The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

SpartanTech.com / Sell motherboards that they don't even have in stock!

1 United States Review updated:

The following is a transcript of my recent experience with an online retailer, Spartantech.com

04/10/07 I order a motherboard

04/11/07 Wait

04/12/07 call their non-800 number to verify everything is good, guy who answers the phone tells me that it "will ship out today"

04/13/07 I place another call to see if my order has shipped out, unfortunately the guy on the other side of the phone tells me that they don't even have this motherboard to sell and they are hoping for a shipment. See I've done a decent amount of research about this motherboard (Abit KV7) and they have not even been manufactured for over a year now, so being told on the phone that they were going to get a shipment in is just hopeful wishing, and a blanket policy to sell anything and then hope they can get it.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Jw
      18th of Apr, 2009
    0 Votes

    This is a dishonest company. They sold me some memory that didn't work, then when I returned it only refunded 2/3 of my money in spite of their "30 Days Money Back" ebay policy. I pointed this out and they replied with "Where does it say that money back means all your money back?" Then these ###ing losers sent me a cancellation request so they could get their fees back!! I told them they could shove their cancellation request straight up their ###, then denied it so they wouldn't get their fees back. Then I called ebay and complained and guess what? Ebay agreed they are violating ebay policy and offered to refund the rest of my money including shipping! I have never seen a power seller with so many negs on their feedback list. Some other people claim that after getting shafted on their refunds that spartantech then had the audacity to open an unpaid item case (another method for getting ebay fees back without giving a full refund.) These people are absolute ###s and will burn in hell.

  • Tr
      2nd of Jun, 2009
    0 Votes
    SpartanTech.com - Sells motherboards that they don't even have instock!
    Spartantech.com
    United States

    04-10-08 I order a motherboard
    04-11-08 Wait
    04-12-08 call their non-800 number to verify everything is good, guy who answers the phone tells me that it "will ship out today"
    04-13-08 I place another call to see if my order has shipped out, unfortunatly the guy on the other side of the phone tells me that they don't even have this motherboard to sell and they are hoping for a shipment. See i've done a decent amount of research about this motherboard (Abit KV7) and they have not even been manufactured for over a year now, so being told on the phone that they were going to get a shipment in is just hopeful wishing, and a blanket pollicy to sell anything and then hope they can get it.

  • Fa
      30th of Dec, 2009
    0 Votes

    I'm getting hosed over by them right now. I ordered a 2gb desktop DDR2 module from them on eBay. I received it pretty quickly, no issues there, but what I got was a custom-made, no-name-shopped module (clearly they're manufacturing their own RAM), that didn't work properly on my system. I did, in fact, verify that my board was compatible with up to a 2gb module. It didn't identify as a smaller module (as a scammer might), but it came up as some whack-o amount like 1259343839 GB. Needless to say the module was unusable, Memtest failed miserably on it (though memtest identified it as a 2gb module, unlike the BIOS).

    I bugged them about this and they pretty promptly returned a response, saying I could set up an RMA on their site. I did, though their site wasn't too eBay-sales-friendly (asked for an order number I only found in the tracking info email). I got an RMA and proceeded to advance-purchase a replacement of a different type on their eBay store ("low density" versus "high density" - though there is no such thing in DDR2). I received the new module as promptly as the last. But it ended up being AN IDENTICAL MODULE with a different sticker on it. Seriously - right down to the binary SPD data encoded on the module, it was a completely identical module except for the sticker. Same PCB model/printing/design, same ICs, different sticker.

    However, both modules work fine when the SPD is reprogrammed to act as 1gb modules (as they identify in my other PC) instead of 2gb. Curious, indeed.

    I'm certainly never buying from them again, but I hope they at least have the decency to send me either a working module, or give me my money back, and let me keep one of them, which works as a 1gb. *sigh*

  • Sp
      15th of Oct, 2010
    0 Votes

    Spartantech.com are a bunch of thieves. They sold defective software (as in the "new" media was defective), I returned it, they said they would refund and never did. 2 months later they finally refund a smaller amount and rip me off for $25. No explanation, no reasoning behind the shorted amount. What should have been a routine purchase is now a 2 month ordeal and they still have the nerve to try to rip me off in the end. [censor] like this needs to get off the web!!!

Post your comment