ADVERTISIMENT

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Cash Netscam

I received a call from a man saying he was an "officer of the law" he had a VERY THICK either Indian or Pakistani accent. So I called the number back ----[protected]----which when looked it up online it came back to a CELL PHONE and then found NO registration information. When I FINALLY got through on the number he told me that "there is a case against me" and said it was for an UNPAID payday loan from CASH NET and also a CAR loan that I hadn't made ANY payments on. When I asked what the SSN# was the had I got "that's confidential information", I then asked what kind of car it was and he said "Escalde maybe" . I then told him I had NO money and he said "What if I can put you behind bars?" I then explained he could try and that would be very difficult in TEXAS. When I called the first time I got disconnected and did some research of my own and found out there in only ONE CASHNET and it's CASH NET USA out of OHIO and they told me that I was in their system but they have NEVER given my a loan of ANY type an they did NOT do car loans at all.
So I called the number back a second time and informed the ### that I have contacted CASH NET USA and they informed me of my status and that I owed NOTHING!!

He then went on to say do you live at this address and answered nothing. I then went on to inform them since they have my address to "send me a bill".
I contacted my local PD and they informed me that this has happened ALOT and to contact my state attorney general's office and to check my credit report on all THREE credit bureaus to make sure there's NOTHING on it that I don't know about. So...if you receive calls from this number [protected] tell them to F OFF and go about your business. Do NOT give them ANY information whatsoever!!

ADVERTISIMENT

Responses

  • Ya
    Yalpsid Jul 19, 2017

    Just had this scam of [censor] get me. Greg Murphy (heavy Indian accent) and Nicole both [censor] of the Earth with no heart using a well known LOAN company Cash Net USA to scam you. DO NOT GIVE THEM ANY INFO...One day they will be found and I hope they get beheaded!. FRAUD! FRAUD! FRAUD!. How do they sleep at nights is beyond me...They call from weird 1 817 or 1 209 numbers

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • An
    Anita Sanchez Dec 10, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Bad company took advantage of me for $1200, then tells me that I owe the irs $ 384.00, I immediately call the irs and spoke with a customer service representative about my account. no balance due to the irs. called jason clarke back and put him on the spot. mr. clarke, deny that his company is a scam. regardless to say I have learned a valuable lesson. nothing is free everything comes with a price tag. heavy indian accent. [protected], [protected] jason clarke and his account manager jennifer. dont accept text oremails or phone ccalls from this honest person. I can't put my real thoughts on this blog because it offends the honest company people. be careful please contact the police, your bank and get away from them. december 4, 2015 thru 12 10 15. cash net bogus

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • La
    Larvan Sep 02, 2011

    My daughter was contacted by an Asian speaking male stating he was with the US DOJ cyber crime section. Told her if she did not pay 1021.00 fr a check she bounced he was going to file charges and she would be in jail. He gave her two days. After getting the info found she got a prepaid visa cause she was scared and they toolk the money. I contacted the FBI they even said the DOJ/FBI do not go after bad checks. I traced the telephone number [protected] to Ione Ca. outside of Sacramento. The guy I talked to said he was in San Diego and his name was Harry Newman (Asian with that name) yeah right. I will be reporting it to Ca. FBI office.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ih
    ihatefraud2 Jul 08, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had this happen to me too before...just scums and there's no way you can get to them ugh! They even called my job on the main line and left messages, the lady who took the message told me she they sounded suspiscuios and after she looked them up she saw so mancy complaints about them and that it was a scam...she said they said they are the law or something to that affect...

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Lo
    lost_n_tx35 Jun 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Oh by the way I NEVER took a loan out from these people. I do have a company right here local that I do my loans with and I am in good standing, but I did fill out the application online and this must be where these people got my info. At Christmas time I had applied at a site that redirected me to local companies and that's who I deal with but I have a feeling these people hacked into this somehow to get info. You need as we all do to be so careful filling out forms online. :)

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Lo
    lost_n_tx35 Jun 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ok, I got a message today and not the first one from a heavily accented man stating that he had some charges he was going to file against me. I usually just ignore the messages and they come in once every month or maybe every other month. So, first thing I suggest to everyone that they keep calling is to IGNORE these calls. Today, however I was not in a very good mood so called the number back the man that answered tried to tell me I was some person that I never heard of from my telephone number, which by the way is unlisted and comes up on ALL caller id's as restricted and they can't push the star 69 to call it back or do any type of redial, I have tried from my cell phone so I know this is the case. When I asked him what company he was from he said "not a company but from Financial Crimes" lol now this is like the FOURTH name I have seen reading everything here. The scariest part was they wanted to start verifying somebody elses info with me and insisted the number I was calling from was this other person. Well, I told them if this was a legit crime to send the local sheriff to my door and I would deal with local authorities and asked him what country he was from and silence. I hung up on him and I have not heard another word yet. Now these messages started off and on MONTHS ago, it's a scam if you owe a legit bill you will get a notice in the mail and the collection agency or people are more than willing to give you phone numbers, addresses and what not. DO NOT TALK to them, I am afraid if talking to them they will somehow say you gave permission for funds to come out of your checking account and if it's an old loan that you really do owe if you agree to make payment arrangements that will start the date all over again, meaning it could be that the statute of limitations has run out (this is another scam) and you agree to make pymts. that makes the original date the date you agree to make pymts. DO NOT GIVE THEM ANY INFO DO NOT TALK TO THEM!!!

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Pu
    pup Feb 02, 2011

    I have been reciving calls from people with a heavy accent from pakastian or one of those places.. first it was a woman left her #[protected] then when I called back I gave the guy the ext.. and he fought with me.. I told him I want a real American, then I get another nut.. I looked up my info and I have no loans with cash net.. He threated my job and my family.. That I will not tollerate.. Beware of them

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Lc
    lcrane07 Aug 27, 2010

    The Cash Net scam must still be ongoing!!! So be careful! I have received 2 phone calls from the same man with the very heavy accent regarding an outstanding internet payday loan. He stated that i took the pay day loan in EITHER 2008 or 2009... 1st of all you dont even know when the loan happened... He then threatened that the sheriff would come to my job on monday morning to arrest me and that it would have to pay a total of 5000.00 in fines and court fees. I have never taken an internet payday loan. This is a complete SCAM!

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • An
    angela J Jun 08, 2010

    yesterday, june 7th, 2010 I received a phone call from an african american man on my personal cell phone by the name of Stephan Richards. I answered and he claimed he was an investigator for a law firm. He also said he had a claim for financial charges as well of legal charges against my husband. Once he was questioned he was very vague when he was speaking except the fact that husband was going to be arrested. I told him it was illegal to put him in jail they are just a collection agency. when i got home i found my 2 youngest daughters crying saying that stephan called my home and said that their dad was going to jail. I was outraged they couldnt refer me to him personally. So i told them about the phone calls. Their reply was that he doesnt not work for our office so i told them i was reporting them to the ftc.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Lm
    LMaryBailey Apr 07, 2010

    I have been receiving threating phone calls from someone with a very thick accent. Stating that I owe $300.00 to cash net. They have called my sister, my job, and the Dean at the College I work at.

    I know this is fraudlant as they refuse to send me any paperwork and continue to periodically threaten me with court and being arrested.

    I want these people to stop. calling me especially at work. If I really owe, then why won't they send me documents stating what I owe?

    Any suggestions?

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Fr
    frustratedatl Sep 17, 2009

    I JUST got a call from a man with accent saying im gonna be sued for $300 on a loan I took out in NOV 08 when I know I did not, he said they sent messages and all...of course they didnt...giving me a name of Nelson David number [protected] and that now it is $444.00 and to settle it...I told him, I havent been served any summons or anything...police dont just come and pick u up like that...believe me I know...firsthand..But this fool act like people dont know what they do financially, Im like I didnt even have an open bank account in Nov 08..well more than that...I didnt apply for ANYTHING in 2008. I came immediately to the net and typed cash net scam. and this website came up...so im gonna ignor them...guess I will call cashnetusa and see whats up...I do like bothering scammers. lol

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Re
    relentless101 Aug 05, 2009

    Visit this site :

    http://www.callercomplaints.com/SearchResult.aspx?Phone=310-421-9582.

    These phone calls are a big scam and it needs to be stoped!

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Tr
    TrinaW Jun 21, 2009

    Everyone PLEASE BEWARE!!! That phone call that you're getting is NOT from CashNetUSA.com or any of the other loan companies out there! There is a scam artist using the company name CashNet.comwith a very thick accent that's calling people claiming that they're going to send someone to your workplace to arrest you for fraud unless you make a payment to him RIGHT AWAY!!! I ended up harrassing HIM trying to find out what the hell was he talking about. He would place me on hold for extended amounts of time in the hopes that I would hang up in frustration. I finally contacted CAshNetUSA to find out why they had someone from their company harrassing me, especially since my account had been paid off a long time ago. They said that there is a scam that is going on at this moment and that under NO CIRCUMSTANCES am I to make ANY payments to whomever this person is. They are investigating through legal channels, but until they can catch this fraudulent company, unless they can provide you with LEGAL DOCUMENTATION as to when the loan was originally taken out, or any legal proceding that are being placed against you (which would be hand delivered by your local authorities, ANYWAY), do NOT make the mistake of thinking that this jerk is from CashNet USA or any other loan companies with similar names. IF HE CAN'T PROVE IT, DON'T FALL FOR IT!!!

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Dw
    D. Warner May 27, 2009

    I got a call from a man saying I was being sued. I asked why and he was very stern and said I did not pay back this online loan I took out in Dec of 07. I told him I wanted to call that bank and check as that account had been closed around that time. He gave me his number to call him back. I called the bank and told the lady I just wanted to verify that amount had went into that account. That someone was calling saying I got that and didnt pay it back. I found out NO amount that this guy was giving me was ever put in my accout. Cash Net was never listed on my statements. The bank even check the months before nothing from that company. So I called the guy back told him I never got that deposit. That it was a scam I did not owe that. Also that I was picking up a statement from the bank today to prove it. I asked the name again he said Cash Net. I told him I was turning them in. He said nothing needed to be done from me. He was going to take it off and no collection need to be done. I am not sure but this is a scam. Is it Cash Net like this guy says or somehow he got my info and is using it. He wanted a debit card and payment today. As hard as he sounded I can see many paying him. But only thing saved me was that was the same time we closed that account. So it made me want to check it out. Glad I did. Becareful if anyone calls you about still owing a bill. Call the bank . Even if the account is closed they can look it up for you and print it out. Takes a bit but they will do it. Saved me 658.00 today. To us that is alot these days. Please watch out for these scams.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
Comment Guidelines

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit
    ADVERTISIMENT

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.
    ADVERTISIMENT