Having problems with B&Q / Diy.com?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

+44 333 014 3357 (Home Delivery)
+44 333 014 3098 (General Enquiries)
B&Q House, Chestnut Avenue, Chandler's Ford
Eastleigh, England, Hampshire
United Kingdom - SO533LE
Mon8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tue8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wed8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thu8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Fri8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Sat8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Complaints & Reviews

delivery service

Hi all. I ordered 2 bulk bags of bark chippings from b&q but got a text saying delivery to kirbside only as not delivered by crane or hiab. What use is this I thought, I phoned b&q on a monday and cancelled the order and was told ok your order is cancelled you will get full refund within 5 days. Went to hospital on wednesday as I had an appointment to follow up my cancer operation I had 3 weeks previously. Arrived home about 3 hours later to find 2 x 1000litre bags of bark on my drive placed right up to my garage door. I cannot open the door to access my mobility scooter or anything else I need form the garage. B&q informed of problem and 24 hours later the bark is still there and now have to wait untill tomorrow to see when bark will be picked up and taken away as I dont want it. The woman from b&q I spoke to on the phone has already had 24 hours to get it moved to no avail so I hold no hope for tomorrow I am afraid. I am absolutely disgusted by b&q's response to my problem and shall be seeking compensation big style as I am so angry by all of this mess. I do not need all this stress at a low time in my life, my wife is also stressed to her limits as she has had to do all the talking as I had my tongue removed. I will never use b&q again and would urge anyone thinking of having bulk deliveries from them to reconsider and look at other options. They really dont give a damn about my situation. Yours sincerely disgusted &appalled

Don't use this company to fit anything!

My parent's bathroom was supposed to be completely fitted by the 5th October. So far they have had 1 overpayment charged, 2 incorrect deliveries, 1 broken shower tray, 2 days to which the fitter failed to arrive and now they have half a bathroom. Their original bathroom was ripped out 30th September ready for the new one to be fitted in its place - we are still waiting for this to be completed. A fitter did arrive today and fitted only the toilet. Upon leaving he announced he wouldn't be back until Saturday! Is this acceptable B&Q? I would like to personally thank you for the stress and worry you have put upon my parents. Luckily I'm off work this week so have come to visit their home to help aleviate the stress. The 'project manager' is obviously unavailable so I have no alternative to post online.

Advice to everyone - do not purchase anything from B&Q which needs ordering, delivering or fitting as they seem unable to complete anything.

Price of paint

My son recently purchased a flat to rent out. It needed some decorating so my husband and I helped them out along with a professional decorator who was quite expensive so we ditched him after some initial work. We needed to buy some extra paint for the walls which was Dulux emulsion, 'almond white' we sent our son & his girlfriend to b&q but they didn't have this colour so they went off to an independent supplier. They ended up paying £68 for a 10 ltr pot of paint, absolute extortion! When they returned to the flat I obviously questioned the cost, but realized they cannot return a mixed pot. We telephoned the number on a receipt left from the decorator, which is where he got his supplies from but not local to us, and they quoted £42 for the same paint, such a massive difference in price. I actually cannot believe the price they were charged & feel there should be some comeback from this? Please advise. Kind regards Frances Dewitt

Work end of line sale

the store advetised in the national press there would be a clearancs sale of (Work trade name) electric Drills and electric Srewdrivers I went to my local b&q store for three consecative days afteri was told they were waiting for a delivery and to day i was told the would not be getting any of the items! onFriday when i was in the store there was some Work tm tools but they have disapered when i went back today (saterday) some this makes me think its all some type of scam to get people into their store

  • Mi
    Michaela Debenham Mar 19, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    B&Q didn't deliver Kitchen.Local store arrange for the delivery was much as they could. Two months on still awaiting parts and B&Q head office very unhelpful.

    0 Votes
  • Ya
    Yasneedschocolate May 29, 2011

    Every time I visit b&q the service is shocking. Does anyone know if there is anyone I can comp, sin to and actually make a difference. I don't ever complain but am so fed up I want someone to know that they are losing my custom!

    0 Votes

Poor Customer Service

We purchased a bath which was delvered damaged in July, but we did not discover this until we installed the bath some time later. It is clear to us that the damage was caused because the product was not secured properly in transit from the branch to our house. The representative at the branch rudely dismissed our complaint, and accused us of dishonesty. We will not be back.

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Never again

Having read some of the archived comments about the B&Q service received by other customers, I was keen to add my own comments regarding the ongoing saga of my bathroom installation.

The story so far...
February 2007 - visit local B&Q store to arrange a home design consultation. Agree date for consultant to visit. 5 minutes before due to arrive, receive call from store saying consultant has phoned in sick - arrange another date for a visit. No show from the consultant, storm down to the store where I am told "oh yes, he's let someone else down today as well". Arrange another date with a different consultant. Consultant arrives!!! Happy with design, place order, fitting will be within 12 weeks (in retrospect I should have seen the warning signs at this point). Agree finance - details will follow in the post.

March - no information received in the post. Visit store to ensure finance is OK and order has been placed. Everything OK, expect a call from the Installation Centre.
Wait a couple of weeks, no call from installation centre, call 0845 number - order is OK, expect a call from the fitter for prefit survey
Delivery company want to arrange delivery - how can I without an installation date?

April - no call from fitter, phone 0845 number - don't worry fitter will be in touch. Still no call, phone installation centre - fitter has decided he doesn't want job, new fitter assigned. No news from new fitter, call installation centre - he's lost the paper work, this is resent and he will be in touch.

May - further calls to installation centre to chase up fitter. Finally have prefit survey, installation will be 24th July (16 weeks after initial order). Installation centre will be in touch to confirm delivery.

June - store want to arrange delivery, arrange suitable date

July - call to installation centre to confirm delivery, waiting on paperwork, but someone will phone me back. Follow up call to installation centre, bath hasn't been sent off for jetting and won't be back in time for installation, fitting will now be 16th October.

Having not received the promised phone call from a team leader today, to discuss extending my finance agreement (I refuse to pay before it is fitted and current agreement runs out in August) and to make a formal complaint, I called the installation centre again. No-one available to talk to me, will call back tomorrow...

One way or another the saga will end - either I will get the service I require, or the order will be cancelled and I'll try again with another company. Never again!!

Shocking service

We paid for a vanity unit in the farnborough store. £360, pounds paid with the understanding out furniture would be delivered within 4weeks, however seeing everyone elses complaints this sounds like the beginning of the lies. I rang after 4 weeks to enquire after the product and was then enlightened I wasn't dealing with b&q any more but a PJ holdings! When I rang them I was informed the unit was out if stock and was expected in at the end of sept, another call I was told mid oct.. But mist likely end of oct.. I rang again at the end of oct and I was then told it was unknown when the product would likely to be in. I was seeing red at this point and realised I was being scammed by a well known company. Plenty of futile phonecalls to staff who where clueless except in the art of taking payment. Following many calls to various depts I was put through to b&q home.. I eventually got my unit on 10th oct.. Turned out product was I'll suited and needed to be returned.. Que more pathetic customer service .. I eventually got a refund on 10 th November, it remains to be seen if money has made it into our account... Never ever will I buy anything from b&Q I would rather gouge my eye out with a muddy stick.

repackaged as &new&

Do you know how much a complete toilet in a sealed box should weigh? I don't. All I know is I bought a...

Greenwich Appliances

Reserved online - drove 50 miles and didn't bother to tell me item wasn't in stock.

Bought a discounted toaster by reserving online to collect at the York outlet. Drove 80 miles in the snow to collect; decided to call and ask them to put to one side to hurry things through.

Was then told the item was out of stock, and someone should have called me.

160 mile round-trip for nothing. No recourse or promise of rectifying situation. Hopeless.

  • Mo
    mog456 Feb 21, 2011

    Same for me. Reserved an item on line. Confirmation said item was reserved and ready for picking up the next day from 10am. If there was any problem they would give me a call. They did call at 7.15pm and for some reason did not leave any message. Have you ever tried ringing the Birmingham Castle Vale store ? I have rang there many times trying to get hold of somebody that might display a 'smidgeon' of interest in my query. After well over a dozen such calls, I long ago decided not to bother wasting my money on any further calls. Drove 15 miles to the store at 11.30am with a sneaking suspicion I was about to find out that B&Q reserve and collect was not quite in the same league as Argos.
    Got to the store and gave the reference to the girl in the store. The girl came back and said she couldn't find the item and handed it on to another girl. All this time, I am watching 2 store assistants arguing as neither of them wants to serve a customer and each is telling the other about how much they've had to do already. Meantime my store assistant comes back to tell me that the item was not in stock and that they phoned me 3 times. I confirmed that they had indeed called me and asked why nobody had left a message to tell me there was a problem. The girl's answer was that it wasn't her fault and she didn't see from the sheet who had made the call. I left the store and haven't been back since. I am not sure what the problem is but I do notice that in this particular store there seems, in my opinion, to be a collective 'apathy' from the vast majority of employees in the store. To be fair, there are a couple of people (if you're lucky enough to find them - like the older gentleman who greets the punters at the store entrance and Pete and Gavin in kitchens) who stand out, purely because you feel that they have time to listen and help. I have called and asked for the store Manager on previous occasions as I was interested to hear what opinion he had about all of this. I am still waiting to get through to the Store Manager - says it all !!!

    0 Votes

Awful experience

I purchased a kitchen from B & Q on 01.06.09. I was told I would be informed of delivery date as I wanted it to be delivered on a Thursday. I was told if all items were in stock it would come direct from store, if not it would come from a depot. On Friday 19.06.09, while I was not at home, the kitchen was delivered. On 27.06.09 my fitters came to fit kitchen, they found 2 out of 3 work surfaces were damaged, a post was broken, pieces were missing from the assembly parts and 15 pieces of the kitchen were missing from order, including drawer fronts, door, end panels, cabinets etc. The manager told me that he would not give me the missing pieces or a refund until he had investigated matter. I took all pieces in my possession back to store and was only offered partial refund, for bits i had returned, not the missing pieces. I complained to complaints department, only for them to be so incompetent I had to add them to complaint. On 29.06.09 I was told I would get a full refund, but not because they agreed that pieces were missing, just for customer goodwill. I have a bill for £200 from my fitters for starting to fit kitchen, but B & Q refuse to pay saying that all items were delivered. By 01.07.09 B & Q admitted that 2 of the missing pieces were never delivered, but that all the other pieces were, and I am entitled to nothing. I was not prepared to let the fitters fit a kitchen, without me knowing that B & Q would give me the missing peices, as I had no intention of paying for them again. The kitchen was not fit for purpose and trading standards say they are in breach of contract, but still they won't pay my fitter's bill. B & Q are useless and couldn't care about customer service, and are quite happy to call their customers liars and thieves. I cater from home and not only am I out of pocket £200 to my fitters and about £25 in petrol to and from store, and phone calls, my business has suffered and I have lost earnings and goodwill of my customers.

  • Je
    jenny carpenter Jul 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You have my upmost sympathy. After three months of incompetence, my bathroom installation is still not complete. Lost off rota two weeks into job, two faulty toilets (one of which an independent plumber said had a designer fault), £250 later on top of £4, 500 for installation they have still not reimbursed me. And the insulting manner in which the Installations staff treat you. Then just when you think someone is getting to grips with your complaint, they leave the company. Have had about 6 like this already.
    As for Euan Suthetrland, CEO at Chandlers Ford, if they docked his salary for all the additional out of pocket expenses of us humble beings, then perhaps something would get done.

    B&Q Installations - wouldn't touch them with an extended barge pole.

    Jenny C

    1 Votes
  • Go
    Gorg O'meesh Dec 11, 2010

    I have experience of B&Q fitting a bathroom for me with two years guarantee. The work is substandard. The laminate floor has buckled, no tread has been placed on a threshold which is very also badly cut, the bath panel has not been fixed and comes off. I have written several letters and many phone calls but they just ignore them. They sent an 'inspector' to assess the faults and refuse to give us the report of their 'inspector'. They are incompetent and untrustworthy. Wouldn't touch them with an extended bargepole, as you say! I am pursuing them legally.

    0 Votes

Worst company ever

Having read some of the archived comments about the B&Q service received by other customers, I was keen to add my own comments regarding the ongoing saga of my bathroom installation.

The story so far...

February 2007 - visit local B&Q store to arrange a home design consultation. Agree date for consultant to visit. 5 minutes before due to arrive, receive call from store saying consultant has phoned in sick - arrange another date for a visit. No show from the consultant, storm down to the store where I am told "oh yes, he's let someone else down today as well". Arrange another date with a different consultant. Consultant arrives!!! Happy with design, place order, fitting will be within 12 weeks (in retrospect I should have seen the warning signs at this point). Agree finance - details will follow in the post.

March - no information received in the post. Visit store to ensure finance is OK and order has been placed. Everything OK, expect a call from the Installation Centre. Wait a couple of weeks, no call from installation centre, call 0845 number - order is OK, expect a call from the fitter for prefit survey Delivery company want to arrange delivery - how can I without an installation date?

April - no call from fitter, phone 0845 number - don't worry fitter will be in touch. Still no call, phone installation centre - fitter has decided he doesn't want job, new fitter assigned. No news from new fitter, call installation centre - he's lost the paper work, this is resent and he will be in touch.

May - further calls to installation centre to chase up fitter. Finally have prefit survey, installation will be 24th July (16 weeks after initial order). Installation centre will be in touch to confirm delivery.

June - store want to arrange delivery, arrange suitable date

July - call to installation centre to confirm delivery, waiting on paperwork, but someone will phone me back. Follow up call to installation centre, bath hasn't been sent off for jetting and won't be back in time for installation, fitting will now be 16th October.

Having not received the promised phone call from a team leader today, to discuss extending my finance agreement (I refuse to pay before it is fitted and current agreement runs out in August) and to make a formal complaint, I called the installation centre again. No-one available to talk to me, will call back tomorrow...

One way or another the saga will end - either I will get the service I require, or the order will be cancelled and I'll try again with another company. Never again!

delays in delivery

Mid-August, I wanted to build a simple carport and went to the neaest biggish B&Q. Amazingly they did have all the bits and pieces in stock, but promised me delivery within 3 or 4 days. Well, it took close to a month. <br />
I phoned in repeatedly and was given the runabout each time.Eventually, they got their act together and delivered; but they could not even tell me more or less what time to expect the stuff. Wasted 3 weeks of perfect weather+1 Saturday waiting for the delivery man!<br />
A letter of complaint to B&Q head office in Renfrewshire went answered - not even the courtesy of an acknowledgment.<br />
I need not add what I think ofB&Q.

  • Ch
    CheckoutChick Sep 29, 2009

    I am an employee of B&Q and would like to offer some assistance on the problem. Orders handled by the store's Customer Ordering system take around an average time of two weeks to be delivered, so whoever said 3 to 4 days was grossly misinformed. As for a scheduled delivery time, there is nobody in the store that can give that to you. The deliveries are usually handled by the Warehouse Manager, who liaises with the delivery drivers and, as such, those are subject to change so as a rule we do not communicate them to customers. The store should have, however, phoned you to arrange a delivery date to suit yourself. When you say you were "given the runabout", what exactly were they told? I myself have been on the receiving end of customers who would like to query deliveries and all I can do within my remit is go into the customer's delivery file and see whether we have the item in stock to be delivered or not. My advice to you would be to write directly to the store manager as you have more chance of getting a response from them rather than head office. You could even go into the store and request to speak to them directly, which would guarantee that some solution could be reached.

    hope this helps

    Miss L James

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    June Margaret Tanner Jul 10, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ordered sliding doors from Band Q, was phoned and told delivery Thursday between 2-4pm waited until 6 .15pm when I got a text to say the truck had broken down. Got another phone call on Friday to say that although they didn't deliver in my area until Thursday's as a favour to me they would deliver Monday between 10-2pm
    Problem - no apology / had waited in for 4hours / had arranged to have doors fitted on the Saturday / was told no trucks in my area until Thursday then passed a B and Q home delivery truck on the Bypass heading into Brighton at 2 pm on the Friday! / busted! /poor customer service, poor phone manner and no empathy with customers situation. Glad I hadn't taken time off work not that they would care..

    0 Votes

Product not fit for purpose

We recently bought a shower enclosure from B&Q with an integral wooden drying board. We had it fitted by our own builders but within one month the board had warped and gone moldy. In addition the enclosure does not enclose water so it sprays across the bathroom when we are showering. We have spent the last 2 months trying to get the store to listen to us. They sent 2 men to the view it who wrote a one line email stating the shower head was in the wrong place - this is a lie. We gave them pictorial evidence and delivered a letter stating the 'Sale of Goods Act' as the product is not fir for purpose. The manager of the store refused to read it and has refused to do anything more. We have stated that we do not want a new wooden board as a replacement as this will need to be done on a monthly basis for the rest of the bathrooms life - we have been ignored. We are now about to send the letter to the MD and then we will have to go to the small claims court. I am wondering if we should do a mass action against the company? Can this be done? There seem to be a lot of unhappy people out there who have dealt with B&Q.

  • Ch
    CheckoutChick Sep 29, 2009

    I am an employee of B&Q so, as such, I have a knowledge of the B&Q Returns Policy. If a product is faulty and you have proof of purchase, you should be offered an exchange or a full refund, regardless of if you have the product in the store with you at the time. I have to say, I have never heard of such appalling customer service shown by a B&Q store. I can fully understand you not wanting to replace the wooden board of the shower enclosure, but I have to say that writing to the MD won't really get you anything apart from, at best, a standard letter of acknowledgement. A mass action against the company would probably cost a lot more in time and money than what going directly to the store and asserting yourself would do. I would advise you to go directly to the store and demand to speak to the person of highest authority (probably the store manager) and explain everything in detail to them. If you can, take the shower enclosure back so as to illustrate the damage and, if you still have photographic evidence, take them in with you to confront the store manager. If you still get nowhere, write to Trading Standards or Consumer Direct.

    Hope this helps

    Miss L James

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    ShowroomBoy Oct 06, 2009

    As a note, walk in enclosures are NOT water tight, and are described as such in the brochure. Therefore your issue of water spraying is to be expected and you should have considered this when purchasing a walk in enclosure.

    I have never heard of that happening to a wooden footboard before, perhaps it was not properly sealed and could be exchanged for a different one.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Molevalleyman May 08, 2010

    B&Q are appaling - I have declined to even go into one of their depots but on the 6th May I decided I would give them a try so:

    I purchased the following:

    Oak Effect trim £13.22 - this was very poor in that it was extremely badly assembled and failed on installation.
    Carpet clip and base 2No @ 18.98 ea - So poor that I tossed them into the skip. The clips failed to hold the trim in position and the 'spring' of the carpet and underlay prooved too robust to allow these items to function correctly despite my adherance to the installation instructions.
    Planed Timber £13.80 - So poor, I used it for kindling, despite being wrapped and banded when unpacked was so bent and twisted, it proved completely unfit for purpose.
    c/ architrave £7.24 - So badly twisted and knot-bound, it couldn't be used.
    Stripwood £6.56 - not fit for purpose and disposed of.
    80.00 paid out minus a thirty pound Gift Card and my assurance that I will never step into a B&Q depot ever again and, I will be advising others about the exteremely poor quality of your goods.
    (Copied src.1518) 8th May 2010

    0 Votes

unfinished work

i ordered a new kitchen from b&q and they came last mon 4th may to install it, 4 days i was told
its now 13th may and still waiting for appliance to come, walls to be smoothed down w, machine to be plumbed in as f/f too dish washer also which they sent wrong one and had to have units moved. given stories about coming tues then when rang them was told wed, today
told they have own workmen still they forgot things, saw not big enough and even broke hob in process, which is being replaced diferant plumbers came no proper connection with then and told my wife to go to shop and buy a extention am waiting to see if they come today i have photos here but will as i said seee what happens today i told them i spoke to trading standards woman didnt seem to care and e mailed watchdog too

  • Ke
    Kevin freeborn Jun 22, 2010

    John, I fully sympathise with you.
    We we're next in line for this lack lustre, disorganised shambles of a company.
    We are in Cults, Aberdeen and our dual bathroom & kitchen installation started one week later on the 10th May 2010
    We are still waiting for a Bathroom fitter to replace a damaged door after over 6 weeks. the tiling was only completed last week! As for the Kitchen this space isn't large enough! (still ongoing). I would be keen to learn from you whether you have put in an officail complaint to the B&Q head office and local store where you booked the installation because I want to look to get compensation for the total and utter grief they have put my wife and kids through. Kevin 07742066104 [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Je
    jenny carpenter Jul 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    No-one wants to take responsibility. Between the store where you purchase, the Installations Centre responsible for installation, you are in a no win situation. Reports to Trading Standards (as did I), and head straight for the small claims court, as three months on from installation start date and a bathroom installation charge of £4, 500, I am still awaiting additional out of pocket expenses for an emergency plumber of £115.50 (their fitter installed WC and failed to test it on a Friday afternoon and refused to return until the Monday), and a 2nd toilet to replace faulty one of £150 (as Installation refused to order a replacement as they had already done this once ! -- if it's faulty, you replace - ever heard of the Sale of Goods Act).

    Good Luck because sadly you'll need it dealing with these despicable [censor]s.

    Jenny C

    1 Votes
  • Dr
    Dr D Kar Oct 04, 2010

    I entirely agree with the customers who have suffered. I have extremely bad expereince with them - it seems like they are too big to listen to people. I contacted them almost on a daily basis since they started working in my kitchen and bathroom - it seems like the installation don't speak to the warehouse, the person who did the original estimate left the company and then work not passed on to somebody who knows what they are doing. The whole experience is a nightmare.

    1 Votes
  • Go
    Gorg O'meesh Dec 11, 2010

    I have experience of B&Q fitting a bathroom for me with two years guarantee. The work is substandard. The laminate floor bought from B&Q itself has buckled, no tread has been placed on a threshold which looks unsightly, is very badly cut, and since the bottom of the door is not properly plained a tread does not fit. The bath panel has not been fixed and comes off. It does not take them a lot of time or expense to fix their faults but they are bullishly refusing to reply to our many communications. We have written several letters and many phone calls but they just ignore them. After the first letter and several phone calls they sent an 'inspector' to assess the faults but now refuse to give us the report of their 'inspector'. They are incompetent and untrustworthy. Wouldn't touch them with an extended bargepole, as you say! I am pursuing them legally, but I don't think they really care. I am boycotting them and letting everyone know of the experience. There should be a collective consumer action against B&Q for its repeated incidents of breach of contract, absence of respect for its customers, not least absence of respect for its guarantees which in our experience are sham.

    0 Votes

Poor Quality

I had a new kitchen out in in June 2007. Ever since the beginning bits have been falling off. Now, one of the cupboard doors is hanging at an angle and there is a hole appeared in the back of one of the cupbpards.
I need someone to come and fix it ASAP, otherwise, it's just going to get worse.
Yours,
Mary J Moss. Mrs.
I don't hear very clearly on the phone so, the phone No I have given you is that of my friend who takes calls for me. Otherwise, you can reach me on my mobile (Text only ). The number is...
[protected]

Terrible company

Bought a shower bath and glass door with side panels in the so called sales - supposedly had 50% off the original price - well that was written on the price ticket at the time. Had lots of problems with delivery (too many to mention). On one of our many revisits to the shop concerning these problems we noticed that the bath and glass door had (only a few days after the end of the sale) gone unbelievably down to a price lower than we paid in the sales (when we had a so called 50% off). Has this happened to anyone else? I am sure it has, but whether or not they noticed I don't know! We paid around £350 and were led to believe this was half price!!! In fact we consider ourselves conned and now realize we paid higher than the actual price!!! There were loads of these particular shower baths in the sale and there still loads now. Can't believe B and Q would do this. Not only this, but the bath was delivered damaged and all the parts missing!

Bathroom Installation

I am very upset with the service i have recived from B&Q, I purchased a Bathroom Suite and other iteams for...

Missing items!

I ordered and paid for a kitchen back in july as i was told offer going to end of 50% so did so and paid in full. There were items missing, and i have been waiting since... !!! they have given me 5 delivery dates where family members have had to wait in!!

All day as they don't have time slots and guess what?? They never turn up, you ring and are told sorry not in stock you should of got a call!! I have wrote in, emailed in and nobody replies... i am so fed up, i have a half completed kitchen... which looks a mess. The pushy sales person never mentioned such delays, if i knew this i would of never ordered it... please print this complaint to stop anyone else ordering their dream kitchen from B and Q...

  • Ke
    kelly perkins Apr 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would just like to agree with the above comment i feel exactly the same. I have a half completed kitchen because i was not informed of items been out of stock i now have to wait 4 weeks for a missing part, which is the most important as it is the shelves that hold the build in oven in place, so a month without a cooker is going to be a nightmare. I would not advise anyone to purchases a kitchen from b&q. They are quick enough to take your money!

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Sue W Jun 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In June we ordered kitchen doors from B & Q Eastwood Notts. We were qu0ted a delivery date of 9 Oct we paid in full for goods. We then found that some of the items had not gone through on the computer to be ordered from central depot. It took hours and four visits to store to sort this out plus loads of phone calls. In the end we picked these items up from store. But with the oven housing we were given shelves for a larder unit, we mentioned this 3 times but were told they were the same. We wasted a whole day putting this together, on putting the oven in we needed steps to reach it and microwave. We went yet again to store and the shelves were changed for the right ones after arguing for over half an hour. Wasted another day changing the shelves around and taking the wrong ones back. Yesterday 9th the rest of our order arrived with wrong doors, some missing and some damaged. Telephone central depot and was told some one would contact me in 24 hours. Why not straight away? I am still waiting and will not hold my breath in the meantime. What seemed a brilliant offer has turned into a nightmare. We have spent over £1, 000 in all and still do not have a kitchen, as our old one has now been taken out. The doors are now out of stock and will not be brought back.

    0 Votes

Everyone appears to be &passing the book&...

I have recently experienced a number of problem with both B&Q and one of its suppliers GE Capital/Money. We are regular users of B&Q, as have recently purchased a brand new house. We have spent over £2,000 recently on garden furniture, outdoor heaters/lights and other DIY products.

Prior to christmas 2005, you had a special offer on a portable TV/DVD Player, which we purchased for our kitchen. In April 2006 the TV/DVD Player would not switch on. We have checked all the obvious things i.e. fuse, socket etc and it does not appear to be any of them.

We spoke to yourselves at the time, as we can not locate out receipt, but as the serial number/bar code etc was still in tact on the back of the item and the fact that we paid for this item on our B&Q store card was apparently sufficient proof of the purchase. (As told by 2 people at B&Q store and customer services team)

We were advised to speak to GE Capital/Money in order to request an itemised B&Q card statement (as these are not automatically sent out). We have had 3 conversations now with your supplier, but have still not received the "evidence" needed. We have recently paid our B&Q cards off in full as are not happy to continue shopping with you until this is resolved. What is more frustrating is that GE Capital/Money are very proactive in ringing us at home constantly with their Sales patter, but no offer of help or support.

We recently contacted B&Q again requesting help and support replacing this item that is still under guarantee and gave them the serial numbers requested. They orally confirmed that they could verify that the purchase had taken place, but would not help us without an itemised statement from GE Capital/Money.

Everyone appears to be "passing the book" and we do not feel this is a fair way of trading. We are genuine honest customers of your stores who need help on this occasion. Please can you help us ASAP, or we will have no choice other than to seek legal/media advice. The TV/DVD player was not expensive (approx £60 with the discount taken off), but it is still under guarantee.

Many thanks
Lee and Katrina

  • De
    Dee Feb 19, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In your complaint you state that B&Q were passing the buck but this does not appear to be the case... indeed they have told you what they need in order to proceed further. They would require proof of purchase to deal with your issue and as they are a 3rd party cannot request any information from GE Capital due to the Consumer Credit Act. That is why they asked you to obtain the relevant statement directly from GE Capital Bank so that they can proceed further in helping you. On the reverse of your receipt, there are terms and conditions of refunds and if not, their refunds policies can be obtained in any branch in a leaflet. It is also common policy within the retail business to state that it is the customers responsibility to keep the original receipt in case of any problems where proof of purchase is required. Without proof that you purchased the goods from a specific retailer, at a specific time, they would not know when the product was purchased, where it was from and therefore would not know if it was within the guarantee period. B&Q's web site www.diy.com shows the following returns policies... hope it helps.

    Our returns and refunds policy

    We're happy when you're happy. If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, we will happily exchange/refund any unused items.

    If you return the item unused, *with* the original receipt within 90 days we will;

    • Exchange the item or issue a refund based on the original method of payment, customer sales forms are an acceptable form of receipt

    You will receive a full refund of the price paid (including relevant delivery charges) less any collection charges.

    If you return the item unused, without the original receipt we will;

    • Exchange the returned product at the current selling price

    Orders that have been made to measure, Special order, cut or mixed to your requirements cannot be exchanged or refunded.

    If the product you purchased is faulty, or not as described, we may offer an exchange, refund or repair as appropriate.

    We reserve the right to refuse a return with or without a receipt.

    YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS ARE NOT AFFECTED.

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem