VAMC Cincinnatihateful dr. sara naren

P
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

My primary care doctor, Dr.Cunningham, was on maternity leave since October, 2017, and Dr. Sara (Saraswathy) Naren was selected to assume the responsibilities of caring for her patients. I saw my doctor in September and didn't have any further appointments scheduled. Now to the problem:

In late November I noticed that one of my medications was scheduled to be filled and shipped to me late by about a week. I contacted the pharmacy and spoke with pharmacy tech who would look into it and contact my doctor.

I sent an email to the lead nurse on the team about this and she also said that she would forward it to the doctor. The medication is a 30-day supply and I received it on November 6. It was scheduled to be refilled on December 12.

Dr. Sara Naren, who has NEVER seen nor spoken with me, decided to discontinue the existing medication and then she re-entered it as a new prescription with an even later fill date of December 18. When I discovered that she had done this (well before the 18th), I contacted the VAMC Administrator's office and spoke with a young lady who gave me two persons to email about the problem. I sent emails to both. I received one response, about a week later.

I sent emails with direct links showing the tracking info for the early November delivery, the link to the page showing that Dr. Naren had discontinued that medication, and that she had re-entered it as a new prescription with an even later fill date. No one at the VA Hospital did ANYTHING to resolve this and get the medication to me sooner than the 18th. On the 18th I contacted the pharmacy and spoke with another pharmacy tech who I asked to make sure that the medication would be filled and sent in the mail on that day.

It didn't leave the pharmacy. A US Postal Service tracking number was entered for that medication, but the Postal Service had not received it yet from the VA. On Thursday, the 21st, it still had no tracking information, so I had to drive to the Cincinnati VA hospital to get a temp supply.

Dr. Sara Naren had no right to interfere with my medical care and with my prescription. She had never spoken with me, ever. She had never seen me face-to-face. And she delayed my medication by more than two weeks.

In effect, with no good reason at all, this incompetent stooge of a doctor stuck a dagger in my back, as is usual with incompetent VA employees. I changed doctors and I will state that at no time in the future, EVER, should this doctor Sara Naren have anything to do with my medical care and my prescriptions. IF she ever does, she'll discover that I will go to every length, including having her medical license pulled in Ohio, Tennessee, and anywhere else she can practice. I truly hope she gets the message.

CEASE and DESIST FOREVER, doctor Sara Naren.Do not EVER look into my medical records again.

Reason of review: Medical Malpractice.

Preferred solution: Dr. Sara Naren will NEVER have access to me, my care, my medical records, or my prescriptions.

Responses

  • Ax
    axtman Jan 24, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To Patrick Axt
    From: U.S. Department of Veterans affair

    Recently you requested assistance from VA. Below is our response.

    If you wish to reopen this issue, you may do so within the next 14 days.
    Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you.
    Response by email (Department of Veterans Affairs) (01/07/2019 03:29 PM)

    Dear Mr. Axt
    Your electronic inquiry was forwarded to the Cincinnati VA for reply.
    Several Cincinnati VA staff have met and spoke with you, providing information and community resources for services that the VA does not provide. We encourage you to continue to be involved in treatment and to contact your care providers when needed.

    We regret your dissatisfaction and apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you.
    The Cincinnati VA has three (3) Patient Advocates available to assist Veterans and their representatives: Ms. Kimberly Rouser at (513), Mr. Richard Sanborn at [protected], and Ms. Kimberly Scott at [protected]
    _________________________________________________________________
    My response

    January 7, 2019

    U.S. Department of Veterans Affair

    Good Evening

    My main complaint of this whole nightmare is that I don’t have a social worker that is supposed to be assigned to my mental health PACT TEAM.

    Without having a social worker on my PACT TEAM as made my life upside down. Having one of the most important person missing from my team has created inadequate care for my wellbeing.

    I was discharged from the 7th floor physic ward from a mental breakdown, with no direction, no guidance. Just like discharging a blind person and tell them to drive home.

    Me having an appointment with my nurse for her to just put notes in my record and my first session to see a therapist would be over a month is not getting the proper care, especially from just having a mental breakdown.
    The Cincinnati VA has been known and been caught red-handed manipulating a situation in their favor. I need my social worker to help navigate me through these troubled times from having a mental break down.

    If I had a social worker on which I have been asking for since the day I was discharged from the 7th floor physic ward which was September 11, 2018, I wouldn’t be sending you this e-mail. Most likely I would of already taking the reins of my life again from my social worker navigating me through these trouble times.

    Even if I had a social worker part time that gave me the right phone numbers and right resources that worked. And with a little navigating I would be well back on my feet again. If someone just took a little time to investigate this matter besides emailing or calling down to the VA to get your answers it wouldn’t take long for you to see the red flags popping up.

    I was informed from a few VA staff when they investigated my records that I have been getting the run around and that they would get back with me. I had the social worker from the 7th floor informed me I was getting a run around while I was trying to get a social worker assigned to me. 3 different times I went to the 7th floor social worker to help me get a social worker.

    He said one reason why he thinks I am getting a run around because they are shorthanded. He told me he will make a phone call to get to the bottom of this and that was the last time I heard from him.

    I’m sure the people you talked to and said whatever they said to you is most likely the same people that told me that my situation is complicated, and with a little diversion tactics they put on me I left their office with no help or give me phone numbers that don’t work.

    If someone investigated this matter you will clearly see something is differently wrong with what is being said from the referrals to the VA for my behalf when I call begging for help. And come live with me a few days. You will clearly see there is something differently wrong with this situation for me to become whole again.

    I will sign a release of information form, if you would like. The biggest problem with veterans making complaints from not getting the proper care from the VA is that nobody REALLY LISTENS, and a real investigation doesn’t take place to see what is really going on.

    Than you wonder why there are so many sucides

    Seems like they only listen to the VA side of the story and not even bother to get with the veteran to get their side of the story. A proper investigation is not e-mailing or calling to the place where the person is making a complaint about. That would be the same as calling a bank robber that robs banks and ask them, did they rob a certain bank?

    What would you think their response would be?

    Having a social worker would be my advocate when I have difficulties just like on what I am going through now.
    I took this matter to a different chain of command. I now know that the Cincinnati VA chain of command was broken right away from me trying to use it. One person that I thought I would trust and maybe get help with was Mrs. Huston which at the time oversaw the Cincinnati VA.

    Nope she didn’t even call to check with me to make sure I was ok and to say Mr. Axt hang in there, we will look into this matter. You know, if she just took 10 seconds from her day to call and said that to me it would have risen my hope from despair. Twice I wrote to her, and twice no reply.

    That’s the same as the sucide prevention coordinator on the 9th floor did to me. I called and left a message begging for help. And he didn’t return my call. I just found out that Mrs. Hutson was removed from Cincinnati VA for not doing her job PROPERLY.

    That’s the same reason why I am writing this letter to you for the IMPROPER care that I am receiving.
    Another part of the chain is broken is my Patient Advocate Kimberly Scott, she did more harm to me than you can imagine, I have no respect for her, for what she has done. I will never speak to her again. I have proof and evidence on why I will never trust her again.

    Not only I took this matter to a different chain of command I will be presenting this to the news. I will no longer tolerate this abuse from the Cincinnati VA. I had enough abuse from my childhood trauma.

    If this was a different circumstance, I’m sure I wouldn’t have a leg to stand on, because the BIG DOG always wins. But, with Cincinnati VA track record from the times they have gotten in trouble with wrongdoing, scandels, inadequate care and etc. I might have a little hope that someone will listen to me and do a real investigation to see the truth.

    I have a question for you. What would you do if this was your son or daughter getting the same improper care that I am receiving? I’m pretty sure you wouldn’t let that happen. So, why should I have to?

    If you really listen on what I just wrote its more leaning toward a cry for help than a complaint letter.

    Thank you for you time

    0 Votes
  • Ax
    axtman Jan 24, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been getting abuse, neglect, derecliction of duty, improper care where it has my life up side down. Cincinnati VA has some cracks that I have been falling through. I became suicidual twice over this. Lost my business. I had a place to at-risk-homeless. and by definition I am now homless. I know that veterans has taken their lives over this matter. If you want to slow down the suicides than listen.

    0 Votes
  • Ax
    axtman Jan 24, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ‎jan‎ ‎24 at ‎7‎:‎46‎ ‎am

    Abuse is abuse

    And it is wrong on so many levels

    If you see somone abusing a child.

    You damn well know, anybody and everybody will do something about it and have that abuser punished.

    Now here is the million-dollar question.

    Why is it, that the va is getting away with abusing veterans?

    Abusing a child and abusing a veteran are in the same category.

    Their evil acts, it’s wrong on so many levels, it’s a sin, and it’s a crime.

    Than how come no one is getting punished for all the abuse that the va is doing to veterans?

    And who ever witness any kind of abuse and turns their back from it, is as guilty as the abuser.

    Please report any abuse. nobody deserves being abused. nobody

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    MsKimtoyou Jul 26, 2018

    I'm sorry to hear that you went through that experience and while this experience was hurtful and an inconvenience to you--maybe it was normal Protocol for a doctor. In most cases they have to see you before they will refill or renew a prescription.. I'm actually a former patient of Dr. Naren and HATEFUL is such the WRONG word to us when describing this doctor. She is actually one of the few doctors out here that ACTUALLY CARE for her patients and if you were to actually meet with her you would see... She is the BEST doctor that I have ever met and she LOVES what she does... She listens to you and go above and beyond to help...I was so heart broken when she left my state and moved to OH.. I know that you wrote this post several months ago and hopefully you've had the chance to meet with her.. I had to reply to your comment because that was such an untrue statement from someone with a bad experience about such a wonderful woman/doctor... I hope all is well with you... :)

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laura LeMay Hailey Aug 30, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @MsKimtoyou Thank you for saying that...I used to work with Dr. Sara Naren in Tennessee and she is a WONDERFUL doctor!!! There MUST have been a reason for her to be involved with this woman's medical record...typical response from an unsatisfied patient...you can't even TRUST a review these days because they're so emotionally driven...from grocery shoppers to brain surgeons if anybody missteps they'll get a nasty 'review' like this one

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.