The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
The Center Quality Shoe Repair and TailorPoor Service and Quality

"Quality Shoe Repair"...what a joke! This owner/operator is the worst shoe repairman in the business. He is rude, and you will get NO customer service/satisfaction from this store. He can't repair shoes if his life depended on it. Places like these should be put out of business, so that reputable, good businesses can thrive. Survival of the fittest/best should be the law for businesses as well.

Responses

  • Ky
    Kyla Quiring Sep 20, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This shop is closed as the owner up and left, leaving A LOT of people's shoes and what not, untouched. But he took their money. I am one of those people. I should have ran, like my gut told me to, when I saw the meth addict working behind the counter. Erratic movements, sores on face that were not acne (yes, I know what those look like) and super skinny. I went against my gut (don't do that) and dropped off two pairs of boots for repairs. I stupidly paid the fee of $120 as well. When I called to see if they were ready, I was told the owner had disappeared. My boots were still there but untouched and no, I couldn't get my money back. The shoes were moved to The Cobble Stop, who will be doing the repairs but you have to pay them. I just took my boots home even though the guy at The Cobble Stop said he could do the repairs for very little money, which I appreciated but did not want to deal with at the time. I was told by someone on the phone when I called Quality Shoe Repair, that The Cobble Stop would do the repairs for the money I paid which was not true as the previous owner had left with the money. I understand The Cobble Stop is a new business and can't do repairs for free, but it would be helpful if they had information for customers of Quality Shoe Repair on how to try and get their money back, or explaining the piece of garbage took all the cash and they are a new business that can't do repairs for free. I think they have gotten a lot of flack from people as those people were given the same info as me. I was also told that the owner is a drug addict who is terminally ill and bankrupt and took the money. So I guess good luck trying to get any money out of him if you find him. Moral of the story, go with your gut!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Johnathan Smythe Sep 12, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been taking my shoes to this shop for about a year-and-a-half now for repairs and/or cleaning. I have been always happy with the work done. Both staff were quite knowledgeable (I once went in with a pair of scuffed nubuck boots to get polish for, learned totally different products and care was needed) in my opinion about shoe repair and care, and did not mind explaining the various products and repair options available.

    Granted, repairs could sometimes be slow but as the owner was in poor health and I was never in a huge hurry for the shoes, this was not much of an issue for me, and was something I could easily work with.

    The last pair I had taken in to be re-soled a bit over month ago came out polished and shining better then they did new. They also filled in/repaired some tiny pressure cracks in the sides of the shoes where the toes pivot which was something I had noticed and totally forgot to ask about, free of charge and so well I am not sure where the cracks even were located anymore.

    I find that their rubber re-sole jobs seems to last for about a year. Which for shoes I wear from 2 to 4 days a week, every week is a job that is holding up quite well I think.

    However, they have closed up it seems sometime in the last month. I had tried to pop in with some work a few times the last three weeks and they were closed each time, and I see that they now have a 'Permanently Closed' update on their web listing, as well as a sign on the store gate, saying much the same.

    0 Votes
  • Bw
    Bwah892 Mar 21, 2016

    I highly doubt these complaints are from 'disgruntal" ex employees. The complaints go as far back as 2011! I have heard the same things that the previous complaints mention. Now, seeing these "responses" from clearly the owner/operator and a friend in such a poorly worded manner definitely shows a lack of professionalism. I will never bring my shoes/boots to this shop. I even know of someone who was charged $99 for new crepe soles on mukluks, and they weren't crepe, weren't stitched on, and the old soles weren't even taken off (the new ones were poorly glued over top). The guy wasn't even allowed a discount after such poor work. (Someone had even mentioned small claims court?) To all the others reading this site, I say be cautious.

    2 Votes
  • Wo
    Working Man 32 Mar 21, 2016

    This is ridiculous. Just look at the last two messages and any intelligent person can see that this "Cherity Ross" is a drug addict. The radical emotions in the second letter is totally written by someone obviously on drugs. It smacks you right in the face. I work at a business in the mall not far from this shop. Some of the things I have seen are unbelievable. I have had customers afraid to walk near that store for fear of being verbally attacked. Many clients ask what is going on with that shop. Screaming and yelling, throwing up, bleeding, smoking in the store for sure, which is very detectable by non-smokers in the mall. anytime you walk by you wonder how those people in that condition could be operating. ESPECIALLY in a high-end mall in Saskatoon. Security is watching the store. There are dubious characters coming around the shop on a consistent basis that are obviously under the influence. The former employees mentioned should seek legal advice for breach of privacy regarding employment status and medical privacy. Complete breach of rights. It's clear that this business has gone downhill. If you bring your business to this shop, you are doing nothing but feeding the drug habits of Curtis G and Cherity R. Ask yourself why before you visit this shop. a string of bad luck? Liver cirrhosis happens over years of alcohol and drug abuse. This behaviour in the mall has been getting worse over the years and I cannot believe this man is still in business. This business is WAY overdue to be closed!

    2 Votes
  • Ch
    Cherity Ross Mar 08, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow, what ignorant words people are saying about the manager and owner of quality shoe repair! Curtis G is nothing like that or his business!! He is one of the best cobblers and one of the only ones left here in to on town but I am a personal friend lover and wife of his, and I'm not try a sugar coat this bit here's a piece of my mind about what I think, he is such a wonderfulnperson, but a parent a sibling, a son a friend a husband but most of all your friend and definitely a great cobbler of 28 years and still kicking even when he had to stop the shop running for a few days, which was just recently do to liver cerro his which is damage to the liver it's a very serious thing to have at such a young age like himself but he still managed to get up in the morning and go to work hopping and wobbling, he still yet, , after 1 hrs from coming from the hospital he still had ti, me to come and help us he is not only a cobbler but our survivor, our friend, our shoe doctor, our mr. Fix it or our macgiver!

    -2 Votes
  • Ch
    Cherity Ross Mar 08, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    These complaints are made up from disgruntal ex employees . These are totally untrue lies and it really upsets me to s3 this garbage coming out of mouth of these wanna bees that cannot fix a shoe if there life's depended on it.I have been in and out of the hospital because I have become really sick, most of my customers understand this, and if I am late getting there work done that is why, and considering that I had to fire Ricardo for a bad attitude and poor workmanship and Brian has left because of a heart attack, so not only I fell sick but I am also short 2 full time guys and am training new people to help, Just has been a string of bad luck for me !But I will be OK now and I am starting to get my shop and my organisation together and I would like it if these haters would just live there life's and stay out of my business, thank you to all the people that have prayed for me to get better and for there great understanding of what I have just had to go through recently, thanks again

    -2 Votes
  • In
    Inside Source Mar 24, 2015

    This guy used to run a place in Calgary, he has a criminal-record for assault and used to beat up his wife regularly. Neighbors used to call the police regularly, but he is a very convincing liar. The guy is violent and verbally abusive when drunk, and has multiple children with multiple women in different cities. Do not do business with this establishment under any circumstances. He would turn up for work drunk, abuse customers, threaten staff and eventually the mall refused to renew his lease. If you have any kind of aggressive response from him, or he appears under the influence of alcohol, call police immediately. He has a long rap-sheet and is known to police in Alberta. Have the police run his name through the Calgary data-base. This man has been in prison and has a rap-sheet. He is dangerous. Contact police if in any doubt whatsoever and notify mall management.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    LizeWarwa Jan 12, 2015

    https://m.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1551770448399166&skip_nax_wizard=true

    There is a page protesting the store and looking to have it closed. Feel free to join it.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MayaShortPants Jan 12, 2015

    This shop is bad news. Brian and Ricardo are ok, but the owner, Curtis Gennrich. Bad news that guy. I've complained to mall management about him multiple times. He shows up just loaded, drinks and smokes in the shop. He's belligerent to customers, abuses his workers and is overall just mean. I've had to take my shoes that he's "fixed" over to other places. He ruined a $180 pair of satin heels by dyeing the shoes the wrong color. And not like the two colors were off a bit. One was red and the other was black!! WTF!

    0 Votes
  • St
    StarPhoenix Jun 21, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    btw this is their facebook link to their shop. i posted on there and guess what... deleted straight away.

    https://www.facebook.com/centrequalityshoe?ref=stream&hc_location=stream

    This is the guy that is apparently the owner/operator. His name is Curtis Gennrich and you shouldn't do business with him. Actually when I spoke with Bryan he had no clue who Curtis was. Again a lie.

    https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=653744660&hc_location=timeline

    1 Votes
  • St
    StarPhoenix Jun 21, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WHY KEEP MY SHOES FOR A WEEK AND THEN TELL ME THAT YOU DIDN'T HAVE TIME TO DO IT. I CAN EASILY GIVE IT TO 20 OTHER GUYS IN THE CITY WHO CAN DO THE WORK ON TIME.

    I completely agree with the above complaints and I can tell you these guys are very rude and a absolute rip off. I would never step foot in their store again. My father has a rod in his leg and artificial joints in his hip so one of his legs is 3/4" shorter than the other. So as a present I bought him orthopaedic walking shoes for comfort and wanted to raise the heel of the right shoe by 3/4". I saw this shop so I took it to them. I needed the shoes before 20th June and that's when my dad was flying out to UK. I gave the shoes on 15th June and I told by Brian that this is the best shoe shop in Saskatoon and they'd have it ready by Wednesday 18th June and it would cost $65. Although I wasn't happy with the large price tag I still really wanted to get it done so my dad can wear it on his trip. So I gave them the shoes. I received a call on Tuesday and another guy said that its going to cost $100 and he will do it by Thursday. I was again a bit upset about costs but I really wanted it done and I again reconfirmed that it will be done by Thursday. On Thursday afternoon I phoned them and he said that he will have it by Friday morning and I still said to him, look if you can't do it tell me and he reassured me that he will have it ready by then. I went in before my parents flight on Friday morning and the shoes were sitting there untouched. I just snapped and my only question was why keep the bloody shoes for a week if you didn't have time to do it and why keep on reassuring me on the phone that you could do it. At the end of the day my dad went to UK without a good comfortable pair of shoes and I am glad he didn't touch my shoes anyway because if his behaviour is like this then I wouldn't want him to touch my shoes anyway, god knows what he would do with them.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    horserider Nov 18, 2012

    This manager sold me a pair of$300 boots Nov17 2012 we chat told him what I was going to use them for ''horse back riding" and mention that I was still looking for a pair with a heel so I wouldn't slip threw the stirrups on the saddle. I thought at Least I could me warm and buy stoppers for my stirrups. So I bought them he put the box on the co "covering the exchange policy "counter and rung me through and ripped my receipt off and we walked out. I decided to look one more place for boots and found a great pair of sorels that had a heel and where rated to --30 for a hundred bucks less Oh and to top them off they are water proof! Awesome for spring and winter . I went to return these boots and the guy working was very short with me shoved his papers and bangs where covering the policy saying exchange only b and said Thais was on my receipt I went to my car to look at this on my receipt it had been ripped off where the manger had ripped off the receipts I called my boyfriend as back up .we went back in and demanded to speak to the manger the same guy as before told me even more rude then before called the manger and he was out of this worked rude I have never been treated this rudely before

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.