The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Alabama Toys And Teacupsneglectful dog breeer

S

I purchased a Chihuahua puppy from Alabama Toys and Teacups this Fall. Took it for a well puppy checkup to a local Vet who failed to do a thorough checkup and missed her illness within 24 hours of purchase. Less than 1 week after I purchased the puppy, it became very sick and refused to eat. . Then took her to my regular Vet and discovered that the puppy had a severe coccidia infestation. She was in the Vet hospital for over 1 week, had lost 1/2 of her blood volume, was severely anemic and had to have a blood transfusion. They did not believe she would live, but she did with their help. My registration papers also never came. Breeder had to be called for them. Papers arrived for another breeder from a different city than breeder I purchased puppy from - papers were signed not by breeder listed, but from breeder from whom I purchased. Birth dates do not match on CKC papers and the puppy packet I was given. Beginning to think something very "funny" is going on. I don't think I would buy a pet rock from this breeder.

Responses

  • Li
    lisalynns Sep 08, 2018

    We purchased a teacup poodle from this breeder over 10 years ago and paid $600 for him (we named him Nash). At 7 months old we began noticing that he was having problems standing up. My son-in-law is a vet and after many extensive tests, he found that Nash had a degenerative spine issue that was inoperable and untreatable.

    At 8 months old we had to have him put to sleep...it was SO SAD! Nash had become a very close member of our family and we still miss him to this day!

    We tried many different ways to contact the breeder, but she avoided all phone calls and correspondence. We finally contacted the local Police Dept in Arab, AL and they went to see her, only to learn that she had moved with no forwarding address. We never did receive our refund OR another puppy...

    1 Votes
  • Al
    altoysandteacups Sep 12, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @lisalynns I am so sorry to hear about your puppy. All our puppies come with a one year genetic health warranty and we work close with all our new puppy families. Are you sure you have the correct breeder because we are in the same location and have had no email or contact with anyone having a sick puppy. Our contact info (phone/email/place of business address) [protected] address: 621 north Brindlee mountain parkway listed on our website and Google maps and has not changed. We have been at this located for over 10years and had the same email and phone number for over 10years. Feel free to contact me today [protected]. We look forward to talking with you. Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • Kh
    khsmiley May 15, 2018

    I purchased my Pom from Merry Melton in the fall of 2017. My pup has been healthy, happy, and beautiful. He's [censored] crazy and is a few pounds over the estimated weight, but I realize that when purchasing a living, breathing animal that you cannot give an exact weight or guarantee their personality/demeanor. There are many factors that cannot be accounted for. Any reasonably intelligent person should understand that. Anyway, I had a great experience with Alabama Toys & Teacups and wouldn't trade my Pickles for anything. You're purchasing a living thing, not a couch that has exact dimensions and weight. If you don't understand that, then maybe dog ownership isn't for you.

    -1 Votes
  • Ph
    Philbs Jul 13, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @khsmiley I think any reasonably intelligent person has the right to be upset when the dog they purchased is twice the weight they were told to expect.

    1 Votes
  • Ph
    Philbs Jul 04, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a shih tzu in May of 2017. The listing stated that the parents were 4 and 6 lbs. I wanted a 5 lb or smaller dog. My dog is 16 wks and 4.9 lbs. charting in the 10 lb range. I paid a lot of money to be misled. Shame on me for not investigating this broker further, and shame on her for misrepresenting her business and puppies.

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    Abi Carter Dec 22, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased my baby back in 2012 from al toys & teacups. he weighs about 5 pounds full grown and he is by far the best dog I could ever ask for. I love him to pieces and like I said, he is my baby. everyone who meets him loves him and wants a dog just like him. he is a "teacup" chihuahua (weighs 5 pounds so I am not 100% sure about him being a teacup but I also dont care!) and he is perfect!!! I was actually looking at the male chihuahuas that are currently available and fell in love with one, farley

    0 Votes
  • Au
    AuburnGirl2016 Jun 28, 2016

    I paid $600 in may for a toy morkie. merry stated he would stay between 5-7 lbs. he is 4 1/2 months old and already weighs 10 lbs. he is adorable and we love him very much! the name "toys and teacups" is misleading because from all the reviews i've read and with my own experience, none of their dogs are actually toys or teacups as they all average from 10-15 lbs when they're grown!! if you want a teacup or small dog, do not purchase from alabama toys and teacups!

    0 Votes
  • Au
    autigers4me May 03, 2016

    I purchased a chihuahua puppy from Alabama Toys and Teacups and upon taking it to the Vet, I was told that he was developmentally challenged. His teeth were not developing and he had only one ball and several other things of interest. I also had asked about paying the large sum for him and not getting any registration papers. After asking several times, I was sent the CKC numbers of his presumed parents. He is 26 weeks old now and still has not developed teeth. I was told by my Vet that it was bad breeding. He actually does not look like a chihuahua at all, and not sure he is, but I do love him although he is not what I had anticipated getting. I did tell Merry that my Vet told me that the breeding was not good and that maybe she should not purchase from that breeder again, but she said she had never had trouble with the breeder before. Would not purchase from again.

    3 Votes
  • Mh
    MHorn1 Feb 21, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Experienced similar situation, specifically wanted a teacup, found a Morkie, expected weight 5 lbs. After 3 years the dog is 18 lbs & aggressive but my husband is very attached to her. Sad Merry Melton is in this business taking people's hard earned money who want fur babies.

    2 Votes
  • Op
    OpttoAdopt Jan 18, 2016

    I work for an animal rescue organization. we just received a desperate plea from someone who purchased their toy dog from alabama's toys and teacups. the dog is vicious and has bitten 7 people, fights with other dogs viciously (locks on and won't let go). the customer who purchased the dog from alabama's toys and teacups said, "if you don't take the dog, we're going to euthanize her." shame on everyone involved here. alabama's toys and teacups is no more than a puppy mill wrapped in a pink bow profiting on poorly bred animals. shame on this person who "bought" her dog without doing her research and simply wanted to buy a dog! and, now that the dog has problems — because it is a puppy mill dog with poor breeding — she is asking a nonprofit rescue to take it in or she will kill it. sadly, this dog will be killed. it's two years old. and, the dog is not to blame. it is alabama's toys and teacups — a puppy mill poorly breeding animals in the name of profit and this customer who purchased her dog from a puppy mill! shame on all of you!

    -2 Votes
  • Da
    Dana Williams Jun 16, 2014

    I bought a chihuahua from alabama toys and teacups in feb 2014. I was told she was a chihuahua and would weigh between 3'pounds and 5 pounds. she is now 6months old and weighs over 10 pounds. she has a chihuahua head but is long like a weenie dog. I am wondering if she is really a chiweenie dog. I love my little dog anyway but they should step up and tell the truth about what they are really selling. I won't buy from them again. you will not know what you are really getting.

    Dana williams

    2 Votes
  • Kt
    KT NYC Jan 28, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello

    I purchased a chorkie puppy from alabama toys & teacups in june 2013. I live in nyc so I could not actually see sully in person before I purchased him but I was in love with his little face in the picture and I was informed that he would be 4 pounds maximum as an adult-so, my credit card was given and $700 later sully was on his flight from alabama to ny. he did wonderful on his flight and I took him to the vet the very next day. at 9 weeks old sully already weighed 2 pounds 11 ounces and obviously still had a lot of growing to do. I began to realize that this "t-tiny 4 pound maximum weight" was quite a stretch from what would actually be. sully is now 9 months old and weighs 12 pounds. I will say that he is very healthy and lean but he is unusually tall and long. he is not a "teacup" at all, he is just like a regular sized yorkie. even 5-7 pounds would have been fine with me because that's where most toy breeds fall but the fact that I paid $700 for him to be a certain weight and he is clearly not really bothers me. the fact that I signed the paper saying they could not guarantee size is my own fault and so i'm writing this to make others aware... if you cannot see this puppy and weigh it for yourself, do not purchase. carrying a 15 pound dog around the city and on the subways is not ideal, which is why I purchased a "4 pound" dog. I would never give my sully up because he is my baby no matter what, but buyer beware. the t-tiny that they advertise is not tiny at all.

    Kelley

    2 Votes
  • Mo
    MooseMama Jan 20, 2014

    I purchased a dog from alabama toys and teacups last summer. I paid $700 for what I thought was a yorkie. now, I did not do enough research to know what a puppy should weigh at what age so this is primarily on me. I picked up the dog when he was 12 weeks old and he weighed 2.4 pounds. I took him to the vet the morning after I picked him up and the vet laughed in my face when I told him what I had been his adult weight would be. the website stated that he was projected to be between 5.5 and 6.5 pounds. the vet told me the dog would be at least 12 pounds. he also started the puppy on medication immediately because his stool was too thin. I considered returning the dog but I was already in love with him. I had to call twice 4 months after I purchased him to finally get his registration papers. and when they arrived I noticed that the names on the paperwork were not that of the lady that sold me the dog, though I was made to believe that she bred the dogs herself. my dog is nearly 2 now and he is 16 pounds!!! yes, 16. not a typo!! he is a lot bigger than a standard yorkie, let alone a teacup!! his legs are just as long as my bulldog's legs. and he certainly doesn't look anything like a yorkie, he has curly fur and long ears that hang down. he looks more like a malty poo than a yorkie. I never contact alabama toys and teacups since I knew I had no leg to stand on since I did sign a contract. I love the little guy and wouldn't trade him for anything but I certainly feel like I didn't get what I paid for.

    4 Votes
  • Jd
    jdanielsaltoysandteacups Oct 21, 2013

    Ms. scott,

    Your call months ago was informing us that your puppy was having allergic reactions causing skin irritation, and you were inquiring about which shampoo we recommended/sold. according to the information afforded by your call today, you were requesting a replacement puppy. it was explained to you that alabama toys and teacups would be happy to work with you, and you were informed that you needed to forward us the paper work from your vet as well as bring us the dog to have it examined by our vet. (stated in signed contract explained and read through upon purchase and or pickup with every puppy.) we asked this because you informed us that you had taken the dog to three different vet clinics, all which did not agree with the most recent diagnosis which came after you donated your puppy to a shelter that kindly sought to treat this puppy and place it in a qualified home. we received a second phone call from you shortly thereafter demanding a refund. you explained that you would be taking us to court if we did not comply. as our contract states we do not offer refunds. after this was explained, you hung up. we were and still are willing to work with you. we treat all customers the same and stand behind our contract and 1 year health guarantee. we can not however replace any puppy for any customer based off of word of mouth or hearsay. we pride ourselves in the care of all of our puppies past and present. you are welcome to contact us further and we will happily go over with you what steps you need to take to receive a replacement puppy.

    Thank you for your time,

    josh
    toys and teacups relationship manager
    www.alabamatoysandteacups.com

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Rachel Scott-moore Oct 21, 2013

    I bought a shih tzu last year from alabama toys and tea cups. I saw his picture and fell in love. i've wanted one of these dogs for a long time. well I brought him home we went to the vet started shots. he had a few bumps on his skin the doctor looked and thought he had scabies since he was so young he didn't think he had allergies. he was treated but instead of getting better he kept getting worse. so 900 dollars and a bunch of tears we went to another vet. gizmo was around six months by this time. this vet thought he had a skin condition so another round of meds and an unhappy baby. well at this point I called merry and she told me that shih tzu's are prone to skin problems. or that I must have done something. lol. well gizmo still wasn't any better. so we try one more vet he is a year old he's been shaved and bathed every single day. I was ready to put him down he was so miserable. this vet put him in a collar and more bath treatments and food. well he wasn't chewing his skin off but he still wasn't better. I called a rescue group at this point. linda called me back said that she was willing to try to help my baby. she has had shih tzu's for thirty years. the day I took gizmo to her was both a relief and heart break for me. I had fallen so in love with the sweetest and sickest baby. I felt my heart break!!! this was my baby I felt like I had betrayed him and left him. I stayed in touch with linda a lot. I have pictures of gizzy. well she finally took him to a vet who was old school and knew right off what was wrong with him. it was an inherited form of the mange!! I called merry back today and told her and she said she wouldn't give me a healthy puppy to replace him or my money back. that I signed a contract. since gizmo wasn't mine anymore or I did t take him to her vet she wouldn't make this right!!! I told her I was a single parent and. odnt give gizmo the care he deserved. she said if I couldn't afford a dog I shouldn't get one very smug this ms. merry!!! I can afford a dog I just couldn't afford the 1500.00 plus. et bills that were piling up. he was very much taken care of he was neutered and had all of his shots. I didn't care if he was bald forever or 5 pounds or 15 pounds I love him. I would not recommend her for anyone because it's just the luck of the draw which puppies are healthy or not. rachel scott. oh by the way I can prove everything i've just posted.

    2 Votes
  • So
    Sonya Stewart Jul 07, 2013

    This passed christmas I wanted another yorkie my yorkie passed away at the age 16 years. I went to alabama toys and teacups akc I payed $900.00 for this pup. he is now 8mo old, very big, weird, wired short hair, very long legs and an ugly dog. I am not one to say anything bad about dogs. I love yorkies I have never in my life seen this poor quality. do not buy from them. if you do, you will not be happy!

    2 Votes
  • Al
    altoysandteacups Oct 06, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Complaints board allows anyone to post free, un-moderated and uncorroborated complaints known as 'complaints or reports' which contain details of the user's experience with the company or individual listed in the report. the site requires users to create an account which includes an unconfirmed email address before reports can be submitted. according to the site's terms of service, users are required to affirm that their reports are truthful and accurate, but the site admits that it neither investigates, confirms or corroborates the accuracy of submissions. complaints boards has more than 1 million pages indexed on google.

    Companies who have been named in a report may choose to respond by submitting a 'rebuttal' (like posted above) which explains their side of the story. like reports, rebuttals may be posted for free by anyone with a user account. posting a rebuttal results in the complaint achieving a higher position in google search results. the reports are configured to display the complaint in the search result summary, and not the rebuttal. according to the website, complaints board and scam report may limit the number of rebuttals filed per-report and may decline to publish, or censor, rebuttals in certain cases.

    They will also ask you to pay $500.00- $10, 000.00 in most cases to have the reports/claims removed off their search results/website.

    1 Votes
  • Al
    altoysandteacups Oct 03, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They do not offer or breed german spitz puppies - I have bought an akc and ckc pom from them and I love my dogs very much. they are healthy and have great personalities. - linda

    I purchased two puppies from merry and she was fantastic. the communication was great and she was very personable. both puppies were healthy and merry had a great send-off puppy package too! I rate her an a+ laurie rutland

    I want to let anyone who is interested in a t-cup maltese that I purchased tessa in february 2008 from toys & teacups. she is the most conscientious breeder I have every done business with. tessa has such a great personality. she was so loveable and well adjusted when I received her. the first vet visit went without a hitch, she was and still is very healthy. my mom just puppysat for me and said possession is 9/10's of the law and didn't want to give her back so now I am looking for one for her. they absolutely will not ship until her puppies meet her health standards. for this you should be greatful even if the wait is unbearable. - jeanne

    I just got my two yorkie babies last week and love them to pieces. there names are now kira and ciara. if you are looking for a puppy, look no further. I would recommend alabama toys & teacups to anyone that is looking. the puppies are just as described. they are doing great. they go on their pee pee pad every time no accidents. the flight from alabama to ny they did great. if any one needs a reference you have my permission to give them my email address. I am now even looking to get two more puppies from alabama toys & teacups that is how terrific I think she was through the whole process. thanks again! we will be talking real soon. stacey, ciara and kira (the girls thank you too)

    Above is examples of happy customers.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    Pomfan Sep 02, 2012

    I purchased a pom for them that was only supposed to be 3-4 pounds... he isn't even a year old and he is almost 20 lbs! not to mention that we had him tested and he is a klein german spitz not and pom as I was told! do not purchase dogs from these people!

    0 Votes
  • Al
    altoysandteacups Jan 05, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Greetings,

    I am the Relationship Manager with Alabama Toys and Teacups. It has come to our attention that the complainant is claiming that they have were sold a sick/ill puppy and that Alabama Toys and Teacups are neglectful breeders. The overall complaint is lacking in truth as well as evidence, but to those who believe what 'SHDM' is stating, please understand that this complaint is far from the truth.

    Alabama Toys and Teacups give a one year genetic warranty with their puppies and also ask the new owners to take their puppy to a licensed veterinarian in the first 48hrs for a puppy wellness check and they will then call or fax back results. Alabama Toys and Teacups work with their new puppy parents for a smooth tranisition over into their new forever loving homes through visits, phone calls, and emails.

    Alabama Toys and Teacups did not recieve any information or contact from 'SHDM' or anyone stating that their chihuahua was sick or in the vet. We have now tried communicating with 'SHDM' but with no luck.

    Alabama Toys and Teacups want only the very best for our puppies. We use only the best vets, vaccinations and worming. All puppies come up to dates on shots and worm medications.


    Thank you for your time,

    Josh
    Toys and Teacups Relationship Manager
    www.alabamatoysandteacups.com

    -5 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.