The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Toronto Truck Driving SchoolFalse Advertising

Toronto Truck Driving School runs an ad which states, among other things, in class lessons and late model trucks.

I did not receive any in class lessons.
The truck was old with many malfunctions (horn, lights)
They charge you per hour, telling you that each lesson is 45 minutes. The truck was never ready to go when I arrived so I was usually waiting 10-15 minutes for it. At the end of each lesson they will have you sign a sheet that states 1 hour, so you are unwittingly using up 15 minutes of your time. So if you booked for 6 lessons, you are actually getting only 4.5 lessons.

It's complicated how they explain it, but basically they tell you that each lesson you took was a full hour, but you were only paying for 45 minute lessons, so each extra 15 minutes (which was spent waiting for the truck to arrive), is taken off your next lesson.

They, of course, don't explain any of this until you have run out of paid time. That's when they suddenly can speak english again to explain that you have to pay more money. And when you refuse to pay more moneyh, the instructor pretends to be on your side, telling you that you are not ready for the test and maybe you should give them more money...give "them"?

They sold me a study guide, which was actually the answers to the ministry test, I guess this is in place of in class lessons, which I never received. Anyway, I took the study guide with me to the test and it was taken from me by the ministry, it is ILLEGAL. ($20 wasted)

Anyway, the lessons were awful, I failed my test and all the points that I failed on were never even mentioned to me during my lessons, they were a complete surprise to me. If I had forgotten something I would have been ok with that, but I studied everything very well. I was just not given all the information because the instructor was on the phone most of the time. Can you believe that after 6 lessons I didn't even know my instructors name? A miserable man, please stay away from this school, save your money.

Responses

  • Kk
    kk.prem Jan 23, 2010

    The guy who has complaint above is absolutely right. They rip off you. They have different methods to get your money actually you are being trapped in a situation where you can't go back. Ultimately, no other option left except to pay more. This will be very interesting for you that there is no criteria established by the govt to be a truck instructor. Only what you need is a class "a" license. Every second person who is a class a license has opened a truck driving school. Even in the air brake class you are guaranteed pass form these school if you just pay 250 to 300 dollars. I am sorry to say but except a very few schools, everywhere the
    Training is very sub - standard.

    0 Votes
  • Bs
    BS SCHOOL Aug 26, 2010

    Ok let me tell you my store as i was also attending a boggus driving school. There was no in class, it was group lessons for the most part so if you booked a lesson or paid for 45 minutes, you only got about 20 minutes of hands on practical before the next guy got his turn or the truck was not ready.The so called instructor yelled at some of his students and sometimes didn't wear any shoes while instructing. The truck i practiced on was not the one used for the road test.The one they gave me for the road test was a p.o.s. Witch first gear would not go in without grinding.i Failed but am looking for another school that school will not get another cent from me.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Melissa 28 Nov 16, 2010

    I disagree. This was the best school ever. Maybe you didn't pay attention, but my lessons were an hour long, and I had in class lessons as well. They didn't try and sell me any books and I did fine on my test. Everyone was really nice and friendly, and I had to wait a little for the truck to arrive but everyone working there was really nice, and they kept offering me food through all of it.
    I passed the test on my first try.
    Besides, it's not like there a small school or whatever, there pretty big, I mean I think they've been around for a while. That's the whole reason I went to them.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Truck Buck Nov 16, 2010

    I think it's odd that if this school is so bad that there is only one complaint issued against them. Sounds like you're just bitter that you failed buddy. Better luck next time.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joggi Mar 20, 2011

    i went to same school. poor instructor cant speak even one word of english. i quit that school and went to city t ruck driving school which is nearby there. They were even worst let me tell you one thing these all folks are uneducated and they are running truck driving school. they do not have any knowledge about trucking industry. They lie a lot. all packages for training are just trap. air brake course you are guaranteed pass which is very dangerous. May God help us.

    -1 Votes
  • Ta
    Tanya Allan Aug 08, 2011

    I agree with Tanya Bons, Tina

    -1 Votes
  • Pi
    pinka61 Mar 07, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    hi this is about city truck driving school false advertisement and when they get their money you are your own if you want to learn you have to ask the instructor where all the controls are like gear pattern etc no briefing nothing put you on driver seat and look the gear pattern no explanation and very poor English speaking instructor talk too much about non relating truck conversation talking bad about other schools while driving no paying attention on the student driver after spending lot of money in cash and waist too much time i am still looking for school who is honest and actually teach student for their hard earning money and not the gouging off the student my advice too new student never give cash too these people take bill of sale stay away from this school pay flat fee for your course until you get you license that s the only way they teach you properly or as you will get ripped off like me i am agree with previews complainer i hope this will help some student and go somewhere at least speak English and punjabi student same thing i got take it for ride after getting 20 lesson still can not even backup the truck properly the instructor guy will sit beside you and you drive straight head and he is on the phone with his friends or whatever watch out my punjabi friends good luck

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marderos Apr 02, 2013

    I also went to this Toronto Truck I got my class B license back in 2005 I did not have any problems at the beginning I passed at my first try got my license...but after in 2006 I was going for my class A license I tried about 4 driver instructors all of them were bad instructors each one worse then the other...talking on the phone sometimes 30 minutes at a time one of them could not speak English other instructor made excuse that he forgot his jacket never got out of the truck to show me how to do coupling and uncoupling while I was paying 60$ per hour...it was a total waste naturally I failed the test did not get my license with them...I lost about 1500$ that time If you don't want to waste your time and money I suggest don't ever go to this school you will be very sorry like me.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sam123455 Sep 24, 2013

    worst school in Toronto, I passed my test but no thanks to them. None of the staff can speak English, they are disrespectful and will yell at you during lessons. dont go here!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John324 Oct 29, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was really hesitant to go there because of the postings I saw on this site but the guy on the phone gave me a lot of information about all the steps I needed to take, medical, written etc compared to all the other places i called, plus he said they were open seven days of the week so i decided to go in on a sunday. I was really surprised, their office is actually really nice. They were also having a pizza lunch so I am glad i went in during lunch. I got funded from second careers and they helped me with all the paper work. I even had to go back because my case worker was super picky and wanted my starting date changed and they did that with no hassles. They spent a lot of time on the circle check but other then that I did a lot of driving. I know the other guy said there was no classroom but I much rather prefer driving over reading textbooks. They did give me a textbook though and i watched some videos on safety. The day before my road test the instructor stayed late until like 9pm going over backing, and the same guy came in at 7 am the next day to help me some more. I passed my first time so I am really happy with my experience. This place isn't really focused on theory, they just let you drive and i really liked that. After I passed they gave me a bunch of job postings and even called a few of the transport company owners right in front of me to let them know I would be contacting them. They hooked me up with a freight company so now I go from here to Texas and I like the money I make.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    BadBoyVince Apr 08, 2014

    I'm not sure if there has been a change in management but this school was awesome. They told me when I registered that they don't charge for classroom unless you do the full vocational course that is $5900.00 I have driven a truck five years ago but got of the industry and wanted back in. They helped me get my medical, my written and my air brake. I did a few hours of training, which they let me do in the evening and they booked my road test. Great school and the price was super reasonable.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Peterdyke001 Jun 03, 2014

    air brake course over the weekend is false and fraud air brake course instructor cannot speak english even air brake course instructor from ontario safety league totally fraud. school instructor always sleeping in truck and dirty trucks and you go air brake course totally fraud from ontario safety league instructor.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mikexyz Jul 05, 2014

    Truck driving training companies are ripping us off from hard working people who work hard to earn money and they want to make carrier in truck driving. Road test at MTO should be easier than doing one mistake and you get fail. The MTO dept should aware of this situation. So many trucking companies are providing training free after getting license. They must have option that if you fail you only can go to the companies that providing training. Than get working experience and after real world training you can go for test again and that will be very easy...I spent 8200 for humbler truck training and than they have their own test they tough me they fail me not mto. and still I don't have license.

    0 Votes
  • Tu
    TURKER Jul 21, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    PEOPLE DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL, I WISH I HAD THE PATIENCE TO WRITE THIS REVIEW AFTER THEY BOOK MY ROAD TEST BUT THIS IS ABSOLUTE SCAM . NOTHING BUT A SCAM, I WENT THROUGH EXACTLY THE SAME THING EVERY ONE ELSE COMPLAINT ABOUT THEM IN HERE I WISH I HAD RESESARCHED ON THEM BETTER, I UNFORTUNATLY FALL THE FACT THAT THEY TAKE PRIVATE CAREER COLLEGE STUDENTS . THIS PLACE IS A JOKE ITS BEEN A WEEK I AM STILL WAITING FOR AN ANSWER FROM THEM, THEY PUT YOU ON HOLD AND NEVER PICK UP THE PHONE AGAIN, YOU WHATEVER PEOPLE COMPAINT ABOUT THEM IN HERE STILL EXIST SO CLEARLY NO ACTION TAKEN BY THE AUTHORITIES, I HAVE ALSO COMPLAIN ABOUT THEM TO THE MINISTRY AND MY LOCAL MP I HOPE THAT THINGS CHANGE SOMETIME SOON

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rickjames222 Oct 15, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow, so, I took all my courses with this school and was on time for all of them. Never had an issue before until the day of my "A" test. Supposedly they called me over and over and left me voice mails that some how I didn't get. Funny thing is I do check my voice mail on a daily basis and if I miss a call I call them back. So, turns out on the day of my test I am being phoned as to where I am?! Like hello, where is your professionalism, you're calling me on the day of my test. Wow, this place is a joke honestly. I asked for my test 2 months ago and still they didn't have a date for me and when they did I wasn't even contacted! Since when does it take 2 months to book a damn test?! Knowing very well that if you haven't driven in 2 months that you will forget, so you would have to take more lessons, talk about scam artists!

    When I spoke to the people at the school, the girl straight up told me "Well sometimes someone can go into your voice mail and delete things" How the hell is that possible when I am the only one that knows the password to my voice mail, can you come up with a better excuse?! To top it off she goes that we did try to contact you by two different people. Well answer me this then, if you did try to contact me then why didn't you confirm that I was actually coming that day?! Then she goes it on this date it said you confirmed the dates saying you were coming! Hahaha. Never recommending this place to anyone!

    Do yourself a favour folks go to a college or reputable place where they do take things seriously and teach you the "Right" way!

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    Private Person2727 Feb 12, 2015

    Worst school ever the instructors were always late and drank on the job. the office smelt like cigarettes every time i went in. they mostly only spoke Punjabi which is really rude. Dont waste your money there they are racist and unprofessional

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    b.i.g. May 06, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi guys to all that give bad reviews for this company...and you all said "go to a college or reputable place" etc...so have you been to them? if so, WHICH IS THE BEST ONE YOU RECOMMENDS? I don't want to go to this school, so I NEED ADVICE AND RECOMMENATIONS on WHICH SCHOOL, COLLEGE IS THE BEST!


    Thank you for all the reviews

    b.i.g.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jot5980 Aug 07, 2015

    This school is a joke...claims that there is a 50% in class training however the play some old videos which are not applicable to the heavy equipment course. Steve the heavy equipment instructor uses every trick in the book to steal hours from his students.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Greenze Jan 24, 2016

    Most reviews on here are horrible, was looking at this school for my hubs. I guess we have to keep looking.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    Luis Paez Vasquez Aug 23, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please don go to this school at least you have some previous experience in trucks i went there with zero experience and i leave with zero skills i drove, i practice and i fail the test the instructor yelled at me during driving, they told me, i will be lucky if i pass the test, my right turn is [censor], where did you get you G license etc. etc. etc. zero support to the student, and what is worst they put you down, and the instructor speak on the phone most of the time when you practicing to back up which my only guidance was you tube videos except at the last week before my test they assign me a good instructor in back up but was not enough practice to pass the test ... saying again...if you had previous experience in trucks? you will be ok ... but zero experience? you will fail good luck to every one

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions