performance based. If one works harder, they will preform better, and in turn should be paid more for the work they put in. The same is true for the opposite. If you have worked for the company before, and felt you were not paid fairly for the amount of work you put in; please refer to points 1 and/or 2.

    5. This is NOT a pyramid scheme. Obviously you know how to use Google if you're on this page; so do yourself a favor and look up the definition before you make yourselves look like idiots. Nothing about the way this company operates is illegal. What IS illegal however, is publishing false statements that are damaging to a person's or company's reputation. I pay a pretty penny to attend The University of Chicago Law School, so it's safe to say that I know what I'm talking about here. So either educate yourself and make INFORMED comments or simply STFU before you're guilty of Libel. ###.

    Lastly, I would like to say that I absolutely love working at Rock Executives. I have never worked at a place where I am truly excited to come in for work every morning. I love the people I work with and the relationships that I have built with them. I love that I get paid to have fun, meet new people and help some save some serious money. But mostly I love knowing that as far as I go in this company directly correlates to how hard I work and how much I want it.

    If you are looking for a new CAREER path (whatever the reason), I would seriously recommend giving Rock Executives a go. Worse case scenario, you'll learn something new about yourself. Best case scenario, it can be the dream job you've been looking for. Whatever the case, you've got nothing to lose.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stephen128 Mar 20, 2012

    Alexander how long have you been working in this company? I just want to be straight there and said you have already brainwashed and become one of the cults.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    does it really matter? May 08, 2012

    Alexander,

    I really like your enthusiasm about your current career, but would really like to clear a few things up for everyone. Trust me when I tell you that you don't know half of the things I know about this company and its operations.

    1. If you got let go it didn't necessarily mean you sucked but maybe had other issues like willingness to work hard or lack of enthusiasm. These things are common in all work environments and a successful company doesn't need people like this weighing down the rock stars of the company. But to label someone as sucking makes you sound ignorant and childish. I knew plenty of people who "sucked" that made double what you made.

    2. Congrats on being able to conduct 2nd round interviews. Sounds to me like you need some training in this area as well though. It does't simply come down to you thinking someone can or can't do this, rather the intangible qualities like hard work and ethics. These are two very different scenarios. You see if I interviewed with you and you were only looking to see if "I could do it" then your interviewing me for the wrong reasons and it leads me to question your own work ethics. Trust me again when I tell you I did this job better than you and I know you would agree. I encourage you to simply get a little extra training in this area and it will benefit your career in a big way.

    3. If someone quits like I did it wasn't because I sucked or lacked vision. Like I said before on paper I out earned you and know it. Once again you are selling yourself short and I personally know your better than that. Your telling me that if I quit and go start my own business I'm lacking vision? To me that actually shows more vision and courage than having a business set up for you by Cydcor. I firmly believe there's room for both in the world and to each their own but don't accuse someone of "sucking or lacking vision" when in all reality they may have a bigger vision than yourself.

    4. I would agree with you that atmosphere may seem a little cult like but you are correct in saying it's just like a sports team warming up. The problem with atmosphere happens during the 2nd round interview when your judgment is off and you hire someone because you think they can do the job instead of the intangibles. You see not everyone is on the same page in atmosphere ethically and respectfully and that's what creates the cult like environment. If everyone was hired because they worked hard, wanted to develop successful partners, and were ethical in business then there would be no problems. Like I said though the real reason comes from hiring the wrong people because everyone has to be in atmosphere.

    5. I agree with only half of your pay statement. Yes performance base makes your business a merit based business which is cool. Here's the thing. How many days have you rolled when training and interviewing someone? How about the number of times you rolled because you had a dis satisfied customer and had to spend all day there? If you tell me you haven't rolled I know your being dis honest. I still agree on performance based but would also offer an alternative compromise. Account Managers that have to do these things should be payed a small base that day. You may say that it will eliminate your motivation to work hard that day. This is where you would be wrong and if you have hired the right people then their intangible qualities would take over.

    6. Yes you are correct that this is not a pyramid scheme and people should not be alarmed. You did however say that posting false statements is illegal. This is not correct and I'll prove it right now. You see these companies claim that the average account managers make 35k - 45k and that is false. So that means since they post that, it is illegal right? Trust me when I know if Cydcor went through the books of every office opened the average account rep wouldn't come near that these days. Maybe in the past yes but to still leave it up there when it's not true is false. So I guess this makes both of you guilty of Libel. I'm not to sure what "libel ###" is.

    I would agree I enjoyed my time there most of the time. Yes it is a fun environment and I still have some great friends from it. Yes your hard work is merited however it's not all up to you. For example; Do you have control over recruiting so you can take out 2nd round interviews?

    I'll finish like this. Rock Executives is a legit business opportunity. Key word being opportunity. Yes there are some questionable methods to doing business just as any other business in the world. Look at Enron. There are also many great qualities about the company that should be adopted by other businesses. For example look at the entry level employees at bigger retail chains. Lets use Wal-mart in this example. Do there entry level employees look happy when you check out? Does the grandpa at the door greeting you look like he wants to be there greeting your rude ### walking through the door when he's done more with his life than you can even think of? In case you don't get the point the answer is no. If someone like Wal-mart was to adapt the team concept that rock executives has with everyone interested in others succeeding then I'd be willing to bet they could make even more money just by being more efficient because employees would be happy and if you're happy at your job you will work harder with a better attitude. For those looking for employment and have intangible qualities like hard worker, ethical, and respectful of others this may not be a bad avenue to travel. That doesn't come said though without using caution. This is and will be the hardest job you will ever do unless you plan on being a professional football player and you have only ever played ping pong and are 5'2" 100lbs trying to be a linebacker. Fact of the matter is merit based businesses are hard work in a dishonest world of businesses.

    To management,

    My suggestions for you guys is to fight a little harder with Cydcor to adapt a little better with the consuming public so you can claim 35k - 45k is expected first year again. I witnessed several instances that if we were able to do just one more thing for the customer we wouldn't have lost them and the pay checks would have kept employees happy. I know your going to say your doing what you can but in all reality I know that's not the case because I've seen 10x's harder negotiations get done in a quarter of the time to adapt to consumers who ultimately generate your revenue for your business.

    You see you guys' create a double edged sword. B2B sales is one of the toughest things out there so when someone quits their resume is really pretty good but you guys' need managers to advance your own careers so you want people to stay. Stop posting ads about how experience may be hurting your career. It makes you sound like a scam. To me and many others it's saying we can help you gain valuable experience (which is true) but in the mean time your going to make me as much money as possible. Yes you want people to potentially change their minds but we all know it's all about Law of Averages. The more people you have in the field the more money you make when you know that the ratio for a manager to get promoted is 1 out of at least 1200 interviews.

    Like I said before. To those looking for a career or career change and like the idea of merit based businesses you won't find a better way. Just know that it will challenge you in ways you never thought but will make you stronger for going through it. I do however challenge you to weigh out everything before taking this position. Including your self and how hard you really want it and not just saying you do.

    Sorry this is so long but I hope it clears things up for both sides.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions