Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
BBC

BBC review: fraud 53

L
Author of the review
1:38 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Abhimanyu Mahaley, who chaims to be a Creative Director at the BBC HK, has been duping people of money under many pretexts. Speaking to the people in the organisation has been to no avail as they are not interested in divulging the details. Abhimanyu, brother of well known cinematographer Angshuman Mahaley, has most recently spent time in kangra polise station/prison. the cause of his imprisonment is unknown to me.

Update by Laure
Sep 16, 2009 3:52 pm EDT

Hello, I have written this in the best interests of people, as I believe we have a large enough database of people who have already been duped by Abhimanyu Mahaley under false pretexts of representing BBC. This alone is a crime. I have also spoken to the superintendent of police regarding him. I am certain that any action invoking the law will be in these peoples favor.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

53 comments
Add a comment
B
B
BiasHunter
Wokingham, GB
Jun 25, 2012 2:17 am EDT

There were recent reports in the news of a Palestinian child being killed in Gaza by an attack by the IAF, this has spread through the social media. However the Palestinians have now admitted that the death was due to the backfiring of a rocket which they were launching against Israel. Where is this being reported in the news? A propaganda based lie has been reported but the BBC remains silent about the truth! do I detect biased reporting here?
Also there have been no reports from the BBC on the attacks on Israel from Egypt recently. It seems that only retaliatory responses by Israel are worthy of reporting, usually reported by the BBC as attacks by Israel painting them as the aggressor.

T
T
Trevor smith
Newark, GB
Sep 15, 2012 6:37 am EDT

Around 1.20pm on Saturday the15th of October my partner and myself was sat on the wall near the clock tower at Skegness, when we were approached by a young lady and two gentlemen, one was carrying a tripod the other a camera, the young lady said she was from the BBC and asked me if we were locals I said yes she went on to say did we have any objections to the proposed Hal Hal abettor in Skegness I replied yes I do when in Rome do as the Rowmans do, that was end of interview.
I am not a member of the National Front Party or any kind of party like that, but I do feel that my rights as a born Britton were taken away from me, and I feel that whatever survey results that the BBC comes up with are false because those of us that disagree are not have our say.
I have a mind to go to the press because I feel so strong about having my rights taken away.

M
M
Mr.Shahjahan
, BD
Jul 15, 2013 3:04 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

i am mr. md, shahjahan from bangladesh.one month ago i receive an email from BBC National lottery.i am email lottery winner bonus no -05 .they are some requiredment for me(NAME, ADDRESS, EMAIL BANK NOMBER) I SUBMIT ALL MY REQUIREDMENT.NOW THEY REQUIRED 550GBP CHARGE'S I CAN'T UNDERSTAND THIS IS IT TRUE OR FALSE.PLEASE HELP ME SOME ONE. EMAIL ME shahjahan901@yahoo.com

S
S
shonasarao
, IN
Jan 07, 2011 3:03 pm EST

i have received an email from BBC and Hewlett-Packard that i have won 750, 000.000 Great Britain Pounds and two Hp laptops by Hp Lottery Promotion. i want to know that is this is fake or real?
they have send me:
Batch number...XYL/[protected]/05
Ref number...24/00319/1PD
Parcel Number:- VL3/556/HP/UK-IN

View 0 more photos
D
D
Darren Cooper
Leeds, GB
Jun 19, 2012 12:54 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I find it astonishing that attacks from Gaza in to Israel, and Egypt in to Israel where Israeli citizens are being killed are not reported on the BBC.
Its only news worthy if Israel retaliates apparently.
This shows the BBC up for what they are. They are terrified of upsetting those Muslims, who are trying to take over the world.
Well done yet again Biased Broadcasting Corporation.

C
C
Clarea
, IN
Sep 09, 2009 8:51 am EDT

A lot of people are being duped by Abhimanyu Mahaley, who claims to be with the BBC. If anyone has any news on his wearabouts, contact us at aconiteart@gmail.com.

Do not accept any proposals from him or lend him any money for your own sake.

abimanyu mahaley
abimanyu mahaley
, IN
Mar 07, 2013 5:06 pm EST

This is bull ### .. people can just write what they wish ... this idioti know called me a a terrorist roaming the himalaya's

G
G
Gokul Rao Kadam
, US
Aug 08, 2013 3:01 am EDT

Why am I dragged into this ? I don't even know this person not met him before..

When I googled my name I found this.

N
N
NSingh
, IN
Sep 08, 2009 4:21 pm EDT

Abhimanyusm@gmail.com is wanted in many cases of fraud. Anyone with any information on this person please report him to the police and the BBC immediately. He claims to work for the BBC but BBC has denied any association with him. His mother Nina S Mahaley lives in Bangalore.

abimanyu mahaley
abimanyu mahaley
, IN
Mar 07, 2013 5:34 pm EST

My any more off this ### india now has a jail cell

A
A
auro77
, IN
Sep 06, 2011 12:58 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

hello Abhimanyu
I couldnt speak to you in the morning as i was in a meeting. you pop up most unexpectedly.
but with the tone i thought you were taking, I dont think that i missed much. Also, I avoid talking on the cell phone unless its an emergency, you know its been proven to cause brain cancer right? so mails are always a better way to resolve things. I see that you have deactivated your email id, now which id does one reach you on?

so heres getting to the point.
I sense that I'm going to have to discuss your case with a senior police official who is a friend of our family. not because I mean you any malaise, but with the threats that you have made, you leave me no other option.

and while at it, I'd like you to think about this with an open mind, and tell me if this makes any sense to you. I had in fact helped you by lending you money when i thought you genuinely needed it, when i really had no compulsion to do so. except that i thought of you as a friend, and helped you out.
and what do you do to me in return? you keep calling me to tell me that you are depositing the money in my account, over three years, without ever doing any such thing. so what do you really take me for? and do you really think this a very smart thing for you to do? for someone of your age?

so i dont really know what to make of you. you acting in this way, one could suspect so many things. I am given to understand that you spent some time in prison at the Kangra police station. I'm also in touch with a lot of people that you have conned. some of my friends at BBC also know about you. these are all hard facts, Abhimanyu and I still want to help you. so my suggestion to you (in case you are just a con man and not any of the other things you are suspected you of) is to return the monies to all the respective people, and find more meaningful pursuits in life. you are not an unintelligent man and i sincerely hope that you will take this in the right spirit.
do let me know your point of view on this, if you have any.

sincerely,

A
A
abhimanyu s
, HK
Aug 26, 2011 11:03 am EDT

THIS FRAUDULENT AND LIBELOUS ACTION IS EXTORTION PURE AND SIMPLE.

A
A
aturnerk
, IN
Jun 09, 2011 9:59 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

this guy is dangerous and could be linked to terrorist groups. Why else would anyone go about lying about his profession to everyone. He's dangerous.

A
A
auro77
, IN
Jun 08, 2011 8:31 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

@Surendra what Lata Narayan comments?

A
A
auro77
, IN
Jun 08, 2011 8:29 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

The way he's been lying about his job and his mysterious disappearance in the himalayas, his connection with terror groups cannot be ruled out. Otherwise, why on earth will somebody go around introducing oneself as an employee of a company he is clearly not?

A
A
auro77
, IN
Jun 08, 2011 8:23 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

hello people
All I can say is I too had lent him 4000 rupees many years back citing dire need. It is only after lending him the money that I realised he is not who he says he is, he does not work at the BBC and has been cheating countless people like this, including many foreign tourists. Some of the names of the people mentioned above are personally known to me but I havent contacted any of them regarding the same. He did call me many times citing his intention to return the money but i have realised after speaking to some of the people here that he has no such intentions.

Auro

S
S
Surendra Hiwarale
, IN
May 05, 2011 10:23 am EDT

Hello People,
Just received a message on my FB accout from Abhimanyu Singh Mahaley, where he again threatens me with life, claims that he is earning more than me (who won't as a con man lols) and that he will see me whenever he is in Bombay... So it's clear that Mr. Mahaley is back from the dead and the whole Lata Narayan comments were put by himself for people to stop complaining about his frauds. BEWARE EVERY ONE!

S
S
Surendra Hiwarale
, IN
Apr 26, 2011 3:15 pm EDT

Hey Guys,
I have received received three mails from Abhimanyu dated March 17th sent at about 2:01 Am. In this mail he has abused me and my parents for writng about him on this board. Here he threatens me with life and gos on to say that he will finish me off and will ruin my career. Just thought I should mention it here for records sake. I hope Hema Narayans news is not true, I hope he is still alive and gets a chance to lead a good, happy and healthy life. Hema can you update us more on your news about his demise please...

K
K
kuttybrain
, IN
Jan 23, 2011 7:59 am EST

i know where he is...but i need a photo to be sure of the person...post your id i will send you my email.

Don'tBeAMoron
Don'tBeAMoron
Tyler, US
Jan 07, 2011 3:51 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Dear [censor],

Chug some Drano. It will make you psychic and you will be able to determine if this is truly a fraud.

Sincerely,

The world.

H
H
Hema narayan
, IN
Jul 22, 2010 6:28 am EDT

Could this whole post be deleted? Abhimanyu was under my treatment and is no longer in this world

H
H
Hema narayan
, IN
Jul 22, 2010 6:10 am EDT

Can these posts be deleted? Abhimanyu is no lnger in this world

S
S
Surendra Hiwarale
, IN
Jan 04, 2010 8:02 am EST

Hello N Singh,
This is surendra Hiwarale, a budding filmmaker from Bombay, you mention my name as one of the names in the context of Abhimanyu Singh Mahaley. I just want to clarifyl that he was just my senior's senior at the college where we both studied Mass Communication in Delhi at Jamia University. I established contact with him on Facebook and he initially came across as a person who has recovered from his alcohol addiction. In fact I have written a film based on alcoholics regarding which I was talking to him as a part of my research. Though he did help, but one fine day he started talking to me in a wierd manner on facebook chat which i did not apprecite at all and thus deleted him from my friends list. I did have his cell numbers than but deleted knowing that I would never ever want to contact or speak to him again. Thats about I know about Mahaley. nothing more, nothing less. Poor chap needs help desperately, i hope he finds his peace. Warm regards...
Surendra Hiwarale

J
J
john scriven
, IN
Nov 19, 2009 10:41 am EST

Abhimanyu is a recovering addict of alchohol. He seems to be an imbalanced personality and is not worth the effort

S
S
shruti3
, HK
Nov 19, 2009 10:29 am EST

maybe we should leave the poor blighter alone...all he needs is help from a psychiatrist

P
P
priyankas
, IN
Nov 17, 2009 11:18 am EST

As far as I know Abhimanyu is a harmless guy...just someone who needs help. Leave him alone

I
I
Iqbal Singh
, IN
Oct 19, 2009 9:54 am EDT

this guy rajat kumatr is a fake that number doesn't work

A
A
Abhimanyu Mahaley
, HK
Sep 18, 2009 10:59 pm EDT

I have never asked anyone to invest in any thing or scheme or some other bull ### that you are writing about ... so stop these frigging lies and come out with your true identities ...and stop publishing this bull ### and try and live your life ... you frustrated ### heads ... you have proof go right ahead with it ... i know i have nevr asked any one to put money in a project or scheme ..get a life ###s...

R
R
Rajatkumars
, IN
Sep 18, 2009 7:53 am EDT

Mr Antonnt figured out yours and your agency's IP address dude ... you will hear from us ... doing a little clandestine are we under alias names eh ! good cause we shall teach you how to do it real good... police eh ... wait and see ...who the police gets ... dude...

R
R
Rajatkumars
, IN
Sep 18, 2009 7:50 am EDT

fake people with even faker claims ... you people should be ashamed ...

R
R
Rajatkumars
, IN
Sep 18, 2009 7:49 am EDT

hahaha well we figured out antonn ...abhimanyu the rest shall be easy too ..working on it ... and ten we shall figure out who goes to the police...

A
A
Abhimanyu Mahaley
, HK
Sep 18, 2009 1:44 am EDT

dear laure ... who who ever you are and Mr antonn ... get a life this is the last time i respond to this base less ### that you guys are putting up under my name ... also speak to any one you want ... i really dont care cause you know it and i know it and this is ### you guys are propagating under alias names ... and antonn figuring you out was not tough at all it just took your email ... keep guessing how i did it ... had half a mind of putting up a complaint about you but decided againts it ... there was not point ... you little pip squeak didnt have the balls to write your real name ...and dick my number always works ... go figure it out again and call back ### ... and get alife and work thats what they pay you for not for this ### ... and not in working hours ...and as far as complaing more goes please tell the whole world ...of your baseless claims ... under fake names ... get a life and if i have really hurt you that bad ... speak to me ..and lets see maybe i can help ya out ... but i know you wont ... cause you are hiding behind a name you are too scared to come out into the open ...
antonn you ### my number always works ... get a life and put your real name forward if you have the balls

A
A
antonn
, IN
Sep 17, 2009 3:48 pm EDT

People are well aware of your antecedents, Abhimanyu. I wonder how this kind of behavior still makes sense to you.

A
A
antonn
, IN
Sep 17, 2009 3:46 pm EDT

Abhimanyu you half bred slime. Your mobile number does not work. I've been trying to reach you from so long.

A
A
antonn
, IN
Sep 17, 2009 3:44 pm EDT

Hello Laure, even the people at BBC are aware of this character. Steps are being taken, rest assured.

A
A
antonn
, IN
Sep 17, 2009 3:41 pm EDT

Im unable to reach Abhimanyu on the number he gave me. This worries me deeply, and also saddens me a lot.

A
A
Abhimanyu Mahaley
, HK
Sep 15, 2009 12:42 am EDT

Why dont you people write to me as I am ever open to discussions ... and maybe I have hurt you real bad I am sure i would be able to make amends ... so dont use aliases and write to me for me to make amends ...everyone one makes mistakes ... so if you are real people who have real and not fake issues get in touch with me. and MR N Singh get a life you are some one whom I know but do not reveal your real identity ...that says a lot about you and your claims...

A
A
Abhimanyu Mahaley
, HK
Sep 15, 2009 12:41 am EDT

get in touch if you are not just names that do not exist

A
A
Abhimanyu Mahaley
, HK
Sep 15, 2009 12:39 am EDT

so please stop using aliases and come out into the open if you are so right and I have pissed you off so bad

I
I
Iqbal Singh
, IN
Sep 14, 2009 11:56 pm EDT

hi Abhi, iqbal here, hope you remember me. i am still waiting for you to return my money, when can i expect that.

Trending companies