The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Acai AdvancedUnauthorized charges

Beware of acai advanced. You will be doubled teamed!!! I ordered the free trail of the acai advanced c/o glf. The only thing they said you would be charged for is $5.95 shipping. They made me sick so I called and cancelled it within the trail period. They told me to send back the bottle and there would be no further charges and they gave me confirmation #. I asked again… is there anything else I need to do, would there be any more charges to my card and they said no. A week later I have a charge for $24.95… beside the charge it said, ” purchase vit*live lean aa 1”. I had no idea who that was so I called my bank and they gave me a phone number that was associated with the charge [protected]). I called the number and they said the charge was for the living lean weight loss management plan that I signed up with. I told them that I did not sign up for any weight loss plan and they told me that I did when I ordered the trail order of acai advanced. They said when you place that order you automatically sign up with them. I disagreed and asked her to show me ‘on the site’ where it states that I am doing that. Right above where you sign up for the trail there is a bubble that states: … plus free gift pass to liveleanforlife weight loss management plan… then she tells me to go way down to the bottom of the page where the site menu is and click on ‘terms and conditions’. I then told her no matter what, I did call and cancel and made sure before we hung up that there would be no further charges. She told me that they were a separate company and had nothing to do with them. I needed to call a different number to cancel with them. What a rip off!

Responses

  • Em
    emilie capehart May 20, 2010

    im still trying to cancel this dang product does anyone know how or should i just go ahead and cancel my credit card #? please if you know anything about how to get rid of this problem thats costing me 89.00 a month email me at [email protected]! thanks

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    MrsBrowning Mar 10, 2010

    I took the advanced acai and paid the shipping. I sent the trial back and so far have not been charged anything further YET. I sent the trial back because it did nothing for me!! All they did was make me hungrier!! Everytime I took one my stomach would start growling in a matter of minutes like I haven't eaten in days!! Even when I ate it never seemed like enough.. This product was a complete waste of time and I'm upset that I put that garbage into my system..

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    haeuri Mar 03, 2010

    i just ordered the free trial with s/h about a week ago and it just came in the mail.
    i wish i read about this earlier!
    no credit card bills yet... but i'm scared that they'll put charges on my card!
    is [protected] the number to cancel the membership for this product?
    i didn't try the pills yet so should i just return it for the RAM number or whatever?


    do they charge you even after you cancel the stupid membership?

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    MSJUICYB21 Feb 28, 2010

    well i just recieved me and shipping it back cuz i just read u all messages and was like its a scam too many people r talking about even youtube. something said google it and i did so i hope dey dont do that charges bull ### bt the only thing i heard you can do is to cancel your account or credit card.

    0 Votes
  • Ac
    Acai Advanced Sucks Balls Feb 26, 2010

    What's the addres where I can return the "free" trial? Someone post the address, I just called them and they say they would send me a return number so I can return this product!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    SCAMACAI Jan 26, 2010

    I ordered Acai Advance for the trial period for $1.99. I was supposed to receive the shipment in a week. After two weeks passed, I call them and told them I didn't receive my shipment. They said I should receive it soon and would extend my trial period til December 30th. I had til the end of December 30th to call and cancel. When I called that day, I couldn't get through to the number. I continued to call on the 31st, January 1st, January 2 and January 4th, and finally got through on January 5th. I cancelled both the Acai and the Live Lean, which came hand in hand with the Acai, some website to help you lose weight. The person told me they would cancel everything, never told me to call another number for Live Lean. I get my charge card this monthy and there are two charges of $59.95 and $24.95. When I call them, they said I called passed the date. When I continued with them on the phone, they said that I was supposed to send the bottle back. They asked me if I read the fine print. I told them I didn't, that the person I spoke to didn't mention anything about returning the bottle. They are saying I have to pay the $59.95 whether it worked or not. I can't believe I fell for this scam! I am reporting this to my credit card company. They gave me these two companies 888 numbers and they are both fast busy signals. This company is a total SCAM!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Christopher Romine Dec 30, 2009

    I ordered a product from Acai Advanced for 99 cents shipping with an 18 day option to cancel before being bill full price for this order and sent another bottle of the product. I received an email from the company that the product had been shipped UPS 3 days after my order, but when I had not received the order 9 days later and called to cancel because of nonshippment, I was unable to get an answer from any of the 3 phone numbers I had for this company, and unable to cancel on the website they had sent me. I had to end up cancelling my debit card with my bank so I would not lose any money with this company which is obviously a fraud. Their fraud practices were further confirmed when I located other similar customer complaints on the net.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mathieu111 Dec 28, 2009

    go and report this to your federal government :P

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mathieu111 Dec 28, 2009

    I want to complain about all those lazy free gamers that want to have everything free in life without even giving themself the trouble to read a few lines. If it was only that, i sure wouldnt complain here about it, but nooooooooooooo you bunch are not only lazy (for not reading) and cheap (for going after any free crap u can get), but you are also mean, all you people do is scream at the poor phone customer service employee that dont even work for the company that got you good, all day long. So in retrospective, you are LAZY, CHEAP and MEAN. Take that far up your ###, ###ers.

    0 Votes
  • El
    EleanorJupiter Dec 28, 2009

    December 28, 2009

    This company needs reported to the federal government for stealing money from people, they have been charging me for something I did not sign up for at $24.95 per month.

    Here is the address of the company:
    'Acai Advance' P.O. Box 17855 Portland, ME 04112

    Here is the phone number listed on my bank transaction:
    [protected]

    ALIAS "Live Lean" and "CERTIFIEDACA"

    I called the above phone number and they said they would stop charging me every month but could not refund me for all the months they charged me. I was instructed to write the company and ask for a refund for something I did not even order.

    I do remember ordering a trial and the pills make me sick the first day and I called them on that first day and cancelled, they said okay it had been cancelled, that was back in May.

    I am reporting this to my fraud protection company.

    Surely, the federal government is onto this scheme? - they need stopped.

    I will also report it to the federal government.

    WARNING TO ALL - DO NOT SIGN UP FOR ANY TRIALS FOR "ACAI ADVANCE", the pills made me sick, they lie to you and even after you call and cancel and will continue to charge you monthly $24.95 for nothing, no services and no product.

    0 Votes
  • Cc
    CCarson Oct 27, 2009

    I just recently had this happen to me by a company called Natural Scape LLC for product I was billed $59.41 on my bank account. When you call to complain and demand a refund they give a story about Terms and Conditions of the agreement. I only did the trial offer and nothing more. This is nothing more than scam. What I don't understand is how they continue to operate when the BBB knows about them as well at they Attorney General's office. I don't get it.

    carsoncity28227

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kathy Arp Oct 27, 2009

    I ordered a sample of the Vcia Advanced, shipping and handling charges only $9.95.

    when I returned the unused portion of the product. I was charged $74.90 on my card, plus $24.94 for shipping and handleing.
    They shipped the bottle back to me charging an additional shipping and handeling charge of $24.94.
    I disputed this on my charge card and shipped the bottle back to them. They sent me another bottle for another $74.90 + $24.94 Shipping and handling
    When I called Acai Advanced, I spoke to a lady who was very rude and told me there really was nothing I could do about the charges, or the merchandise.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MaryY Oct 26, 2009

    The 4/15/2009 posting by Carol could have been written by me! I started seeing charges on my credit card bill after I had cancelled my order and was told the "free trial" was a 15-day supply (equaling 30 pills). What I actually RECEIVED was 60 pills, thus the additional charge of $64.95. When I challenged that AND the additional $24.95 charge for VIT*Live Lean, that's when I realized what a scam they had going. Don't even try to access their website - it's no longer in service!

    My credit card company was wonderful - I've received case numbers and assurance that the amounts will be credited to my account. I will be receiving paperwork from them that I will gladly fill out & return if it will help to stop these scams in the future. Fortunately, I kept copies of all email correspondence, right from the first "Thank you for your order" to the confirmation that "No further shipments or charges will be made".

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pamela22 Oct 21, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    this is a rip off, I intend to report them to the better business bureau. i ordered the product, and was told that all I had to pay is for shipping and handling. they charged my card the following month with a charge of 24.95 and 64.00 for the product which came to 88.95. i called and asked for and credit to my card and was told that I had agreed to the terms and condition. i had 20 days to cancel the order and this was the 20th day. i should have called on the 19 day. I could not get a refund. Fraud

    0 Votes
  • Sn
    snanpope Oct 16, 2009

    same here, but i was charged with $75. tried to get a person on the line to talk with about receiving a credit after sending back an unopened bottle & got no where. its wrong & definitely bad business. customer service rep tried to explain it was all in the fine print. blah blah blah. it comes down to being contemptible, cheap & paltry. i will exploit this info about this product & company online to know end.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mistique Oct 13, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Buyers are only scamming themselves. You can't blame the company just because you are too stupid to read the terms and conditions set forth by the company. Don't blame the company for your own ignorance.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    mongoxxx Oct 11, 2009

    My wife and I were both scammed by these guys. Our credit card companies (visa and discover) both removed the charges and we stopped getting invoices from them. I usually Google a product before buying on the internet but for some reason, not this time.
    The credit card challenge should work as it does for us. We spent nothing and actually still have a couple of bottles of the stuff that we never opened or sent back. Anyone want to try some for $1.95?

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    CRosario Oct 08, 2009

    I wished I had found this website before "getting scammed" into this product and its concealed subscription membership. I am challenging the credit card charges (perhaps my credit card company will have better luck than me). The product arrived a week after I placed the order. There was no receipt, no literature of terms and con. I knew I had a trial period (my mistake...I thought I had a 30 day trial period) to see how I responded to the product. I didn't do well with it, so I wasn't going to re-order. Much to my surprise, the order was placed by the company. When my card was charged (15 days from the day I first placed the "free, no-risk" trial) and the bill arrived, I immediately called them to cancel. I missed the 15 day deadline, so no return, no credit. Five days later another month's supply came in the mail. I immediately called back and they said they were not authorized to accept any returns...under any circumstances after the trial period even though I had a cancellation number. This is my first experience with this kind of internet scam, so I was shocked to learn how far they veer from ethical or commonly accepted business practices. I hope we can shut them down...I would support a class action suit against them as well. I am reporting them to any many applicable agencies as I can.
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Li
    LIVE LEAN Oct 02, 2009

    THIS PRODUCT IS A SCAM DO NOT BUY IT I REPEAT DO NOT BUY IT. THEY SAY THEY GIVE YOU 15 DAYS TO TRY THE PRODUCT FOR 1.95 SHIPPING THAT IS A LIE THEY DO NOT SENT THE PRODUCT OUT RIGHT AWAY SO 5 DAYS WERE DEDUCTED FOR MY SHIPPING SO I ONLY HAD SIX DAYS TO TRY IT BEFORE THEY STARTED BILLING MY CREDIT CARD FOR 59.95 I DID NOT EVEN GET TO TRY THE PRODUCT FOR EVEN A WEEK WHEN THEY WENT INTO MY ACCOUNT. THAN THEY HAVE NO CORPORATE TELEPHONE NUMBER TO CONTACT ONLY A P.O. BOX YOU CAN WRITE TOO. YOU ONLY GET TO TALK TO THESE STUPID REPS. THAT KNOW THEY ARE RIPPING YOU OFF AND DONT CARE. PLEASE DO NOT BE SCAMED BY THESE PEOPLE.

    0 Votes
  • Gj
    GJackson Oct 01, 2009

    I had the same problems. I called to cancel the Acai and they asked me if I wanted to cancel the Life Wellness program also. I didn't even know I had it. I told them to cancel everything. The next month they charged me $49.97 again. Unfortunately I lost the paper with the phone # and cancellation confirmation #. I tried every number I could find with no luck. Chase told me I had to cancel my debit card. I'm going to try the numbers I've found on this site.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marnee Rosen Sep 29, 2009

    I ordered a trial order of Acai Advanced for just the shippng fee of $5.95 and they sent me a bottle out for $64.95. Their invoice states if you are not satisfied, call the number o [protected] and request a return. I would have to pay for postage back. They told me I couldn't return this order and would have to pay for it but would stop sending me anymore. When this gets billed to my credit card, I will not pay the bill and argue that their invoice says if you are not completely satisfied to request a return. What a rip off.

    M. Rosen
    New Jersey

    0 Votes
  • Mk
    mklavezzari Sep 25, 2009

    A postscript to my complaint- The BBB can help you fight this company. I contacted the BBB and they began the case the next day. A free service. You can contact them by telephone [protected] or by internet [email protected] You can be in Any part of the country not just for the boston area.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    want to remain anonymous Sep 24, 2009

    These people prey on the fact that being fat is an embarrassing condition. Who really wants to report to the credit card company or to the attorney general that they were foolish enough to order magic pills to magically clean out their colon and magically make them thin again? People like that should be made to accept the responsibility for their greedy gain at the expense of trusting people. Is anyone else thinking "Class Action Law Suit"?

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Albertson Sep 21, 2009

    I found they had already had billed my creditcard did not recevie
    the acai adanced and charge me for a program of 24.95 and the shipping doubled could not be reinburst and no return. They did say
    to have a nice day. So this will be posted on the web.Thank You

    0 Votes
  • Rg
    R Gaytan Sep 18, 2009

    I recieved my bottle of pills in July 2009. Once I read the entire paperwork attached to product I learned I would be billed $64.95 within 15 days. I immediately tried to return mechandise. I was talked into keeping it for a trial period of 30 days which would end August 27, 2009. On August 25, 2009 I realized I wasnt consistent with the pills, so again I called back and tried to return the merchandise. I was talked into once again an extened trial period which would end Sept. 25, 2009. On Sept. 18, 2009 I was charged for with an unauthorized amount of 64.95 to my checking account. I phoned Acai billing and got a complete run around. The customer service clerk said there was no where listed that I had til Sept. 25 to keep the pills without being billed. He spoke of my many calls to the company and stated on August 25, 2009 the clerk did not write that I had an extension til Sept. 25, at that time I tried to speak with a supervisor. I was told to leave a message and they will get back to me, I did not want to leave a message expressed my feelings towards the company and how they took money without my authorization. I made it very clear I did not want to be transferred and wished to speak to a supervisor, that didnt matter I was transferred immediately. Called back and company was closed for the day. Looked for a website but had no luck. Found the complaint board instead, which was great. Every complaint sounded like my complaint. Thank God for my bank, put stop payment for any future deductions and was told I can place a claim for my loss. I will not stop til the company has to here me...and the hope that no one else will have to go through this.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    bugmenot2 Sep 17, 2009

    re: charlie brown

    Why don't you put your judgmental attitude to good use and fight against some of these scams instead of taking it out on the victims?

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark cardoza Sep 15, 2009

    Noticed that they had just taken money out of my account, asked to not have product shipped, informed that they just pulled money out of my account and are unable to reverse even though it was just done, unable to speak with anyone, no phone number to call, only way of contact is by letter, when asked for phone number on 3 different calls they were not able to give me a number.o get the phone number i was directed to over night a letter requesting the number.

    0 Votes
  • Mu
    muddydalejrfan Sep 14, 2009

    so how about writing your real town and state i work for acai and couldnt find you in our system as some who lives in litchfield maine!!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lisarobertsc Sep 10, 2009

    all the complaints are true the same thing happend to me and i filed a complaint with the bbb today every one should. i did it online it was easy you need there add po box 17855 portland. ma. 04112 and phone [protected] and maby something will be done about this company its a trick its not free

    0 Votes
  • Mk
    mklavezzari Sep 10, 2009

    Hi Marcia, Me again, I contacted the BBB yesterday by internet and today I received an email saying I would receive a full refund from Acai. I never would have gotten that refund if you had not suggested the BBB. You just saved an old retired lady $90.00. I had all but given up until I found your forum. Thank you ever so much. By the way I think you handled (wbutt) very well, much more tactfully than I would have. I think she must work for Acai advanced. Thank you once again for your wonderful advice. Mary

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lisa1973 Sep 10, 2009

    orded free trail 8-21-09 they shipped it 8-25-09 i received it 8-31-09 and called to cancel trail 9-9-09 and already charged for the rest of bottle was told they count the 15 days the day you order yet they wait 4 days to mail it to you and dotn even get it for 10 days bvy the time you even try it to late.I already contacted and filed a complaint with th bbb better business bureau everyone needs to so they can take action against them I also contacted our local news station that investigates scams .dont just vent take action lets put a stop to this scam so no one else becomes vitcim to it.I will figth tooth and nail till i get my $64 back .The pills are not good even you can go to a local organic natrual store and buy much better ones for $20 or less.they pills are not worth it.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Kriterion Sep 09, 2009

    The same thing happened to me. I want to know how i can get my money back. Legal action needs to be taken against this company.

    0 Votes
  • Mk
    mklavezzari Sep 09, 2009

    Hi Marcia, Thank you for the phone numbers and email addresses. I too was scammed and not because I didn't read the fine print. The company will no longer give a customer service number and the only address they will give out is a PO Box. I will be contacting everyone that you suggested. Thank you for leading the rebellion. Mary

    0 Votes
  • Mk
    mklavezzari Sep 09, 2009

    I wish I had found this site and your warning before I too became a very dissatisfied customer. I see now why they have no customer service and no refund policy. They would have no repeat customers. Maybe the lesson was worth $90.00, but it is still painful. Let's just remember the old saying. Fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me. Sincerely, Mary

    0 Votes
  • Mk
    mklavezzari Sep 09, 2009

    I made the mistake of responding to an on line pop up ad. Offered Free Trial of Acai Advanced. Pay only shipping. $5.95 when I didn't respond they wrote back and lowered the shipping to $2.95. I bit. Twenty day free trial. I called to cancel after 19 days and found that they had already charged $90.00 to my credit card. They start the free trial when you order not 14 days later when the product arrives. They will not provide a business address that is not a po box. They do not have managers or customer service to deal with complaints. When I called my credit card company I was told not to expect a refund from Acai, as the company ignors all correspondence from the credit card companys. The most you can do is block future charges to your card, because they will continue to charge you month after month. The final disappointment is that their product is a placibo and to get the real effects you should buy acai for 1/4 of the price at your local health food store.

    0 Votes
  • To
    total rip-off Sep 08, 2009

    Acai-Advanced.com is a total scam and rip-off. Today I received my credit card statement. There were $154 worth of charges to companies I never heard of. I spent 2 hours on the phone talking to 8 different parties. Some said they would cancel the charge, one gave me an 85% refund, one gave me a 50% refund. I even found out I had another $24.95 charged to my card after the closing date of that month's credit card bill. As of right now I still have $100 I have to dispute with my credit card company. In the meantime I have to pay these amounts to avoid finance charges and hope I get the refunds I worked so hard to get. All these charges were going to be billed to me monthly. So glad I diligently watch my statements and didn't give them my bank account number.

    0 Votes
  • 18
    1804rainey Sep 08, 2009

    Beware of ACAI ADVANCED! They offer a 30 day supply of product and then in the fine print state that the product is only free for 14 days. However, they DO NOT make it clear that the 14 days starts the day you order it! It took me 9 days to receive it. I used it 4 days and noticed a charge on my card for $64.95. I called to correct the mistake and they informed me I had been charged the day before $64.95 for the product and even though I explained I had only had it 4 days and would NOT refund any portion of it. I started looking at the fine print and the fine print within the fine print and noticed that they also enrolled me in a "Live Lean for Life Program" for free but were going to charge me on the 20th day an additional $24.95 for that program. I called back to cancel (with two day to spare) and reported them to the Better Business Bureau! This is a SCAM. Not only does it NOT WORK but they will charge you and charge you and charge you!

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    Prissy12 Sep 03, 2009

    A free trial offer was given on line and when I received the free trial offer, my card was charged the full rate plus they signed me up for a life time membership and I did not request to be a life time member. This is a company that's making a profit off of innocent people. I will fill out a formal complaint with the better business bureau. I have a copy of the offer and it did not stimpulate that I would be charged anything more than the shipping and handling of $4.95.

    0 Votes
  • Td
    tdarlington Sep 02, 2009

    These people are a total scam I just got off the phone after talking to my wife's CC dispute dept and these clowns at the same time. Its all in the fine print DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THESE SCAM ARTISTS. I am contacting the Ohio Attorney Generals Office Tomorrow and I suggest the same of anyone who has been bamboozled by them. They would not even return the product I sent back to them unopened return to sender that they refuse to refund me for. They probably resold it. Again that was an item in the fine print. no refunds on any future shipments. I have been doing business with purity products for years and they have excellent products an a fair return policy. I guess my wife took for granted that everyone does business like them.Please don't let this be a lesson learned for you.

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    plove Aug 31, 2009

    Thanks to both of you! It worked.
    Try this!!
    I spoke with a customer service rep, and then the "supervisor" who was extremely rude and said that nothing could be done to reimburse me since "I obvious didn't read the terms and conditions".
    I put a complaint in through the BBB and was reimbursed (everything except the Shipping and Handling) within two weeks! I hope it works for you too.
    I just went online and put in a complaint.

    Here's the info:
    Better Business Bureau
    in Eastern Massachusetts, Maine & Vermont
    235 West Central Street, Suite 1
    Natick, MA [protected]
    [protected]
    [protected]-Fax
    [email protected]
    boston.bbb.org

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.