Chuck Smiths Auto, LLCDishonest Dealer

W
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

On 06/08/09 I purchased a 1995 Sea hawk 5th Wheel Camper from Chuck Smiths Auto. Prior to the sale, I had asked the sales person Ron if there was any leaks and did everything work. He said there was no leaks at all and everything does work. I then asked him about the slider being open as it was and he said that it was that way to let it air out. I then said "Well if everything is OK, I'd be willing to buy it. So he brought me into the office to meet up with Maxine Smith, Co-Owner. I told her that Ron had shown me the camper and I then asked her again if everything works and any leaks, she stated no, everything works in the camper. I then said the reason I asked again is because it's not hooked up to try anything out to make sure, she then again assured me everything works. They advertised it on their web site for $7500 and I told her I'd make an offer of $5000. She said I'll call my husband to see what we could do on the price. She called Chuck and he said the lowest he would go is $6200. I said OK, and left a $1000. deposit and was to pay the rest up within 2 weeks. I paid it in full the next week and Ron delivered it to my house in Nashua in the driveway. I noticed that the slider was not in all the way and that was a concern I told them in a prior email before they delivered it. Ron and another guy (don't know his name, a young guy in his 20's), tried for a half an hour to fix the slider problem, They couldn't get it to close all the way like it should, so I told him to call Chuck (the owner)to see what he can do about this problem. Ron said Chuck was going to send a guy over to fix it. Ron said maybe after it's leveled off, it might close properly since the driveway was in a small pitch. I said I'd try that. Ron left and I proceeded to go to the rear of the camper to get the levelers jacked down. Could not find the leveler Handel to screw down> I called Chucks Auto to find out where the leveler handle was and Maxine told me it's in the trailer someplace. I looked again and called back but they did not answer my calls there after that day but called again the next day to tell them there wasn't one. I was told by Maxine they are cheap to buy. I then went back to try using a piece of steel and placed it into the leveler hole to move the jack down, the left side was completely rusted and would not move, the right one was broken already. So I could not level it out at all. I then went on line to find a replacement pair and purchased for $50. I the mean time, Chuck was to send a person over. A week went by and Chuck showed up himself to fix the slider. He told us that we are going to use a 2" x 4" piece of lumber and place it on the opposite side to bend it into place. I said "WHAT?" I then said it's time for you to leave and pointed him his way out. Now knowing that what they told me that everything works wasn't true. I had a feeling that more problems are not yet evident that they didn't tell me. So I had State Line Superstore pick up the camper for a complete inspection. It cost me $402.80 to have it checked out and the repairs would cost me $7500. Ron, Maxine, and Chuck all knew this was a piece of crap and they lied to me about it's condition. This is worse than a lemon, it's a rotten egg! I want Chuck to take this thing back and refund my money if full including the extra out of pocket costs. I was going to use this camper as a portable office this summer for my business, But I could not use it at all and now waiting for court. I'd rather settle this out of court and to avoid having his company seen as a bad business when when all this will be posted as a Public Notice Warning to the general public to see.

My Resolution to them:
I want Chuck to take this camper back and refund my money in full including the extra out of pocket costs. I had tried to settle out of court with them, but they did not respond.

It's quite evident - take a good look at thier web site alone (very unexperienced in web designing here, that would be the daughter I would presume). Under ABOUT US, you can not click onto that link... Hmmmm we wonder why?

Responses

  • Ch
    Chuck Smiths Auto Nov 12, 2009

    For 15 years you could google our name and have no negative feedback. Along comes Alan G. from Lighting by Aurora. He decides that he does not want the camper he purchased after nearly two months, he does not mention it to us and we get court papers and 1 nasty email. He then starts listing negative feedback on the internet stating he has "literally help close down 3 companies by posting bad business all over the web". Well, we had our day in court, Chuck Smiths Auto prevailed, he failed to show any fraud or deceit. So ordered, CASE CLOSED.
    We are a small fammily business, that prides ourselves on honesty and working with our customrs. We sell 500 cars a year and not one other customer has felt the need to speak negative and attempt to destroy our reputation.
    M Smith

    -6 Votes
  • Gu
    guyyourippedoff Oct 30, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The most unprofessional Dealer I have ever dealt with. There staff is very uneducated. They don't care about the consumer at all.Me and my wife bought a Honda civic from them for 5000.00, car ran great until 2 months later. The transmission failed. I cant afford a transmission, I have 2 kids and no transportation. I called them to tell them this happened and they basically said we can get you a dealers price on a transmission with no warranty. I was not satisfied, I basically told them to pay for it. They basically told me too bad. This was shocking considering they were very nice. They put on an act to get cars out there lot, they lie and say the cars run fine, but they dont. This family is a bunch of crooks. I hope they go out of buisness. They dont give a ### about there consumers. Please if you want a car go somewhere else. The owner has to have his wife answer calls for him because he is too much of a pussy to awnser them himself. f*** you...

    2 Votes
  • Ch
    Chuck Smiths trucks May 08, 2014

    We have sold over 7000 low priced used cars with little complaints. Even if purchased "as is" when complaints come in, we work with our customers, not add salt to the wound. NOW, The Civic ran & drove good, that"s why he purchased it . + Over 60 days later a busted trans. line (low fluid) lead to failure. This man buys a $7000- car for $5000- . He's told "as is" and signs 3 as is forms. Then puts kids that do not understand maintenance, or easy, safe driving skills of 100, 000+ mileage car. Then the car breaks and he refuse to except his "as is" agreement . Now we offer to install a $2400 transmission repair for $1200- our net cost. Always try to help a customer in need. Basically the man calls us names & swears to the point he is unreasonable. #1 In his complaint he reveals this attitude. + #2 complaint states, "we lie and say the cars run fine but they don't". + Why would he buy it if it didn't run & drive good.? There is always a couple of unreasonable people like this fellow. We do our best to resolve & help all folks who have the unpredictable break down even on high mileage low priced cars. Many customers have made us successful for over 20 years sales & service T/U Chuck Smith

    -8 Votes
  • Me
    melly7182 Mar 02, 2015

    I went to this dealership to look at a ford explorer and the guy German did not want to take it out of the snow to show us even though we called on a Saturday to let him know that we will be in on Monday to look at it. Instead of leaving with a ford explorer I left with a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica before I got to take the car home I had to wait for a madrual to be place in it cause they took it out of 1 car to put it in another car they were trying to sell. The guy German told us there was nothing wrong with it so when I took it to get brand new tires put on it nd get the oil chance done we noticed that the oil was black nd the cross member had a whole in it nd it was rusted out along with the frame on the drivers side. The struts and a couple censors were also messed up. Future wise I would not deal with this company again.

    0 Votes
  • Aq
    Aquarius128 Mar 05, 2015

    These people take advantage of hardworking middle class by selling them vehicles that are totally unsafe can't be driven and now we have a loan on something that we can't even drive have called, emailed and nothing ! Do Not Buy total scam artists

    5 Votes
  • N6
    N603W802 Feb 06, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought a 2003 Chevy Blazer from chuck smith's auto after seeing an ad for it online saying that it needed just new tires and a new battery. I went over and inspected it knowing that it needed a new battery we used a charging pack to start it up. It seemed to have run fine no DTCs when i plugged in a code reader, it had a big dent in the back and a couple minor body damages and some rust here and there it was also missing a door panel on the inside things that they never once mentioned at all. I Needed a vehicle and figured if those are the only issues then it'll be fine I'll use some weekends to fix them up. I ended up paying $650 for it and when I drove it home the MIL brake lights came on which is highly concerning due to the obvious dangers of bad brakes so I checked to ensure the parking brake was off which it was and checked the brake fluid levels just as a precaution and saw it didn't need any added, I plugged in a shop scan tool (I'm an auto technician) and saw that it needed a new thermostat and also that the abs control module needs to be replaced, on top of that the vehicle was dirty on the inside and on the outside... This dealership does not pay attention to detail very clearly because there were kid toys hidden in various pockets in the vehicle and gummy worm and various other food wrappers, cob webs in the vehicle, ripped papers in the trunk etc. what really disappointed me was there was an inspection sticker on it so I'm thinking the vehicle was already inspected and good to go BUT once I bought the vehicle a Guy named German scraped the inspection sticker off. That on top of the problems that were present were quite disappointing they were friendly and decent with customer service but lie about vehicle conditions, they communicated with me and each other in an extremely unprofessional manner and clearly don't give a dam about customers since My dam MIL brake lights were on I highly doubt they inspected the vehicle or did anything other than park it, otherwise they would've corrected the problem which could've been life threatening were my brakes to fail while driving I could've been killed. I am highly disappointed in my over all experience and i would not recommend any of my friends to go there for any reason and I myself will never do business there again. Truly unprofessional car salesmen regardless of what they say about their cars you simply can't believe them, they're out for the money and only the money they'll try and sell you anything as long as you have money. They don't care about anything but the possible money and profit they can make

    5 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Paolucci Jun 28, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm glad I read these complaints, it seems Mr. smith takes advantage of NH lax lemon laws, his excuses always seem to point Caveat emptor, which is a shifty way of doing business, there is no excuse for putting inferior used transmissions in a vehicle, or sell a vehicle with a rusted frame...etc, I was looking at a used Yukon on Craig's list, I'm glad I checked these thieves out first!

    3 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.