SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Kenworth Lending Group / Scam

1 NY, US Review updated:
Contact information:

I was approved for a $5000 personal loan. When I contacted this company they faxed over the contract which looked legit. It stated that I had to give them the first 7 months payment up front, cause it's a secured loan, and my loan would be guaranteed deposited the next day. I moneygram'd them the money and then they call me the next day stating that the loan was sent over to customer service due to my credit rating and the lender was requiring another 7 months advance on the loan then I would not have to make a payment until 14 months later or I could get a full refund on the money I had already sent. I told them I wanted a full refund. The man at the office told me that I would get a full refund sent out to me in a cashiers check via fedex, with a tracking number, on October 1, 2009. I think I have been scammed by this company. Their website that I have listed above is no longer in service for some reason. I told the guy that and he said he was looking at the site right then. (Lie) I know I am not going to get a refund from these people but the phone number is still active, for now. The guy I delt with at first was Roger Berkman, ext 319. Then the customer service rep Robert Lane, ext 0.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ro
      Sep 03, 2009

    I am very glad to have found this post online. I was just about to make the same mistake and pay this company 7 months in advance on a $10, 000 loan. I can't even imagine what I would have done had I wired them the money only to be told afterwards that additional funds would be required to secure my loan. Thank you so much for posting this warning.

    I truly hope that they return your money to you. Did they give you a reason as to why they couldn't return your money sooner than October 1st? I hope that you will post an update to let people know how you made out. Once again, I wish you the best of luck.

    0 Votes
  • Oc
      Sep 04, 2009

    I am so so glad I found this post...I just recieved my contract from these crooks and was ready to give 4 months up front for a 5000.00 loan...and yes they found me when I was researching student loans...as a single mom on disability trying to help my daughter with a college education my senses told me to first call info. for the listing on the contract---NO such listing in New York...3 times I tried.
    What gets me the most is that this company is allowed to grab our info.(e-mail) and present us with a huge offer along with "security"..which makes sense for someone in my situation but do they not realize what a finacial burden this would be.
    I for one wished there was a way to put an end to this rip off and hopefully people like myself and others will not fall into this trap of deciet.
    The loan officer described himself as a" loan broker" (unrealted to Kenworth) that found me this great loan...his name, James Lifton ext.215, if that is his real name...how can he or the others involved in this scam sleep at night...o.k. got this all off my chest...please pass this on to others, friends, families, students etc.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Sep 04, 2009

    Oh my God. I just spoke to them this morning and they wanted me to go to a Western Union and send $1500 to a woman in Canada. When I questioned this, they were very smooth but the hairs on the back of my head were standing up. And then I started wondering if I had ever given them my ss# for a credit check and realized I hadn't so how could they be offering me a loan??

    I'm sorry for the person who sent their money, I don't think you will ever get it back.

    0 Votes
  • Se
      Sep 04, 2009

    I checked out this company. Went on google and googled the address on their contract of "17 West 24th Street, New York, NY" and got an 888 for the building mortgage company. I then called the mortgage company and spoke with an attorney who stated that they do not and have never rented to a "Kenworth Lending Group." Then I contacted the New York States Attorney's office and there is no such company in New York. This is a total scam. I have filed a complaint with the Illinois States Attorney's Fraud Division and am looking into filing a complaint with the group that govern internet fraud. Luckily, I did my homework before sending them any money, but I will tell you the low interest rate, etc was tempting - just too tempting and it made me nervous.

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Sep 06, 2009

    Omg... I fell for it! I am exact same deal as first person, but the loan was for 10, 000, the payment was 1580 and the 'loan officer' was David Clarke. I was also contacted by' Robert Lane' the next day with the exact same line. This has completely cleaned my out. I have no money now for rent, utilities, food, gas... NOTHING. I knew I should have listened to that little voice inside saying 'don't do it!' Does anyone think we have any recourse to get out money back?? I am going to call the NY State Atty General on Tuesday.

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Sep 06, 2009

    Forgot to add that my money was sent to someone in Spain. I searched this site before I did it and could not find any complaint. They must have just started this... probably just long enough to grab our money and run! I am furious. And am so embarrassed that I was so easily taken.

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Sep 09, 2009

    This happened to me recently. I am doing everything I can with the help of multiple law enforcement agencys to get what is mine back. I know these people from Kenworth Lending read these things. I got lucky, I have a very nice picture of the person that picked the money up that I sent over. It is in the hands of the proper authorities now but it sure is a really nice picture. So these people better watch out.

    0 Votes
  • St
      Sep 15, 2009

    I consider myself a very careful person when it comes to giving out my info. I was in money crunch a week ago and this company Kenworth Lending Group contacted me and as in the stories I read on this page I was scammed. I am mostly angry with myself I was operating out of desperation instead of through my usual means which is by faith through prayer. My desire is for this company not to scam anyone else and whatever we as consumers can do to help stop their deceitful practices I am going to do my part. At this point within a few weeks I have become 6000.00 in debt from just two bad financial decisions payday loans and this scam from the company calling itself Kenworth Lending Group. I have learned a valuable lesson never act in haste always pray and wait for Gods instructions. I am so grounded in the word of God for me to be taken in by such an obvious scam is very humbling. James Lifton at [protected] at extention 215 was the person who lead me into this scam. I will continue to search for a way to hopefully get my money back and shut these wolves in sheeps clothing down. If anyone has any info as to how we can fight back please post.

    0 Votes

Post your comment