The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Elite Diesel Engineering / Horrible Costumer Relations

1 85 N. Silicon Dr.Pueblo West, CO, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 719-647-8518

My 2004 Dodge Diesel pickup’s transmission failed on Nov. 9th, 2009 in Colorado Springs. I had made arrangments with Elite Diesel in Pueblo that my truck could get done in a timley matter, being that i needed to get back to California. This transmission was under warranty with a shop in California. I should of not had to pay anything for a rebuilt transmission again; under warranty. Elite Diesel charged me over $200 for unnecessary charges. They did not inform be from the bigenning that I would have to pay anything or when my truck was going to be done.
I had expectations that the transmission work would take a week or 2. Even at 2 weeks you were still unable to tell me an estimate or completion date. I reminded Elite Diesel many times that I needed to return to California
I was stranded in Colorado for 5 weeks. Elite Diesel was fully aware that I was a California resident, and that I needed my truck to return home. I was told by Elite Diesel on Dec. 4th, 2009 that they were “booked for 6 months”. I decided that I need to fly home and fulfill my obligations in California. Elite Diesel notified me on December 14th, 2009 that my truck was finished. I was able to fly to Colorado on Dec. 21st, 2009 to recover my truck.
The time necessary for the truck repairs was extravagant, highly inconvenient and never relayed to myself.

Dr
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Wh
      29th of Jun, 2010
    -1 Votes

    So let me get this right...you took your truck to a shop in CA and the tranny failed. But rather than taking it back to the company who made the mistake, you took it to a completely different company in a totally different state? They told you they were booked for 6 months, but you chose to leave it with them anyway? Seems like a no brainer to me, but who am I to judge? I'm just wondering what you expected to happen? Should they have just pushed all the other customers ahead of you aside? And now you're upset because you had to pay $200 for a company to fix something that wasn't their mistake? It sounds like your living in lala land, buddy! Wake up and join the real world!

  • Wi
      1st of Sep, 2010
    0 Votes

    I wish i had time to fully explain my experience with elite diesel but i feel i've wasted enough time and energy on this matter. For all the supporters of elite diesel who so smuggly are saying "then why are you writing about " i respond by saying, if i save one individual the most excruciating, time consmming, financially draining expercience of doing bussniess a.k.a GETTING SCREWED by this elite diesel than i have saved one person from going through the most aggravating experience of there life !! All i'm trying to say is the gentlemen from california has a very legitimate complaint. I'm sure as with the gentleman from californa we are not asking for special treatment, nor work at a back breaking or discounted rate, just the ETHICAL, and professionalism you expect from a so called business.

  • Po
      12th of Sep, 2010
    -1 Votes

    ETHICAL!?!?!?! You talk about ethical? you may want to mention the fact that part of your crappy experience had to do with the fact that your vulgarity and disrespect to the women who work for elite diesel caused the owner to threaten to drag your unfinished truck out in the street and get an impound company to deal with it. Is the $200 SCREWING the fee I charged you to wash the truck? To those who don't know, I personally washed enough mud off of the truck to easily fill 8 5 gallon buckets with what came off. It wasn't even clean at that point, but took about 3 hours to do so. I guess that's what I would expect from an idiot who abuses their vehicle to the point where the dried mud packed in the steering linkage causes it to be near impossible to steer.

    Just a piece of advice; don't piss off the people working on your truck if you want it fixed promptly at a good price.

  • Ar
      20th of Jan, 2011
    0 Votes

    im a csutomer of elite diesel.. they have always been real understanding and knowledgeable in reguards to my upgrades done on my truck and my wifes truck.. if i had to choose between any diesel shop that knows there stuff and is fair with the prices, elite would be my one stop...99..7.3 05..6.0 stroken...

  • Ss
      2nd of Apr, 2011
    +1 Votes

    If that was the most aggravating experience of your life then you have got it pretty easy. I consider that pretty easy compared to what me and my fellow Soldiers have been through. Elite is always fully booked, why? Because they're good. I have my truck down there now and it's going to be squeezed in where they can but I don't expect it to be back too soon. It's like walking into a restaraunt that is fully booked and asking to sit at a table between the times, you gotta expect that the reserved (or in their case scheduled customers) are going to get priority.

  • Di
      5th of Apr, 2011
    0 Votes

    i love this, you guys think you got it bad how about this, i am from missouri . i paid elite diesel to come get my truck and bring it to there shop cause all the research was they were a good and knowledgable shop and produced there own parts ect, , my truck ran great when i sent it to them the only issue was the ever know resivor pucking of antifreeze when you really get in it, other then that the truck ran great, so they came and got it almost 4 years ago from this date 4-3-11 while it was there we decided to go full build we installed cam, pistons, injectors, complete fuel system, twin turbos, 10 phantom gauages, oil coolers, methanol injection and nitrous witch has yet to be used cause iam scared the truck will blow apart, anyways all the bells and whistles ect... 1st off it took them almost 4 years to biuld a engine, , wooow, during the time it was there i had to practicly fight to get to talk to someone and get ahold of people to see the statis of my truck, it was a 4 year damn mess . i told them from the start i want to tow with this truck and would like to have around 600 hp at rear wheels before the nitrous kicks in, so from the get go they new i needed to be able to tow a big race trailer with this truck, i get to colorado the other day to finally pick my truck up from pueblo, co . we go for a test drive and the truck has no bottom end power whatsoever, to pull into traffic would be suicide especially with my 18, 000 lbs trailer . we drove it here and there and we were at the shop for about 4 hours figuring certain things out and i was not happy, so i get the truck and start heading home and wouldnt you know it the truck is pucking antifreeze all down the side of my cab under the frame all over, egt are running over 1200 degrees, the turbos wont spool up untill you rev the engine and try to keep it above 22-23hundred rpms if so it falls flat on its face, on top of that there is exhuast leaks at passenger side and smell it in the cab, these turbos are so big they dont belong on a street tow truck they belong on a sled pull truck, one turbo is 80mm the other is 65 or 70 mm, how the hell are you gonna spool those unless at every stop sign and stop light you break torque it and spool the turbos to at least 2200 rpms so how the hell can people be on here standing up for elite diesel when all i see is crap in front of me actually $34, 000 thousand dollars worth of crap that i paid them for what was supposed to be good work well i cant tell, all i can say is if this is the work they do id rather walk ... i geuss we will see what type of response i get from the e mail with all the issues that are wrong with the truck, but iam glad i own my own company cause if not my lawyers will have a field day with this crap tastic job, i really had the most worst exsperience in my intire life at elite diesel, and if anyone wants to challenge that please do cause i have e mails and recordings ect .. and days they asked for payment and i did my part but they shure as hell havent done theres cause if so why is my truck having all these problems and by the way, when i stop on a hill and then start again it wont move just makes wind noise and little at that, TURBOS ARE TO BIG GENIUSS, , , , , ITS NOT A STRIP TRUCK ITS A DAILY DRIVER FOR TOWING, , , ANY EXSPLANATIONS

  • Ss
      5th of Apr, 2011
    0 Votes

    That's too bad you had a bad experience and 4 years? That sucks. I would want an explanation and a fix, too.

  • St
      28th of Sep, 2012
    +1 Votes

    I agree, they have terrible customer service. They do not return calls, do not answer the phone and act like you are a jerk for inquiring on your order. Why do they think that it is ok to act like that and still be in business. They have an F rating at the BBB (the lowest possible. I wonder why? I wish I could cancel my order, but they processed my CC payment 2 months ago but have never shipped. Always and excuse or just say they have no idea why??? You can defend them/yourself all you want to but what you are doing is wrong and very bad customer service!!!

    I did finally talk to someone after trying for almost an hour to get someone on the phone and I got attitude for wanting to find out what is going on, There is no reaseon for acting like this to a customer. EVER!!!

  • Bi
      28th of Dec, 2012
    0 Votes

    I agree completely. They are swindelers. I just went through a similar experience with Elite. Its not over yet and I wont let them up. They screwed my family out of our summer and 24 thousand dollars so far not including the second build, freight, airfare, 25 days in hotel fees, and food. The truck has a cracked block and they wont let anyone else work on it so they tell me to ship it back 1100 miles. Albeit thats cheap. Started out to be a( 2 week ) build absolute worst case scenario they said, isnt that true JD? They even fired you and the CO-owner to cover their buns or was that for damage control. They even told me what hotel I could stay in while I waited for the truck. They ask me If I would chip away at the bill numerous times before the truck even had the new motor in it. They now have 16K towards the truck, its been there for 8 days and they tell me to fly home because their gonna need a few extra days. They dont get this truck done till October 1st--51 total days later and complete deceit along the way. Aside from it barely making it home with an oil leak and a weird noise noticed when it was at the shop, im back where i started. These guys failed miserably on their bid, then over billed me and didnt even have the decency to tell me they were thousands over and months over their absolute worst case scenario following numerous requests for an itemized update. Thats just basic customer service from the Automobile Repair Act of CO. They still had time to make it out of state to the drag races, family vacations and a trip to the water park the first day of my build date. They send me a 22 second video of the truck running without oil pressure showing. Sorry they tell me, but it had 3 or 4 psi or it wouldnt have started. Thats gotta be good for a new build. They said once the truck starts they will need two more days to break it in and tune it. They called me on 09/13 and said they had good news for me. They said the motor is runnin. Then immediately asked me to start chipping away at the bill again. Mind you they already had 16k in their pockets from back in mid August. They said they wouldnt do anymore on the truck till i squared up on the bill. I thought it was almost paid till I got their inflated bill they sent me. More deceit. I show up on 09/20 to see whats up. This was my second flight, once home because they cant keep their time frame and now back because they arent ever going to finish this thing unless im watching. By 09/24 they finally decide to tell me that they cant make oil psi on the bottom end. So theyve narrowed it down to possibly oil galley plugs in the back of the back of the block. Were gonna need to pull the trans to check but theirs a truck on the hoist so yours will be another day. They figure it out and blame the machinist. One of ( four ) machinists that worked on this engine. Then try to BS their way out of it. They make over 65psi boost with compounds on it and blow the head gaskets out of it. Nice fire rings you told me to exclude from the build. You guys blew up the radiator and the recovery tank and drove it back from the freeway test run with steam blowing out of the fender wells. Glad I was standing there to see that. They tried to luer me back up front with a phone call to buy more coolant and a serpentine belt they said let loose and knocked the radiator hose off. Just total deceit all the way around. They replace the radiator with a piece of trash chinese model when I had a two year old oem replacement in it. The work was just piss poor and incomplete. You gotta see the rubber hose hose clamped above and below the trans dipstick tube they failed to repair. The airfilter i just purchased from them wore a couple holes in itself on the ride home. Like i said (piss poor). Its the end of the year now and the truck is still broken and they wont send another motor or come get the truck. They told me to get the noise diagnosed and they would pay for it. They didnt even pay the other diesel shop out here so i had to carry them again for 170.00. They left out a machined exhaust housing that was made for my 38r so the truck wouldnt make as much power. Wayne said they might exchange it with me after i put about 10K on the motor (almost all the way through the warranty) and do a hot re torque on the heads. They said it made 700 at the wheels according to three members ( Anthony ) you were the first to say it genious. Then the others said the same thing, you can try and denigh it but I have good ears shall we say. I didnt even mention the day you picked up a customers truck, you shouldnt have been driving, The truck i towed out there. You dont even want to open that door. Then they re calculated this to about 650rwhp ish, then they tell me now it is detuned to 500 rwhp and max boost is 40 psi or I void my warranty. We go for a ride and it makes 40 psi in my tow setting. Hows it gonna do with a trailer behind it towing, more boost as you would assume. Dont have to worry about the trailer, the truck never made it that far. I was told I was only allowed to use my tow tune or stock setting after they promised me numerous times that they would tune the truck. There was a ts tuner overnight shipped to Elite and they still didnt tune it. Isnt that right B--P-----. Wayne also tells me its making a weird noise some times, we think its a waste gate rubbing the fire wall. See what you find when you get time he says. It does this all the way home from CO. and its only getting louder. Its sitting in my backyard with a blown motor as I type. They put 300 ish miles on it kickin its ### with my jasper trans behind it thats slippin like hell now. Then they used my oil and filter so they wouldnt get boned on an oil change. I drove it home putting 1100 miles on it just hoping it would make it. Here it sits
    Thank you Elite These guys cant say I didnt give them everything they asked and more than was originally agreed upon by many thousands over. Even bought pizza a couple times and taco bell for the shop
    Never been so misled and screwed over--Save yourself the heartache and find someone else thats not robbin peter to pay paul. These guys are not who you want workin on your daily driver and if its for towing make sure you go somewhere else.
    Im just a civil servant that has a whole new appreciation for getting screwed
    NEW YEARS RESOLUTION----STAY AWAY FROM ELITE DIESEL ENGINEERING
    DO YOU SEE A PATTERN HERE
    ITS ALL OVER THE DIESEL WORLD
    PS no wonder you didnt want anyone to go through the motor-you didnt build it to the specifications as promissed
    Were not done

  • Oi
      17th of Nov, 2013
    0 Votes

    I AGREE!! Elite diesel is a JOKE! They had my truck for three weeks just to do a simple bullet proof kit. Not to mention they took MY truck to Colorado Springs to get parts for there shop...and put well over 200 hundred miles on the truck!! Three weeks later I go to get my truck and the fuel light is on! I brought the truck in with well over half a tank! All of my tires had been badly damaged from them driving into curbs...apparently they can't drive let alone run a diesel shop! I strongly urge anyone thinking about doing business with Elite Diesel Engineering to THINK AGAIN!! THESE GUYS WONT EVEN COME CLOSE TO THE PRICE THEY QUOTE YOU, about $2, 500 more than the quote . Don't use these guys they are a joke and DO NOT have your best interest in mind!

  • Oi
      17th of Nov, 2013
    0 Votes

    Oh and one more big thanks to Elite Diesel for wasting my time ! YOU GUYS ARE A JOKE, And I doubt if you will be in business much longer due to the way you treat your customers

  • No
      19th of Mar, 2014
    0 Votes

    i had a bad experiance also i spent 20+k in performance 6.4 parts in aug-sept 2012 and got a run around about parts not showing up i got most of the parts within 6 months witch is terrible but i got my twin fuel pump kit in December of 2013 witch is 14 months and i just go my last part today a z-max intake manifold today march 19th 2014 a full 18 months after ordering and paying for it and let me tell you the manifold looks like a high school hack built it they used to cut the top off and port the inside and weld sheet alum back on top now they just drill down threw the bolt holes and dont do any port work inside the manifold i own a diesel shop and will never sell any of their parts and i have had people ask about their parts and i told them Ill put the parts on but im not ordering them and told them of my experience i had and then I got parts for them from swamps diesel performance or river city diesel they give you good service and good parts ELETE DIESEL SUCKS !!! yours truely norm im sure Levy and Thad at EDE know my name they had to listen to me complain enough

  • Bi
      24th of Jun, 2014
    0 Votes

    I am in the same situation as a lot of these other guys. Shipped my truck from Chicago to them back in December 2013 for a EDE Stage 1 motor for my 09' Ford 6.4 liter. Its now June 2014 and still no truck. I wish I did my homework before sending them a initial down payment of $3k to "Reserve a time slot" then sending them a check for almost $12k which was not the full amount. Then I got excuse after excuse of why they had not completed the build etc. We are almost at 8 months and I still do not have my truck back. I was informed that it was finished roughly the first week of June and that they wanted to drive it for a week or two to check over it etc. I then got an email stating it was good to go and I could fly out to pick it up. I set up airfare to fly to Denver on Tuesday 6/24, then I received a phone call at 5:00pm Monday the 23rd. Now it is leaking oil so they have to pull the motor back out again and can not give me a finish date again. It doesn't help that the initial quote was missing $5-6 in parts and labor. I don't even know what my options are at this point. I can not believe that people do business this way. I am truly disgusted by the whole ordeal. What I am really afraid of is any future problems with the motor, and if I am even getting what I paid for.

  • Po
      9th of Nov, 2014
    0 Votes

    sent my truck to Maryland performance diesel, close to 40, 000 build. very professional service, truck turned out better then expected. call those guys they can help you

  • Da
      26th of Jan, 2015
    0 Votes

    I agree the owner Tad is a thief. Short of holding a gun to you Elite Diesel will rob you. I purchased brand new EDE fuel injectors for my 6.0PSD and sent them my up pipes for modes. After 8 months of waiting and calling ( they claimed the parts were in stock when I placed the order) their shop closed and moved to Auroa. Finally after the credit card co called and said they were going to reverse the charges they sent out some used injectors from their race truck that didn't work. They were suppost to have a 2 year warranty. But when I called I would get put on hold for hours and listen to them talk sh in the background. As far as my up pipes (that I paid for the modes to be done up front) 4 years later still haven't received them. That's just a bit of my nightmare dealing with them the story and parts listed could go on and on. Thanks davidhaislip@ymail.com

Post your comment