Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Imperial Outdoor Living, Inc. / Poor business practices and lies!

67% 55
I was at a home show and was told if I put down a deposit of $1000, this would guarantee a show price for one year with the chosen bbq to be determined at a later date, and a full refund could be made anytime within the year if they had not started working on a particular bbq for us.

I researched this company when returning from the home show, there were many red flags so I decided they were not the company for me. I left three messages, and received no return phone calls. I e-mailed them letting them know I wanted a refund, and I was told only Phil Bovard could do that, and I have yet to hear from him, and this is since September 19, 2006...

It is now time to make complaints, and to let other consumers know of there poor business practices and lies.

Custom Outdoor Barbecue's

Imperial Outdoor Living, Inc
8753 Lion Street
Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730
Owner: Phil Bovard


Sort by: UpDate | Rating
A  12th of Dec, 2006 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Buyers please take note:
May 8, 2006 I attended a home improvement show in San Jose, California. My contractor and I spoke to the sales rep. and asked if Imperial could build a island to the contractor design. I was assured they could.
The order was placed and paid in full. Drawing was sent to imperial and island was in production and received two phone calls from Imperial to set and confirm a delivery date of 11/8/06.
10/8/06 I received a phone call stating my order was going to be delayed because the company was merging with another company and that someone would be contacting me in 3 days. With no response and several call to Imperial I made contact with Mike from Imperial. He assured me they had all the material but the delay was because of the merger with Island Outdoor Bar-B-Que. No money could come in and going out for 30 days my order would be delayed 60 to 90 day beyond the original due date, and Imperial would wave the cost of the $350.00 upgrade I requested. The delay was unacceptable to me if it was more that 30 days . I asked for information about this company. Mike knew nothing. Several days later Imperial sets a new delivery date is set for 11/17/06.
11/14/06 another phone call from Imperial telling me my side burner is back order.
11/17/06 30 minutes before delivery I found on the web that Imperial is being may be sued for non payment to their suppliers.
As well as another complaint. /URL removed/ And I could not find any information on Island Outdoor Bar-B-Que. The Island arrives and does not match drawing sent. by my contractor. I am in a panic and ended up accepting the island because fearing that I would lose my money be without an island .
11/19/06 Another call to Imperial for the owner manual on stove an installation instruction. June and Mike both stated that my warranties would be voided if I did not get a professional to install the unit. Mike has no clue when the backorder will be delivered. As of this date I have made numerous phone calls as well as my contractor for to obtain manual, installation instruction and warranties that I have not received. I had to postpone the installer and city inspector for signoff of backyard project . All I have a $5200.00 island with a hole in the counter stove that is not operable. Your limited lifetime warranties only exist upon request. Without the warranty how do you know what you need to do to conform to it if Imperial will not send it to you.
Kathy from Fremont, Ca.
P.S. This is to Phil Bovard. There is enough information in this letter that you can Identify who I am and call me if you wish. I don’t want you to thinks I am just another anonymous anyone. If you should make good on my request and backorder soon and my permit is cleared. I will follow up and state that on this forum.
To the consumer: Beware!! In my opinion they are Bad News.
A  10th of Jan, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
In late January 2006, we ordered a BBQ Island from Imperial Outdoor Living. We were required to put a $2900 deposit. Our pool construction was delayed so we informed Imperial. We were told no problem. In November we received a call from Imperial informing us that they were merging with another company and our order would be delayed until around the second week of January 2007. They also offered a "free upgrade (lighting) or $250 off the price".

I have tried calling Imperial all week and have left numerous voice messages along with a FAX. No response. The answering machine indicates they were closed for the Holidays and would re-open for business on January 8 and would return all calls within 24 hours. I'm still waiting...still no response.

Customer Service and it appears business practices are lacking. Will be contacting friends I have at the California Department of Consumer Affairs and the Attorney General's Office if no response by Tuesday (Jan 16). Give them enough rope.....
A  12th of Jan, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
These circumstances are unfortunate, and all too common. However, it is not difficult to research the numerous companies that sell at home shows. Buyers beware. Home shows are a haven for unscrupulous businesses. There are no internal policing measures by home show promoters. Check with your local BBB, or simply Google the company's name on the internet, before purchasing. I have been in business since 2000, and will no longer sell on the home show circuit. If you would like to review a company in this industry that takes care in how they interact with consumers, look up Soleil Hearth and Home on the Southland BBB website. We also hail from Rancho Cucamonga. Take a look at our website as well: www.outdooroasisbysoleil.com
A  18th of Jan, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I will be brief in saying that I like many other (Honest, American Taxypaying Citizens) have been SCAMMED!!! I have paid out of our pocket in earned money of $4,650.00 to Imperial Outdoor Living, Inc

Just in the last (2) days have found out that they have shut down there Business and VACATED the warehouse they occupied leaving it in sambles. According to the Property Manager they owe Rent
for the last (3 - 4 months). So where does that leave us???

I want everyone to know that I will do everything in my power to find PHILLIP W. BOVARD and KELLY RENEE BOVARD (Wife) and bring them to justice. All I want is for the public to know of there wrong doing and most of all for myself and others is to just retrieve our hard working money back or at least the product agreed to per there agreement.
A  22nd of Jan, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I too put a deposit on a bbq island at a homeshow. I received several calls to place my island into production and pay the remainder. I asked for color samples and they never showed. I have been calling daily and getting the out for the holidays message. I am interested in working with anyone to recover our money.
A  23rd of Jan, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
We have been scammed by the same ### for over $2,000.00. I think realistically none of us will see our money but I will participate in every effort anyone starts to send these people to prison, where they belong for a long time. They WILL do it again, and perhaps we can flag these folks with every home show and business bureau, as well as the feds. Also, the media would be very interested in home show scam artists like these, and they need to be publicly 'outed' and shamed for taking all of our money. We can make their lives a living Hell and they deserve nothing less. Count us in. If anyone knows an attorney perhaps a class action law suit would be a start. Regardless, these larvae need to be locked up.
A  24th of Jan, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Went to the Spring Home show in Visalia last year (which is up coming again) and found a vender called Imperial Outdoor Living. My wife and I placed a down payment for an outdoor kitchen island that costs us a total of around $8,000 (to be paid in 3 installments). Around June they requested for me to give 2nd payment to place my order into production and if I did they would give me a discount. I called them around Aug. to schedule a delivery date and was told that the company was being bought out and that they have stopped production and will not restart till February then I asked for a refund. After several phone calls they stated to me that they will deliver the kitchen to me but the side burner is on back order. Late November they delivered my kitchen and still charged me for the side burner that has not been delivered. Received my credit card statement and noticed they charged my credit card twice for the last payment. Called the company and they stated it was my problem and that I was lying to them even though I faxed them the credit card statement to them and highlighted the charges. I then called my credit card company and they are trying to work out the charges. Till this day I have not received the side burner and when I call the company all I get is message that they will be back from the Holidays on January 8th. Since then I have been calling every day and still same message. Called the event manager for the Spring Home show in Visalia that is a company from San Francisco and they stated that Imperial outdoor living is no longer a vender because they have been flagged by the BBB with a grade of F. The event manager did give me the owner’s cell phone number that I have called everyday for the past week which his message does state that he returns his calls with 24 hours but still to this day has not called me and now when I call it states that his voice mail is full. Today found this website

http://www.lapatio.com/index.asp?PageAction=Custom&ID=12 &gclid=CMurnLH--YkCFRT2YAodsR7kSw

and talked with Carlos that states that he has received over 20 phone calls that other have the same problems that I do and states that over half of them have never received any products from Imperial Outdoor Living. Per Carlos a large amount of people have lost over $8000 and have nothing to show for it. Carlos gave me another phone number of a lady named Pam that is filing a lawsuit.
A  24th of Jan, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
This is to ALL Customers who have been SCAMMED like myself and have posted their stories on this complaint board. I am desperately trying to contact each one of you via email but having no luck due to error messages (parse error, syntax error). I am actively working with Pam to bring Imperial Outdoor Living to justice.

We are complying a list of names (which is growing by the minute) with the intention of proceeding with legal action.

We must put a stop to this NOW, we are all hard working taxpaying citizens who just put our trust in someone who has misrepresented himself and his Company.

If you would like to see justice served and maybe we have a chance of getting some of our money back, Please contact me at my email.
A  24th of Jan, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I too have lost out on $2,672.50. I put a $1,000.00 deposit down on a grill, from Imperial Outdoor Living, at a home show in Tucson, AZ in April of 2006. In June of 2006 I received a call asking me if I would like to start production of my grill, that they would need half of the balance due, $1,672.50, which I agreed to. I have been calling the office number daily and getting the same message as everyone else. I would be more than glad to see these ### brought to justice. Count me in on any sort of law suit.
A  25th of Jan, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
This is to customers going to the home shows. You need to be leary of the seller also. I feel I was a "lucky purchaser". In Oct 2006, at the home show on the Del Mar Fairgrounds in San Diego CA, we purchased a "display model" and a BBQ cover was to come with it. The contract said everything was to be delivered within 4-16 weeks because it had to be made. But the seller, Paul, said everything was there and would be delivered the day after the show ended. He gave us his cell number and told us to call if there were questions. When they delivered the BBQ the umbrella was the wrong color and there was no BBQ cover. I called the Paul and found he was a real estate agent! He was making some extra money at the home show. He had no real authority over anything and I had to actually call Imperial Outdoor Living. I called to ask about the umbrella cover and about the BBQ cover, had to leave a message. I had called a total of 5 different times. I spoke with Jen twice with a promise that Mike would call me back. On the last call she transfered me to Jon who took the info and promised I would have the cover within a few weeks as it had to be made. No cover has been delivered as of this date and when I called today I also found the company is no longer in existence. While I am not out the large amount of money that others are I feel that my order is not complete. Please add me to the list of people who want to join your legal battle. I also checked out the above given web site for LA patio who are also complaining about Imperial Outdoor Living Inc. Called them at 11:30am on a Wed. They were closed but I left a msg!
A  25th of Jan, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I have owner's cellphone number. Of course no answer but have been leaving massages 909-208-6047
A  30th of Jan, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I am fully against this company. They owe me thousands of dollars and slandered me. They are currently being under investigation, all of the owners assets are up for sale around Rancho Cucamonga. Eviction notices are on the company's door along with small claims court paperwork. The owner used to drive a Range Rover and now he drives a Geo Metro OR something along those line. The owner is an extreme alcoholic and addicted to cigarettes and is also very fond of gambling. I hope to see this guy in jail for what he did to me personally and all the innocent customers. Phil is self destructing and so is Imperial Outdoor Living and HE knows it! He is trying to keep this company afloat but has absolutely no cash. Phil, please do yourself a favor and just end it all. Everyone knows you are a greedy, unfortunate sole and doesn't deserve time here with us. END IT! And also his business partner Louie....GO AFTER THIS GUY! He is just as guilty as Phil! All the employees are drug addicts. I've seen them in Reno using in a Hotel ROOM. The Black guy Brenden smokes crack all day! and his partner Chris is on heroin! And Matt is another draggy and beats his kids on drugs! This company is fueled on drugs and convicts! Please help to make everyone associated with imperial outdoor living goes down!!!!
A  31st of Jan, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Like so many others I have been burned by Imperial Outdoor Living. My wife and I went to the Visalia Home show in Feb 06 and put a $1,000 deposit on an island. In June we called and scheduled delivery of our unit and sent 50% of the remainder owed. Our island was scheduled to be delivered in October due to their "backorders". The day before the scheduled delivery I got a call that they were not coming. In November I got a call and was told all production had been halted and the island would not be delivered until sometime this spring. I have been calling and have also gotten the out for the holidays message. I am pissed and out the money we have put down so far approximately $4,500. I have also seen that this company is scheduled to be in at a home show in San Diego in September of this year. I will be calling the local district attorney in Tulare County and filing a complaint.
A  2nd of Feb, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I too am a victim of Imperial Outdoor Living! My husband and I put a deposit of $1584.00 down on an island bbq in Santa Rosa at the Home And Garden Show in March of 2006. Our friends also purchased the same unit. Our friends were fortunate enough to receive their island in June of 2006. They are still awaiting a proper working side burner. However, we on the other hand received a phone call from Imperial once a month offering us a special deal if we were to opt to go into production. Finally in September 2006 we opted to go into production, paid 50% of the balance due = an additional $1600.00 and were to receive a bbq cover for the entire island along with upgrades at wholesale pricing. Our delivery date was to be at the end of December 2006. Then was switched to early January, 2007. After unanswered calls to their office, I called the Rancho Cucamonga Police department and filed a complaint. An officer did some investigative work on our behalf. The results were: Imperial was evicted from their facility due to back rents of approximately $40k. The officer witnessed Mathew Vandigriff transferring bbq units to a new facility on behalf of Philip Bovard. Mathew states that he no longer works for Philip that they are acquaintances. None the less, Phillip has units being stored at a new location. I spoke briefly with Phillip before our line was conveniently dropped. Phillip stated that it was a bad year for him and that he put $500k of his own money into the company. He also stated that he had no employees and was looking to rebuild with a new investor. He has yet to return any of my calls. If anyone needs to reference my report it is on file with the Rancho Cucamonga Police Department, RC070450168 with Deputy Ward (909) 477-2800. filed on January 15, 2006
N  2nd of Feb, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Oops, the report was filed on January 15, 2007!
N  2nd of Feb, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I to was victimized by these crooks. I’m out close to $12,000 for a custom island and fireplace. My wife and I were at a show in Las Vegas where we met 2 of the owners (Louie Gutierrez and Phil Bovard). They both proudly introduced themselves as the owners and personally guaranteed that we would be 110% satisfied. They both looked like really good guys, at the time. I also made the mistake of paying in full (to get all the free perks). Since then, like everybody else. No return calls, still on holiday vacation. Being that they have soooo much of my money, I decided to invest a bit more and try to find these crooks who have taken our money. Yes, I hired someone to find some information for me and so far this is what has been found.
Legal and Invested Owners:
Luis and Tracy Gutierrez
5433 Amethyst st. Alta Loma, 91734
Home (909) 989-2689

Phil W. and Kelly R. Bovard (Divorcing) Phil’s infidelity in Las Vegas (stripper) and on/off affair with Luly Armienta (also owner)
No confirmed home address, continues to move into new homes with our money.
Cell (909)208-6047

Mathew XXX
He invested a lot of money into this company. By all means he is just not an acquaintance. He also very clearly stated at home shows that he IS an owner (according to other customers my investigator contacted). He is very much still involved with the company. Cell# (951)258-7077

Luly Armienta
2940 Las Marias Ave.
Hacienda Heights, 91745
Home (626) 333-1668 / (562) 945-9933 / Cell (562) 900-5606 Don’t let the little girls voice fool you on the voicemail, it is her cell.
She also invested a large amount of money into this company and was given a few show rooms for her to own and manage. “Imperial Custom BBQ’s and More” being one. She also flaunted her ownership at home shows (according to other customers my investigator has contacted).

Since the collapse of Imperial Outdoor Living and yes, being evicted. They’ve opened up shop at a new location under Luly Armienta’s show room name of “Imperial Custom BBQ’s and More” using the location for storage purposes. With Luis and Phil signing the lease agreement and Luly as the contact.
9017 Arrow Rte
Rancho Cucamonga, 91730

They are currently running operations from Luly Armienta’s residence (see above for address) You can see that they have even registered this new phantom business with the Better Business Bureau. Don’t be fooled, it’s the same crooks out to scam more innocent people! My investigator has been tracking and following the 6 Imperial officers. When I have more details on these individuals, then and only then am I going to take it the San Bernardino D.A. and file every charge against Imperial, the 6 officers and any new investors they con into investing. This is the only way I MIGHT get a few pennies back.
N  5th of Feb, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I to have been scammed like so many others. Maybe not to the degree of many others but every dollar scammed is wrong and is a crime. We went to the Home Show in Fresno, Ca on June 11, 2006 where we unfortunately came into contact with salesman Matt V. of Imperial Outdoor Living. We liked there display model and decided to enter into a contract with them. We put a deposit of $1,615 down to hold what we thought was a very good price.

We called them in August 2006 spoke with woman named June to put our island into production and asked if it would be guaranteed ready and delivered first part of October 2006. They couldn't guarantee us so we decided to not put into production at that time, didn't want it sitting all winter long. Then around mid September and into October Imperial was calling our house leaving messages suggesting we put island into production offering discounts and/or free accessories. We just ignored the calls.

Then one evening we were home and they called making same offer. Told them we didn't want to put into production till January 2007. The guy on the phone was very persistent (sorry can't remember his name). We told him we had originally wanted it delivered in mid October but since they could not do that we were planning on holding off till first of the year. He said that they had slowed down and if we named the date he would have it to us no problem. We told him no offense but that we did not believe that statement because some friends of ours had a heck of a time getting there island bbq. There delivery date kept changing and besides that we weren’t in a hurry anymore at that time for it. He got upset and kept telling us to give him a chance, that he was the new I think delivery manager or something like that. But we didn’t budge with our decision and he was very upset, but then the phone calls stopped.

The friends I mentioned live in Arizona, they received there island bbq the second week of July 2006 with a big hole in it where the burner was to be. Imperial told them the burner was on backorder and they would get it. After many calls and many promises on Imperials part our friends still didn’t have there burner. Then in early December 2006 Imperial promised to send them one out fed ex, again another lie. They called around the holidays to hear that message we have all heard, “they were closed through the holidays and would be back for business on January 8th, 2007". They left messages on there machine and when they didn’t get back to our friends, they called us and said “we think there’s a problem with this company, you better start seeing what you can do to get your money back”. That is when we realized we were in trouble.

If you have been scammed by these people please don’t sit back and let them take your money. Do something about it like many of us are right now. The only way to stop ### like this is to go after them and not let them get away with there illegal and immoral actions against honest hard working Americans like yourselves.

So please contact Lupe Mendoza, she has a complaint listed here and you can contact her. She will be able to help you out with info on what to do.
A  7th of Feb, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
We were also scammed by these crooks. We put a deposit on our $4,600 unit back in August and were called last December to pay the additional funds to put the unit into production. We bought our unit from Chris Ades at the Phoenix home show. We were told that if we paid in full, we would get a cash discount, so I did. I had no idea any of this was going on until yesterday when I called to see when they would be delivering the unit. Needless to say, I'm not holding my breath.

I was able to work with my credit card company to dispute the charge. They told me that if I never receive the merchandise, I will have an excellent chance of winning my dispute, at which time, the amount would be credited back to me and the credit card company would then assume the obligation of going after these guys.

My credit card company has a 60 day policy, and I fortuitously called to dispute the claim on the 60th day. Anyways, if anybody has paid with a credit card, call your credit card company immediately and see if there's any recourse through that avenue.
A  11th of Feb, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
We put a $1000 deposit on a bbq island on7-30-2006 at the Visalia show. By doing so we were told that we have within one year to begin construction on the unit. Like everyone else, we too were calling and getting the message of being closed for the holidays until 1-8-2007.

We were also given a list of employers names and phone numbers which I tried calling several times. Most were disconnected and the numbers that weren't did not return the messages I left, including the owner, P. Bovard.

I have called the BBB and the Chamber of Commerce.The Bankruptcy Court of Riverside County already knew what company I was describing before I could even finish my sentence!

I would like for us to be added to the list of people to the class action suit.
A  16th of Feb, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
The guys who run this company, even though they refuse to put anything under their name and hide behind various relatives (wives, soon to be ex-wife, aunt, mother in laws, etc.), continue to take customers' money and buy lavish material items - expensive cars, trips to Europe, condos, etc. with no intention on delivering the product.

They set up their first company, Imperial Outdoor Products, ran up huge bills and went BK. Ask Fire Magic about a large bill they stiffed them with. Now, they collect as much "cash deals", spend it all, don't declare it to the IRS, then plan to BK this company (since it is no longer in their name).

Beware, they will attempt to do this again under another company name (whether it be the current partnership with Fantasy Islands or another name). Do not buy anything associated with Phil Bovard and/or Louie Gutierrez.

Post your Comment


Reply to