SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

PCS Legal Dept/Advance Cash USAclaiming a lawsuit has been filed against me

Review updated:

I have received several phone calls from different people, all with Arabian accents so thick i can barely understand them, and all claiming American names - very simple American names. Today the Supervisor I spoke with was Brian Smith and Kenny answered the phone. They are claiming I received $300 deposited to my bank account in October of 2010. The funny thing is my account was not opened until December of 2010. I have bank statements showing nothing has been put into my account.See the Top 10 Worst Complaints in Las Cruces, NM I have since filed a complaint with the OAG in New Mexico and am preparing to file the same complaint in NY and CA where these companies claim to be. The other company that has contacted me is claiming to be a law office in California. I contacted the State Bar of California and have never heard of that law office. It was Steve Williams & Associates. I am so frustrated because i want to find these people and make them pay for what they are doing to people. When I research the company names or phone numbers, I cannot find anything unless I pay for it. There has to be something we can do to press charges against these scammers.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Gl
      Dec 13, 2010
    Cash Advance USA - Threatning charges about a loan I didn't get
    Cash Avance USA Loans
    2702 Holy Cross Ln
    Garland
    Texas
    United States

    I have received threatning calls about a loan I did not take and they keep calling my job and cell phone everyday.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Mar 15, 2011
    Advance Cash USA - Claims I Owe Money
    Advance Cash USA
    South Carolina
    United States

    I was informed by a Mid-Eastern guy by the name of Tony Hill, that I owed Advance Cash USA $300.00 from a cash advance that I suppossedly borrowed back in Dec. 2010. When I ask him where I lived when I took ouit this advance, he stated my address that I had when I lived in Black Mtn., NC. I moved from there back in June 2010 to SC. He told me that if I paid him $460.00, then we would call the account paid in full. Believe me, this is a SCAM to get money from me. He is suppossed to be sending me information that I am to use in order to send him the money. Guess what, I AM NOT SENDING HIM NOTHING.

    0 Votes
  • Op
      Apr 28, 2011

    I am an American with an "American" accent. You would have no problem understanding me. Can I call you?

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Jun 01, 2011

    Thank you so much for putting this on here! This is a horrible scam! It just happened to me this morning. They are calling my work and calling my cell phone demanding payment of my cash loan from January 2011. They are threatening to take legal action. The number they left me to contact them is completely bogus, and when I ask them questions, they don't answer them and keep just yelling into the phone. This is nuts! I am going to file a complaint, and hopefully something is done with these people! It's not very promising considering they leave no information regarding who they are!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
      Jun 04, 2011

    Glad I found this. My caller, that I can barely understand, says there is lien against my "identity" and that I may lose my job or my paycheck since I have committed fraud. Something will be filed in a "county of Texas". What is really scary is that he called out the last four of SS#. I did take out a loan online for emergency car repair, but I have paid them back and everything is right by them. Caller ID came up Name Unavailable 0000, and he left the a number for me to call but crap I can't understand it. I'm hoping they call again. This time I will answer and talk to them.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
      Jun 13, 2011

    Got another call from heavily accented "Officer Anthony Biden" to return his call or he will turn me in. Could not understand the rest of it.

    0 Votes
  • Ae
      Jun 29, 2011

    I'm glad to find this information posted here. I'm getting similar calls from an "Eddie Brown" and "David Cooper", both purporting to be calling from PCS Legal Department. The most recent call this morning is threatening 'severe action' if we don't return the call and try to resolve the issue at hand. What issue???? We have no idea! When they started calling months ago, I called our bank to verify that there wasn't some mistaken loan deposited into our account. They had no record of any such transaction. Since then, the calls from these obviously foreign men with extremely heavy accents have become more frequent. My brother even called me asking why someone would call him looking for me or my husband. Yes, they somehow have our family information and are calling around. WHO ARE THESE PEOPLE? HOW DO THEY HAVE PERSONAL INFORMATION? How can I stop their harrassment?

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Jul 06, 2011
    Advance Cash USA - Fraud?
    Cat
    United States

    A company representing Advance Cash USA contacted me last week and again today stating that I owed $300. I requested documentation that stated this loan which they said they did not have because the loan was performed online. They had my account information, social security number and phone numbers and continually keep calling wanting to settle this matter. AND are extremely rude with foreign accents but very English names such as Williams and James. I checked my bank account and no deposits were made. Not sure where to go from here.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
      Jul 21, 2011

    They are in California now. [protected]. Talked to Harry Brown, Jack Wilson, and Frank Wilson. I admit I have had payday loans but not from Advance Cash USA and always have documents. There was no money deposited to my account from Advance Cash USA in October 2010.

    0 Votes
  • Er
      Jul 26, 2011

    wow I cant understand whats going on with these people i wish i can file legal action against these scramer and you wouldnt believe that they had the indenticy to say ### me because i told this arab hoza black cliam name he tells me he is calling for a person name kelly leaving a number [protected] to get in contact with him but this was a bogus number again. I hope someone or myself find these people because nobody talks to me like that and dont get told off or i slap the ### out one of them god bless everyone on here thats going thur the same conflick

    0 Votes
  • Sc
      Jul 26, 2011

    The calls finally stopped after I told them I knew it was a scam and that you don't even use the right legal terms, then I called them every foul word I could think of and threaten to hunt them down...then they hung up...but it was fun

    0 Votes
  • Mm
      Jul 28, 2011

    WE HAVE NO RECORD OF A MS. MCCRAY BORROWING MONEY FROM THIS COMPANY DO NOT THREAT OR CALL THIS LADY AGAIN LEAVE HER A ALONE PLEASE. I SPOKEN WITH HER ON THE PHONE SHE DO NOT OWE US.
    CLOSE THE CASE. IT IS NOT MY COMPANY. MANAGE.
    CASH ADVANCE USA .

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Aug 18, 2011

    I have been getting these calls my self. I was stupid and did some pay day loans. They have even called my daughters demanding that they have to pay them. Never again tho, and that was over a year ago. The jerks calling me have been very demanding and threaten. I have gotten messages from a Jason at [protected], Nat Johnson the last two days on my cell & work place his number is [protected]. I did go to my local authorites today to file a complaint & the sheriff who took my info is also getting the same calls & all he can do is report it. I pray that they get what is coming to them and they leave the innocent people out here trying to make an honest dollar alone.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
      Aug 18, 2011

    I also am getting these same calls! They claim I have to pay them $410 or a law suit will be filed against me within 2 days at my town's court house. HAHA ok well, my town doesnt have a court house and it takes a lot longer than 2 days for anything to move through court. I played stupid and said I was willing to resolve this matter but they can't give me an address where I can send payment via a money order, they insist on using a debit or credit card. The rude man told me to even go to the store and buy a pre-paid visa card. They won't say any information about themselves or location at all, I can imagine because they know people are after them, even playing along with them and saying "oh I just want this mattered cleaned up" they will no reveal any information at all. ***PLEASE LET'S ALL WORK TOGETHER AND END THIS TYPE OF FRAUD AND HARASSMENT***

    -1 Votes
  • Bl
      Aug 19, 2011

    I am having the exact same issue. They keep asking for my lawyers info. I gave them the lawyers info and I'm recording all conversations with them. I've told them about two laws stating that they are not alLowed to call me at work and once you revoke the right to call at my number they can be sued. I was advised to record all convos with them which I have started doing. I am so angry that they have my ss# and other info. Am I safe? I have no idea how to stop them. I'm having the same issues with them they give out no information and get rude when you question them at all. Is there anything I can do?

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Aug 19, 2011

    I got a call from someone named McDonald I could not understand his first name he gave me claim to be from PCS Legal Department.
    He had the last 4 digits of my SS# but did not have rest of it. When he call the number came up on my caller ID 253, but he gave me
    another number [protected]. It is out Hoboken, NY I want them and others out of business permanently.

    cooper

    Aiming to put scammers out of business for good

    +1 Votes
  • Sr
      Aug 23, 2011

    i am having the same problem they are asking for my husband by first and last name when they leave a message keep in mind they are calling from either a 9999 or 30 code (thats what comes up on my cellphone) and saying that there has been an avidavit filed against his name and social security number. the area code is very similiar and is out of NY as well. I dont answer when they call and my husband does not return their calls because we have never received any paperwork stating any of these alligations. Please someone needs to do something about these folks because they are scamming alot of money out of folks that have no clue they are being ripped off!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jw
      Sep 02, 2011

    I have also been dealing with this company for almost 2 months now. They also said that I had a payday loan direct deposited to my account, which I also have proof (bank statements) that this never occured!!! I am now getting threatening phone calls, stating that they are going to show up at my employement, that they are going to have me arrested, that they are going to show up at my home. I have filed a police report, alerted my bank, my job and everyone else I can think of. I don't like hearing that anyone else is going through this, however at the same time it is nice to know that there is someone out there that understands how frustrating this is. If anyone has any ideas on how we can stop these people, PLEASE let me know!!! These people just sounded like debt collectors at first, just a little pushy, but when I asked for more information they would not give me anything, when I asked to speak with a supervisor, they wouldn't let me. Now when they call and leave messages, they are threatening and rude, screaming and yelling!!! I don't see how there seams to be nothing that anyone can do to stop this, isn't this harrasssment???

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Oct 24, 2011

    Has anyone sued them?

    0 Votes
  • Bl
      Oct 24, 2011

    I would sue if I had any real info on them. I have recorded conversations and saved the voicemails they have left. Even though the number they give might be a US number I am sure they are not in the US With the way you can reroute things these days. I think all we can do is protect ourselves. I called the credit reporting agencies and put a fraud alert on my account as well as at my bank. Notify your employer and any family members as they will try to call them too. Also if they threaten you file a police report so you have evidence in case they ever are caught. Also if possible record their conversation with you and inform them you revoke the right to contact them and give your attorneys number. I haven't had a call in a while but they've tried on two different occasions to harrase me.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Oct 25, 2011

    I got into with these people again about a month ago. I informed them I know they are con-artists and I have reported them to my local Sheriff's Department. These Idiots called my place of work again last week & left the same stupid message on my voice mail with there threats. I am so sick of these idiots harrassing me and everyone else & I pray to the Good Lord that they get caught & thrown behind bars for a long time. Latest number I got the call from was [protected].

    0 Votes
  • Ny
      Oct 31, 2011

    Horrible people! I included them in my bankruptcy and they are saying that I cannot do that and that they are pressing civil charges against myself and anyone I know (yeah right)! I have alerted my lawyer and hopefully he can take care of it.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Nov 04, 2011

    I'm having the same problem. They call demanding from me but yet they want to give me no information. I finally just kept interrupting him until he told me his name and number . I have a Shawn at [protected] calling from New York.

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Nov 08, 2011

    I am a victim too, dumb enough they scared me into paying...now two months after I paid this $700 "debt" I almost set up a payment arrangement again. When I asked to speak to an "American" he said he is, he's Mexican...Right "Robert"! They said they were a law office and not the original owner of the debt, and that was why they could not send me original documentation. I then stated that a real law office would not take a case unless they had adequate documentation that this was a legitimate case..then came the run around. "It must be taken care of now. Tomorrow it will go into a subpoena and arrest for fraud." They are calling my work and telling them that i have committed fraud and am going to jail. They have called my sister and threatened her. I am really devastated because I thought I was getting a bill paid off and instead I just dumped heaven knows how much money to these people. I closed the account that the original pay day loan (yes I did take one out in an emergency) was deposited to, because of fraudulent activity. Now I wonder if it was these people. They have all my information. Where i work now, my cell, my social, my email, my physical address, and my closest family member. I paid off another "debt" to people with a similar accent over a year ago. Now I doubt that was legit. Are these people reporting these illegitimate debts to the credit reports? I am panicked to say the least.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Nov 15, 2011

    Found them on the BBB website: http://www.bbb.org/NYC/Business-Reviews/collection-agencies/pcs-legal-services-in-brooklyn-ny-126439/Complaints/#breakdown

    Has their number and everything. They have a F rating; no surprise. REPORT THEM to the FTC, FCC, and Attorney General. Any filing for lawsuits for debt collection is a CIVIL one, not criminal. They cannot have you arrested. Period. http://paydayloaninfo.org/state-information (check your state to make sure, but where I am, Washington, it is not a criminal charge).

    0 Votes
  • Dl
      Nov 16, 2011

    These fools are so stupid. i wish they was local I would ride in a diaper all night just to get to them. they have called my job stating my mother was in the hospital. i work in the hospital. their are laws against that. they call your phone back to back to back. claiming to be john smith Alex cooper and so forth with thick Indian accents. i get so pissed cause i cant get my hands on them. they know my social security number and email, but can tell me who i owe. i done like using the word hate, but...WOW!! if anybody EVA find out where they are CALL ME. i wanna take then to church and lay hands on them!

    0 Votes
  • Mp
      Nov 28, 2011

    I recieved the same threats on my cell and at my job the number showed up as [protected] and another number called and threatened court action and arrest wtf i told them i was reporting them to my local law office and to BBB they stopped calling but they had all my info even my ss# its pissing me off

    0 Votes
  • Ry
      Dec 13, 2011

    I have received several calls myself. Everyone please remember, they are ONLY giving the last four of your social, NEVER give them the rest. When the loans are applied for online, this information is out there for anyone and anyone can view the last four of your social...don't fall for them! I called them and told "Bob Smith' (Strong foreign accent), to stop calling me or I would call a lawyer and he started yelling at me. Don't fall for this!!! Know who you do business with! I know I have NEVER done business with this so called "company". Protect yourself!

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Dec 17, 2011

    i call from from PCs legal and scheme company.. my name David black this company is full ###ed working, ... no any work provided to USA people ...it..only for fraud ac-ti with ...their life ...

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Jan 30, 2012

    I have also been getting similar calls. They will not give me any actual information that makes any sense. My caller was "MikeThompson" and the number he left was: [protected]. They are now calling my co-worker telling them that I have involved them in some kind of legal fraud and they need to have me take care of this before they file legal action (this is always happening tomorrow). I did call the number back and an Indian accent person answered the phone, but I just hung up. They called me several times this week as well as my co-worker. They called me several months ago and I told them this was not legitimate and to stop calling. They called back 25 times in a row leaving nasty messages every time.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Feb 21, 2012

    I have received multiple calls from this "company" as well. They state that I took out a loan in October 2010 for $300 and that they are about to file a legal suit against me because I have not paid back. They do have the last 4 numbers of my social security number and my name. The funny thing is - they have my wife's cell phone number but all my information. Another funny thing is that we were out of the country the month of October 2010 so there is no way this is accurate. I have checked all my past bank statements and see no deposit made during that time frame. I have contacted my bank and the BBB to report this scam. I would suggest other's do this as well. Please do not listen to their empty threats. They have threatened me many times. However, when I ask for proof of this they say they can not do this because it is against their policy. I have never heard of any company that has a policy of not providing proof of their services. This is a scam and anyone that is affected should contact their bank, credit reporting agencies and the BBB. They need to be stopped.

    0 Votes
  • Os
      Apr 25, 2012

    I have been getting calls at work and on my cell phone. Yesterday I received a voice mail from a man named Ricky Jones. Phone number [protected]. He left a message on my cell phone that said he is a police officer and I have 3 criminal investigations against me. He claimed he was sending a report to my local sheriff's office and that within 2 days a police officer will show up at my work and at my home to arrest me for fraud. Today the same thing... same voice mail from Ricky Jones. I called him back and now he is claiming to be Jackie Williams. When I questioned him on the name change and why yesterday he said he was Ricky Jones and today Jackie Williams he got defensive and said that was his 3rd name. He told me that I owed money for a loan that I had wired into my account from a USA cash loan place. I told him I never had a loan wired into my account. He called me a liar and that I am committing fraud. He rattled off a social security number that is wrong but he did have my place of employment right and my address. I told him he was a scammer and he started screaming at me and called me a [censored]. I never raised my voice. I told him he will be hearing from my attorney and I hung up. I just went down to the police station and filed a police report. They will be calling this company. Well see what happens.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      May 02, 2012

    I received another phone call from these people today. I have never taken out any payday loan. Also, they are calling on my cell phone number but using my husband's name. They left the message on my voice mail that he was having criminal charges filed on him tomorrow and that the local authorites and investigators would be coming to his place of work and home tomorrow morning. I decided to call them back because I have had these phone calls before back in January/ February. After being put on hold quite a few times, I finally got someone to talk to. Here's my advice - I immediately stopped the man from talking; I told him that it was really funny how I was told I was "going to be prosecuted and go to jail" back in January - and that they were coming "tomorrow". I said now it is May and I'm still here. He tried talking again, but I told him I knew this was a scam, I had read about it being a scam in the news and I have reported this to the authorities. They hung up on me. I'll let you know if I hear from them anymore. Maybe it would be fun to call them and harrass them just as they have harrassed all of us.

    0 Votes
  • Li
      May 07, 2012

    This is like a cycle. . They seem to call every few months or so. . . No one can give me any concrete paperwork on anything. . . All they can agree on is that i owe money for a payday loan. . . Cannot tell me when or where it went or even how much. All they give is the amount they want and even that varies. One guy called and said $i owed $8, 000 in a payday loan. . . If i had that kind of loan amount i would not have ny debt. . . But anyway they said that i could settle out of court for $3, 000 or go to court and possibly pay $90, 000. . . Huge jump from owing $8, 000. . . It is sad that american are being harrassed by these people. Some are crazy enough to pay them without any proof, they just want the calls to stop. . . I told them they need to do what they need to do and i will do what i need to do on my end. . . Of course them having me fired and then arrested is kind of stupid. . . How do you pay someone with no income???

    0 Votes
  • Ut
      Jul 11, 2012

    I keep getting calls from this place also telling me i have to contact them within a certain period of time or they will damage my credit score and take me to court. Something needs to be done about these people and their fraudulant activities.

    0 Votes
  • Fi
      Jul 19, 2012

    I have had the same issue with these idiots and do not even know how they got my info, I have been trying to get these calls to stop and they never do, also Indian peoole with America names like my recent was Eric Williams. LOL I hope these people get what is coming to them. I have a huge fraud alert incase.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Sep 20, 2012

    I have recieved up to 20 calls yesterday and 37 today btwn my job and cell phone I filed a harrassment compliant today the guy that is calling is claiming to work for PCS with a extremely thick accent.. the police office has spoke with this guy and advised him to contact me legally through the mail... which I have never recieved anything via mail regarding this company... the guy wont even explain what this is about just keeps saying that I will be in a legal mayhem if I dont settle this debt, with no claim number or account number this is a Scam anyone with any information on how this can be stopped please share...

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Sep 21, 2012

    I too have been receiving these harrassing, rude, threatening emails over the last few weeks. Th ey continue to contact me at work even though I have stated that they do not call me there and they state they will take my work number off so that I don't lose my job, but that is nothing but a big fat lie!!! I also cannot understand the people who call and there names have been Shaun Collins and an Eric Smith. They are threatening me with court action on Monday. Their number is [protected]. They to want me to make a payment on Monday either by a green dot card or a Visa card. I need to let them know that they are a fraud as well. We all need to stick together.

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Sep 27, 2012

    Minda12,

    Shaun Collins and an Eric Smith are high level education derelicts. They have a pretend, puerile, pernicious predatory scam profession they think is a job to harass consumers.

    "Th ey continue to contact me at work even though I have stated that they do not call me there and they state they will take my work number off so that I don't lose my job, but that is nothing but a big fat lie!!!"

    If you can prove this to a judge it's worth $1000 to you. If it's not in writing it didn't happen. Make it easier for the judge to find it in your favor - use CMRRR and record your calls with these sub humans. The more violations you can document the more cash you can collect against them.

    They usually feel if you know your rights under federal laws FDCPA and FCRA. If they smell you don't they push you, lie and violate your rights because you don't know them. Unlike you they know your rights but they don't care, they just want you to make a payment.

    So you need to educate your good self on your consumer rights under federal laws first, FDCPA and FCRA.

    Hit Google on these:-
    1-what to do when you are contacted by a collections agency.
    2-your rights under federal laws FDCPA and FCRA
    3-Validation of debt (VOD), cease and desist (C&D), CMRRR
    4-Your state's Statute of Limitations (SOL) on debt.
    5-post your questions at debtorboards dot com if things get thick or stopthecollector dot com

    You need to create a paper trail. Avoid talking on the phone unless you record the conversations. You may or may not tell them you are doing so for documentation and legal purposes. After you issue instructions not to call you on the phone, you need to follow that up with a CMRRR. Now if they violate it and you sue guess who pays has to pay you?

    Never ever accept you owe a debt. You first need to have them establish the debt, not you, per federal law, after all they are the ones attempting to collect. So write them a CMRRR and request for VOD. It has to be the original contract with your signature on it, not some letterhead stating you owe some $$$s. If the debt SOL has expired and they didn't sue per law tough luck, it's noncollectable. At that point they cannot do anything other than plead with you to pay. That's why you don't accept a debt cause it restarts the time cycle.

    Now if they sue, don't worry just show up in court with your relevant documentation. If the debt SOL is expired provide that proof to the judge to dismiss the case. Never ever fail to show up in court as the judge will enter a summary judgment against you even if the debt SOL was expired. You can bet the CA will not tell the judge SOL is expired, you have to.

    If SOL is still valid negotiate a settlement, always. Never ever give them electronic access to your checking account. Mail a check and keep the records for life. They are know to resell paid off debts and you will have to prove you paid it off.

    You can sue per se, it's not hard. For help on how to sue Per se or represent yourself post your questions at debtorboards dot com.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Nov 14, 2012

    According to the dates of these complaints that these guys have been in business for a while. I just received a call from another foreign sounding man demanding I have my mother call him. Apparently she committed fraud and I was used as a reference therefore i will be receiving legal implications as well. I called back and the man was very unprofessional and would not give me any information, claiming it was "none of my business" I repeatedly asked him the name of his organization and whether i could take to someone in charge. I got the same "none of your business" reply. I promptly went to the internet after finally getting a reply of PCS Legal Department. Obviously a hoax.

    0 Votes

Post your comment