Having problems with Axia College?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Axia College reviews first appeared on Complaints Board on Feb 10, 2009. The latest review college was posted on Apr 15, 2018. The latest complaint Teachers are rude! was resolved on Apr 22, 2010. Axia College has an average consumer rating of 4 stars from 7 reviews. Axia College has resolved 5 complaints.

Axia College Customer Service Contacts

3150 S 48th St Phoenix, AZ
Phoenix, Arizona
United States - 85040

ComplaintsBoard.com is not affiliated, associated, authorized, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with Axia College Customer Service. Initial Axia College complaints should be directed to their team directly. You can find contact details for Axia College above.

ComplaintsBoard.com is an independent complaint resolution platform that has been successfully voicing consumer concerns since 2004. We are doing work that matters - connecting customers with businesses around the world and help them resolve issues and be heard.

Use this comments board to leave complaints and reviews about Axia College. Discuss the issues you have had with Axia College and work with their customer service team to find a resolution.

Axia College Complaints & Reviews

Axia Collegecollege

I enrolled in 2007 for business and health admin I was discharged from school for having surgery that I couldn't help and they wouldn't not let me finish . I have had my tax money take every year for the past 9 years my husband filled a dorm to get it back each year that cost us over a hundred dollars and time that it takes to get back . I have no degree can't go to any school almost 40 no job skill and I payed payments to keep interest down on a federal loan I didn't sign for Pell Only is what I agreed to do I have had over 14000$ in debt and can't go to school to make money
They really screwed me and this year they took 5689$ of our tax money and we give up because I couldn't afford to pay to get it back
I want to be apart of a lawsuit against them just like everyone else . My life has been ruined andy credit also . No permission to do all this toe and I never saw one red cent of whatever money they received all was online my books and work
I had to pay my own computer, printer, internet And they got everything . I'm Livid with them also I asked to see my transcript of course what I got was blacked out due to they needed to protect themselves from being sued I was told and the date my last loan was taken out they had already dropped me from school so how can we make them pay for all of our time, money, and no degree? !!!

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Axia CollegeWhere to start...

    I've been through hell because I started Axia back in 2005. My tax returns are still bein taken 12 year's later when all was going to be covered by financial aid... no credits transferred, charged for classes when I filed for a temporary medical leave. And I have student loan's because of them I never knew I applied for. Despite the fact that I'm sick of my life and credit being destroyed because of this stupid place it's still happening to all these other people still to this day. Someone please tell me how the F*** they're getting away with this?? I've decided to higher a lawyer, get these loan's discharged and my money refunded. I'll sue for every single thing I can because they have destroyed my life with this the last 12 year's! There's a more detailed message I sent in the photo's attached.

    Where to start...
    Where to start...
    Where to start...
    Where to start...

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      The complaint has been investigated and
      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
      Resolved
      Axia College — Teachers are rude!

      I had a good expierence with Axia College and I am still attending. I have a teacher by the name of Lynne...

      The complaint has been investigated and
      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
      Resolved
      Axia CollegeTerrible Instructors

      I enrolled in Axia College in February of 2008. The academic counselor told me that the courses were going to be paid for by loans that would not be owed for at least 10 years after my graduation. I have had a myriad of instructors that were marginal and experienced a severe lack of follow up by my financial and academic counselors. Currently I am taking a class and the instructor makes comments in the discussion that are completely incongruent to the answer posted. In one class, the instructor began rambling on about Christ saving the child molesters and that society is bad for judging people because that is God's job. BTW, this was not a religion class.

      The lenders who issue the student loans need to be enlightened about the fraud this school is perpetrating on society. I am going to ask to be transferred to a land campus for the remainder of my classes. Also they keep raising the tuition, so this year my classes cost almost as much as a "good school." I want to find a way to get the word out that the online version of University of Phoenix is nothing but a flashy advertising campaign and must be stopped. I am also going to talk with the lenders and FAFSA because our tax dollars should not spent insuring loans from such a horrible school.

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        • Ry
          ryand1981 Mar 21, 2010
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          I have instructor problems of my own, but both my wife and I attend UOP with her at Axia and they where very upfront about student loans.. SUPRISE.. but you had to agree in a recorded conversation what you where told by the school and you had to apply your electronic signature to your FAFSA stating you read and understood repayment policies.

          On another note.. Robin Benatti... worthless instructor at Axia.. numerous complaints about her favortism.. very condescending and down right rude. Gives ambiguous requirements and tries to back out of the conversation instead of holding up her end.. Solution: reported her to Academic Affairs.. they can remove her from faculty and not recontract her. She teaches behavioral psych at a college level with only a teaching cert and masters in unrelated fields? I'm more qualified to hold her posistion then she and I'm still a student.. Robin.. stick to telling kids SAT tricks.. those who can DO those who can't TEACH

          1 Votes
        • Kk
          KK132 Feb 05, 2010

          If you know anything about colleges you should know that financial aid works the same no matter where you go. You are really naive to think that you would not have to pay for your classes for ten years after you graduate! Your lender, depending on who you choose usually makes you read material and take a brief test answering questions about defaulting loans, loan payback, interest, etc.
          As for your instructor, yeah what a creep! The reason UOP is just as expensive as any of the other "traditional" colleges is because of the schedule you get. Where else can you get your BA or Masters and take a ground campus class just once a week for five weeks, or take an online class for five weeks per course? You can't. UOP offers students something more that other colleges can't. Many of the students at UOP are stay home moms and people who work a full schedule where they cannot accommodate a full school schedule.
          I am a student at UOP and my husband works there as well. I too was a bit skeptical of taking courses there because of all the negative feedback. Let me tell you this, it is usually from people who cannot handle the work load! The classes are shorter which means you have more reading materials and what not. Many students drop their classes, but if they have attended the first week, or the first few days online, they still have to PAY for it!!! That is why many people are upset. What the hell is wrong with people thinking that a college education is going to be free ride? You have to earn your degree people!

          -1 Votes
        • Di
          dizzy212 Jan 11, 2010

          Wow who told you that student loans would not be due for at least 10 years? That is very fishy. What is even harder to understand is how you actually believed that loans wouldn't be due for 10 years.

          1 Votes

        The complaint has been investigated and
        resolved to the customer's satisfaction
        Resolved
        Axia CollegeAwful experience

        I simply cannot understand why anyone could be proud of this learning institution. Prior to enrolling, I made it clear to the enrollment counselor that I was on Social Security disability for a mental illness. I was never told of any ADA accomodation, I was never explained the cost of tuition, never received my student award letter, and was rushed into starting earlier than I wanted to by the rhetorical 'scare tactic.'

        I was never sent a catalog, which the University of Phoenix website specifically states is due the student. I told all but one of my four instructors about my illness because I felt they had a right to know. The instructor that did not know I was disabled passed me with an'A' and the other instructor gave me a 'D-' after I had suffered an anxiety attack when the school browsers went down. Had it not been for the one instructor, my educational career would be done for, and my four year old son and I would be homeless.

        In the past five weeks, going on six now, my weight has gone from 140 lbs. to 117 lbs., and I have become extremely ill as a result of this situation. I have caught one counselor in a blatant lie regarding this grade grievance and a school policy which contradicts itself. I have had eight different people read the same policy, only for them to reach the same conclusion...it does not make sense. Just writing this is difficult and is causing me a great deal of stress.

        I am now afraid to even enter the website, and two nights ago, due to the growing psychological stress, came running out of bed in my sleep and hit the wall very hard causing myself a concussion. I have communicated my psychological distress with my instructors, as well as counselors, and they could care less.

        I am getting sicker by the day, and I have had to have my psychotropic medications elevated to the point that I cannot even function in a capacity to do my schoolwork, which at first was very stimulating, and made me very happy. I cannot discuss all aspects of this situation here, because I am terrified of this school and I feel so very sick. The elevation in meds is not helping to counter this psychological damage.

        All I wanted was to get off of the system before there is no more Social Security, and build a more comfortable way of life for my son and myself, because I was a rarity...a 'high-functioner' for my illness. I had been told that University of Phoenix had a good reputation, so I was excited to join.

        I cannot get phone calls returned, especially by the person who holds the ADA information I had to teach myself to scan. I even took psychological tests and sent them in so they had an understanding of how this situation has so adversely affected me, and to give them some idea of my mental health conditions.

        As for Robert in New Mexico...are you proud of knowing that uop does this to the disabled? If you are, you are the one that needs your head examined. I have a genius level IQ and they are doing a good job of destroying it. I feel like a fool, and when they knew I was mentally ill, they took full advantage from the very start. To the man in California, I wouldn't hire a UOP student, either, because here is one fool telling you that I am on your side.

        No one in that school can be trusted. As long as they can get money out of you, that is all they care about. I am not the only student in peril with this learning institution. My life is now in dire straits, and I need help. I cannot elaborate any further because of fear, and will not divulge those trying to help me for that reason. I am not interested in class action. I do, however, need legal counsel. I live on disability and have a dependent. I live on less than 10, 000 dollars per year.

        This is just a few of many issues I am facing with this school. Can anyone help me? I need help and a lawyer with teeth and an ability for contingency, as I have found a great deal of unsavory information. I am case building when I have the ability. As you can see, I cannot sleep, even heavily sedated. I do not know how much longer I can take this.

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          We are here to help

          • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
          • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
          • Honest and unbiased reviews
          • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

          The complaint has been investigated and
          resolved to the customer's satisfaction
          Resolved
          Axia CollegeTerrible experience

          I am 49 and after being a stay at home mom for 20 years I began working full time in 1999. With no formal training except for my art I began working full time in retail and decided to get in to a career field that I knew would be stable down the road since I plan to work till I am in my sixties. I called University of Phoenix because my sister had attended to obtain bachelors in accounting. I spoke with the 'enrollment counselor' on my decision to become a nurse. I was not teetering on any other career; I was adamant with the 'enrollment counselor' what I wanted. He enrolled me in Axia College and said that I would be first be working on my generals before I began the nursing courses BUT I would have my LVN by 18 months. I had told the 'enrollment counselor that I had recently taken up employment with a new company with steady hours so I would have time to devote to school. I informed him I took a pay cut and could survive on the salary for a couple of years if I could get work as an LVN by no later than 2 years. He assured me that I could do this...'no problem', so I enrolled. My income was low enough I was approved for grants and would only have to pay back the other loans.

          About halfway through the courses I was curious to when I would be getting into my nursing courses. By this time I had gone through 2 more 'enrollment counselors, ' three more 'academic counselors, ' who also had full understanding of my career goal, and three other 'financial counselors.' When I inquired about my nursing courses, my 'academic counselor told me AXIA COLLEGE DOES NOT HAVE A NURSING PROGRAM.' The whole time they had led me on and had enrolled me in Health and Human Services Administration. This is a management position which I have NO DESIRE in pursuing. I was in management in retail and hated it. I told the 'academic counselor that I was suppose to be in a nursing program and my goal was to work in geriatric care. She gave me a less than believable 'I'm sorry' but there was nothing they could do since they do not offering nursing degrees. I was already halfway through so I decided to finish the rest of the course and obtain the 'useless' AA in Health and Human Services Administration. You would think I could just get a job in that field till I was through with my nursing program. 'NO' you cannot because for that degree you need to go into the bachelor program because that position you are required by the companies to have a BA. I had no intention of continuing to get a BA in a career I did not want. Now, at 49, I wasted 2 precious years of my life going to school at the sum of over $7000 for a job I cannot obtain and nor desire. I cannot get into the nursing program because the waiting list is over a year out. My credit is shot to hell because as I said, I could get along with the lower income for a while but it has taken its toll after two years. They are going to start billing me for my 2 years of hell after 6 months and I will not have a job to be able to pay for it. YES, they know all this and couldn't care less. I told them, I had been looking since the 'bad news' about my nursing career to see if I could obtain a position in Health and Human Services Administration but as I said, all the positions require a BA not only in the Administration, but accounting as well. I had even told the academic counselor, with the classes they gave for this line of work, they clearly were not giving the students enough knowledge of accounting for the position. I know some of it from my position at work and could see by talking to my sister who is an accountant that there is no way I could competently carry out a job of this magnitude without a degree in accounting. The courses were all inferior both for the accounting and administration portion. My credit is shot now so it doesn't matter if they send me to collection for non payment so I am not losing sleep over repaying my loan. I am now looking for another part time job to pay my bills. Oh, also, if you were thinking about this option, 'NO' the credits are non transferable to another college so the credits will not count, except for your electives.

          The fourth or fifth academic counselor was still pushing the BA on me but finally after emailing her to stop and that I was not going to continue she stopped bothering me about it. I'm tired of the 'I'm sorrys for ripping me off. I feel so humiliated about telling my coworkers and family I was going back to school to be a nurse and now I am exactly in the same place I begin over two years ago. At 47 I have a ticking clock about my viability of getting employment but with nursing the need is so that I would not have had a problem. Now at 49 and with the economy in the toilet, I am worried about my livelihood. What kills me the most is the website for UOP has a woman in a nursing uniform, yet they do not offer nursing. Deception for the almighty dollar.

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            • Ms
              Ms G Aug 31, 2010
              This comment was posted by
              a verified customer
              Verified customer

              Thats only one complaint, I am also a student at Axia and I have been getting A and B's and this last class recieved an F. Now if I desearved it because I just didn't pay attention, bad me, but when I did go to the teacher to ask questions she was rude, and sarcastic and did not gear me to the direction that was needed. I complained to my academic advisor and that is being done but I was told to write to the teacher and aske that she look over the methodology of her grading, back to the same teacher. Let me see there is no one else I was given that can check this teacher out, she was rude all through the studies, yet nothing has been done. I was told by my financial advisor I would have to pay over a thousand dollars to take this fricken class over HELLO? this teacher was a royal pain and they want me to take it over AND PAY FOR IT TOO? they have their nerve, but I will post what this college dose about this problem teacher and how I was treated. I have tyo say this was the only teacher I had a problem with thus far but look what happens so everything is on hold and then I have to wait to take further classes now so it can be investigated. this really sucks alot! I just want my degree so I could get a job!

              0 Votes
            • Lk
              lksjdfoi Sep 28, 2009

              I think you need to except some of the blame. When you enroll you see exactly what program you are signing up for and on your student website it clearly states the program and your whole schedule is built out after your first block of classes so you could have looked at anytime at your schedule. But yes blame someone else for your irresponsibility. Also, you didnt know you were getting loans? Are you reading what you are signing? Again, sounds like a personal problem.

              Oh and University of Phoenix does offer nursing. However its a Bachelors in Nursing or Masters in Nursing. A requirement to get into these programs is that you have an RN already. What kind of person thinks they can get a nursing degree online? I bet you also think you can take massage therapy classes online. LOL

              -1 Votes
            • Je
              jessica.m.white Aug 24, 2009

              my name is jessica white from mobile alabama im 19 years young and i am A single paren and just decided to sign up for axia college . everything seem to be going fine now, but i wil be sure to to you guys up with any details but now everything seem to be going great i even tod a couple of my famiy members and they are going to sign up as well.

              -1 Votes
            • Ar
              armywife65 Jun 12, 2009

              @carriefox--Thank you for being kind, unlike some other people on here, but that's just it. Her counselor went over the paper work, as they tell you, they have to. She kept telling him, that, if it was a loan, she did not want to do this, and he kept telling her, it was NOT a loan, and she asked him, if that is for sure? and then why is it saying it's a loan? And he told her it was FORMALITY, just in case she did get a loan, again he said "trust me, it's not a loan" quote, un quote...He LIED! that's the whole point. She electronically signed because she put her trust in him, after all he was worked there and that was his job, to sign her up, and go over everything with her.
              I keep telling this story over and over, but just as UOP keeps telling her "YOU SIGNED" no body seems to under stand, she knows she signed, but only because she put her trust in the school and the guy who was signing her up. I can attest to it also, because I was going to do it myself, but backed out, because of military spouse grants. But when she told me her story, I got pissed, and I believed her, because, what she told me, was the same thing as the guy who was signing me up, told me. AND THAT is why I totally believe my daughter is telling the truth and why I know they lied, point blank! *whew* got that all out...lol

              1 Votes
            • Ca
              carriefox Jun 08, 2009

              I am a current Axia student and so is my husband and we love it! I am doing exactly what I want and my councilors are great! I am in the criminal justice program. I am working on my AA and will then go on to get my BA both from Axia. I will then be going on to law school. I was told up front that I would need to get a student loan. For those of you that don't know, the federal government REQUIRES a student loan application to be filled out BEFORE they will award you any grant money. Axia is not the only college to tell me this; I looked into other colleges before choosing Axia. I'm sorry to hear that there are some of you that had a bad experience, but it is not the school, it is the councilors who lied to you all. They have probably had other complaints and lost their jobs by now. As far as transfering credits, if that was something that you thought you might want to do, you should have made sure that was an option. I also think that if you wanted to become a nurse you should not have applied to an online school, since nursing classes are hands-on and that is not possible with online classes. You should have used your common sense when applying and realized that online classes would not get you to where you want to be in life. I am doing what I want and doing it well. I have a 3.96 GPA and straight A's. This will be good enough for me to get into the law school of my choice, since I will not need to transfer any credits to do it. I do sympathize with your issues, but in the end, it's consumer beware. If you thought something was fishy, you should never have signed anything.

              -1 Votes
            • Ar
              armywife65 May 21, 2009

              "University of Phoenix" is ripping off, scamming, lying to and cheating people. They have ripped my daughter off and they almost got me.

              There are many complaints, even by the ex-employees. Now I'm sure that there are many students or ex-students that are doing or did just fine with University of Phoenix, or didn't pay attention to their scam, but there millions of others that did get ripped off, including my 22yr old, single mother, Daughter.

              She was told by the enrollment adviser, that the paper work He WALKED her through was all formality; even when they go to the "loan" part. She told him, she did not want a loan and if she had to get a loan, she didn't want to pursue with them, He continued to tell her, to not worry about it, it's only if she decided to get a loan. He "assured" her it was not a loan...So "SHE SIGNED" Even after she read everything. She put her trust in this University of Phoenix employess that he knew more than her, this is his job to get her signed up and he did exactly that, but only lied in the process.

              When she would get statements in the mail from Wachovia about a loan, she supposedly had with them. She then called her counselor, who again assured her it was nothing, she did NOT have a loan, she has a FREE Grant and told her also that she was basically being paid to go to school when she received a check in the mail from UOP, that it was just extra money to pay for any school necessities.

              So now, almost 2yrs, and just 6months before she graduates, she gets a call from the financing dept about her "LOAN" that she's NOT suppose to have. She told the finance lady that she did not have a loan, and the finance lady, being as nice as she could, told her, that she shows, she does, that she might want to check with her counselor.

              At this point, she made several attempt via email and calls, but did not ge a reply for ever a week, and once she did get a reply, it was when she called back and talked to the lady she was suppose to talk to, which told her, that she NEVER received any phone calls or emails.

              My Daughter, went down to the school, to financing and the lady, that smiled with a smirky smile and kept telling my daughter, "Well you signed" OMG! I want to F...ing go beat the living H...LL out of the stupid people. She knows that she signed, but the fact is, He, the enrollment counselor, walked her through the paper work and told her to sign, to NOT worry about the loan stuff, it was NOT a loan.

              These people need to be stopped. We are in the midst of gettinga a class action suit going, but, We need to get as many people as we can, with a SIMILAR ISSUE, to be a part of this. We are working with Warner Law Office, Patrick Warner [protected] www.pwarnerlaw.com

              If there is anyone else that this, similar situation happened to them, please contact me and or Patrick.

              This can't keep happening to people who are just trying to better their career, and make a good life for themselves.

              Thank you
              SheilaOnTheWeb
              [email protected]

              1 Votes

            The complaint has been investigated and
            resolved to the customer's satisfaction
            Resolved
            Axia College — Fraud and cheating

            I too have been scammed by the school... Financially, this 'Education Experience' has cost me...

            IN THE NEWS

            Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
            If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
            One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
            A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
            ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
            You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
            Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.