Chapel Sales, Inc.They are thieves!

B
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I have a complaint about Chapel Sales, Inc. They are headquarted in Mt Laurel, New Jersey...

They came to my door, two young black women, who seemed well educated and took me for about #200.00. I bought magazines for myself and grandchildren. This was in March of 2007 and I have not been able to reach them by telephone. They do not take messages or answer mail. I understand I'm the the only one who has be taken by these thieves.

I live in Whittier California so they are going over state lines to do there mischief. I've seen other complaints online about them and it's ashame nothing can been done.

Thank you very much...

Responses

  • Me
    MESSAGEMAN Oct 08, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Judging by some of the posts especially by those who stated they worked for some of these travel crews is why I thoroughly explain on my web site that there are all types of travel sales crews out there and some do not follow the proper guidlines nor follow a code of ethics and principles when hiring new sales reps and so many will hire by quantitiy rather than quality which is why we tell our potential applicants to first do their homework and research our organizxation also inviting them to call us and ask questions before taking on the position. YES there are dangers and problems and in every field or level of profession there is also but we can't judge a whole industry over a few bad apples but for the most part the traveling direct sales marketing industry is still a powerful postive way to travel, learn to become independent and make decent moeny and many of it's members a sincere hard working dedicated people and some of these other traveling sales crews of which I know are giving the industry a bad name but if we were to judge all of the screw ups a a few then we should fire all politicans, shut down government, fire all police offers, all bad teachers, all companies and business that takes bribes sell out company secrets take advantage of common workwers pensions and benefits stop going to church all of them! becasue some pastors and ministiers got caught molesting children etc etc etc there is good & bad in everything and we ask that you dot your I's and cross your T's check I.D's do research and or just don't participate all together if you feel uncomfortable and believe me I understand and you do have the right to vent if you've been taken, scammed because you have not gotten your product but often times it is not the indiividuals faults and other times it may have to do with the fact that a sales rep does not take the time to accuratley and legibly write out the customers orders therefore having to have the company pull that order and redo it manually casue a delay and backlog of orders affecting prompt delivery. other times some sales reps in their haste or attempt to win an order works too fast and forgets or does not explain the order properly and a customer may have paid a depositi but not made aware that in order for them to receive the product they have to mail in their balances within a certain time but in any case there is always a reason fo the screw up and I at least post info warning and informing our readers of the problems or possibilities there of..LIKE THIS POSTING A PLACED ON MY WEB
    Some people going door to door are using deceptive lies in order to reach a sales which we DO NOT teach allow nor condone. some may not be of the same group or crew but it has been reported that this activity is occurring ...
    deceptive door-to-door magazine sales crews are out in full force across the country. They are mostly high school and college-age kids who are taught to use a number of phony pitches. They say they’re raising money for a local hospital, school or charity. They’re earning points toward a school trip. Some even claim to be supporting the troops in Iraq.
    We here with the Tops organization and the P.O.W.E.R. program are NOT connected affiliated nor associated with any School college nor organization other than Tops & PO.W.E.R. program . We do NOT collected donations contributions nor hand outs for any volunteer group, cancer society VETS military organization or program. We are NOT affiliated with BOX TOP and there is no such concept as BUILD A BOOK with our program.
    Any money you do give to one of our members should be for the sole purpose of purchasing a book or magazine to help them with their points and in anything you do PLEASE make sure you get an official legal receipt.

    Again we are like a second chance work study program where not only can a participant earn an income but while enjoying the benefits of traveling outside their environment they receive a positive educational experience in the business market, in sales and public speaking . many were selected from troubling communities and many of our members just need a shot and some we are working with to brake them of negative bad habits and so if YOU give them an unsupervised donation without a legal receipt to identify how or what is the participant using it for you may be enabling their bad habits again"
    Our organization is similar to Jobcorp or a college campus where our group must follow a set of rules & regulations and all orders and receipts are logged numbered recorded and tracked whether used or not. A member may say... WELL IF YOU CAN'T AFFORD TO BUY A BOOK MAYBE YOU CAN CONTRIBUTE A LITTLE SOMETHING AND WE WILL ADDED IT TO THE NEXT ORDER OF SOMEONE WHO WANTS A BOOK BUT CAN'T AFFORD IT" .If you fall for that they will take that money and buy drugs or liquir etc and sneak it back to the crew. We want to aviod this possible problem so please refrain from doing that.

    For any questions comments complaints or concerns please Email us at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • timdoor Jul 08, 2014

    Former CSI worker and i had the best times of my life with the group i was with! 4 years there and there and it was like life really is...It`s what you make it! I learn a lot about life there, made a lot of bread the right way had the sales locked, winning bets, cash awards.We had Ch
    ristmas partys, talent shows and fun just hanging out on Sundays when we were off.It was a job and thats how i looked at it.Yeah i seen the kids come in and leave, but each person was taken care of even when they wasnt making bread.Some just wasnt good sale people.Specail shout out to my Brother Mike Bosh! Its Mark Brown your fellow New yorker!!! And all the oldheads who remember all the good times!

    0 Votes
  • Js
    jstrongman Jan 15, 2014

    i agree with you all, this company is nothing but a rip off. I use to work with this company right after high school because i thought it was a really good start to get on track after graduation. They paid for my bus ticket to get to miami and when i got there it was too real to be true. We stayed on the beach and everyday we ate at mcdonalds. Lol. In the end it made me sick to my stomach and i end up really getting sick. So to make a long story short the supervisors mr and ms marshall paid for my ticket to return home. But to everyone that think its real its not. They rip ppl out they health and money. So if someone knock on your door with a black book and a made up award letter or saying they need help to get a schlorship call the police right away. ITS A RIPOFF AND DON'T FALL FOR IT!

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    former chapel employee Apr 03, 2012

    YO THIS GREG WILLOUGHBY CHAPPEL SALES [protected] ADRIAN ELAM AND DAREEN WILLIS CREW. GET AT ME [email protected] . iM ON FACEBOOK FOR MY OLD HOMIES.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    former chapel employee Apr 03, 2012

    Its not the company its the sales people. the first payment is a deposit. the salesperson should have explained this but some people are not honest. I worked for chapel sales and have seen this numerous time by overzealous desperate salespeople. The company wants your business not you to have problems. The y lose business and you feel like you've been robbed. I am ashamed to say i was connected because i saw this and didnt report or tell on my fellow salespeople. Chapel sales helps alot of troubled inner city youth get their life together. Some still do wrong. If you pay the remaining balance i assure you you will recieve your books and or magazines. I suggest you first contact the company and make sure that they did receive your initial payment before paying the balance, because some kids dont turn in their orders at all. I attribute this to Chapel not compensating these young guys. So they feel they have to steal ar mislead peole just to have 20 dollars in thier pocket. But 1ce again the company is reputable. Ive had many family members order from me when i worked thier from 2000 to 2001. No one had any problems, but then again they knew the whole process becuase i explained it thouroughly. Sorry for your loses guys, if you didnt get a refund, but all hope is not lost, even if it feels that way.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donna Marie Love Jul 21, 2011

    i worked for these punks for three years, brain washed by their ###. in reality we're gettin' straight pimped and not even knowing it. their the biggest black owed scam in the world and they deserve someone to do them the way they do all of their employers. we would go state-to-state in vans like every three to six months but it would be the same damn state almost every year and i've been in alot of dangerous situations because people were not receiving their publications and not even getting their money back. i made alot of money but tell you the truth i was taking major donations just to support my weed habit, once i grabbed enough bread to get an apartment, i quit that son of a ###. last year i thought about going back to work for them bcuz i was in a bad situation, but i just cant imagine ###ing people over like that again, its just straight scandolous. so, ### CHAPEL SALES, i hope yall burn to the ground. PAYBACKS A ###!!! SUCKA'S!!

    1 Votes
  • T3
    T.3 Jun 21, 2011

    I just got one thing to say on this forum spread is that the company dealt with a bunch of managers that did not send work orders in and were pocketing money. Many orders did not go in because of this, which drove the company in the toilet. I know for a fact many of the people who did not receive their books got a full refund. I watched as my Grandfather slaved and invested so much money into this company to try and make his workers be on the top of everything till his death, this has nothing to do with the head people it is mainly up to the managers working the particular crews that were being conniving individuals that stole from the company and gave it a bad name. Today the doors of Chapel Sales are now closed due to this issue and countless debt acquired over the years of terrible individuals in the company, so to all you people on here saying that this company is a scam it is no were near a scam trust me I have a personal family connection with the company not from a worker or management but the owner so please don't sit on here and say negative things when you have no idea of what was going on internally within the company.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brenda Thompson2 Jun 20, 2011

    I also use to work for CSI during the late seventies. It was a wonderful learning experience. I met many people throughout the country both the "Jones" and the staff. I traveled with the crew for approximately two years. It really open my eyes to the point to where I now hold four degrees. It allowed me to make positive directions in my life and I am happy that I was able to gained the experience. We back then did not have compliants, and the people also received their products. Thank you Sallie Jacobs-Squares for the opportunities.

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    S.Meyer Jun 12, 2011

    Im actually looking for a magazine crew right now, I had a job with one in the past, i had fun, made money, all the people who bought magazines from our crew GOT THEIR MAGAZINES, and honestly, I miss that damn, job, lol. If anyone knows someone in a magazine crew who is hiring, send me a friend request on facebook, my email on facebook is: SamiSinger [email protected] I would put my cell number on here, but one of these crazy ### people on here who are trying to shut down the magazine business might blow up my phone, like some crazy babydaddy or ex boyfriend typr of person or something on some harrassment type ###, sad, peeps make comments about the mag crews, but they're the ones with the issues, for all we know, maybe mental. Lol, sorry, I just feel strongly about peeps who get ###ed by the fake ### mag crews, and want to blame all of the good crews out there too, just like there are good and bad people in the world, there are good and bad magaizine crews as well. Oh and to make a comment on the one guys comment, true that dude. U cant blame the company for the agent's behavior, cuz the mag crews only hire 18+, which is legally an adult, so since their adults, and ###, we all want to make money, but some choose to cheat it out of people cuz thats their excuse for bad sales experience, or not knowing how to sell, you cant blame the manager, or the crew, cuz thats like me blaming all black people for the nation of islam telling me and whatever black guy im dating at the time, that we're both going to hell, me, cuz Im a "white devil" and him cuz hes dating me; or its like me blaming all white people for my parents decision to disown me, becuse i prefer to date black men, i could say, its all white peoples fault, their all racist, but no, cuz there are alot of peeps my age who went thru the same thing with their parents. Plus, its not right, just like you stupid ### people who want to blame the whole crew and/or all magazine crews, for a certain person/peoples actions. Come on now, is america really that stupid? wake up people

    0 Votes
  • El
    Ella Davis May 20, 2011

    I received every thing I've purchased from those nice students.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carla8137 Mar 30, 2011

    I was about 19 or 20 when i worked at csi. back in 2006. i have actually been trying to get in contact with some of the ppl that i worked with because i made alot of good friends if yo u remember me you can contact me on facebook carla june carver

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carla8137 Mar 30, 2011

    I too worked for this company under beverly and Doug dismond. It was a wonderful experience for me yeah some people took donations but I never really did. Not many people in my group were doing those things and we never stayed in sleezy hotels alway upscale. You cant blame your own stupidity on one company this is not the only sales company in the waorld

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lilfrog Jun 19, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @carla8137 I work for Doug Dismond to man they left me in Florida beginning of the end for me

    0 Votes
  • An
    antoine mahan Jan 02, 2011

    I use to work for Chapel Sales Inc. We traveled from state to state with a sales talk about being students working to receive points by getting people (door to door ) to by books. We sold books by commission and we lived in sharing hotel rooms with the people we worked with. The people who did others wrong were dealt with by the Management and most likely they were fired and sent home... a few times this occurred and the salesperson was immediately fired on the spot.
    I person have the right to express how they feel about this company. It's been over 22yrs. since I worked for them and this is the first time I've ever heard complaints about the company... I am Antoine Mahan and I can be reached directly on facebook... thank you and Happy New Years...

    0 Votes
  • So
    S.O Dec 09, 2010

    Hi, I worked for CSI for 2 years from [protected]. It was the best thing I did at the time. The people I meet in CSI are one of the best people I have met in my life, I call them my family and even inlcuding some of the "Jones". I was around positive people. Some of these kids come on to this job because they couldn't find something at home. When they join and stay and sell. They build confidence and had a voice. Meet people that cares if they did good.
    it was a commission job. I used to take out $100 every week to shop if i did good. Which I did. And I saved. You work you get paid. Thats life.

    The fact that some items were not shipped can be said about any other company. This year from Amazon, I didnt get 3 or 4 packages.
    When I order a mag online, the mag skip a few issues. Or just other company that sell things, once and a while you have a flaw.

    I have COMPLAINT about you Buyers'
    You are your own person. You have choices in life, this, that or the other. You decided what you do, not some kid at the door. You help them or you don't.
    Read before you sign anything. Check for the numbers.
    I knocked on a lot of nice people door and some crazies ones that pulled guns to my head just from knocking or the color of my partners skin (i'm light...lol)
    Relax - Don't be so hard on people.

    Just remember that many many many other, including myself, receive their books and magazine from Chapel Sale every day every year, year after year.
    When you look into the kid's eyes that comes to your door, think of what it means to them to do this, the guts and hard work.

    1 Votes
  • Ri
    Rich Jan 06, 2010

    I worked for Chapel Sales Inc. (Joseph Malone & Asscoiates) nearly three years (95-98). I recieved three cash awards. I was also, one of the top sales people. I was trained by the best K Guest, Jaz Thomas, and D Ross. It was good at first, but I got bored. Dijon was my manager. I traveled up and down eastern seaboard, LA, Houston, Chicago and all points in between. It was a good learning experience, but there were bad parts and people too. I was an honest contractor and recieved my three cash awards because I always told the customer about the mail in balance. That was the key... the customer must be told about the mail in balance; if not, they will not recieve their order. Or I would simply ask for payments in full, this ensured they would get their order. I have since recieved two college degrees etc. Life is still tough and challenging, but this experience perepared me for alot.

    As for those that didn't get their products, they must've misunderstood the mail-in balance part, or the salesperson was unethical and did not tell them about it. Or they just got rid of the receipt and kept the money. What a shame. These people were usually found out. I made many friends across the country and with the company and many of whom I keep in touch with today.

    Some I have lost contact with and would really like to have a reunion. For those of you that know me, I live in Louisville, KY. I think I was the only one from this area. Contact me at my e-mail.. I'd love to hear from you.

    The company was legit... it was just some of the independent contractors were not on the up and up and giving the company a bad name, including some of the managers. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JAYLEN DEXTER Aug 22, 2009

    I USE TO WORK FOR THEM BUT FOR ONLY 3 OR 4 WEEKS I DIDNT KNOW THEY WAS DOING ALL OF THIS TO PEOPLE ...BUT HELL I NEVER REALLY SOLD ANYTHING TO NO ONE PEOPLE DONT BUY ### FORM PEOPLE KNOCKING ON THERE DOOR.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    miss LED May 28, 2009

    I wonder are they now known as millineum sales inc?? chapel sales inc website is no longer avail

    0 Votes
  • La
    ladytcbs Apr 02, 2009

    Hi i looked at a lot of these comments about chapel sales and mike you know that these people are not lying because i worked for chapel sales back in 1987 and yes they do pry on young people because when bill interviewed me back in Savannah Ga it was not explain to me that i would be selling books i was in my 20s back then and when i saw the article that you get paid while you travel at a young age that sounds good the manager that do the interviews need to let the people know what they would be doing and give them the opportunity to decide if that something they want to do i did not hang around long enough to run into any problems the only problem i ran into is I got pregnant and had a son that will be 21 in april and i did not let the father know and when i call the headquarters to find out if he still works there tracy the owner of chapel sales said that he did not work there anymore and when i ask about the crew leader cassandra lowe he said she did not work there and he lied but running that kind of business that what you do so if anyone that work with me in 1987 know woodrow johnson know as jay because at the time we had two people with the same name woodrow johnson but the woodrow johbson i know is from fla goes by the name jay and if any one who worked with me back then that knows him and still have contact with him please email me at [email protected] because i have an 21 years old son who really need to meet his father and if some of the people that worked with me back then like gregory watkins from macon ga and carl jackson from alabama and teddy pendagrast from savannah ga if any of you guys reading this get back at a sista email a sista at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • La
    ladytcbs Apr 02, 2009

    k ward when you decide to do a film on this ordeal get at a girl you're right their are some stories about the experience we had with this company [email protected] and if you know jay email a sista

    1 Votes
  • Br
    B. Rene Feb 19, 2009

    I believe at one point this company was honest. I had dealt with them twice before and I received everything I ordered. The third time they got me and only fulfilled part of my order. Now I in the chase.

    Holler to Whittier CA - Know that you are not alone!!!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    daniel Feb 17, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i was scammed for 47.00 on 02/06/2007 in milton, fl. 32570

    he did the same to me as he did to all of you!

    the form says his name is Darrell Martin

    i will never trust another door to door again

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    fed up with Chapel sales Feb 07, 2009

    I am an ex-contractor checking back on my story that I have posted over a year ago. I would like to encourage anyone one that is filing a new complaint to read all of the complaints on this thread again. I see by some of the new postings by some ex-contractors - not much has changed about this company.

    (I found this ad on myspace from the person that hired me )

    I AM INTERESTED IN MEETING PEOPLE WHO WOULD LIKE TO WORK AND TRAVEL TO MAJOR CITIES ACROSS THE U.S.A. WITH A LARGE SALES TEAM, EARNING $250-$550 PER WEEK, PLUS BONUS!!! WE TRAVEL TO CITIES LIKE MIAMI, LOS ANGELES, NEW YORK CITY, CHICAGO, HOUSTON AND PHILADELPHIA. IF YOU ARE INTERESTED PLEASE CONTACT ME AT [protected].

    From reading the above ad, not much has changed - except the amount of money per week that you can make.

    I would like to encourage people to check their newspapers, and if you find any ads like this - know that they are out to get your youth.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tiffiany Tapplar Jan 11, 2009

    my name is tiffiany and i worked for chapel sales in the year [protected]. At first when i got involved it seemed like fun but after about 3 months when they said I can go home and visit they wouldnt let me they kept coming up with all these excuses about how i needed to make my own money and pay for my own way. Then we would have to get up and be at morning meetings at 8 til 9 then we get our ducets and load up in the van for hour rides. they would drop us off and come back in 1 1/2 hours later or sometimes later. We worked in all types of weather conditions no matter what it was and they didnt care if we got sick or not. If u were sick they still had u go out unless u were on ur death bed. Anyways we wold be out til 9 10 at nite, get back to the motels by 11 and checked in and had to go to an under quota meeting that ;asted a half hour then we would go get something to eat for the ones who had money. but hell by the time u do all that it was time to go to bed. U don't get enough sleep and even though we had sundays off we were still working doing sales pitchs and stuff.

    My mother told me it was like a pimping business they drop us off on the corners for us to make them their money and if u don't succeed u have to deal with verbal abuse sometimes physical abuse and harrasment from the car handlers, other agents, and managers. So basically what Iam saying is that chapel sales is foul as they want to be and Iam so glad that I left when I did. Because its people thats been there for 16 years or more and thats all they know they fell in that trap.

    0 Votes
  • Kw
    k ward Nov 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My story is exactly as the others. I thought my $52.50 was helping a young person build a scholarship fund. We are the type of family that does not like to owe any bills so we paid the whole amount off and now are the fools so this one company missed it up for all the other door to door sales people that come to my area in Waldorf, MD.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevin Coleman Nov 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am sorry to read of all these complaints. Many years ago (13 years) I was with Chapel Sales, Inc. specifically their Joesph Malone & Associates contractor as a door to door youth. We would say, "hi my name is, and I am here to get you to vote for me in the golden youth program". That was a total LIE. We would travel around the country and sale magazines door to door as a team (probably 75 or so young men and women) and we all bought into the idea of being independent contractors. They pray on young inner city youth especially girls. I won't get into all the inappropriate physical contact.

    It's a total scam. I still remember the people involved. My direct manager was Julius Johnson. I have noticed Chapel Sales doesn't have a website anymore. They probably changed their name. I remember them being out of Camden New Jersey, or something like that. But surely NJ. This company doesn't hire anyone directly (at least not the door to door salesperson) therefore they not legal responsible for the actions of the sales team which takes the money from "the Jones" which are customers and in many cases throw away the magazine orders. After six months or so my family was worried about me. We would sleep three or four to a hotel room and stay in warm cities during the winter like LA, Miami, etc. I had enough and stepped away in Beaumont, TX with a friend I made over those months. After working six months, we probably had $500 between the two of us and almost didn't get that until we raised hell about it.

    Currently I am a filmmaker and I plan to make a story about that whole ordeal one day. A lot went on but I won't get into here. Keep complaining. You are bound to run into them. I also hear some of them are selling cleaning supplies door to door as well.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    renee williams Oct 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ok i worked for yoli and associates for 3 years when they was under chapel sales I was one of the top sellers on the crew i won 3 cash awards and i always used to send money home to my mom .working for them was the best thing i could ever experience in my life I met all types of people and some of the people door that I knocked on they were very nice to me I had people leave me in their homes whlie they went to the banks to get cash to pay for their books. I could tell you all so many stories about my time at chapel sales I made life time friends there. although most of us stop working for them not because we had to . I stopped because I wanted stability I wanted my own family. I didnt want to live out of a suit case for the rest of my life BUT I WAS 18 AT THE TIME WHO COULDNT ASK FOR ANYTHING BETTER LIVING ON YA OWN PRACTICALLY RENT FREE. No bills or nothing so I satyed fly going door to door...I m not saying that it wasnt drugs or negativity cause it was I got into alot of fights with the girls on the crew but what do you expect your living with these people seeing them everyday? And sharise I dont know what you talking bout the hotels yolanda and luis rivera put us in were really nice we stayed at places like the crown plaza, marriots and sheratons they wasnt 5 stars or nothing but they were far from shabby. all i can say is who ever ordered a book from me always got theres because everytime we went to the same state i asked to be put in the same neighborhood i was in the last time so i sold to all the same people. although people do steal an lie there was alot of honest people who made the money they wanted to and continued on to better their life

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terrell Ross Oct 27, 2020

    @renee williams Call me [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MackyDee Oct 02, 2008

    I too was naive and participated with this company. I agree totally with Ms. T, K Wisky, and the others who experience it. I was in it for a year 1984 to 1985. I answered an job ad in local newspaper and one of the managers met me at the Holiday Day Inn next to the Holland Tonnell for the interview. I was hired and I met everybody at the Lincoln Hotel in Newark. We were called TOPS and we worked for Chapel Sales through independent managers such as Ellison. After spending 6 months there, it was not that easy to go home, you could not speak about leaving--that was negative. The most common way to leave was to sneak out in the middle of the night or early morning (3 or 4 am). And I was already in California and had no money. I was not going to keep people (customers) money in order to get home.

    We canvassed some of the dangerous areas in the country. Some of the favorite locations are NYC urbans areas, Queens, East Orange, Brooklyn, etc. I have been to Atlanta, GA, Houston & Humble Texas, and California. We stayed in mostly runned down hotels or 1 to 2 star hotels. Place like the Lincoln Hotel (In Newark, NJ) and the Gaslight Hotel (In California), ironically a mile away from Disneyland and next door to the Wax Museum--which we never got a chance to visit. Most of us shared four to a room. And like someone wrote earlier, there is so many horrible stories. By the way, I meant some very nice people in Terriority, who asked me to please leave the company. I want to say I should have listened, but the Manager and carhandlers are very good at what they do.

    Just to make you aware, not all of those sales people were young in age. When I arrived at the age 20, I went to doors with people in their thirties and fourties. The trick is to be clean shaven and tone the voice down. You want to spook them, ask for some identification--mainly a driver's license. The TOPS (Team of Professional Salespeople) philsophy: EVERYBODY CAN BE SOLD. ALL YOU NEED IS A PACK AND A STREET. The pack is the black case we carried and it had our awards sheet, order form, magazine and book listing.

    And I do blame the Chapel Sales, Inc because when I was going door-to-door, many people complain they never received their magazines, including my relatives. I know I turned in my receipts.

    Oh, we were considered independent contractors even though we never saw much money or our books. They, the managers, do not tell you that you as independent contractors you have to fill out a 1099 form to pay taxes. After I left, I was audited by the IRS because my manager, Lowe, claimed she paid 3000+ dollars that year, when she got audited. I may have received more than 500.00 dollars. My experience with this group cost me 5, 000 in back taxes (including late fees) and the trust of some very nice families a met along the way.

    1 Votes
  • La
    Latosha Pahn Jul 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To everyone, I would like to say thank you. I live in Trenton, SC. I ordered books from 2 black gentleman.They took a deposit from me on 2 orders for about $55. Leaving me with a balance of $55. I got scared after hearing and reading comments from other people. So I didnt send any more money to them. Thanks everyone. Maybe if everyone contacts the betterbusiness bureau in their area, maybe we can get our monet back. THAT WOULD BE OUR FIRST STEP. IF ANYONE NEEDS THE # TO TYPE IN WITH THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU ----CHAPEL SALES.INC---520 FELLOWSHIP RD., SUITE E-506, MT. LAUREL, NJ 08054. TELE#[protected]. WEBSITE www.chapelsales.com(email address is no longer working).

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stephanie Jul 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have seen these kids many times and it's always the same sales pitch. I have seen them in Memphis, TN and Baton Rouge, LA. They are often very pushy and sometimes rude. I have also had them ask to come inside my house for a glass of water. I refuse to let any strangers into my house but I'm not without compassion, so I did actually try to order some magazines one day. I was suspicious though and tried to research Yoli & Associates on the internet. AFter realizing that they did not appear to be a reliable company, I had a stop payment on my check of $57.00.
    The bank stopped the payment so I thought that was the end of the ordeal. Almost 2 months later, the "company" tried to pass my check again but this time for $82.00!! Luckily the bank stopped it again.
    Then another month later I received a letter in the mail stating that my balance was seriously overdue. The letter threatens to turn me over to a collection agency. They stated that my balance was $57.00 and that I'm being charged a $25.00 collection fee. What a coincidence! That brings the total to $82.00, the same amount that they tried to run my check for a month prior to the letter being sent.
    I have called the Better Business Bureau and they said this is not a legitimate business and they have received other complaints as well. An investigation is underway and they've put me in touch with the Atty. General Consumer Protection division. We all need to shut these people down!!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JAMAL K HYDE Jul 14, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    THIS ENTIRE MESS IS NOT THE COMPANIES FAULT. I PLACE BLAME ON THE AGENTS ALONE, AND I CAN CUZ I AM A FORMER AGENT MYSELF . I ENJOYED MY TIME IN THE MAG BIUSNESS. THE LESSON OF LIFE PEOPLE AND PLACE I HAVE SEEN WILL BE WITH ME ALWAYS .FROM CALI, NY, TX, AZ MD, GA, SC LV AND MANY OTHERS . SOME OF YOU WILL NEVER GO THERE I HAD THE PLEASURE TO WORK PLAY AND LIVE IN THESE CITIES THANKS TO THE BOOK AND MAGAZINE LIFESTLYE. THE EDUCATION I HAVE REICEVIED IS FAR GREATER THAN THAT OF A FOUR YEAR DEGREE. I CAN DO BUISNESS WITH THE BEST OF THEM . FROM ASIAN TO HISPANIC (SI HABLA EN ESPANOL) TO, RUSSIAN TO CHINESSE ALL, THE WAY TO INDIA (MY FRIEND)SO DON'T SAY THAT ALL SALES GROUPS ARE CROOKS AND THIEVES I HAD ONE THE BEST MANAGERS THE BEST CARHANDLERS AND THE BEST CREWS. IT TAKES HEART AND EFFORT TO DO WHAT THEY DO I DID IT FOR 13 YRS AND I AM DAMN PROUD OF IT !! SO TO ALL THE SALES AGENTS HATERS LET ME TELL YOU THIS . I CAME HOME TO TAKE CARE OF MY FAMILY . WITH WHAY I LEARNED FROM THE CREW(SALES). I LANDED A JOB IN NO TIME MAKE MORE THAN SOME OF YOU WITH A DEGREE. SO MR BOSCH I FEEL YOU MAN WHAT'S HAPPENING T.O.P.S HATE ALL YOU CAN, BUT WE AREN'T GOING ANYWHERE!!! SO WHEN THEY COME TO YOUR HOME SHOW THEM SOME LOVE BECAUSE THEY ARE THE BEST THERE IS! THE BEST THERE WAS AND THE BEST THERE EVER WILL BE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Us
    used to work for this place Jun 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just wanted to say that the men and women working for this company are trying to do something with there selfs i know because i used to work for the company the thing is we get scamed to we are told we will make alot of money and if we dont like the job they will send us home after 8 weeks well i was there 8months before i met some people who help me get home they give you 3 dollars a day for lunch $10 when you check in at night tahts if you sold something and 15 on the weekend if you sold something i lost 100 lbs in those 8 months we work from 7 am and sometimes didnt get in until 12 or 1 am alot of us were so far away from home and parents couldnt afford to get us back and we were all over 18 so we had to lie to the customer just to eat its a job i regret and to top it off i fell for the son of the owner at the time and now i have a child who im and gretful for but i have raised this child for 11 years by myself so dont take to mush out on the crew its the owners and the company that are the crooks

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arnold M. Rivera Jun 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It is incredible to see how many have been scammed with this thieves. Using young girls to sell you a subscription on magazines that unfortunately, will never receive. In my case, I got the visit of two of these girls in my apartment complex. By the time (December 2007), I was new in the neighborhood, actually, moving to Florida from a different country and it was not until today that I got to confront the fact that this company and it force of salepersons are nothing more than thieves. They get to you by asking for your help due to the fact that if they get to achieve the accumulation of some points, based on sales, they would get a tuition money for college. What a punch line ( who could resist) and to make things worst, despite the fact that the subscription seems to be more expensive than buying the regular one directly from any of these magazines companies, you simply fall for the idea that you might help these kids get thier "dream" of attending college by helping them buying from them. How sad is this. I ended lossing $117.00 for two magazine subcrition and luckly, so far I just got one. Sure believe this will be the only one I'll ever see. However, this will not be unpunished. The rest of the world must know about this classact burglars.

    0 Votes
  • Ac
    a champlain Jun 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On June 9, 2007 I purchased 2 magazines from Chapel Sales (nice name, as if they have some religious organization affiliation...). It is now June 11, 2008 -- one magazine came after speaking with Chapel Sales on several occasions. The second magazine has never came and Chapelsales.com is "no longer available" and no answers at the phone number on my sales record. BUYER BEWARE!!

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    Iris Fletcher May 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with all of the complaint that is post. How could an company like this have kids traveling all over the country selling books for them and the are not delivering there product. Well I know for a fact that this is legal to take money from people and don't deliver the product. They are truly thiefs and to write a check for refund and it bound is also a crime. One good way to put them out of this business is when those kids come to your door or your family door make sure you tell them about the scam artist they are working for.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rita Decoteau Mar 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I totally agree with several comments and if anyone
    does find a way to prosecute I'd be more than happy to join in the suit.
    Last August I purchased, by check, a dictionary for my grandson who turned 4 years old. I have been constantly asking my daughter who lives in another city if the book had arrived as I had it sent in his name to his address. As you can guess, no book.
    I'm out the money and my grandson is out the pleasure of having a dictionary full of pictures he could refer to for educational purposes.
    It's too bad people have to steal from honest hard working people who think they are helping out.

    0 Votes
  • As
    A Suarez Mar 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    on 12/18/07 I was approached by a young black man named Jay Hill (he showed me his license) who told me he needed points to earn his scholarship. I noticed that he was unkempt and his teeth were rotting out of his mouth but he gave me a believable sob story about how this program was helpng him and others go to college and I believed him. I even checked the BBB BEFORE I made the purchase and while there were alot of complaints, I also noted that most of the complaints were resolved so I felt reassured. And he also did the trick "Look you neighbor just purchased $200 worth of books!" In retrospect, I realize now that was probably a fake receipt that he shows everyone. Anyway, I purchased a Childrens Bible for my 5 yo and gave him a check for $31 and sent another check a week later for $32.95, both of which cleared my account within 10 days each. So far, over 3 months later, I haven't received a thing. I even contacted the company 2x and a person named "Vicky" called me both times, 1st she gave the excuse that they had the wrong address (not true) then the 2nd time she said the 2nd check needed to clear (???). Both checks had cleared months ago. Both times, she said I would have my book within 7-10 days. I'm fed up! I filed a complaint with the BBB and if anything I'm only out $63. Thankfully I paid with check so I have proof of purchase. Now I know why they don't take credit cards. I feel so taken! He even came into my home and I offered him and his friends a drink. Never again!! I am going to warn my entire family against crooks like these. Both company and salespeople are to blame. If you've been taken by these crooks, file a complaint with the BBB NOW!! Link is here>>>
    https://odr.bbb.org/odrweb/public/GetStarted.aspx

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Pepe Vasquez Feb 03, 2008

    I never open the door when I see someone I do not know knocking but I mistook a young man knocking with one of my neighbors. The guy would not stop talking and he identified himself and asked if he could come in. I ended up buying something more to get rid of him than because I was interested in what he was offering. I gave him a check. After the young man left, I went online to look for information about his company and I came upon this page. Needless to say, I thought I had made a terrible mistake. I followed the indications on the company's website to cancel the transaction and sometime after that I received my uncashed check in the mail. No problem.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Cheryl Riggs Jan 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also had a young man come to my door in Nov 2007. I bought $167 in magazines from him. I still haven't received any of them so I decided to google Chapel Sales to get a phone number. I came upon these complaints in which one of them had the telephone number and address. I just spoke to a lady who informed me that it takes 90-120 days to start receiving the magazines. I hope this is not a scam!!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Angelo Boscvh Jan 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    O.K. you're right' not everybody's situation is or was yje same and maybe when I started out in the early 80's there were better road manager's with honest business practice but when I was reading these post it sounded like people wanted to sinlge out the industry as a whole and say that's the norm with this type of business, that's what I wanted to clear up and yes there are bad crews out there, crews that don't do proper background checks, crews that allow smoking or taking drugs on the crew, staying out late, fighting or do what ever they want as long as they see sales that's all that's important to them "QUANTITY" not "QUALITY" and as for thosae manager's not to pay monies left on people's account is wrong if it's correct. I know on our crew back then you would get an account book for your self to keep track of your business, your sales, your cancellations etc: one would write their business in daily and check or compare their records with their manager's . this was our own personal accont/business note book given to us by our manager's to keep track your everything. after the weekly meeting with our manager's they would print out our info and give it to us to keep as proof.
    and I have checked out the parent watch web site and it's very disturbing to know that this is going on and that some of these young people went through those horrific situations but again I say' YOUR ONLY AS GOOD AS YOUR LEADER'S and that holds true in everything- politics, religion-sports, entertainment and business.
    If a crew leader is not doing proper background checks and they hire people with past criminal history and stick them in an environment that allows drugs, smoking weed drink daily stay out late nights etc: all of this is a combination for disaster. also' remember company clearing houses are like franchises' people expand from within the organization and branch off to run their own crew, now every crew is responsible for their actions and their people's actions to a certain extent. so yeah' maybe I was a bit one sided because of my past experience but you yourself have said when someone tell's the truth door to door and explain the receipts correctly the people get's their book's and the agent's get's their cash awards.
    you see' it's a combination of everything and ewverybody's got to take the blame or credit for it.
    1. fill in the orders correctly and explain everything to the customer before leaving .
    2. keep track of your work & accounts- remember you're an INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR so going over your book's and keeping a copy is and should be the norm.
    3. the crew managers should be doing the proper background checks on people hired and should not allow DRUGS or DRINKING or fighting on the crew.
    4. if and when an agent see or is exposed to this they should ask to leave A.S.A.P
    5.two wrongs don't make a right.meaning if you are exposed to this' that does not give you the right to STEAL ORDERS, or go do other ungodly things door to door.
    maybe things have changed since I was on the road because alot of new managers have gotten their chance or number to be able to start their own crew butr if their going from good to worse and allowing this to go on then SHAME ON THEM remember' A FOOL AND THEIR MONEY SHALL SOON PART.. if your not taking care ofd your business it will soon fall apart.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    Ms T Jan 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    MIKE BOSCH

    I have read your previous comments that you have made towards me. FACT OF THIS WHOLE MATTER IS - OUR SITUATIONS THAT WE ARE STATING WERE TRUE !
    You seem to want to validate the company and disregard the experiences that every person has gone through. OUR EXPEIRENCES ARE TRUE and as someone else posted the websites (i.e parentwatch, traveling sales crews, etc) ALSO LIST THE SAME TRUTHS.

    I find it very unmindful, witless, imbecilic, naive, and mindless of you to want to continue to, underrate, downplay, diminish or argue with past employees of their experiences, traumas, heartaches that they went through.

    Just because you were with a great company - GOOD FOR YOU ! I believe you are still with the company - because you are so passionate to keep validating the company. As far as you stating that they work mostly southern communities -that would be incorrect. when I was with them we worked the Eastcoast, Midwest, as well as Southeast, and Southern states.

    As far as your 'LET'S GET TO THE REAL STORY" scenerio - It sounds real good coming from someone who runs the company, or is in a leadership position within the company. That's an ideal situation. However, that is not the case with SOME people that have worked on these crews. Since you made the statement for us to STUDY THE FACTS, I suggest that you take the time to look on the websites that someone posted and study those facts. EVERYTHING is not peaches and cream as you suppose.

    SINCE YOU ARE SUCH AN EXPERT - HOW DO YOU EXPLAIN,NO MONEY BEING SENT HOME- ALL THE MONEY THAT WAS SUPPOSEDLY ON THE "BOOKS" ?????? All of that money was not spent on motels, and transportation! We stayed in low rate motels with 4 people to a room, and the vehicles were paid off. The manager was driving in a brand new luxury automobile.

    THE FACT OF THIS WHOLE MATTER IS -People are writing in to to voice their concerns about young people (mostly African American) coming to their door selling books and magazines, and they felt that Chapel Sales Inc is not a good company.

    I only posted my experience to let these complaintants know of the situation from an ex-sellers point of view. I let them know of what I did sometimes - just to make a sale.

    I had valid sales -because I DID get get my Cash Reward. I was one of few that received one - because I DID tell the customers the truth in order to make the majority of my sales - There were people that were with the company for years and never got their cash award becuase they didn't have valid sales. So this does prove that CHAPEL SALES INC - is a valid company , my issue was not receiving the so called money on the books. About 5% or 10% of the WHOLE time (2 years), I didn't tell the truth, which I did admit - it was wrong, and if I could apologize to those people, I would.

    I posted my story to let other people that have gone through the same situation that they are not alone in their experiences, that I have gone through the same and maybe worse situations.

    As far as not wanting to go home a failure, those thoughts ran through my mind, because I was told I would make $500 - $1000 a week, when I was hired, and I found that it was a little hard to make that quota. However, if I would have lied to the people, like a majority of the high sellers did (this is a fact that I know ) - I probably would have made $500 and $1000 in sales, but those sales would not have cleared.

    Sharise - I knew of Yolanda Rivera's crew - I met them in 1990 in Georgia.

    MIKE BOSCH - If you are still on the road - Get your quota ! and leave the ex-independent contractors alone.

    SHARISE - I hope you and every ex- independent contractor reading this will go on to bigger and greater things. Be healed from the experience that you went through

    TO THE COMPLAINTANTS - Sorry that you have to read the ramblings between Ms.T (myself) and Mike Bosch. The purpose of all of my postings were to let you know of some of the situations that I went through doing door to door sales with Chapel Sales Incorportated. There are some good door to door sales representatives that are really trying to make a living selling books and magazines, carpet cleaners, vacuums, etc. Everyone is not a liar that comes to your door.

    There are good companies out there, with bad apples. It's not easy - especially in this day and age - to discern the intentions of the person knocking on your door. We would like to be able to trust people and not be paranoid about everyone ( expecially after reading these posts) but the truth of the matter is - you simply can't trust everyone. So what do you do at that point, how do you handle everyone that knocks on your door? Me, personally - I don't by anything - expecially magazines and carpet cleaner - because I have been there and done that and I encourage the seller to go home.

    MIKE BOSCH - I have said what I had to say, and you have said what you had to say. Any other responses you need to make towards me, about me , in reference to me or my situation or anyone elses situation really is NOT important. I can't believe that I allowed myself to get caught up with debating with you over sales crews, (but since it has been 17- 18 years of me getting this off of my chest, I am glad that I did). In essence, our rebuttals will not help the complaitants to get their money back.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.