The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
BromaliteUnauthorized charges

They advertise a "Free Sample". What is in the fine print is that this "Free Sample" will cost you $6.00 in shipping and handling (the initial charge) and another $69.95 after 14 days if you do not cancel your subscription. Oh yes, you are automatically subscribed to a renewal and your credit card is billed. The second charge of $69.95 will be refunded (so I am told) once they receive the un-opened bottle. However, the first $69.95 is gone. So, unless you carefully read the fine print of the offer this "Free Sample" will cost you $75.00. Definitely not worth it and I think a VERY deceptive way to offload a product which does NOTHING!

Responses

  • Pa
    paul Ezekiel Oct 25, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was told to pay only for the shipping of a trial product (bromalite all natural digestive supplement) about $1.65 and 2wks latter was charged a sum of $79.95. something really has to be done about this

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dolly1969 Sep 16, 2009

    Ordered what I thought was FREE Bromalite & just pay S&H. Then I get a charge of $79.95 on my credit card. Then I received a second bottle which I sent back unopened. I called & asked for a credit but they refused. Told them DO NOT send me anything!! I also had this happen with the Acai Berry but they oked a refund. I also had a charge from A "Fit Factory" which was connected with both of these& they also gave me a refund.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nick Jul 21, 2009

    I ordered a trial sample of Bromalite Cleanse and was to be billed 4.95 for shipping only. I rec'd an additional product and was billed for that as well.

    Now an unauthorized charge of 69.95 from the same group is pending in my account. My bank has now blocked all future transactions from this group.

    However, I still need to clear up the unauthorized 69.95.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Migel Jul 18, 2009

    I ordered free trial of bromalite and paid the $4 shipping charges. I completely read their disclaimer several times and the day I received the product I called and emailed and canceled my order. Two weeks later I get a charge of 29.95 for a life and fitness program. I called the number and it was thru Bromalite. They said that when you ordered their product you are automatically enrolled in this program. They told me they sent me an email telling me this. I went thru every email I had and there was nothing. This is a scam! Even if u cancel the Bromalite subscription and you are lucky enough to not get charged for that, they get u somewhere. They would not give me my money back. The product sucks and doesnt work at all. DO NOT GET THIS! It is a scam! Nothing is free!!! If u did try and it and got scammed also post a complaint. Let everyone know what they are doing.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tomas Jul 04, 2009

    Ordered free trial bottle with shipping, send letter out right away after hearing how they rip people off, to cancel my order, thought it was taken care of, and weeks later had a charge of 69.95 taken out of my checking. I have the letter I sent and did it all in the time space I was supposed to. Makes me mad. Who can help me...

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    moonlin44 May 20, 2009

    Hello, Michelle
    Sorry, but you are NOT telling the truth. I called this number tonight,
    and they WILL NOT assist! This is May 19th, I ordered the FREE
    bottle April 30th, and I was told TOO BAD. I've been charged for two
    bottles, including the FREE one, and a membership to another site
    I didn't sign up for. I was charged twice for the shipping of the first
    bottle also, and I was told I get no refund for that either.
    Be honest here! People are getting ripped off for heaven's sake!

    Another ripped-off customer.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brenda May 15, 2009

    Hi Christine, my name is Brenda I'm the Customer Service Manager for this product and i wanted to apologize for this miscommunicaton with your account, We do offer and honor a 30 satisfaction guarantee. Feel free to contact us by email at [email protected] or you can call us at [protected] Monday thru Friday 8AM-5:30PM and our representatives will be more than happy to help you with your account.Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Christine L ampe May 12, 2009

    I join the chorus of complainers about the Bromalite rip off. 5 months ago, I was interested in trying their product, which I ordered from their website with no other alternative than trying it for free. In fact I never tried it because limiting my food intake was all I needed to shed unwanted pounds. When they called me to check on my interest in the product, I told them I no longer was interested. Two weeks later, I started being billed and receiving their product in spite of my declaration. I then called them, asking them to withdraw me from their list; they seemed to listen and gave me a cancelation number . However, I received their unwanted Bromalite the next month; because of them, I changed the number on my Visa card one month ago; well, guess what? today, 12th of May, I received another package from them, and I see that they billed it on another card of mine!
    How can I get rid of these crooks? Anyone knows? I'll go and sue them if I have too.
    Christine Lampe

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michelle Apr 30, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello, we are NOT Acai Berry. However, I am the Customer Service supervisor for the other product mentioned. Just letting you all know that our Customer Service hours are Monday thru Friday 8AM-5:30PM and the number is [protected]. We do have a 30 day risk free satisfaction Guarantee. So please give us a call and any one of our representatives will be happy to assist you with anything that they can. Also if you would like to cancel your account through email you may do so by emailing [email protected] Thank you and have a great day

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    Abegley Apr 29, 2009

    Don't order a free trial of Acai Berry or Bromalite unless you have hundreds of disposable dollars. The free samples cost me over $300. In addition to charges from other companies that claim they were companion products that I didn't check as not wanting to receive. Scam Alert!!!

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bobb Apr 21, 2009

    I have canceled 2x I have sent back to riverton UT 84065 No credits have been issued. This Co. should be closed by the Government and forced to give refunds and go to JAIL for fraud

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    janiem Apr 17, 2009

    I read the fine print. I cancelled my order the day after I placed it to make sure I liked it before I was billed for it. I cancelled online @ verifyyourorder.com and got the pop-up window from Jenny and got a confirmation #. I was still billed $69.95 today on my credit card. I called and spoke to Adam who told me my account was still active and he would cancel it and refund my money but it would take 5-12 days. That is not acceptable.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    linda Apr 03, 2009

    I cancled withen the 12 days allowed but they still billed my credit card and then they gave my credit card info to another company called self help and they also billed my credit card another 29.95

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BethT Mar 28, 2009

    Bromalite charged me the initial $4.95 and it took almost 2 weeks to receive the product. There was NO paperwork or contact information with the product. By that time they already charged me the first $69.95 without my consent. When I saw the charge 2 weeks later on my statement, I called to get that charge removed and they said they did, but what they didn't tell me is that they had already (that same day) charged me ANOTHER $69.95. When I later saw the second charge, I called again and they refused to remove it because they said they already did when I called the first time. The FIRST charge for $69.95 was never removed and the phone reps can only reverse the most recent charge. I even spoke with a supervisor who was very rude and continued to refuse to remove any more charges.

    On their website they claim in big letters "30 day risk free trial", but they do not honor it, instead they refer you to the fine print at the bottom where it says you will be charged $69.95 12 days from the day you "sign up"... well, you don't get the product before then and if you do, there's not enough time to decide whether you like it or not. They just go ahead and charge you $69.95 and then another 2 weeks later, you get another charge for $69.95.

    I called the other customer service number as well [protected] and was told that they will "forward my request to another department, but it may take a month before I see any response"... I didn't believe any of this.

    I filed a dispute through my credit card company and I also filed a complaint with the FTC (Federal Trade Commission - Consumer Protection section). I was told that this company is being investigated.

    Any advice I can give would be:

    * Don't stop calling them. Call all their customer service numbers, speak to supervisors.
    * File a dispute through your credit card company (I was told the credit card companies already has this company flagged as a fraud)
    * File a complaint with the FTC so that the FEDS will get involved. The more people complain, the better.

    Here is the link to the FTC complaint form online.
    https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karon Mar 26, 2009

    This company is a rip-off. I placed on order one day and canceled the next day. I was charged for a months supple when I only ordered a free trail.
    Now they keep giving me the run-a-round about my refund. It took them two days to charge my account, now 39 days and I still don't have my refund. Never order from this company...They also will not tell you who owns this company...BIG red flag

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Teresa Mar 23, 2009

    When I ordered this free trial product online I was understanding that the product I ordered was an acaiberry product.When I received it there was no acaiberry in the product, also it was a totally different bottle then what was pictured. I went ahead and took the product for about a week and noticed nothing other than an increased appitite. So I decided to look up this Bromalite that I received and I found all these reports of getting charged $69.95 to their accounts. When I called the company. They tell me my account has already been charged $69.95 and asked if I received the product in which I was charged for. I tell them that I haven't so they say they will reimburse the charges and gave me two numbers, conf#9A9E8 and a cancellation # 5D99F. I don't know what will happen but I will let you know.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carol Mar 19, 2009

    To Whom It May Concern:

    I strongly suggest that Bromalite DISCONTINUE your practice of 'unauthorized charges' of $69.95 on those who simply are interested in trying your product through a trial offer. Although the customer service manager kindly posted legal language listed above, I believe fine print at the end of a screen/page to authorize future charges linked with a 'trial offer' is predatory selling. Further, it makes consumers highly suspicious of on-line transactions and your future marketing efforts exponentially more difficult.

    Should I receive future notifications from REGNET, Bromalite, etc., it will immediately be DELETED.

    Sincerely,
    Carol
    A Extremely Annoyed Consumer in Boston

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dorothy washington Mar 13, 2009

    I want to cancel the Bromalite, I didnot give anyone, to use my credit card but one time and it was for 4.99.YOU HAVE MY E-MAIL ADDRESS SO PLEASE CANCEL ANYMORE, DO NOT SEND ME ANYMOE.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laura Mar 07, 2009

    I admit I too was dupped but I did manage to get back at least two of the $69.95 charges to my credit card. It was not easy by any means but Bromalite did refund and cancel "my account". Buyers need to be aware we are easily scammed. We need to remember the old tried but true "if it sounds too good to be true it probably is" We need to be satisfied with our bodies or visit a medical doctor for advice and help. Trial offers should be more responsible in their advertising though and full disclosure should be up front and in LARGE PRINT not so tiny one must hunt for it and get a magnafying glass to read it. I don't understand how or why our credit card information is given to unauthorized companies that additionally charge us $19.95 for a service we know nothing about. This is totally wrong, immoral, and fraudulant. I do take responsibilty to a certain extent for wanting to get quick results for something that didn't happen overnight.

    0 Votes
  • Lc
    LCS Mar 06, 2009

    I, too was one of those Naive people surfing the web and seeing all these great stories about using the ACAI berry and Bromalite together. So I decided to give the free trial a try. This was on 1/26/09. Within about 5 minutes, I was already regretting my decision, so I called the number (imagine that, I had an e-mail from the fitfactory.com?, what's that all about) on a website I was directed to from my e-mail. I called the number and spoke with someone named POM, who wanted me to go to fitfactory.com and see all the great features it had to offer! I finally told him I had looked, and I wanted to cancel everything. He gave me FOUR confirmation codes, one for Acai, one for Fit Factory.com, one for something called Cost Smasher, and another for the "supplement." I didn't even want the free trial at this point. But, a few days later I got it anyway and the S&H were charged to my account.

    Stupid me, I thought the "supplement" they referred to was the Bromalite. Much to my dismay on 2/27 when I saw a pending charge for $74.85 from DRI*REG for the Bromalite. I went online to my bank account and disputed the charge electronically, and have also faxed in a formal dispute. Lo and behold, yesterday I received another bottle of that dreaded Bromalite.

    I just called the [protected] number and spoke with "Jessica" after about 5 minutes on hold. Of course, when I told her the confirmation code, she said that's not the type of codes they used, so she didn't know where I cancelled previously. She told me that she went ahead and cancelled the 2nd charge for $69.99 (what? I don't even know about this yet) and it will take 8-10 business days for the refund (she gave me a 5 digit confirmation code comprised of letters and numbers). She also said that if I return the Bromalite (just write "return to sender" on the package, but slip a note in there with your info) and request a refund, along with your name and e-mail address, they will process it and your refund will be available in 8-10 days. I'll believe it when I see it. Oh, they also charge certain states sales tax, like Georgia, which is why my charge was $74.85, not $69.99.

    0 Votes
  • Pp
    pprboy12 Mar 04, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Bromalite is a scam!!! I did the $4.95 shipping deal and this stuff won't stop coming. I have gone to their website and cancelled my order twice and they keep charging my acct. Now they are charging my acct and not even sending me product. Please help.

    John Tillinghast
    Edgewood Paper Co
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tonya Feb 27, 2009

    I WANT THIS COMPANY TO STOP CHARGING ME FOR SOMETHING I DID NOT ORDER AND GIVE A NUMBER THAT YOU CAN TALK TO SOMEONE TO CANCEL A ORDER AND STOP CHARGING ME FOR SOMETHING I CAN NOT USE. I AM GOING TO HAVE TO CANCEL MY CARDS DUE TO THE CHARGES FROM THIS COMPANY, I DO NOT WANT THIS PRODUCT, I JUST WANT TO CANCEL AND STOP BEING CHARGED, I HAVE BEEN CHARGED ABOUT $250.00 ALL TOGATHER NOW.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Harvey E Cutts Feb 26, 2009

    Ordered a sample of product and canceled within 3 weeks, have been charged for the past three months from debit account in the amount of $214.97unautherised

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nance Feb 21, 2009

    Sorry incorrect AG address in previous post.
    Bromalite from Lewes, DE:

    I already went through the hoop dance calling [protected], and Chatted on line (have the chat log to include in Attorney General Complaint)

    There is no 30-Day RISK FREE TRIAL, as Michelle wrote in my complaint (see Nance complaint)

    They scammed us.

    Contact Attorney General Office where product shipped.

    RETURN THIS FORM TO:
    CONSUMER PROTECTION UNIT
    DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE STATE OF DELAWARE 820 NORTH FRENCH STREET, 5TH FLOOR
    WILMINGTON, DELAWARE 19801
    Phone: [protected] or [protected]
    Fax: [protected]
    Email: consumer.protection @state.de.us

    Write complaint to internet fraud:
    www.ic3.gov/complaint/default.aspx

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nance Feb 21, 2009

    I already went through the hoop dance calling [protected], and Chatted on line (have the chat log to include in Attorney General Complaint)

    There is no 30-Day RISK FREE TRIAL, as Michelle wrote in my complaint (see Nance complaint)

    They scammed us.

    Contact Attorney General Office where product shipped.

    Tom Miller
    Consumer Protection Division
    Attorney General of Iowa
    Hoover State Office Building
    1300 E. Walnut, Des Moines, Iowa 50319
    [protected]
    E-mail: [email protected]

    Write complaint to internet fraud:
    www.ic3.gov/complaint/default.aspx

    Ask bank to put "FLAG" on future card charges. Get new charge card.

    We need to stop these scammers.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nance Feb 21, 2009

    Contact Attorney General Office where product shipped.

    Tom Miller
    Consumer Protection Division
    Attorney General of Iowa
    Hoover State Office Building
    1300 E. Walnut, Des Moines, Iowa 50319
    [protected]
    E-mail: [email protected]

    Write complaint to internet fraud:
    www.ic3.gov/complaint/default.aspx

    Ask bank to put "FLAG" on future debit card charges. Get new debit card.

    We need to stop these scammers.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen Feb 20, 2009

    I ordered this colene clenser on line. I logged onto the Good Morning America site and I saw a link on weight loss and there was a lot of bad comments about this product. They said their accountswere being debeted without permission. I just had them debet my account for $74.50. Buyer beware!

    Karen

    0 Votes
  • Jd
    jdperalez Feb 20, 2009

    I purchased the trial and cancelled within the 21 days and still was billed $69.95 from Bromalite. I was able to speak with someone regarding the charges and was informed that I would be refunded the funds within 12 business days.

    If Bromalite has stolen from you please contact them for your refund: 866.897.0663

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Regina Coffey Feb 12, 2009

    scam!!!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Regina Coffey Feb 12, 2009

    Hello, I too ordered the Bromalite and my account eas overdrawn 69.95 without my consent. I called [protected] and spoke to live representative, and was told that I would recieve my money back within 10-12 business days. If I don't, I'm going to call the Better Business Bureau.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Regina Coffey Feb 12, 2009

    Hello, I too ordered the Bromalite and the 69.95 eas drawn from my account.However; I called [protected] an spoke to a live representative. I'm supposed to recieve my mony back on my credit card within 10-12 business days. If I don't, I'm going to call the Better Business Bureau.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    DiAnn Baker Feb 12, 2009

    Orfered a free trial size for just shipping and handling for 30 days. Within a week, I was charged $69.00 on my bank card. Went back to my conformation for trial on email and given no onformation on how to cancel, . Please let me know what I can do before more money is withdrawn fropm my account.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Charlie Hall Feb 11, 2009

    Please DON'T respond to the 800 number commercials on Radio & TV stations. They are ALL SCAMS in one way or another.
    The Bromalite Scam is similar to the Acaiberry Scam.
    If you REALLY want to try these products, why don’t you simply try the LOCAL STORES FIRST? More often than not, you can probably get the same or similar product LOCALLY.

    Think about it, 70% of ALL SCAMS listed on Complaints Board, [redacted], My 3 cents.com, iRipoff .com and others, STARTED with a 800 number commercial you saw on TV or heard on the Radio. Now, what does that tell you about the so-called "truth in advertising" belief that a lot of Americans think about Radio & TV stations and the companies that advertise on them??

    The other 30% of the SCAMS are related to the internet or spam emails. When are Americans going to wise up and quit being so GULLIBLE and TRUSTING?? You would think some of them were BORN YESTERDAY, so to speak. Babies & children have a good excuse for being gullible and trusting, but adults DO NOT have an excuse, what-so-ever, especially of strangers or "a voice on the phone".

    WISE UP AMERICA, YOUR WELL BEING DEPENDS ON IT. Why are we, as Americans, so damn stupid? It amazes me that some of these SCAMMERS are still breathing and living in their condos.

    If you MUST respond to these commercials, USE a RE-LOADABLE, DISPOSABLE credit card with only enough money on it to pay for your initial purchase, no more than $10 or $20.00 more. You can keep your loses at a minimum that way. If you have more, they will keep hitting your card to get more and then just try to get a refund.

    REMEMBER, the so-called "FREE TRIALS" are NOT free, they will charge you for 1 to 3 months supply of their CRAP, even BEFORE you get the free trial if you use a regular credit card. More often as not, they will also sign you up for another “FREE TRIAL” of some other product and you probably won’t realize they have done this until you get your credit card statement. Quite often, it is very hard, if not impossible, to get the bogus charges removed.

    The Tax & Debt Reduction and Real Estate SCAMS for "pennies on the dollar" are especially cruel. The stories about them will break your heart. You WILL LOSE thousands of dollars on them. They are very convincing in their pitch to you. DO NOT believe ANY THING they Say, Claim, or Guarantee, above all, don't give your credit information.

    Google their names before you even call them. Check out their reviews.

    Please tell EVERYONE you know about these TV and RADIO commercial facts of life.

    0 Votes
  • Lp
    LPack Feb 11, 2009

    I ordered a a trial of Bromalite which I had to pay shipping and handling. Then I received another bottle which I was charged $95.00, plus I was charged 2 times of $69.oo for ACAIBerry. I called both companies and cancelled, and was told I could not get a refund since I did not call within the 14 days of the free trial. I have definitely learned my lesson, and will not get free trials again!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kitana Feb 11, 2009

    I signed up for the trail offer was charged the $4.95 and 2 days latter was charged another $69.95. I have tried to cancel on line as suggested and allt he information I ou tin comes up on order on file. I have been trying to reach them by phone and have been unsuccessful. I will keep trying...

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nancy Feb 11, 2009

    I ordered a sample of Bromalite for $4.95 and it arrived on the 5th of January, 2009. I had 14 FULL days to cancel future shipments before they would bill and ship a new shipment. I called and canceled on the 9th of January, 2009. The next day I saw on the internet that they billed me for $69.95. I called again and they said, 'yes, they had canceled me and I would get a refund in approximately 30 days'. I asked her why they had billed me for a new shipment before the 14 day trial period ran out. She stated she did not know but assured me that I would get the full $69.95 refund within 30 days. We will see...

    0 Votes
  • Rp
    Rpascual Feb 06, 2009

    On Feb 6, 09 I've broused the web, and found these testimonies about Acai and bromalite products their effectiveness and the good results. So I decided to read the article in small print, but mealwhile I've that strong feeling about something wrong there for they advertized a free products for $499, please bear in mind they don't say $4.99 for a bottle, So decided to enrolled anyway, I've filled my name and address, even my phone number. my guts feeling mis-trusting these folks increased when they asked me for the credit card. at that point closed and log out, AND WENT HOME TO MY SURPRISED, THAT DAY THEY'VE CHARGED ME $499.00 TO MY PAY PAL CARD. I DID NOT PROVIDED THEM WITH ANY CREDIT CARD INFO. INMEDIATELTY I'VE CALLED PAY PAL AND FORMULATED A COMPLAINT. I'm not responsible for it for I did not place any order, nor authorized it.YES INDEED THE ARE A SCAM.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen651 Feb 06, 2009

    I had no problem getting a refund from this company. They were actually quite nice and agreeable. I didn't understand what I was signing up for when I requested the "free sample", and when I explained that to them, they immediately cancelled my membership and refunded my money.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Melissa Feb 04, 2009

    Ordered trial of Bromalite on 1/29/09 and found out about the scam on Feb.1. Of course the amount of 4.95 shipping has been drafted and also a charge of 34.95. I have yet to receive the product and when or if I do I am returning it immediately. I have blocked by credit card and ordered a new one. My bank is helping take care of the unauthorized charges. I also went to the Bromolite website (because when I called 41 people were waiting ahead of my call)and when I went to cancel a representative of the company popped up in an instant message box and started a conversation with me. I told her I wanted to cancel and she said my account was cancelled. I have printed out the conversation with her. I have also went to www.verifyyourorder.com and it says my order has been cancelled.

    So, hopefully, blocking or cancelling my credit card at my bank will take care of any further transactions. I'm very thankful that I decided to look further into this product three days after ordering it.

    I would like to see some action taken towards this company. There are definitely enough people reporting the scam. I am keeping my records and am going to see how further action could be taken on this.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    DORIS BRAY Feb 04, 2009

    I WAS CHARGED 74.85 FOR BROMALITE AND I NEVER ORDERED IT AND IT CAUSE AN OVERDRAFT IN MY ACCOUNT I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO REACH THEM AND I HAS NOT GOTTEN AN ANSWER I KNOW THAT THIS WAS A SCAM

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.