The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
union finance inc.winner of market survey

received letter dated may 18, 2009 as follows; attention it is our pleasure to inform you that you are one of our general market survey. this drawing was held on march 5th, 2009. congratulations! an entry slip with serial number [protected] attached to your name drew the lucky winning numbers [protected] and you are entitled for the sum of $150, 000.00 us [one hundred and fifty thousand dollars] payable to you by certified check, and will be delivered to you by our special courier company. you are therefore advised to contact your claim agent for further instructions. claim agent; mark nelson. phone; [protected] enclosed is a check of $5997.00 us dollars which is a portion of your winnings available for you to pay the non-residential govt. service tax [gst] payable to your tax agent as stated below; tax agent; elizabeth swindell s 2772 howard st. toronto, ontario, t4h 2v5 tax amount; 4, 992.00 payment method; western union/moneygram wire transfer attn; please do not act on this letter until you speak with your claim agent, mark nelson for further instructions on how to claim your winnings. thank you. daniel jerome [manager]

More union finance inc. Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Er
    Eric Jackson May 26, 2009

    Yes, This Post was extremely Useful. I Have this same letter and did some investigation which the bank said it's a good check but after further investigation I found that the Bank will show the check is good until the funds are to be actually deposited from the bank inwhich the check is drawn on. By that time the check has been deposited and the money has been sent western union as the letter requested.and the account holder is left responsible for the money sent from their account.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Annette Brown May 26, 2009

    Yes, today (May 26, 2009) my daughter received this letter in the mail. I knew it was a scam immediatly. I called the number to just see what the so call Mr. Nelson had to say and it was just what I expected. Thank God for wisdom. I listen to him and then I began to pray against him and his associates for God's judgement to rest upon them, for every dollar they gained at the expense of others wrongfully that the judgement of God would rest upon their heads 10 fold. This is a scam and please do not entertain it. Don't let others live off of your hard earned money. Force them to get a real job, don't make their living easy by entertaining their slick methods.

    0 Votes
  • Cs
    csmith4105 May 26, 2009

    I have received the very same letter word for word except for the fact that a different phone number is listed for Mark Nelson, [protected]. I haowever went to the bank (Wells Fargo) after calling him. They did a background check on the note and discovered that it is a fraudulant check. I called him back after and he hung up on me. Note of interest he had a very thick African accent.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    hollyc May 26, 2009

    Has anyone tried to cash the check at a bank? Instead of depositing it?

    0 Votes
  • Jm
    jmay78 May 26, 2009

    I just recieved the very same letter today (May 26, 2009). I read over the letter and of course I called this so called Mark Nelson and recieved no answer on the other end. Then I went searching the net for any info. on this Company and of course I ran into this site. To believe people have the guts to do this but not everyone is smart to do some searching before they react.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Freida Towe Jun 02, 2009

    I just received the very same letter yesterday. I called Mark Nelson and he told me to deposit the check, call him so he could verify the check deposited, then wait until it clears. Then Fec-Ex woul deliver the remaining amount of the $150, 000.00. I then called the number for the finance company and he ansered that number also. I then went to this sigt and read everyone's complaints. Thank you for having this site. I am retired and do not have monty to throw away on scams such as this one.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Sue Jun 02, 2009

    I received the very same letter today with a couple of variations. The agents name in the body of the letter was James Watts and the phone numbers were different. I did call him and he said to just deposit the check and be sure to wait until it cleared --as long as I wanted -- to send the taxes. Yeah right! Also, the business name on the check (on a JPMorgan Chase bank) is for an electronic company in Minnesota. I got their phone number and verified that there was such a co. and even had the same address as is on the check. Unfortunately, it was after hours, and I would have to call back during the day to talk with someone other than the off-hours answering guy. They must love having checks with their name on them out there like this! I am wondering if everyone has this electronic co. name on their checks also?

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Doug Jun 05, 2009

    I called him up all day and told him stuff like hes a ### and that he needed to kill himself all different types of ###ed up ### hows this person gonnah go gettin us minimum wage making peoples hopes up. if I ever see that ### ima stomp his ###.

    0 Votes
  • Tw
    twirojo Jun 11, 2009

    Thank you everyone for posting your comments. I too got this letter and was not excited but disappointed that crap like this continues to prey upon hard working individuals such as yourselves. The letter and check has now gone into the shredder. Save me the time and effort by visiting this site than calling some idiot. Thank you again!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kay Jun 16, 2009

    I just recieved this same letter and my no.s are also different. I too am going to call this guy and tell hima few facts of life. I work hard for my money and creeps like him and his buddies are not going to make a living off of my sweat. I also managed to call the bank (JP Morgan Chase Bank) and informed them. I was not the first to call in to them.
    So be forewarned. This whole thing is a scam. I hope this guy gets caught. It the poor souls that actually think its real that will be hurt.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anh Jun 20, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    First of all, this guy should not be doing what he is doing. It is just straight up wrong. He's playing on the minds of the people who are being hit by this economical down fall. Using a "prize" would get many of our hopes up and that we would do anything for it. Regardless it is still a scam. I called it for my father and then recalled them saying that I won. I made up a fake claim number and he still said the same thing. That I won and I need to go deposit that amount into my bank. I really do wonder what would happen if you cashed the check instead of deposit?

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JOSEPH CARABALLO Jun 29, 2009

    I AM 51 YRS OLD AND I HAVE CANCER, WHEN I RECIEVED THIS LETTER AND SAW THE CHECK, I WAS VERRY HAPPY, AND I WAS THINKING OF ALL THE RIGHT THINGS THAT I CAN DO FOR MY FAMILY AND FOR OTHERS. BUT I HAVE NOT HERD ANYTHING FROM MR: NELSON, NOUR HIS COMPANY . I DO NOT WISH UPPON ANYBODY NO HARM, BUT IT REALLY HURTS WHEN YOUR HOPES ARE STEPT ON AND BE BETRAID IN SUCH A WAY. GOD WILL FIND AWAY FOR WHOM EVER THEY ARE . I CAN ONLY SAY WITH MY SAD HEART DO GOOD NOT BAD.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DarlaM Jun 29, 2009

    We just got one of the letters. the account address on this one is H.E.B. P.O. Box 839944 San Antonio Texas [protected] it is also on a JpMorgan Chase bank in Columbus Ohio. Sounds too good to be true? It probly is. I had my doubts because I am never that lucky.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    DougyFresh Jul 07, 2009

    so then could you cash the check and not send money back like the letter requests keeping the money and screwing that stupid [censored] ?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions