The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Bassett Furniture Direct / customer service and refund policy

1 8597 Sancus BlvdColumbus, OH, United States
Contact information:
Phone: 614-468-0122

5/10/09 – Purchased table and six chairs. Informed the purchase would be delivered in 30-45 days.

6/10/09 – Called store to inquire about the status of our order. Was informed by Cherel Cairns that Dee Mangulins would call me back with this information.

6/12/09 – By 4:00pm no return call. I called and spoke to Ms. Mangulins and she tells me that the order is at the dock and should be shipped to their warehouse on 6/16/09 and that delivery would be within the next few days after that.

6/18/09 – Called to inquire about status of delivery. Was told by Ms. Mangulins that she would check into it and call me back.

6/19/09 – By 4:00pm no return call. Spoke to Ms. Mangulins and was informed that the table was at the dock, but the chairs were not. She informed me that the chairs should be at the dock by 6/23/09 and that delivery would be within the next few days after that.

6/24/09 – Called to inquire about status of delivery. Was told by Ms. Mangulins that she would send an email to get the status of order and call me back with the results.

6/25/09 – By 4:00pm no return call. Spoke to Ms. Mangulins again and was told that she did not make in on the shipment for 6/23/09, but would definitely be on the truck for 6/29/09 and delivery that week. I informed her that this was now the third time a delivery was promised and if it was not delivered by 7/3/09 that I would be very upset and would demand satisfaction.

7/2/09 – By 2:00pm no call in regards to a delivery. Called to speak to Ms. Mangulins and was told that she had the day off. I spoke to Cherel Cairns to inquire about my order and the anticipated delivery. I was placed on hold for a short time. Tanya Newland came on the phone to inquire about my call. I told her I wanted to know when my order would be delivered. I was told by Ms. Newland that the only information that she had was that the factory did not have any of the chairs in stock at the time of my order was placed. That the factory had received the supply and that my order was now in production. However she could not make contact with the factory because they were shut down due the holiday. I informed her that I was very upset at this news and why had this information not been conveyed to me in earlier conversations. She tells me that I had not talked to her. I told her she was correct, however Ms. Mangulins or Ms Cairns could have given me this information over the last several weeks to keep me informed. At this point I told her I wanted to speak to the owner. She told me she would have him call me at my home number by 6:00pm. At 4:30pm a Mary Pieper called my wife’s cell phone and left a voice mail to call her back by 5:00pm, as she would be out of the office until 7/4/09. I tried to reach Ms. Pieper at 5:15pm, but was not able to make contact. At 6:15pm I again called Ms. Mangulins and told her that I would cancel the order for failure to deliver on time and to issue a full refund to may Bassett Credit Account. She told me that she was not authorized to issue refund and that I would have to speak to Ms. Pieper. At this point I am extremely upset and angry with the customer service that I have received and no longer want to conduct business with Bassett.

7/4/09 – Called to speak with Ms. Pieper at 11:00am and was informed that she was not feeling well and would not be in for the day.

7/6/09 – Called to speak with Ms. Pieper at 10:00am. I informed her of my dissatisfaction with delivery and that I wanted to cancel my order and a full refund issued to my Bassett Credit Account. She told my under no circumstances would she issue a refund or cancel the order. I informed her at that that time that I would like to speak to the owner of the company. She told me that she would not give me his name and that I could look it up myself on the internet. I told her that I would contact the Ohio Attorney General, Better Business Bureau, GE Money, and Bassett Corporation to lodge a complaint. She told me I could do what ever I wanted to do.
At this point I decided that it was best to no longer have any direct contact with Bassett Furniture Direct in Columbus or Louisville.

7/6/09 – Filed complaint with Ohio Attorney General, Better Business Bureau, and the GE Money. Wrote a letter to Robert H. Spilman, President and CEO of Bassett asking for his assistance.

Post your comment