SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

US Career Institute / False advertising/information

CO, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

It is legit...only problem is you are not going to get what you think you are going to get. The website and brochure does a really great job at omitting a lot of information. In the packets I recieved I was told that by completing the course of my choice I would recieve a certification. I was told onver the phone and via email that Yes I would recieve certification after I completed my course. I recieved my books and materials on time, the staff was great the everyone was so nice and helpful...Until after I paid for the course. It took 17 phone calls, 33 emails, and a treat to stop payment on the last 4 payments just for them to send me what I thought was my certification packet in the mail...When I finally did get the packet in the mail, it was a certification it was a certificate. When I called the operator I was on hold for about 6 minutes before I actually spoke with Elizabeth. I asked her about the certification number and she says they don't actually certify students only give you the course work. I asked her why wasn't I told this before I paid for the course? and she said I should have asked...I asked her why their brochure and staff would tell me I would be certified if I really wasn't and she put me on hold for about 12 minutes...no BS 12 minutes. Only to come back on the line and give me a website and 800 number to a place that I could get an actual certification (Which I would have to take the course all over and pay for). Then she rushed me off the phone.
When I called the number Elizabeth gave me, and a few others, I found that the training I recieved from US career institute didn't qualify me to take certification testing in ANY state...not even Colorado where the school is located.
I did a little research and a lot of people who have been leaving positive comments about US Career Insitute are people who are affiliated with them. Don't be fooled...It's legit but it's not worth the money. I paid $1500 dollars for a pretty piece of paper and a $4 medical dictionary...

Ke
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ac
      May 22, 2010

    US career institute is Scam!

    Don't wait your money with them.

    +1 Votes
  • Kd
      May 25, 2010

    huh?

    +1 Votes
  • Mi
      Jun 16, 2010

    I am writing in response to the above complaint. I am the Assistant Manager of Student Services for Weston Distance Learning, Inc., the parent company for U.S. Career Institute. USCI has been in business for nearly 30 years. We are an accredited institution of higher education through the Distance Education and Training Council and approved by the Colorado Department of Higher Education, Division of Private Occupational Schools.

    It appears there is some confusion regarding the certificate of completion and the term "certification." It is commonplace for institutions of higher education to provide education and training for specific career fields, resulting in a certificate of coursework completion; U.S. Career Institute graduates earn a certificate of completion. Graduates may then choose to gain additional career certification or credentials from a third-party credentialing agency of the student's choosing, which typically requires sitting for that agency’s credentialing exam.

    U.S. Career Institute's instructional and promotional materials do not guarantee this third-party certification. On page 28 of the school catalog it specifically states, "With clinical experience students gain on the job, they may be eligible to earn the prestigious Certified Medical Assistant credential through the National Healthcareer Association."

    I hope this clears up any confusion on this topic. We welcome and encourage our students to contact us to discuss any concerns they might have.

    -1 Votes
  • Li
      Oct 14, 2010

    I have contacted you and have yet to get a response. You are a rip off. People don't be fooled. Spend you money wisely.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Feb 08, 2011

    Everyone on here who is supporting US career probably works for them. Any real person who attends the school will tell you how horrible it really. ITS A SCAM! they're not even a real school. go to collegeboard.com and try to find them. If they're not known to the college board they're a scam! trust me

    +3 Votes
  • 13
      Jun 03, 2011

    right ooon, its a darn scam, we've just got had

    +1 Votes
  • He
      Apr 18, 2012

    I graduated from U.S. Career Institute in March of 2011 with a certificate in Bookkeeping...I feel it was a waste of time & $700; I don't feel I've learned what I needed to know to become a bookkeeper-I have not been able to find a job in this field or anything related to it! When you finish the course, it's like "OK, here's your certificate, you passed, you did great, now you're on your own!" I think they should have offered some computer classes as part of the course because whenever I see positions for bookkeeping, they state you must be proficient in Microsoft Word and Excel, sometimes even Spreadsheets. How can I be when I haven't learned it? How can I get any experience if I haven't learned all the necessary tools to perform the job I want?
    Has anyone reading this took Bookkeeping at this school and are having the same problem as me or has anyone found work? If so, what did you to get the job? Maybe my resume is not laid out correctly!? I would love to have some assistance! I really want to have some kind of bookkeeping job!!

    +1 Votes
  • Bj
      Jan 29, 2013
    Best Best Advice

    Yes, you can become certified through the NHA, which is one of the main accrediting agencies needed to become certified for Medical Assistants. Maybe you didn't understand what they meant.
    What it is is you complete the course online and then you get a diploma at the end of the program and they send you a packet helpful for you to pass the certification exam through the NHA.
    With any certification process, you have to apply to be able to take it, then you have to find places where you can take the exam in your area or state.
    Becoming certified with the program just means that after you complete it, you are elgibile to take the exam, but the program itself willl not certify you.
    You need to read on certifications and become knowledgable with the process.
    Not trying to be rude, but some people don't actually do their research before they pursue this kind of career.
    With any Healthcare career, you have to make sure you can become certified through one of the accrediting agencies required to become certtified and then find out whether the school is accredited by one of the agencies it needs to be accredited by.
    For distance education, if it is only "Nationally" Accredited, make sure the school is in fact accredited by the "Distance Education Training Council", as it is recognized by the US Department of Education so you can get a job within the United States of America.
    If the school is regionally accredited, it does not have to be accredited by the DETC, but make sure it is accredited by one of the Major Regional Accreditation Agencies, Which Are:Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools
    Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)
    Elizabeth H. Sibolski, President
    3624 Market Street, 2nd Floor Annex
    Philadelphia, PA 19104
    Phone: 267-284-5000
    Fax: 215-662-5501
    E-mail: [protected]@msche.org
    Web: www.msche.org
    Recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation, April 2002

    New England Association of Schools and Colleges
    Commission on Institutions of Higher Education (NEASC-CIHE)
    Barbara E. Brittingham, President / Director of the Commission
    3 Burllington Woods #100
    Burlington, MA 01803
    Phone: 781-425-7747
    Fax: 781-425-1001
    E-mail: [protected]@neasc.org
    Web: http://cihe.neasc.org
    Recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation, April 2002

    North Central Association of Colleges and Schools
    The Higher Learning Commission (NCA-HLC)
    Sylvia Manning, President
    230 South LaSalle, Suite 7-500
    Chicago, IL 60604-1413
    Phone: 312-263-0456
    Fax: 312-263-7462
    E-mail: [protected]@hlcommission.org
    Web: www.ncahigherlearningcommission.org
    Recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation, January 2003

    Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS)
    Commission on Colleges
    Belle S. Wheelan, President
    1866 Southern Lane
    Decatur, GA 30033
    Phone: 404-679-4500
    Fax: 404-679-4528
    E-mail: [protected]@sacscoc.org
    Web: www.sacscoc.org
    Recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation, January 2003

    Western Association of Schools and Colleges
    Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (WASC-ACCJC)
    Barbara A. Beno, President
    10 Commercial Boulevard, Suite 204
    Novato, CA 94949
    Phone: 415-506-0234
    Fax: 415-506-0238
    E-mail: [protected]@accjc.org
    Web: www.accjc.org
    Recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation, January 2003

    Western Association of Schools and Colleges
    Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and Universities (WASC-ACSCU)
    Ralph A. Wolff, President and Executive Director
    985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100
    Alameda, CA 94501
    Phone: 510-748-9001
    Fax: 510-748-9797
    E-mail: [protected]@wascsenior.org
    Web: www.wascweb.org
    Recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation, January 2003

    If it is not accredited by one of the regional accredidations above that I listed, then the school for regional accredidation is not legit.

    For national accredidation, it needs to be accredited by Distance Education Training Council(DETC) in order to find a job with it.

    Also, make sure it is always accredited by your state as a recognizable program, and that is is a member of the Better Business Bureau too, otherwise it is not legit.

    Just trying to help, and I hope this helps!!

    +6 Votes
  • Fe
      Oct 15, 2013

    I just started the medical billing and coding specialist courses; i felt like its not challenging enough; maybe cause i have been a health care worker for thirty yrs or more...; I was trying to supplement income at home being disabled. Thanks for the heads up, even the books and information is just something wrong. I think i will start a nonprofit help organization that will help people like me over 50 and not very computer, social, technical literate, but somewhat wise!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Nov 10, 2013

    I thank all of the people who posted the very helpful information on the school. This will surely help in choosing the right Career Institute of training for me..

    0 Votes
  • N8
      Mar 06, 2014

    This place is a scam I urge anyone who has lost money to file a complaint with the BBB of Colorado, yes it is a hassle but this dump has a BBB accreditation because everyone complains on other message boards and doesn't do anything else about this craphole. I lost almost $1000dollars to USCI please file with BBB maybe they will lose their accreditation if we all start filing complaints and they will have to stop ripping people off

    0 Votes
  • Jc
      May 19, 2019

    @N8sgrl The Better Business Bureau will tell you that you have to go through the Attorney General's office or file a small claims in small claims court which you can do up to the amount of $5, 000.
    And if you paid for a course with your credit card you can talk to your credit card company and tell them what's going on and they can dispute the amount and possibly get back to you.

    0 Votes
  • Ep
      Apr 09, 2014

    I live in Miami and I'm doing my research to see if it's worth paying for the medical billing specialist course at US carrier institute. Where can I find out if it's accredited and where can I take the test to get a certification to be able to work? Thanks!

    0 Votes
  • Jc
      May 19, 2019

    @Epn You could actually contact several doctor's office in the area and see if they're using anybody for billing and be able to talk to that billing company to see what you need or where they learned there's at

    0 Votes
  • Bo
      Sep 01, 2014

    Scam school that intentionally misclassifies HOURLY employees as independent contractors so it does not pay FICA taxes and is being sued for fraud http://www.uscareerinstitutescam.com/

    0 Votes
  • Cl
      Jan 08, 2015

    I am glad I didn't enrol for pharmacy technician...I think I will find a real school..Thanks for sharing your stories:)

    +2 Votes
  • Ro
      Mar 12, 2015

    There is absolutely NO WAY someone can gain a certification as a medical assistant from any distance learning...PERIOD! I'm saying this in response to the school's answer about the certification and certificate through them. I was just getting ready to send for an info packet for this school because I have recently become disabled and was looking for a way to make some money. I'm so glad I did my research first! I was an MA (medical assistant) for several years and let me tell you, you won't get it thru mail order! Even one course, like this, won't make you even partially ready for all of the med terms and everything else you'll need to know to pass the exam. Do your research and BEWARE!

    +4 Votes
  • Co
      Jun 04, 2015

    I just went to see my baby doctor and I receieved in my bag of pregnancy mags and books etc this piece of add for "Train at home to be a Medical Billing Specialist" then states what it is about and "facts" etc and says "Get FREE facts! 1-800-388-8765 www.uscieducation.com/GBA25 Dept. GBA2A25" and says "Train to Work At Home For Doctors!" then says "What other job can you start with as little as 4 months of training and earn up to $40, 000 a year* as your skills increase" "Earn your Certificate in little as four months. Join the thousands of Medical Specialists we've trained. Many now make more money than ever before! If you can follow step-by-step directions, our experts can train you at home for this exciting moneymaking career." I think this school or whatever is lying to ALL hospitals AND clinics they send this to then they unwittingly give it to pregnant women!! I mean yea I wish I could make that much but you DONT work at home for doctors AND you DO have to have a lot of experience in order to even work for them. I got it Tuesday but didnt read it due to other important stuff and I just got it out and read it and it sounds real fishy to me so I decided to do research on it and man glad I did they are a joke, a scam and damn sure not worth the money they print their phony certificates on. DONT waste your money here!!

    +4 Votes
  • Jc
      May 19, 2019

    @CoventryDarkKnight Interesting enough I got one in the mail and this is 2019 I noticed your post is back from 2015.
    It says all the same thing that you're talkin about except for you only earn $36, 000 a year I definitely thought that there was some new wages since 2015.

    0 Votes
  • Go
      Aug 20, 2015

    BEWARE! Through August 24, 2015, the U.S. Career institute is luring potential Applicants/Payees of their courses a 25-30% discount! Don't be SCAMMED by their clever wording of certification! As stated here it is only a Certification of Compketion if their courses offered!!! NOT Certification that is recognized by employers to offer you a career as a Certified specialist in ANY field! I am a Registered Nurse who wanted a additional certification to enable me to work out it of my home in a career that would offer me more personal time and flexibility, and less stress. The U.S. Career Institute based in Colorado is VERY misleading! DON'T FALL FOR IT CLEVER WORDING & MARKETING fliers! Call any local specialty office who hires employees in the field of study you are seeking, and they will tell you the actual credentials they require for employment.

    +1 Votes
  • Sh
      Oct 10, 2015

    Beware of taking online courses from US Career Institute that requires internship.In 2013 I enrolled in the medical assistance program to find out as to this date October 2015 I have not been able to been find a facility or company that will accept US Career Institute courses for an internship, So in this case i haven't been able to obtain certifications to take the state exam to be certified as a Certified Medical Assistance.US Career Institute hasn't offered to locate a placement for my internship nor have they reached out to see, if i have received my Medical Assistance Certifications the total cost for course $1, 229.US Career Institute was a waste of money.

    +3 Votes
  • Ja
      Feb 09, 2016

    Love this experience while you're trying to get it done at home because you won't get a job.
    Hospitals and Clinics don't look at you as completing or "graduating" because it's not considered the same as going to a REAL school and getting your credits. They also offer a 100% money back guarantee then FIGHT with you about how you didn't follow every rule because they didn't inform you that you have to. This is the worst schooling I've ever taken and I gained absolutely nothing from it. I still can't believe the false promises this place creates and then make you pay thousands of dollars for absolutely nothing. You are better off working towards a real school course than to go through this program. Rethink your position if you don't want to loose thousands of dollars on something that will never help you in life.

    +2 Votes
  • Ka
      Jun 03, 2016

    I just read reviews what is sad the company basically states their courses are useless, so this company is willing taking advantage of people trying to better their lives. I will be taking this flyer back to my doctors office and I will be complaining to them because they are helping circulate a company that is taking advantage of people and targeting pregnant ones at that. I will continue to complain to companies who have your fliers. You should not be allowed to advertise due to falsification. We as citizens need to take a stand against companies like this one so an end will come sooner than later I am also contacting the magazine the card was with to complain to them as well. So to this company happy failing and I will aid you in that.

    +1 Votes
  • Su
      Jun 04, 2016

    Has anyone taken the dental assistance program threw u.s. career Institute? If I do take this program does anyone know if it will work with the state of new York for me to take the test

    -1 Votes
  • Ku
      Feb 17, 2017

    I was also scammed by US career institute. When i realized it was a scam, i stopped paying and they sent it to collection. Now my credit is messed up and i still do not have what I wanted in the first place. I tried to better my live and earn extra cash only to have it destroyed by US career. Do not enroll in any classes as they are dupes.

    +1 Votes

Post your comment