Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
BBC

BBC review: fraud 53

L
Author of the review
1:38 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Abhimanyu Mahaley, who chaims to be a Creative Director at the BBC HK, has been duping people of money under many pretexts. Speaking to the people in the organisation has been to no avail as they are not interested in divulging the details. Abhimanyu, brother of well known cinematographer Angshuman Mahaley, has most recently spent time in kangra polise station/prison. the cause of his imprisonment is unknown to me.

Update by Laure
Sep 16, 2009 3:52 pm EDT

Hello, I have written this in the best interests of people, as I believe we have a large enough database of people who have already been duped by Abhimanyu Mahaley under false pretexts of representing BBC. This alone is a crime. I have also spoken to the superintendent of police regarding him. I am certain that any action invoking the law will be in these peoples favor.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

53 comments
Add a comment
A
A
auro77
IN
Jun 08, 2011 8:23 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

hello people
All I can say is I too had lent him 4000 rupees many years back citing dire need. It is only after lending him the money that I realised he is not who he says he is, he does not work at the BBC and has been cheating countless people like this, including many foreign tourists. Some of the names of the people mentioned above are personally known to me but I havent contacted any of them regarding the same. He did call me many times citing his intention to return the money but i have realised after speaking to some of the people here that he has no such intentions.

Auro

A
A
auro77
IN
Jun 08, 2011 8:29 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

The way he's been lying about his job and his mysterious disappearance in the himalayas, his connection with terror groups cannot be ruled out. Otherwise, why on earth will somebody go around introducing oneself as an employee of a company he is clearly not?

A
A
auro77
IN
Jun 08, 2011 8:31 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

@Surendra what Lata Narayan comments?

A
A
aturnerk
IN
Jun 09, 2011 9:59 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

this guy is dangerous and could be linked to terrorist groups. Why else would anyone go about lying about his profession to everyone. He's dangerous.

A
A
abhimanyu s
HK
Aug 26, 2011 11:03 am EDT

THIS FRAUDULENT AND LIBELOUS ACTION IS EXTORTION PURE AND SIMPLE.

A
A
auro77
IN
Sep 06, 2011 12:58 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

hello Abhimanyu
I couldnt speak to you in the morning as i was in a meeting. you pop up most unexpectedly.
but with the tone i thought you were taking, I dont think that i missed much. Also, I avoid talking on the cell phone unless its an emergency, you know its been proven to cause brain cancer right? so mails are always a better way to resolve things. I see that you have deactivated your email id, now which id does one reach you on?

so heres getting to the point.
I sense that I'm going to have to discuss your case with a senior police official who is a friend of our family. not because I mean you any malaise, but with the threats that you have made, you leave me no other option.

and while at it, I'd like you to think about this with an open mind, and tell me if this makes any sense to you. I had in fact helped you by lending you money when i thought you genuinely needed it, when i really had no compulsion to do so. except that i thought of you as a friend, and helped you out.
and what do you do to me in return? you keep calling me to tell me that you are depositing the money in my account, over three years, without ever doing any such thing. so what do you really take me for? and do you really think this a very smart thing for you to do? for someone of your age?

so i dont really know what to make of you. you acting in this way, one could suspect so many things. I am given to understand that you spent some time in prison at the Kangra police station. I'm also in touch with a lot of people that you have conned. some of my friends at BBC also know about you. these are all hard facts, Abhimanyu and I still want to help you. so my suggestion to you (in case you are just a con man and not any of the other things you are suspected you of) is to return the monies to all the respective people, and find more meaningful pursuits in life. you are not an unintelligent man and i sincerely hope that you will take this in the right spirit.
do let me know your point of view on this, if you have any.

sincerely,

D
D
Darren Cooper
Leeds, GB
Jun 19, 2012 12:54 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I find it astonishing that attacks from Gaza in to Israel, and Egypt in to Israel where Israeli citizens are being killed are not reported on the BBC.
Its only news worthy if Israel retaliates apparently.
This shows the BBC up for what they are. They are terrified of upsetting those Muslims, who are trying to take over the world.
Well done yet again Biased Broadcasting Corporation.

B
B
BiasHunter
Wokingham, GB
Jun 25, 2012 2:17 am EDT

There were recent reports in the news of a Palestinian child being killed in Gaza by an attack by the IAF, this has spread through the social media. However the Palestinians have now admitted that the death was due to the backfiring of a rocket which they were launching against Israel. Where is this being reported in the news? A propaganda based lie has been reported but the BBC remains silent about the truth! do I detect biased reporting here?
Also there have been no reports from the BBC on the attacks on Israel from Egypt recently. It seems that only retaliatory responses by Israel are worthy of reporting, usually reported by the BBC as attacks by Israel painting them as the aggressor.

T
T
Trevor smith
Newark, GB
Sep 15, 2012 6:37 am EDT

Around 1.20pm on Saturday the15th of October my partner and myself was sat on the wall near the clock tower at Skegness, when we were approached by a young lady and two gentlemen, one was carrying a tripod the other a camera, the young lady said she was from the BBC and asked me if we were locals I said yes she went on to say did we have any objections to the proposed Hal Hal abettor in Skegness I replied yes I do when in Rome do as the Rowmans do, that was end of interview.
I am not a member of the National Front Party or any kind of party like that, but I do feel that my rights as a born Britton were taken away from me, and I feel that whatever survey results that the BBC comes up with are false because those of us that disagree are not have our say.
I have a mind to go to the press because I feel so strong about having my rights taken away.

abimanyu mahaley
abimanyu mahaley
IN
Mar 07, 2013 5:06 pm EST

This is bull ### .. people can just write what they wish ... this idioti know called me a a terrorist roaming the himalaya's

abimanyu mahaley
abimanyu mahaley
IN
Mar 07, 2013 5:34 pm EST

My any more off this ### india now has a jail cell

M
M
Mr.Shahjahan
BD
Jul 15, 2013 3:04 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

i am mr. md, shahjahan from bangladesh.one month ago i receive an email from BBC National lottery.i am email lottery winner bonus no -05 .they are some requiredment for me(NAME, ADDRESS, EMAIL BANK NOMBER) I SUBMIT ALL MY REQUIREDMENT.NOW THEY REQUIRED 550GBP CHARGE'S I CAN'T UNDERSTAND THIS IS IT TRUE OR FALSE.PLEASE HELP ME SOME ONE. EMAIL ME shahjahan901@yahoo.com

G
G
Gokul Rao Kadam
US
Aug 08, 2013 3:01 am EDT

Why am I dragged into this ? I don't even know this person not met him before..

When I googled my name I found this.