Having problems with Alienware?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

14591 SW 120th St
Miami, Florida
United States - 33186
Mon9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tue9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wed9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thu9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Fri9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sat9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
SunClosed

Complaints & Reviews

Square Trade do not buy this insurance!

Dear Sir / Madam,
A year ago I bought a computer (Alienware Dell MX17) in Orlando, Florida. I also bought a 3-year square trade warranty because they assured me it had international coverage. Some months ago I started having problems with the computer, and when I contacted SquareTrade it happened that Dell couldn`t fix these specific model in Brasil so Squaretrade told me that they would send a refund for the total amount of my computer. I chose for an international deposit on my account in a brazilian bank. That happened two months ago and I haven´t received any money neither an explanation since.

  • Na
    Nancy3205 Jun 01, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I can't even get my TV's registered with Square Trades! Everytime I send them a picture of my receipt they say I did it wrong and the fax number they gave me does not work! I I am so upset as I have been trying to give them a copy of my receipt for 8 months! What a scam!

    0 Votes

Sucks

I bought this mp3 player in March. Three months later it would not turn on. My computer stopped reading form it as well. and now, in June, it wont turn on, and the computer wont read it. I could not get warranty on it due to the fact that I am in Canada. So, now no one would fix it for me. Even before it broke the player would shut off for no reason. It's a waste of $150.

  • S2
    s2ndjetli Dec 03, 2017

    If you still have it would you be willing to part with it ? sectiongang at yahoo dot com put ce-iv in subject line to weed out spam..

    0 Votes

bad internet service

I've contacted Alienware 3 times and had to let everyone know what is becoming the norm in customer service-horrible service. I've called THEM even though they were supposed to call ME to schedule an appointment to fix my laptop. Every time i've called im on hold for some ridiculous amount of time for the littlest thing like "please hold on while i update your info."...and then the kicker is i call again and i have to do the whole thing all over again! WTF!? And i don't know where i'm calling but the people i talk to are very rude and unapologetic for their screw ups. I spend over a grand on a laptop and i expect better service for a faulty part!

don't fall for this

Don't fall for Alienware products. Beside being overpriced they do not honor their service commitments. If anything goes wrong with the product (made in China btw) you will have to ship it somewhere to contracted facility. I am still waiting for my computer (almost a month) to be fixed. I cannot even reach ANYONE to tell whenre my computer is and when it is going to be serviced. There was an issue with functionality of built in camera. I sent the computer for repair and received it back untouched. Not fixed. They did not even open the computer to check it out. After some fighting ovr the phone with their support people I got another return autorization number and sent my computer abck again. I never heard back from anyone since. i do not know what status of the repair is and nobody is able to tell me even where my computer is. It will soon be a month since my first reqyest. Still waiting...

  • Om
    OmegaCSMB Jan 04, 2011

    to send the computer in for repairs, it means you have a alienware legacy system. Unless for under very specific circumstances you have a "new" one (dell-alienware) and had to send it in after several failed onsite repairs.

    anyway, if you do have a legacy system. Im afraid, in short words that... you are so screwed. Dell started since september of 2009 to take ALL of the legacy systems out once and for all. Dell is not interested on products they didnt even manufactured. They just want to stand out for products sold after mid 2009's and above. if they service you system it because there is a contractual agreement. not because they necessarily care for you or your crappy computer.

    Depot facilities located on memphis and florida and low (VERY low) on staff. because of Dells migration. eventually they will simply close the warehouses. as for service delays, stock availability is also an important part of the equation. since they are no longer interested on servicing the systems. no parts are made anymore, they are just living with the remaining parts (all used and repaired like 5 times) and making laughable excuses (warranty voids, liquid spillages) when they cant repair a computer because they have no idea where to get the parts from (maybe on ebay).

    anyway, you are screwed sorry. Legacy is dead for alienware. if you dont trust me, call in to get some extra warranty. they will tell you... "we are no longer extending warranty on this "kind" of computers" lol
    They will just sell you ESP (extended service plan) and it covers tedch support diagnosis through phone. no parts or labor whatsoever. ohh and its $60 for tier 1 issue and around $80 for tier 2

    0 Votes

Resolved bad service

I take a delivery of what thought was bad *** gaming lap top, For $3371.87 + tax the systems seem to performed like it was advertised. 9 months into usages, I discovered what a poor qualities it was made from, the hinges that attached to the cheesy cover broken in pieces, I guess from opening and closing thelaptop after each use, At a closer inspection I found that the pieces that was attached to the steel hinges are made of plastic with a metal insert into the plastic pieces and it it screws into the metal hinges. Now if Alienware has paid attention to it customers feed back then they would have avoid poor quality control and round out the M15x raw performance. well to make a long story short, I've contacted Alienware for repair, but their excuses was my laptop is out of warranty and I will have to paid for the repairs. I think for $3100 machine Alienware should honor it commitment to it customers and do the right thing..

  • Zr
    Zrooper Jun 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered the older M17x from Alienware. after over a month of delays I got it, only to have the speakers fail. I worked for hours with tech support, and then (after wiping the hard drive clean twice) they decided that it was a hardware issue and asked me to send it back to them. I sent it, and got it back two weeks later. When I got it back they did NOT re-install the backup "Alien Respawn" system or the required drivers, and when I called and asked for them they said that those programs were only factory installation. We called them angrily, and after a lighting system failure, they asked for us to send it back again. We had to go overseas in a month and did not have the time for more delays. We called them and asked to cancel the order. Only when we threatened to take our money back they finally started to help, and they replaced my M17x for a cheaper M17, immediately before announcing the "new" M17x laptop! I do not recommend for anyone to buy from them. I certainly won't make that mistake again.

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Resolved Selling defective products

My husband purchased the Alienware m9750 in February 2008 as a gift for me. The system worked fine for a few months, but then began having problems keeping time. We contacted alienware and they sent us a cmos battery to replace. That did not fix the problem so October 2008 it was sent into their repair depot. After 2 months in the repair depot we stop receiving communication about the status of our system. We were unable to get a response for a month. It was returned to us January 14, 2009 and were told that the Motherboard, Hard drive, Wireless Card, and TV tuner card were all defective and replaced. However we received it back with all the same hardware issues as before the repair plus the optical drive no longer worked. On January 16, 2008 we were contacted by a representative on behalf of Alienwares CEO. She informed us that they shipped a new optical drive and to let her know if it fixed the problem. It did not of course since the motherboard was defective. On January 26, 2009 she issued a cancellation of our system and told me to pick out a new system which matched the cost of our original since she could not issue us a refund. Which is what we requested. We ordered the Alienware m15x.Which we were forced into as none of their other systems came with windows XP which is what we had originally and wanted. That system was delivered on March 6, 2009. Immediately open using the brand new system it had hardware problems. It was locking up, crashing and overheating. It was also not shipped with correct specs. It was supposed to have an upgraded LCD and did not. I contacted the representative and explained the situation. She was extremely apologetic and though extremely hesitant, I agreed to have it returned to the repair depot. She guaranteed me she would personally test the system to ensure it was functioning perfectly and that the LCD would be replaced with the correct one. And that if I had any problems she would do everything in her power to get us a refund. The system was returned to us on March 14, 2009. On March 18, 2009 the system began turning itself off immediately upon going to battery and the system was getting red hot to the touch. I sent the representative an Email about the situation and also left her a message on March 19, 2009. I was in contact with her on March 20, 2009 where she once again despite her earlier promise wanted it shipped back to the repair depot. I told her that this was simply unacceptable as the system was just returned to me and should not have been sent to me in this condition. I requested she keep her promise and issue us a refund. She told me it was not an option. All she could offer me was to ship it back to repair depot and upgrade my memory. This has been an ongoing matter that seemingly has no resolution. We have been trying desperately to work with the representative to get our money back since we cannot get a working laptop from this company and to no avail. This system is under warranty until February 2011 and I am getting the impression that all I will be doing until the end of warranty is sending it back and forth to the repair depot and still not have a working system. This laptop has been at the repair depot more than it has been in my possession. This is a $3, 666.95 laptop that has not worked properly since its purchase. All we want is our money refunded.

Resolved awful quality products

My husband and I bought a refurbished laptop computer on April 10, 2008 and when we received the computer it did not work.We bought this computer for $1033.98 through EBay Alienware Outlet Store.I now believe that we received a computer which had been returned to them broken and was then roughly patched up and passed on to us.I called their technical support on eight separate occasions and spent at least eight hours on the phone trying to get the computer working.Their best solution was to have me, a person with no computer experience, take the computer completely apart and try to fix the problems.Technical support had me remove the hard drive, install all drivers, take the keyboard off, and remove and replace almost every essential component of the computer.When I repeatedly asked to send in the computer for repair they refused and instead had me (again) remove the hard drive and mail it in.They then sent me a “new” one.What we received several weeks later was password protected for some other person’s user profile with no password. I called them again and again their best answer was to have me take apart my computer and re-install all the drivers.The warranty is now expired, but the computer still does not work. I had asked on several occasions, within my warranty, for them to take the computer back and fix the unit properly.Alienware refused. We now believe this was done intentionally to cause the 90 day warranty to expire thus requiring us to pay for the parts.We had saved for a year to buy this computer.All we want is that which was promised to us when we purchased the machine, a working computer.We have called Alienware and asked them to please take it back and repair the unit.They refuse unless we pay for all the repairs. We took the computer to Falcon Computers here in Waimea to see if they could fix it.The technician looked at it and immediately knew that the problem was probably a faulty motherboard and stated that there would be no reason any computer technician would not be able to diagnose this repair.This further cements our feelings that Alienware purposely and knowingly ran out our warranty to avoid paying for this repair. We want either a working computer or our money back.

  • Gi
    Gimmgam Feb 04, 2010

    Sorry about what happened to you, but it's not entirely Alienwares fault. Dell has owned them since 2006, and ever since than, the customer service went down hill. Why, because Dell wanted to taunt and sell their computer systems especially their Gaming XPS. Alienware was in the way and Dell wanted to gain ground in the gaming pc world. Dell is a horrid company who wants to try to take over everything and be a monopoly. As you can see now Alienware is distinguished an you might as well call them Gaming Dell PC'S. Some of the people who built great pc's for Alienware around 2005 left because of Dell, they knew it was the end of a great gaming company. In truth Alienware had been long gone since 2006. I'm pretty sure Alienware will probably be no more as it seems when you go to their website, Dell is bannered everywhere. Say what you will but it's a sad end to a great company who customed built pc's.

    0 Votes

Resolved misdiagnosed my problem

I took my alienware to geek squad for a diagnostic. After they did this they informed me that they could not fix the problem and that it was the motherboard and that geek squad wasent allowed to work on alienware this was told to me after the diagnostic was done. Then i sent it to Ztronics where i was able to get my computer fixed it was not the motherboard at all it was a fan problem and corrupted harddrive. I also had called geek squad to ask about a refund since they were wrong about the dagnosis, and was told that i needed to bring in the work order done buy ztronics and if it was not the motherboard they would refund the money. So i did as they asked when i got there at first Brian acted like he didnt know what i was talking abpout so i explained it in detail. He was very short and to the point that my money would not be refunded even though it was a wrong diagnosis

Resolved Item DOA- no resolution

I purchased an Alienware Area 51 Destroyer edition earlier this month. The item arrived DOA. After spending more than a hour on the phone with their tech support- I was advised it was the motherboard creating the problem. Alienware shipped a board replacement which I received one week later. They would not overnight or ship it any quicker.

After receiving the board and replacing it I still had the same problem. I spent even more time on the phone with their tech support. I was then advised that something must be wrong- gee how obvious can it get?!?!?! I was then urged to return the entire computer to their repair depot at my expense... ?!?!?!?!?!?! My obvious reponse to such was no- I will not wait months for this thing to be repaired as well as be out the shipping expense.

I asked to please process a RMA on the item to return it. Their response was according to terms & conditions I was required to pay a 15% restocking fee even though the item was defective. Oh and pay shipping as well. Then I was advised I would have to wait 48 hrs to be contacted to get permission to return the item from someone else within Alienware...?!?!?!?!?

Well 48 hrs later instead of receiving a phone call I received an email from a [protected]@dell.com.. He urged me to please troubleshoot once again. If the problem could not be resolved I could return it to their supervised repair depot where he would personally check the repairs. If I would not do that then I may be able to return it at a 15% restocking fee according to terms and conditions.

No resolution still!! I replied back to him explaining my disgust and discontent with the product. And asked for a full refund which I probably will not receive.

Buyers Beware!!!

Resolved scam and cheating

I'm a disabled veteran, confined to a wheelchair, paralyzed from the chest down. My injury is not combat related but it did happen while I was on active duty so I do get a disability pension from the VA. I've been living in Snowflake, Arizona raising my four kids since 1994. Now my kids are grown, my wife works long hours, and I'm left to myself with not much to do. I ordered a laptop computer from Alienware so I'd have something to go on the Internet with, play online games, and work with my home videos and pictures.

I ordered the Aurora m7700 from the website at alienware.com with all the best hardware for an extreme gaming machine. Already active with Final Fantasy XI, Guild Wars, and World of Warcraft, I was really looking forward to my new extreme gaming laptop. No more trouble with something that keeps getting dusty inside, that's hard to manage the bulky case and all the cable connections, that is just plain too big. I would finally have the laptop of my dreams.

But two weeks after my order was paid for I get an email stating that they had no cases on hand for this laptop model. That seemed odd considering this was their new featured system. When it was finally sent 2 of the 3 boxes were missing; the laptop arrived but the software and peripherals did not. It turns out that what happened was, the Alienware shipping department did not hand over all three boxes to FedEX; FedEx never took possession of them. Can you imagine that? They somehow misplaced two of the three boxes when FedEx came to pick them up? And it took another week to get Alienware to admit this, they wanted to make me wait for the rest of my order so they could complete an investigation with FedEx, even though they had already conceded the fact that FedEx never took possession of the two packages.

Okay, well, I finally receive the rest of the order I get everything set up and connected and turn on my new laptop for the first time. The drivers for the internal hardware were not installed and the wireless card would not connect, even though the hotspot showed a very good signal on my WiFi Finder. Both of the installed CD/DVD drives would not open up -- the light will flash and I can hear something happening inside but the doors won't open on either one of them.

Now, I bought Alienware specifically because they bragged about being based in Florida and having all of their computers built on-site in Miami. Well, their tech support sure ain't in Florida. I could hardly understand what they were saying but we struggled through. The all gave themselves American names but they don't speak very good English. I never did get the wireless to work, that guy just passed me off onto some other department to deal with the drive bays problem. And this new guy wanted me to turn the laptop over and open it up, at which point I was supposed to remove the drive bays and do something to them. I didn't understand what he was expecting me to do, I couldn't even figure out which panel I was supposed to remove. And besides, I didn't have a screwdriver to fit those tiny little philips heads holding them on.

Like I said, I'm in a wheelchair, paralyzed from the chest down, and I can only use one hand at a time because I need one in my lap to support myself so I can sit up straight. It was very hard to turn this laptop over, it weighs like a slab of lead. I told the tech on the phone, I'm going to need on-site service for this. I can't do this. And he told me, that's not possible. We have to determine what's wrong over the phone together and send back the defective parts. 'Both drive bays?', I ask. Either that, or there is a problem with the motherboard... He began to explain why we might need to replace the motherboard, but at that point I wasn't listening. Because I was asking myself, what happened to the on-site tech support I'm supposed to have?

Bottom line, I paid a fortune for this laptop and all that came with it. And I PAID for on-site technical support. It took forever to get it all here, and I still can't use it, because Alienware will not honor their aggrement. In fact, I've been told not to call them again unless I have someone here with me that knows how to work on this thing.

I am a disabled veteran on a disability pension. I have never been able to find a job I can do here. I never should have financed something so expensive just so I can have something to do. I know now that I could have bought two Dell XPS gaming laptops and got change back for what I commited to for this thing... this thing that I have yet to even use. I was very angry at first but now I'm just depressed. Very depressed. I don't know what to do. Don't make the mistake I did, don't buy from Alienware. You'll only be sorry you did.

  • Om
    OmegaCSMB Jan 04, 2011

    sorry to hear your experience, but 99% of cases like this. are because of people who dont read disclaimers before buying something (whatever).

    You paid for onsite service, yes. But disclaimers clearly states "onsite service after remote diagnosis"... and when we are talking about remote diagnosis, we are taking in mind almost tearing up the whole thing on the phone with tech support to find out whats wrong with it before dispatching a part or an onsite.

    I know, it sounds terrible. And sort of misleading. But pherhaps you should have taken a better look at the disclaimer before you placed the order. And consequently looking for a better option. (dells the same thing btw)

    0 Votes

Resolved awful company

My husband purchased the Alienware m9750 in February 2008 as a gift for me. The system worked fine for a few months, but then began having problems keeping time. We contacted alienware and they sent us a cmos battery to replace. That did not fix the problem so October 2008 it was sent into their repair depot. After 2 months in the repair depot we stop receiving communication about the status of our system. We were unable to get a response for a month. It was returned to us January 14, 2009 and were told that the Motherboard, Hard drive, Wireless Card, and TV tuner card were all defective and replaced. However we received it back with all the same hardware issues as before the repair plus the optical drive no longer worked. On January 16, 2008 we were contacted by a representative (Whom is still handling our case.) on behalf of Alienwares CEO. They informed us that they shipped a new optical drive and to let them know if it fixed the problem. It did not. On January 26, 2009 they issued a cancellation of our system and told me to pick out a new system which matched the cost of our original since they could not issue us a refund. Which is what we requested. We ordered the Alienware m15x. Which we were forced into as none of their other systems came with windows XP which is what we had originally and wanted. That system was delivered on March 6, 2009. Immediately open using the brand new system it had hardware problems. It was locking up, crashing and overheating. It was also not shipped with correct specs. It was supposed to have an upgraded LCD and did not. I contacted the representative and explained the situation. They was extremely apologetic and though extremely hesitant, I agreed to have it returned to the repair depot. They guaranteed me they would personally test the system to ensure it was functioning perfectly and that the LCD would be replaced with the correct one. And that if I had any problems they would do everything in there power to issue us a refund. The system was returned to us on March 14, 2009. On March 18, 2009 the system began turning itself off immediately upon going to battery and the system was getting red hot to the touch. I sent the represenitive an Email about the situation and also left a message on March 19, 2009. I was in contact with them on March 20, 2009 where they once again despite their earlier promise wanted it shipped back to the repair depot. I told them that this was simply unacceptable as the system was just returned to me and should not have been sent to me in this condition. I requested they keep their promise and issue us a refund. they told me it was not an option. All they could offer me was to ship it back to repair depot and upgrade my memory. This has been an ongoing matter that seemingly has no resolution. We have been trying desperately to work with the represenitive to get our money back since we cannot get a working laptop from this company to no avail. This system is under warranty until February 2011 and I am getting the impression that all I will be doing until the end of warranty is sending it back and forth to the repair depot and still not have a working system. This laptop has been at the repair depot more than it has been in my possession. This is a $3, 666.95 laptop that has not worked properly since its purchase.

Resolved terrible experience

I bought a computer from Alienware for more than $3200 + extended warranty. Within a week it started crashing for no obvious reason. The support people were useless. They were waisting an unlimited amount of my time in the process. Alienware wanted me to ship the computer to them for fixing but would not say how long it will take for them to fix it. To return the machine I would need to pay a 15% restocking fee, a pretty big number considering my initial price. To make the long story short, it was a big waste of money, time, and resources. More expensive obviously doesn't mean better.

  • Di
    Dianne J. Barlow Mar 06, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My grandson wanted an Alienware for his grade school graduation. His parents and us (Grandparents) went together and got him one. We are talking $5,000.00. This will be the third time it has been sent back because it does not work. This boy has not been able to use this for 6 months. What is the problem. We are talking a lot of money and a child's broken heart. Alienware needs to get it together.

    0 Votes
  • Valerie Jul 25, 2008

    Just like everyone else I had been wanting an Alienware computer for years.

    Then the day came when I was able to purchase my "dream computer" from Alienware.

    I spent over $4, 000 for it.

    An Alienware Aurora M9700 laptop with all of the extra goodies I could get including a year extended warranty.

    Just to let you know, this is merely a summary of what Alienware has put me through.

    It took a bit more than the estimated amount of time for it to be shipped out to me.

    I had ordered it in October of 2017 and didn't receive it until after that Christmas.

    Once I had finally received it I had nothing but problems with it, mainly problems with the video.

    I kid you not that it took, from the very first tech support phone call I made to Alienware almost a month after I received it to the time it actually got half-haired repaired and sent back to me with the same problems as before, about 4 months.

    It was pure *** dealing with anyone from Alienware and still is.

    After several months of talking with tech support about my laptops video problems they decided it was one of the video cards.

    After sending me a replacement video card, they sent out an incompetent tech person to fix it who said and I quote him, "I don't know what I'm doing" after he had just about damaged the casing and ultimately damaging one of the speakers.

    That guy had to call in to Alienware tech support to find out how to open the case properly (after he had it open half way exposing the inside components).

    He couldn't get proper help from the tech support himself.

    I ended up on the phone with an Alienware tech support manager while that guy was still at my residence who told me that he was going to send the guy away after I had expressed my distress over the situation to him.

    The entire month following that situation was spent trying to get my address changed which they had refused to do at first but I finally succeeded in getting it changed after much *** was given to me by customer service.

    I had to change my address due to several moves I had made since I had bought the computer before they would further any repairs to it.

    After that and after way too much hassle from Alienware employees telling me that I would have to foot the bill for any shipping, labor, parts cost even though my warranty was still in effect, they finally agreed to have me send it in to their repair center for the repairs free of charge.

    I sent my computer out to them on a Monday and received it back from them two days later on Wednesday.

    They said my video problems were caused by "the video cards dirty heatsinks" and that they cleaned them.

    They had also told me that I had a "bad image of Windows" they had originally put on my system and the restore disc which they refused to replace.

    They never repaired the speaker that was damaged by the tech guy they had sent out to my residence and would quickly change the subject every time I mentioned it.

    I still had all of the same problems after I got it back from them.

    I've been putting up with these problems for a year and a half now.

    The LCD is now about to go out and they are refusing to fix the issue which is something they should have tested and fixed before.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angus Jan 23, 2009

    Purchased Area-51 m17x in June 2017, product arrive not quite as ordered, was to have a "etchable" DVD drive, emailed about it, no response, not a big deal, thought it would be neat but really have no use for it. It does tend to freeze a lot not sure why, sometime I need to remove power and batteries to get it reset. It is a very nice Laptop with some cool features. Would I buy another one...not sure .

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Rebecca Jul 30, 2009

    Without a doubt, Alienware is one of the worst companies I have had the displeasure of dealing with in my life. My 13-year old son, over my objections, chose this pathetic company to order his new gaming computer. 4 weeks after they eagerly took my money, no computer. No response to email questions. I called them and they gave me the B.S. story about how it needs to be checked and double-checked and how they make such a great system and how they refuse to send out an inferior product. As near as I can tell, they don't send out any product at all. I cancelled the order and asked when I would get my money back. I was told my credit card would be refunded in full within 3-5 days. I called 7 work days later and still no refund. They told me that it would be 2 more days and promised to send me a confirming email. 5 days later, no email, no refund. I called and was again told 2-3 moere days and again was promised a confirming email. 7 days later, no email, no refund. In the meanwhile, we ordered a better computer from Dell and received it in 4 days, with free shipping. I know that Dell bought Alienware but do not expect the customer service to be any better than it was before. Alienware is still staffed by incompetent, dishonest thieves. I still don't have my money back, and am preparing to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and am looking into filing federal inter-state commerce fraud charges. Stay away from these maggots.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    katmasu Oct 05, 2009

    Ordered a computer. Told there was a problem with the credit card. Cancelled the order. Placed another order. Received computer but charged twice for 2 computers, only got one. Bank card went into overdraft due to the unexpected charges for 2 computers. 48$ in bank fees and nearly 2017$ in charges for a computer we never got later, we still have not been refunded the money. It is now nearly a month, 10 phone calls and hours of my life and I am angry beyond words. This company is run by thieves. We have been told 4 times now that situation would be taken care of but my bank account has yet to be credited. We can ill afford to have this money missing from our accounts.

    0 Votes
  • Nm
    Nmakris Oct 09, 2009

    Laptop was ordered in March of 2017. It is now October 9th, and from day one have not had a working laptop. It was ordered for my son to take to college-waste of him taking it with him (cant use it). It hasnt worked since we purchased it, after multiple emails, multiple calls to customer service, technicians coming and going, etc. Worst company I've ever dealt with in my life!

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Gimmgam Feb 04, 2010

    Sorry about what happened to you, but it's not entirely Alienwares fault. Dell has owned them since 2017, and ever since than, the customer service went down hill. Why, because Dell wanted to taunt and sell their computer systems especially their Gaming XPS. Alienware was in the way and Dell wanted to gain ground in the gaming pc world. Dell is a horrid company who wants to try to take over everything and be a monopoly. As you can see now Alienware is distinguished an you might as well call them Gaming Dell PC'S. Some of the people who built great pc's for Alienware around 2017 left because of Dell, they knew it was the end of a great gaming company. In truth Alienware had been long gone since 2017. I'm pretty sure Alienware will probably be no more as it seems when you go to their website, Dell is bannered everywhere. Say what you will but it's a sad end to a great company who customed built pc's.

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Gimmgam Feb 04, 2010

    Sorry about what happened to you, but it's not entirely Alienwares fault. Dell has owned them since 2017, and ever since than, the customer service went down hill. Why, because Dell wanted to taunt and sell their computer systems especially their Gaming XPS. Alienware was in the way and Dell wanted to gain ground in the gaming pc world. Dell is a horrid company who wants to try to take over everything and be a monopoly. As you can see now Alienware is distinguished an you might as well call them Gaming Dell PC'S. Some of the people who built great pc's for Alienware around 2017 left because of Dell, they knew it was the end of a great gaming company. In truth Alienware had been long gone since 2017. I'm pretty sure Alienware will probably be no more as it seems when you go to their website, Dell is bannered everywhere. Say what you will but it's a sad end to a great company who customed built pc's.

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Gimmgam Feb 04, 2010

    Sorry about what happened to you, but it's not entirely Alienwares fault. Dell has owned them since 2017, and ever since than, the customer service went down hill. Why, because Dell wanted to taunt and sell their computer systems especially their Gaming XPS. Alienware was in the way and Dell wanted to gain ground in the gaming pc world. Dell is a horrid company who wants to try to take over everything and be a monopoly. As you can see now Alienware is distinguished an you might as well call them Gaming Dell PC'S. Some of the people who built great pc's for Alienware around 2017 left because of Dell, they knew it was the end of a great gaming company. In truth Alienware had been long gone since 2017. I'm pretty sure Alienware will probably be no more as it seems when you go to their website, Dell is bannered everywhere. Say what you will but it's a sad end to a great company who customed built pc's.

    0 Votes
  • Om
    OmegaCSMB Jan 04, 2011

    I think the real question here is, how long did it take between placing the order and calling in to cancel the order? I ask this because according to my experience most of the american people tend to be upset almost for... everything?
    One advise, maybe two...

    1. ANY customer service representative doesnt gives a damn about your problems. Double-score if you call in yelling and whining at them when initially they dont have the fault. Yelling and insulting Tech/Customer service agents will only cause the representative to put you on mute, while he makes fun of you along with their rest of the staff. And/or on Hold if you just dont shut up.

    2. Nice people, get more.

    Maybe americans should consider changing their attitude. You'll see how amazing the change will be when you are just nice and calmed. Like it or not, thats life.

    0 Votes

high end gaming pc???

ALIEWARE: BLOWS

My name is Grant Culbertson. My communication is to inform All of the troubles I have encountered while dealing with the company Alienware.  I purchased an ALX computer for the sole purpose of owning a top of the line gaming computer for over $7, 600.  What I received was a faulty and malfunctioning device. We started having problems from the moment I removed it from the box.  I then contacted the Alienware support staff to solve these problems.  The issues were hardware. They sent me several new pieces of hardware. I even purchased more memory from Alienware in attempt to solve the issues. After I had made over 40 support calls the company finally agreed to have the computer sent back to Alienware to have it repaired.  They took a week to repair the computer and sent it back to me. However, the PC was not fixed. I experienced the same problems as before. More support calls and again the company asked me send to the computer back in to have it repaired a second time.  I told the company that fixing this computer was pointless. It was a lemon.
We requested from Alienware either provide a new computer of equal value or a full refund of the $7, 600 I spent to buy the computer.  The company has sense refused to provide me with a either request and has been very uncooperative, rude, and unprofessional. The first contact person I spoke to was a Verohnika Bau at the phone number [protected] ext. 2016.  Mrs. Bau’s superior’s number is Christian Mayorga at [protected] ext. 2014.  I tried to file a complaint with the company but, was directed back to Mr. Mayorga. His superior algedly is the CEO of the company who can only be reached by E-Mail ([protected]@alienware.com).
If there is anyone out there looking to get a high-end gaming computer I would suggest to go anywhere but Alienware.  BEWARE OF ALIENWARE. May I suggest you do an internet search of problems with Alienware BEFORE you purchase any products from this vendor. Now, I am left out to dry after spending over $7, 600, days of time with their technical support/ staff and have no computer.

Resolved Defective laptops

My husband purchased the Alienware m9750 in February 2008 as a gift for me. The system worked fine for a few months, but then began having problems keeping time. We contacted alienware and they sent us a cmos battery to replace. That did not fix the problem so October 2008 it was sent into their repair depot. After 2 months in the repair depot we stop receiving communication about the status of our system. We were unable to get a response for a month. It was returned to us January 14, 2009 and were told that the Motherboard, Hard drive, Wireless Card, and TV tuner card were all defective and replaced. However we received it back with all the same hardware issues as before the repair plus the optical drive no longer worked. On January 16, 2008 we were contacted by a representative on behalf of Alienwares CEO. She informed us that they shipped a new optical drive and to let her know if it fixed the problem. It did not of course since the motherboard was defective. On January 26, 2009 she issued a cancellation of our system and told me to pick out a new system which matched the cost of our original since she could not issue us a refund. Which is what we requested. We ordered the Alienware m15x.Which we were forced into as none of their other systems came with windows XP which is what we had originally and wanted. That system was delivered on March 6, 2009. Immediately open using the brand new system it had hardware problems. It was locking up, crashing and overheating. It was also not shipped with correct specs. It was supposed to have an upgraded LCD and did not. I contacted the representative and explained the situation. She was extremely apologetic and though extremely hesitant, I agreed to have it returned to the repair depot. She guaranteed me she would personally test the system to ensure it was functioning perfectly and that the LCD would be replaced with the correct one. And that if I had any problems she would do everything in her power to get us a refund. The system was returned to us on March 14, 2009. On March 18, 2009 the system began turning itself off immediately upon going to battery and the system was getting red hot to the touch. I sent the representative an Email about the situation and also left her a message on March 19, 2009. I was in contact with her on March 20, 2009 where she once again despite her earlier promise wanted it shipped back to the repair depot. I told her that this was simply unacceptable as the system was just returned to me and should not have been sent to me in this condition. I requested she keep her promise and issue us a refund. She told me it was not an option. All she could offer me was to ship it back to repair depot and upgrade my memory. This has been an ongoing matter that seemingly has no resolution. We have been trying desperately to work with the representative to get our money back since we cannot get a working laptop from this company and to no avail. This system is under warranty until February 2011 and I am getting the impression that all I will be doing until the end of warranty is sending it back and forth to the repair depot and still not have a working system. This laptop has been at the repair depot more than it has been in my possession. This is a $3, 666.95 laptop that has not worked properly since its purchase.

Resolved Service

Ok this is just a warning for all of you who may be thinking of buying an Alienware system. I am sure you have all heard how great they are and all the good things about them. Well its just a hype, maybe 10 years ago it was top notch but that is no longer true. I purchased my system after the long wait in August of 08'. I knew I was spending to much but I needed a laptop for school so figured I would get something I wanted. From day 1 of receiving this system it had problems. Not being completely stupid when it comes to computers I attempted what I could to correct the issues I was having. The final conclusion on my part was it was faulty hardware issues. So I attempted to contact their service department, working in manufacturing myself I understand how a few things can get by. This is where the real trouble began, being how I used my roommates paypal account I was unable to get any help from them without his verification. In order for me to do that I was moved up to their critical issues team. After getting his verification we attempted to remove him from the account and put me as the main account holder. They said this was done and they would setup a shipment from fedex to them at their cost for me to send the laptop back making it overnight so I could get my system back as soon as possible. After they got the system they kept it for about two weeks and shipped it back. The notes for the service stated they couldn't replicate the problem and they system was fine. As soon as I attempted to start the system it kept having the same problem (power on but black screen. When finally getting the system started it would lock up on the simplest tasks, not much of a high performance system.) Attempting to contact them again I discovered I was still not the owner of the system in their eyes and needed my room mates verification again. Now by this point I have already had to drop 3 classes at my expense because I didn't have the laptop needed for them. It is also now January of 09' before I am finally able to send the system back to them again for the same repairs. They get the system on the 14th and two weeks after they have the system I try to contact them to find out whats going on because I have heard nothing. Nearly a week after sending their critical issues team an email they finally respond saying "Regarding your computer’s repairs, the computer was received at the Repair Center on 01/14/2009 and it is being diagnosed. As soon as I have new information, I will let you know." The end of the month is coming around and I have still yet to hear anything so again I contact them and I get a response on the 29th saying, "Regarding the repairs for your computer, the upgrade parts have been received at our repair facility. However, the motherboard needed to complete the repairs is delayed. It may take one more week to become available.

As soon as I get more information about this situation, I will let you know. I apologize for this delay. We are doing all we can to have your computer working again as soon as possible." Please note the fact that it says one more week. The 12th of February roles around still no word from them and by this time I am really upset and very disappointed with my dream system contacting them again stating that they should either exchange my system that has never worked for a working system or give me a refund. Finally I get a response in less than a week only 5 days this time saying, "The part needed to repair your computer is backordered. We expect to have it in few days. As soon as we get the replacement motherboard, your computer will be fixed and sent to you. I apologize for this situation and for the long delay." Well they completely ignored my requests this time and what was this backordered and will take a few days, I was never given this information till now and last time a month ago it was only a week. Now I am finished with them and send them another email stating that I want either a working system or a refund by the end of the week. Which they respond to with the unthinkable, "I would like to apologize for the amount of time it is taking to repair your system. We have not received the replacement parts that are needed to complete the repairs from the manufacturer yet; however, they are supposed to be sending them soon. At this point, a replacement computer is not an option since your computer has not been repaired. As soon as I have new information, I will let you know." Your telling me you can't exchange my nonworking system with one that works because it hasn't been repaired yet? Why would I want to exchange something it worked fine? Did you see a response to my refund statement yet again because I didn't. I have now lost all faith in their company and am posting this in hopes that I will be able to save some others the pain and suffering I am working with right now. They also have a class action lawsuit against them because of selling known faulty products.

The following is for search engines please disreguard.

Alienware Best computer top 10 computers top 10 laptops alienware complaints alienware reviews

  • Su
    Susieg1 Sep 30, 2009

    I feel your pain. I bought an Alienware area 51 M Model # 766SN3 several years ago.. just before the warranty was to expire it started overheating and shutting down. I called customer service and they eventually sent out a repairman to replace the fan. This worked for about a week. Numerous calls failed to get any resolution until the warranty finally expired. Then their response was its out of warranty. I explained that its the same problem it was having when in warranty.

    To date I have a $4000 laptop that has never worked right since day one. Alienware needs to be held responsible for all of these issues. I'm surprised there isnt a class action suit regarding this company.. which is now owned by Dell.

    0 Votes

Resolved No Liquid cooling

OK.. so.. I ordered my system a few months back and despite taking over a month to arrive (or about that long) I am very impressed with it. Overall ive had a great experience.. apart from now. Now I realise that Alienware standard system cooling sounds like they mean that its a fan cooling system (which it is) however on the design page there is clearly a picture that states that the system has liquid cooling. Now assuming that there is only one option that you can choose and that they clearly state that there is liquid co0ling, thats what youd expect to get. Youd dont get it... I have already filed a complaint and told them what my problem is but as the people were foreign I dont think they knew what I was talking about. If anyone has had any success with this particular matter then please contact me at [protected]@aol.com Thanks

  • Pe
    PeterGL123 Nov 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    OK.. so.. I ordered my system a few months back and despite taking over a month to arrive (or about that long) I am very impressed with it. Overall ive had a great experience.. apart from now. Now I realise that Alienware standard system cooling sounds like they mean that its a fan cooling system (which it is) however on the design page there is clearly a picture that states that the system has liquid cooling. Now assuming that there is only one option that you can choose and that they clearly state that there is liquid co0ling, thats what youd expect to get. Youd dont get it... I have already filed a complaint and told them what my problem is but as the people were foreign I dont think they knew what I was talking about.

    0 Votes

Disappointing laptop, broken hardware, crap customer service

Alienware laptops (and probably desktops) are totally piece of crap. I'm going to be prety honest here. I just bought an Alienware Area-51 M15X. This is my agent account ID: 483666 and this is the agent Order: PC-615285A. Bought it last november but since i don't live in US, it needed around 3 weeks to arrive here. Already tried this laptop for one week and I want to give it 1 out of 10 for rating. No hype here for my rating. Totally honest. The laptop is totally broken, here's why:

1. The keyboard is totally piece of crap. Sorry for my excessive language but it's true. I have another laptop, it's Sony VAIO and vaio keyboard is 100x better than alienware. Everytime I typed 20-30 letters on alienware, the keyboard didn't respond properly for 1-2 time (for example, i want to write "keyboard", but although I properly typed it, on the screen it showed "keyoard". So i need to keep pressing backspace after typed some letters). It doesn't respond well, that's my point. The worst keyboard ever, nothing compared to VAIO and even Acer.

2. Now this is the main problem. I bought this laptop for around $4, 000 and yet i can't play any games. Why? Here's why:
http://www.techsupportforum.com/microsoft-support/windows-vista-support/324273-vista-crash-blue-screen-helppp.html#post1865179

Too lazy to click it? Not a problem. Basically on that thread, I complained that every time I installed a new game, it gave me a blue screen of death. For example I have just bought a Fallout 3 game, i installed it. Then even if I was just browsing, it still gave me BSOD message and then it crashed. I can only avoid the blue screen of death if I uninstall the game. Then few days later I tried to install GTA4 on the laptop, no luck. Still same result. Basically it's not only if I play the game, but AFTER I INSTALLED THE GAME, it gave me BSOD. You think this is due to Vista? Think again. It's WHEA error and it's happening due to the broken hardware.

Check this out:
http://www.bestlaptopz.com/images/alienware/Alienware-Crap1.jpg
http://www.bestlaptopz.com/images/alienware/Alienware-Crap2.jpg
http://www.bestlaptopz.com/images/alienware/Alienware-Crap3.jpg

I took these screenshots after the second time I got BSOD. Already tried the Alienware for one week and everytime I attempted to fix things and tested it again by installing and playing heavy games, it always gave me BSOD crash error. (now i'm back to my VAIO because their keyboard is totally unresponsive so it's just a waste of time trying to do anything there)

This is the dump file that was created after that 2nd BSOD. I uploaded it to the above link (techsupportforum) but since people probably won't read that thread, I will just give the download link here:
http://rapidshare.com/files/175098339/ISO-8859-1__Alienware-problem.rar.html
and also check the performance report HTML file:
http://rapidshare.com/files/174521639/perfmon.html

Everyone who I asked about the problem always give me ONE recommendation: Send back the laptop. I read somewhere Alienware always took 1-2 months to check the problem of our laptop so it'll be really very time consuming to send back the laptop (need 3 weeks for the laptop to arrive here so total 6 weeks PLUS 2 months of their lame repairing? Will do though if it can help).

So what did I do beside complaining? Plenty of things. First, i have sent them emails, probably already 10 emails since the first day I got this laptop. But they never answered. They only answered it once, asking for my order ID EVEN AFTER I TOLD THEM THE NUMBER "PC-615285A". Can you believe it? I have told them about my numbers, yet they replied "Hey, can you verify your order by giving us the order ID bla bla bla". Then until now they never answered anything anymore.

So I called them at [protected], although it was expensive (internationa call) i didn't care. I just wanted to ask. I explained to them about the problem, and yet they can't answer anything. It's just look like they are avoiding me. They even told me to just wait for the reply of the email and 2 days later after the phone call (which is now), they still haven't sent me any reply.

Then I tried to chat with them. But the chat representative said that I should just call the technical support because she was just taking care of sales support. I explained how the technical support didn't want to take any responsibilities and how they never answered my problem, then she said "sorry" and closed the chat session. WHAT A BEHAVIOR!

My Alienware Area-51 M15X is worth more than $4, 000, NOT INCLUDING the tax fee, shipping fee, etc. It came up with Core 2 Extreme (2.8 GHz), 4GB dual layer memory, and nVidia GeForce 9800M GT. I was a fool buying this laptop because I just thought it was cool. Actually, this laptop is totally a piece of crap and not even worth $1. The keyboard and ESPECIALLY the blue screen problem really made me frustrated. It seems my Alienware Area-51 M15x has an overheating issue or something but again, the support didn't want to take any responsibilities.

Now i'm really afraid if I send back the laptop to them, they will just keep it for them. BAM, I'll lose everything. So Alienware team, if you won't help me and still acting like a bit*h, let's make it a war. I don't only post the issue here, but everywhere. I even have been thinking to use my internet marketing skills to promote my complains on web pages so people will know that if they buy an Alienware product, they'll be making a very big mistake. :)

Congratulations, Alienware. Your Area-51 M15X has just fooled me. You guys caught me in your trap. Now you can pay your bills by ******** me and other of your customers. One day, you're going to regret it.

  • Te
    Terrible Alienware Dec 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Oh and btw, before commenting here, please make sure you are legit (not paid by Alienware to turn down my post or something). I also posted the issue everywhere I could and probably even putting it on my biggest website later. The above post is just based on my experience but I know certainly they DO NOT want to take any responsibility for this broken hardware. That's why they keep avoiding me.

    0 Votes
  • Ag
    a good guy but unlucky Dec 20, 2008

    Well I sure won't recommend Alienware to any of my Pals won't you?
    Being expensive is one thing but having poor customer support is another.
    It took me ages before a Alienware customer personal contacted me for my problems.Even that my Alienware Laptop still isn't rid of it's problem!This only makes me regret the decision to buy this brand once and for all.I want quality products, not simply an over priced piece of ### like this.

    0 Votes
  • Va
    vasishta Dec 20, 2008

    oh! wow!

    Thanks for telling me.. and thank god i read this complaint.. i was about to buy the same laptop.. i have about to leave home to buy and i read this complaint..

    Thank You Very much for informing about this to me!

    Thanks alot!

    0 Votes
  • Va
    vasishta Dec 20, 2008

    oh crap!

    I forgot about telling this to my brother!

    I read this.. felt relieved but i forgot to tell about this to my brother who was also going to buy this laptop.
    We both were going to buy this laptop.. but I read this and got saved.. but my brother didnt know and i didnt tell him and he bought the laptop!

    We checked the laptop and then.. what we found?
    Exactly what the above complaint mentioned!

    Everything crap!

    This is what happened:
    The service was poor and the seller was dying to give my bro this laptop.
    My Bro wasnt allowed to check the laptop there before buying.
    The payments were delayed.
    They took an extra fee.
    We saw the keyboard was broken.. some keys not there.
    The Switch On button was not there.
    the USB ports behind were rusted..
    They didnt receive the phone calls i made to them.
    I went to the shop for returning and they said : NO!
    I was so pissed off...

    A warning to all of you guys..

    Dont Buy this laptop.. and u are lucky to see this complaint before buying!


    Damn it!

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    howz Dec 20, 2008

    I bought this laptop and i had the same issue as you.The alienware team is pathetic and dosent care about their customer.
    So i recommend all user not to go with alienware

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jake Dec 21, 2008

    My friend had an experience with alienware, and it was bad. The laptop was unbelievably in bad shape, and the customer support was terrible. Most softwares don't work on it. He did send it back, but hasnt got it back yet. What bad service.
    I totally agree after reading this that alienware is horrible.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chinni_1994 Dec 21, 2008

    Alienware!! aarrgh

    This is just the best of the worst! my god!!

    I bought it yesterday.. planning to give it as a Christmas gift for my friend.. and thought i would check it today as it was midnight yesterday..
    and.. to my surprise.. when i saw it today morning.. it looked like this.. its not mine.. but it looked like it:

    http://www.smashsomestuff.com/gallery/albums/Smash%20My%20Laptops/Broken%20Laptop.JPG

    man!

    What a waste of money! i could have either invested it or bought a RAM of 2GB instead!
    damn!

    I had the same experiences.. the shops refusing.. the companies not co-operating.. man! what a mess..

    I looked like it was thrown from the top of a petronas and a baby at the bottom trying to catch it! and ofcourse the baby dropped it and the laptop shattered!

    I was really hoping something from this.. but nothing!

    aww.. CRAP!

    Alienware is like a adware and spyware which is nothing but a broken ware!

    Please dont use it.. anyone!

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    abhi Dec 22, 2008

    yeah guys...i too got a notebook frm Alienware and its just freakign horrible...mine gets super heated in 30minutes...
    chk the screenshot here:

    http://img160.imageshack.us/img160/7632/speedfanmf5.png

    i have 2 notebooks and this alienware one is complete crap...waste of money...

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Ted Dec 22, 2008

    I absolutely agree with what you said. Alienware customer support is a joke. They are complete ###s who can't even speak English properly. Their Spanish accent sounds ridiculous. Of course, this is not the only thing that made me angry. It was their broken Alienware Area-51 M17x. That machine was ###in' terrible and broken. I sent it back to Alienware myself but they took 2 months to repair it.

    CAN YOU BELIEVE IT? TWO MONTHS! After I sent back the laptop, they told me to wait for 2-3 weeks. After I called them, they said the laptop would be ready to be sent back to my home. But hell, i was waiting for more than 1 and half months. I called them again and for the fourth times they kept telling me it would be sent right away. In the end they didn't scam me (ALMOST) but as I said it took 2 months for me to get the laptop.

    I played only around 3-4 hours daily for the next 3 months but suddenly it got overheated and I can see the crack until today. I was too lazy to send it back to Alienware, they are scammers. I won't ever buy any other things from them anymore. ### you Alienware.

    *PS: I still don't get it how come popular sites like PCMag, CNet, or NoteBookReview gave Alienware4 or 5 stars every time they had a new product for sale. Alienware scheme is to pay big sites so we will buy their broken machine. What the ###. Think people, think! Is it worth it to pay $2, 500 or even more for a broken hardware? With the same amount of money, I can buy myself a BEAUTIFUL iMac without no lags! ###!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shivam Dec 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I absolutely agree with what you said. Alienware customer support is a BLACK SPOT on the name of SUPPORTING their costumers. They also dont help ur using good ENGLISH and their talk is irritating with a mix. of Latin and English .

    CAN YOU BELIEVE IT? TWO MONTHS! After I bought the laptop, the laptop`s motherboard went in HEAVEN. After I called them, they said the laptop assistance would be provided to me . I WAITED OVER 2 weeks for their help but noone came . I then again ringed them back, THEY SAY THEY DONT HAVE COMPLAINT and then they said TELL UR COMPLAINT No.

    THATS WHAT I HAVE AND THEN COME TO SEE IT AFTER 1 yr and not repaired it yet

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jatin17 Dec 22, 2008

    man i thought iam tthe only one suffering from alienware hazards
    al my problems are already suuffered by prople here

    i suggest every1 here plz dont go for alienware laptops

    alienware is so terrible, please dont buy them

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jatin17 Dec 22, 2008

    yes i forgot to tell
    iam tring to complaint from about a week
    it like smtimes no one picks ..
    much of the tym there line is alwayz busy or watevaa but they alwayz hav sm prob

    i cud say that this is the worst dealing in my life

    alienware sucks

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rockstar Dec 22, 2008

    i ordered a lappy for myself
    i was so joyfull for that when the machine arrived it was scratched, software and screws were missing

    i waz so depperesed
    i colled them and asked them to replace me the piece
    they said that they wud send a person bt as expected they dint hell send anybody

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rockstar Dec 22, 2008

    if there is anyone who cud help us and make us recover from our losses i wud be very greatfull
    plus i wud urge every1 not to bouy alienware

    as said by jatin17 alienware sucks

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    Velayudham Dec 22, 2008

    Oh, I think I escaped from a terrible service providing company. Thanks for sharing this information.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    blue Dec 22, 2008

    lolz...i thought am the only one pissed up with them...i totally agree with u pal...these guys r completely $($&#@&...
    the support is horrible...
    i never recommend there services...completely crap

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Kristen Dec 22, 2008

    Alienware and dell are same...thy both are horrible...i've used Dell b4 and after reading this thread, i do not plan to ever use Alienware notebooks or desktops...thx for lets us aware of such useless companies...

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arun Dec 22, 2008

    I agree with you rockstar on

    "i waz so depperesed
    i colled them and asked them to replace me the piece
    they said that they wud send a person bt as expected they dint hell send anybody"

    I don't know why the complanies are so irresponsible when shipping the product.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arru Dec 22, 2008

    duh...was abt to make such a thread here...
    this company is really pissing me off...my notebooks blew up 'cause of its mobo...now am waiting a replacement since last 2 mnths...&&$$#(_*#@(&% company...NEVER BUY FRM THEM

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Ninja Dec 22, 2008

    I am looking to complaint them. They spoke to me only for the first time and they responded saying wait for reply for your complaint mails. No reply for the mail as well as no they are responding for my telephone calls. Is there another way to contact them and get my problem sloved?

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Dec 22, 2008

    Ninja, I think they have decided not to hear you anymore. Even you find anyother way to contact them, they are just gonna ask you to wait for your email's reply. I believe you should have read reviews about them and their service before buying their product.

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    Hitman Dec 22, 2008

    I was nearly convinced to buy this laptap. Thank God, this is a great escape for me. Anyhow I want to but a new Laptop in few days. Can anyone suggest me a good brand with a good customer support?

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arnold Dec 23, 2008

    I got a similar crap in the form a laptop form Alienware. I tried a lot to change that or atleast to service that through the company, but they are too good to ignore me. Now I am using that laptop as a decorative thing in my room.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Dec 23, 2008

    I sent my Latop for replacement as its hardware gave lot of trouble before 2 and half months. Still haven't received it. I strongly recommend you NOT to buy Alienware products.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul Dec 23, 2008

    Thanks for the information friends. I will look for some other comany's product.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Ganesh Dec 23, 2008

    Hai hitman, i believe you can buy any brand other than alienware. I hope sony vaio is good. But before buying, better read lot of reviews to avoid risks.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Dec 23, 2008

    Hai vasishta,

    I really feel sorry for your brother. You should have saved him from wasting his money on alienware.

    0 Votes
  • Uh
    uhacks Dec 28, 2008

    well i want to complain here that alienware's support outside of us is sucks big time.
    late late delivery and they don't want responsibility for their own fault.
    certainly for me as a asian customer i don't like their service and delivery at all!!hope the company go to hell

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alienpoop Dec 28, 2008

    this is a huge scam waiting to happen.
    For a big company like this i am sure suprised that it didn't bankrupt earlier..
    the recession must have make them neglect their own customer service!!.
    i don't get it on this scamming company selling laptops just second to acer on poor ### laptop reliability..
    i advice people all over the world..don't buy it and even go near it.it is ###..

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    richguy Dec 28, 2008

    you know what..
    alienware even deducted a charge of unauthorized reason to my credit card when i billed my payment..
    i was so shocked at this and wonder why????the same bs keeps happening time and time again.
    to make matters worse my laptop from alienware broke down after a few days and this sucks ### like hell!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    magpie Dec 28, 2008

    i agree with all these complaints..alienware is worse than robbers.They have a lot of excuse when it comes to complains to the customer service.They never get the job done and this worsens my view on this company.People work hard to get money and pay them for laptops but eventually they never give working machines..all of their stuff tend to break down.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    crapofpoop Dec 28, 2008

    people people people..
    time and time again i read about most of these complaints and i get to one conclusion.
    Alienware must be so crap and ### to make they complain here about their problems.
    I undoubtedly agree with this as some time ago i bought one alienware laptop which got broken down and never got repaired because nobody can help me..now i see all these complaints and see why this happen again.shut down alienware once and for all

    0 Votes
  • La
    LaVaism Dec 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I own an Alienware Area-51 and have used their laptops. I have talked with customer support and they were extremely helpful for me when a wire came undone during shipping. Also I looked at the screen shot you displayed on the Microsoft forum and these are the issues I found.

    You have downloaded utorrent to download torrents.
    You have also downloaded what looks like illegal software, MS Office and Photoshop CS4 all of these do not come with the Alienware and could have malice software attached to them.
    You also have installed a Registry Booster of some sort which could have caused lots of problems, we all know Alienwares come pre-setup with the latest software so you don't have to download them when you get the new PC. So you might have done something to damage the operating systems configuration. Illegal software on your machine can void a warranty oh and you can be charged for theft! So support the people that work hard to make the software and buy it, plus you know it is safe and clean.

    You might have a bad stick of memory which is common, and might have not caused any problems during the "burn in" process that manufactures go through.

    I do not work for Alienware, I work for a private corporation as a network engineer. Alienware is a bit high in price but they use good components and they save you the time of having to build it yourself. Apple computers are just as much, a $400.00 machine will not perform as well as one with higher grade parts. I would suggest you reload the entire machine with the recovery software they provide you and then go out and buy the game so that you can see if you still have problems.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terrible Alienware Dec 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @LaVaism: you talked trash. You are right that I installed illegal softwares but that was BEFORE I reformat the Vista. should I tell you again and again that I have reformat the Vista for probably about 4-5 times? When I reformat the Vista, I didn't INSTALL ANYTHING, and I tried to run the SP2004 program. Again, another BSOD. BOOM! I even tried to NOT install any driver to make sure it was not driver issue. What a big joke, I still got BSOD when I stressed some RAM through SP2004 program.

    Apple works better than Alienware, if you are not a Mac user, you know nothing about them. I invested in a local apple store here and every MacBook that I tested never got this serious problem.

    This is not SOFTWARE RELATED, you dumbass. This is obviously their hardware problem. Do you think I know nothing about software? OBVIOUSLY WHEN I SAID I REFORMATTED THE VISTA, it means I was using their recovery disk. I even tried to use another Vista DVD because I was wondering if I got BSOD due to their recovery disk. But still, BSOD again and again.

    I have tried everything I can, ran one memory stick at a time, reformatted the Vista with another DVD or with the recovery disk, bla bla bla, uninstall the drivers, and nothing helped me. You must be working with Alienware made a positive comment for a ### company like this one. See the other negative comments, they agreed with me. They proved that Alienware is totally ###.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terrible Alienware Dec 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Lavaism: Oh and one more dumbass, you seem tried to accuse that my problem is due to my softwares. As I told above, I keep reformatting the Vista and I didn't install any of the software but I still got BSOD when I tested with GTA IV and SP 2004 program.

    Check this blue screen crash after I REFORMATTED THE VISTA USING THE STUPID RECOVERY DISK THEN I RAN SP 2004:
    http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/9946/bluescreench5.jpg

    "You might have a bad stick of memory which is common, and might have not caused any problems during the "burn in" process that manufactures go through."

    *About this, I don't care about their burn-in process. The other laptops also have their own burn-in process but I never got BSOD when I played games with my VAIO nor heavy programs with MacBook for example. ### you, ### all of you Alienware teams. Congratz for scamming me. I hope during this economy recession your sales will be going down really hard and all of you can go back to Spain, begging for cents. My income is much bigger than this ### laptop, I bought it just because I thought it was cool. But look what I get. This ### is not even worth $1.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terrible Alienware Dec 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The solutions which are not working:

    1. I talked to Alienware support and they told me to install Vista RealTek Driver and also nVidia GeForce 9800M GT driver for Vista from Alienware.com. I followed every single instruction from them but I still got blue screen crash when I play heavy games.
    2. The another Alienware support told me to reinstall the Vista using another DVD. He suspected the recovery disk has some missing files. I have another Vista DVD, I installed it, and it’s not working either (still got those BSODs)
    3. They told me to run one memory stick at a time. I followed all the instructions provided by Alienware:
    http://4help.alienware.com/cgi-bin/alienware.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=5664

    Does it work? No. I have switched the memory placement, tried to run one memory stick at a time, all the possible solutions. But still, my laptop gave me blue screen crash.
    4. I installed another Windows DVD, this time 64-bit (not 32-bit). Tried to play GTA IV again, it also gave me another blue screen crash after 1 hour playing it.
    5. I also replaced both memory sticks with another product. It was Kingston DDR2, same model, but the difference is, it was just 1 GB. Although this memory works in my other laptop (VAIO), but when I ran SP 2004, (again) it found an error.





    What I think might be the problem:


    Motherboard. I ran windows memory diagnostic tool and I found no problem. However, when I ran SP2004:
    http://aliendl.alienware.com/benchutil/cpu_system/SP2004_030.zip

    It always gave me error message only 1 minute after I ran the program (stress some RAM, Large In-place FFTs.) I also have tried to run this program with one memory stick at a time, still gave me the error message. Usually after I got the error message from this program, few minutes later I got another BSOD. Look at page 1, I have tested another RAM (Kingston) to replace both of your memory sticks (Elpida). But it was not working. I still got the error message from SP 2004.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shubah Dec 30, 2008

    well i suggest the american government just ban them for their terrible products and customer service.
    It sure make America look more worser than it is now.

    0 Votes
  • Op
    opsman Dec 30, 2008

    Alienware is a brand that me and my friends tend to avoid.
    This brand sucks big time especially in our country of Taiwan.
    It is so hard to reach them for complaint and this makes their international appeal so wrong and bogus.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    arun1 Jan 06, 2009

    i agree about Alienware and have the same problems as above ...I bought a laptop a fortnight back... am having many problems, there are a few scratches and the system is not up to the mark. I am not happy with the laptop its horrible..will not recommend it to any one else

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    arun1 Jan 09, 2009

    I had called the customer care..the people there don't respond.. I feel i have wasted my money...Am fed up...would be better if i purchased some other laptop...I hate Alienware.

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    sweety Jan 09, 2009

    My husband .ordered a laptop...It was delivered very late and the people there don't agree to their late delivery. The laptop is sheer wastage of his money as it has many faults..basically it is faulty.I did not like there attitude and customer service..Do Not buy Alienware.It is wastage of money.

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    sweety Jan 11, 2009

    Alienware is a waste of money.Everone should avoid purchasing it.
    The customer care does not respond to calls.
    The laptop we ordered have not been delivered, no one responds to the complains.
    Beware of Alienware and its products

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    ninja boy Jan 13, 2009

    Thanks a bunch man. You saved me 4, ooo dollars. Also my cousins work for alien ware and when he gat the sam exact laptop for a cheap price. The whole laptop fell apart into @#$%^#$$#$* pieces and caught on fire. Also don't blame alien ware it's dell thats the problem. They own alienware and dell uses cheap ### for every product.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Happy Apr 16, 2009

    Have bought Alienare desktop here in US. Was best system I ever owned. It ruled for games. What I do with gaming machines is that I take it stock and just install one game at a time without installing anything else, including office etc. I use another puter for that. After my Alienware finally got old, I bought a Dell for my gaming. Again, SWEEET. All I installed additional on that was Office. I ordered another Dell recently (since everyone says Dell sucks and owns AW) and there was a boot up problem with the new Dell. Rep got me all set for a complete replacement rather than a repair. So as far as being a stateside customer, AW and Dell have never let me down.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mixedgood Sep 25, 2009

    Dell/Alienware gave me an M17x when my 2.5 year old M1710 had a repeated graphics card failure. That's GREAT customer service. And it works beautifully. I broke a screen on that 1710 and had the replacement in the morning mail. Free of course. I've had lots of Dells and their service is the best IMHO. Just thought you should here the other side of that argument,

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thel Jun 26, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @ origenal poster- that is very intresting since i have the same laptop, guess what you CAN BUILD that model with specs for gaming. infact even the non build your own model has a setting on the order form to make it gaming or non gaming [non gaming wont play games unless you order a new part to add the feature]. sounds like you were given a counterfit mx15 laptop. i have had a few bsod but there was a logical answer. there was a virus in my system that bsoded it. i have had this laptop for 6 years now and every time i asked for help via live chat, phone or email they were nothing but kind. again my laptop is a mx15 and it works as advertised by them cause it was speced to the needs of my use. it even came pre installed with world of warcraft wraith of the litch king. which ment i didnt have to reinstall it, just log in and pick up where i left off.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thel Jun 26, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @original poster - That sounds like you bought a counterfeit mx15, I have one [though mine was specked to what I wanted. The main hardware is the same though] for 6 years now. Nothing has gone wrong with it. Only time something like a bsod happens the answer is simpler than claiming foul on the company. In fact it was always a virus that causes bsod as part of its programming via the video card. Mine came pre installed with world of Warcraft wraith of the Litch king, which was a option for custom build and regular mx15 laptops. Any time I spoke to customer support via email, phone, or live chat I have had nothing but perfectly nice and accommodating assistance from them. They even once offered to send a tech out to replace my motherboard [refused it cause it was the power adapter not the motherboard and explained the checks i did to prove it was the adapter] for free and not charge me for the part 1 hour after I hung up. The cord arrived a week later cause it was from the warehouse, but still didn't have to pay a cent for it. Tothis day Istill strongly support Alienware and Dell. In fact we use dell for alot of our computer needs and they have been EXCEPTIONALY helpful in supporting our demanding needs [we don't demand from them just the work we do is important].

    0 Votes

Resolved worthless product and warranty

In the fall of 2005 I spent $4200 for a cutting edge Alienware Laptop. Big mistake!!! Over 24 hours aggregate hours on the phone w/ tech support, a computer that has been out of service or in for repair for 1 of its 3 yrs of life, 2 new motherboards and a current problem that requires them to send me a USB Floppy Drive to reload windows (because the floppy drive I bought at my own expense (after the one they said they would send hadnt arrived after 7 days) they claim is the wrong "type"...tech guys at two local computer stores think this is a pile of bulls__t )because their miraculous re-spawn disc wont work! God, I could go on and on...if you want more you are free to email me...just dont buy alienware products! You have been warned!

Resolved online scam

My son, an 18 year old 2008 high school honor graduate, has always wanted an Alienware computer since one of his friends got one. He spent ALL of his graduation money by paying us so he could use our credit card, though we were very hesitant for him to pay so much for a computer... 'extreme performance' or not. He ordered it at the end of July before we went to North Carolina for a week.

We got back home late the night of August 6, and the computer was delivered on August 7. The lightup keyboard worked for a few minutes, then flashed on and off for a few days. He called technical support several times, then had to visit friends with wireless connections to take the advice of technical support several other times.

To make a long story short, on August 13 or 14 Alienware told him to send the keyboard back and it would cost $300 to fix it. (Now, keep in mind these people were paid $5, 751.35 via OUR CREDIT CARD and he only had the 'faulty' keyboard and computer for ONE WEEK.) I was extremely dissatisfied about that, but I let my husband and son handle it. My husband ended up calling Discover, told them the story, canceled payment and found out that only around $4, 900 would be refunded on the credit card for returning the whole computer. Naturally, I was furious when I found that AFTER ONE WEEK of the keyboard NOT ever doing what it was supposed to do that HE would have to take the loss for it!

The next thing I know, we're waiting around until August 22 for them to send us a return authorization #. These people had our email addresses, but said they would call our home phone to give it to us. So, I had to call, wait, fuss, etc. to get it. We mailed the computer back on August 22 via United States Post Office and paid $70 for 2 day, certified mail delivery with insurance on it.

Besides the obvious... Alienware not standing by their product for ONE WEEK!!!..., I have several other potential problems that could end up helping us. Brent used our credit card #, yet they recorded it as 'Sell To and Bill To: Brent A. Walker'... the name on the credit card, Joseph Walker, should have been the billed name, in my opinion.

I understand that our son agreed to the 15% restocking fee and could possibly understand that exorbitant amount after a few MONTHS of use, or preferably YEARS of use... at that price! However, whatever happened to the 'lemon law'?! What has happened in the state of Florida, in the great United States of America, when a business doesn't have to stand by their product for ONE WEEK?!?!?! Personally, we will NEVER buy ANYTHING on line again!

Shame on Alienware for taking an honor graduate's graduation money and teaching him his first lesson in dishonest businesses, crooks and thieves!!! I think the ENTIRE AMOUNT should be refunded... any honest business WOULD realize that.

  • As
    Asym Sep 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Isn't it a shame that a great company like Dell, owns Alienware; has to be a major embarrassment.

    I ordered a system on Monday 09.08.08 with the assumption that it would be sent to me as per their advertising. I was wrong.
    The deal was if you ordered a m15x they would send it to you within 48 hours with no shipping charge; a back to school special.
    On Friday 09.12.08 I called to check on the status of the order only to find out that they hadn't even shipped it yet, and it was labeled as "still in production". I cancelled the order and politely requested a refund. They agreed.

    Now its Friday 09.19.08 and my credit card has still not been refunded, and no one at Alienware has any explanation. I spoke with a supervisor (who sounded like he was eating potato chips at the time), that the refund should be credited on Monday 09.22.08. I'm not holding my breath.

    So I called my bank and they placed the balance in "dispute".

    Shame on you Alienware.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anonymoose Jun 08, 2009

    alienware was the best company around BEFORE they got bought out by ### ### Dell.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    THISSPARTA Mar 14, 2013

    i have m15x doesnt have Ati AMD READEON HD 7970M. IHAVE MOBILITY RADEON HD 5850 DOESNT WORK WITH CRYSIS 3
    DELL WONT GIVE REFUND BACK. I HATE DELL
    LISTEN EVERYONE THE BEST WAY IS CYBERPOWERPC NEW MODEL IS CALLED FANGBOOK X7 100, 200, AND 300
    ONE MORE THING DO NOT BUY DELL OR ALIENWARE IS A SCAM.

    0 Votes

ripoff

This computer was the worst purchase I have ever made, I wanted an Alienware laptop for several years after seeing them on display when Best Buy used to sale them. I started DJing my sophomore year of college and needed a computer that was powerful enough to run the software that my mixer uses. I took out a 3000 dollar loan to by what I thought would be a very nice laptop. I read reviews about alienware which were mostly negative and but figured like anything else, the people that have bad experiences are the ones that write reviews so I chose to ignore the reviews. I ordered my Mj12 7700i loaded with a 3.2 gig Pentium 4 processor with HT technology, 3 gig of RAM, and dual 80 gig processors in raid 0 format. (at the time this was very impressive) the computer ran great for about 8 months. When I hooked any type of audio device up to my laptop I heard a lot of background noise. Alienware said I could send it back to them and they could fix it, but I decided to just clean it up by adjusting my mixer. After the first 8 months I started having problems with my laptop cutting off after about 5 minutes. I worked with Aleinware trying to reinstall different things and get it working. It was eventually determined that I needed to send the computer back to alienware and pay 500 dollars to have it fixed. After receiving it back 2 months later I tried to use the Laptop and it did not work, I was told the motherboard had to be replaced. To make a long story short after sending the computer back and forth with alienware 4 more times I finally complained to the BBB and was contacted and told I could send the laptop to their VIP repairs at my own expense since I originally sent the laptop to them over a month ago, after pointing out that I have also sent it back 4 other times I was told I could send it to them and they would repair it for free. I sent the computer to them and got it back. It worked great! For 1 month, then the same thing happened. I opened the computer up and got a first hand look at their repairs, the original motherboard was still in there and wires had been taped to the motherboard with Electrical tape. So I now have a 3500 dollar paperweight, that is out of date and I got a total of 8 months of use out of. I would never recommend anyone buy a computer from this company, you will be better off buying a 300 dollar e-machine computer from Walmart.

  • Ma
    Matt Aug 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Let me start off by saying this is more help then a review/complaint

    I own 2 of these and the early ones were prone to problems, and i do agree that alienware support is substandard. however now that you own it lets look at it this way:

    Its very easy to fix these your self, (the right way...) make sure to take your time and remove every screw, as you will break the plastics if you don't.

    the v5.2 mobo is notorious for burning the vrms (for no reason)
    v5.3 (i cant think of any problems with this mobo other then it lacks support for the 7800 and 7950)
    v6.1 - you want either this or 6.2/6.2n they have all the defects worked out of them and support the geforce 7950 video card (6.1 and up require the 11a power brick, the 9a will not work, you will end up burning/wasting a $50 power brick it if you try)
    v6.2 - same as the other but it seems the higher the revision the less problems so i would go for v6.2n

    the rev number is clearly marked on the lower sodimm banks on a white sticker.

    Trouble shooting:

    When you plug the laptop into the wall is the led on the power brick on? (if not you have a bad video card, and it burned your power brick too)
    when you turn it on do you only get a black screen, leds and fans? (most likely a mobo problem, ive fixed a few of these boards before, but they never seem to work 100% after that)

    Parts sources:
    www.rjtech.com - has d900t and d900k mobos and video cards
    www.ebay.com - has mobos and video cards (avoid buying from z*tronics at all costs, he will send you a dead mobo, happened to me and had to take paypal action against him after he never replyed to my emails)

    You can ask us on the support area of http://www.notebookforums.com/ or on www.thenextbench.com (I'm more active on thenextbench) if you ask there i will definitely help you troubleshoot it and get it up and running (should you wish).

    0 Votes