Stevens TransportFraudulant business practices

D
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I am currently speaking with an attorney regardibng a class action lawsuit against Stevens for fraudulent business practices. I am looking for those who can state to "no forced dispatch" states in drivers manual that refusal of load is grounds for termination. False statements made during training. "Tests" being given in classroom with instuctor writing answers on board or giving correct answers. Abusive practices by DMs and dispatchers. Dispatchers and DMs advising drivers to "reexamine"logs to "look for places they might have shorted themselves on hours"

Responses

  • Sa
    Sallyq Mar 30, 2016

    Better Business Bureau®

    Start With Trust® | Online Complaint System


    BBB.org


    Contact Us


    What complaints do we handle?

    Disputes that relate to marketplace issues experienced with the services or products a business provides. BBB reserves the right to reject complaints that use abusive or foul language.

    We do not handle:
    Employee/employer disputes;
    Discrimination claims;
    Matters that are/have been litigated/arbitrated;
    Complaints against individuals not engaged in business;
    Issues challenging the validity of local, state, or federal law;
    Complaints against government agencies, including the postal service;
    Matters not related to marketplace issues.

    How do we handle your complaint?

    Everything you submit will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business’s response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


    ¿Estas buscando presentar una queja ante un negocio que se encuentra en México? Si es así haga clic aquí.


    Start your complaint

    Go to this website to express your concerns with bad company practices. Don't waste precious time and energy into websites that do nothing to help with the complaints being made.

    0 Votes
  • De
    demius1987 May 08, 2015

    Continued Complaint
    Attention: Counselor Ms. Carol Springer
    Upon arriving on Trainer's DARRON Kennedy truck I felt uncomfortable my first day the audio playing throughout the truck in Auxiliary mode on the radio discussed how African Americans were 2/3 of a person and homosexuals not being able to marry in a entertaining manner, this was day 1. Then throughout the training there were numerous conversations that made me uncomfortable and distracted me mentally such as occasions where he made comments saying "that all black people on the yard wore flip flops, wore lables on their ball caps, and wore their pants low that resembled prison B**ches. On other occasions he would speak of young African American men at the truck stops that made him nervous, and I asked why was he racially profiling these individuals and he went on to say that he was not intentially trying to seem racist, but he was from Minnesota and did not meet his first black person until he was 6 years of age which was his father's friend. On a different occasion he discussed Malcolm X saying that he was a angry black man and went on to discuss President Obama as a African American President who did nothing for black people, but black people simply voted for him because he was black. He eventually realized my discomfort, so he told me that people were to sensitive towards words in today's society..., and he played a skit on YouTube after saying that reverse racism exist. This video involved two people of African American and Caucasion race, and in the video there were multiple racial slurs such as Jungle monkey and ### used. On another occasion he refered to me as a monkey, when I made a driving error; He stated that he could teach a monkey how to drive, but he can't teach a monkey how to think. He also refered to African Americans as "you people" when telling a story about an unruly African American female student at his school; in the same conversation he said that he was known as the highschool racist. I do feel like there was a prejudice environment during the time that I was training on the truck, he was quick tempered, inpatient, mostly in the sleeper Birth either sleep, playing the Playing game console, or watching tv shows. We would go at minimum four days without showers, there were serveral occasions where I was forced to miss meals due to working on my 30 minutes breaks while he did not, and lacked sleep after being on duty allday during the times that he slept and my sleep was measured to his overnight sleep pattern that caused me lack in sleep. He told me that I had poor time- management because I wanted a full amount of sleep, wanted to buy water and food throughout the day, or would not continue to drive the day that I was sick. Although, there was many things that I learned in the time on the truck, I do feel like that the environment created by Mr. Kennedy hendered the concentration, focus, quality, performance, fairness of the training; while poorly representing Stevens Transport and a discrimination and harrasment free work place. I felt advising of this issue earlier than now would delay my training, cause issues in my reputation, and maybe neglected. Mr. Kennedy explained to me that the period of training was a job interview and If he did not endorse me as a safe, curteous, and efficient driver with a good and teachable attitude that I will not be able to advance into permanent employment with Stevens Transport. Honestly, I could not allow another trainee to experience or be subjected to what I have experienced over the last two weeks, and I feel that without anyone ever reporting such incidents, then it becomes continuous and ramains unresolved.

    I have enclosed some audio recordings of just a few of the instances (conversations) that I have mentioned above.


    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • De
    demius1987 May 08, 2015

    my Letter to VP of Risk Management; Ignored and retaliated against.
    Mr. Aaron,
    Hopefully, I am properly in compliance with the company's chain of command policy and procedure. I have attempted to exhaust the options at the training level which was originally my counselor Carol Springer, Safety Liaison Karena, and Director of Training William Tallent. I have not received any response or serious resolution of my complaint; but I do feel as though I have been Black-Balled and unfairly treated due to my complaint.
    Approximately, March 10, 2015 I sent an email with supporting recordings to my training counselor of my Trainer Darrell Kennedy verbal comments that I found to be continuous, offensive, and discrimilatory harassment during the entire time on the truck while in training. He refused room properly train me which I discussed fully and in detail to my training counselor; I received no resolution in this matter. I became so mentally stressful and intimidating, I had to remove myself from the truck by requesting home time. I really Love working for Stevens, and I once believed and inspired to grow as an asset to the company by utilizing my education and integrity while striving to put service before self.
    Once I arrived back to the yard to complete the final week of my training, I attempted to explain my grievances to Mr. William Tallent by explaining the reason why I was not properly trained being the issue I was having with Mr. Darrell Kennedy. At that point, Mr. Tallent explained that I was lucky that he didn't send my home by terminating my employment with Stevens Transport, and he demanded I give him reasons why he should give me another chance at training. He went on to to say that Ms. Karena, the safety counselor, had done me a favor by having a accident that was wrongly placed in my file removed; and that I was not taking responsibility for my part in my training by taking the initiative. He informed me that him, my trainer, and others believed that I was at a level 3 skill level which meant that I would loose 110 training hours. So, I accepted the 110 hours of additional training, but during the time of the additional training my concerns and needs was totally ignored; I was forced to sit on home time with my trainer for 8 days even after I had given advanced notice that this would prolong my training. My Qualcomm messages to my counselor asking for assistant with issues was ignored.
    I was forced to sit on the yard for four days without pay or meal tickets on from March 14-17. I was sent through Grad class after completing 358 hours of driving in training and after passing the Grad required testing I was given two additional road skill evaluations. I then was allowed to complete every step on my Yard clearance report, get cleared for a solo truck, and given a load home by my driver manager only to be told by Mr. William Tallent that against his original decision which was to send me home, he had decided to send me back on the road with another trainer, of his choosing, immediately to see if I could run the truck as a Solo driver.
    I do not understand where my ability to manage the duties of a Solo driver is questionable. Sir, I really would like a fair chance to become a great driver for Stevens. It is very hard for me to stay focus when I am not progressing, making a living financially, or able to work in a harassment and conflict free workplace since my hire date of January 21, 2015. I am in no way attempting to minimize my own mistakes in training such as a minor accident or trying to cause any conflicts; I would just like a chance to progress efficiently as my peers without retaliation and issues. Thanking you in advance for your time.


    Below you will find my original email to my counselor and attached Are copies of The recordings.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ranmachan Aug 30, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Seriously, I have compiled so information in discrepancies towards mileage and pay and what not, it will all make your heads spin. I am looking for some people to go through all this information with and see if there is combined problems we can submit together as a claim. I am livid beyond belief and someone, somewhere is going to pay for the lies and the thievery that has been going on for months now. And I completely agree with every one of you.

    0 Votes
  • La
    latgenitecoffee Jan 27, 2014

    If there are any lawsuits currently filed against Steven's transports, I am willing to offer my own testimony against this company. I have went through their program and I can tell you this, They lie to get you there, threaten to keep you there, break promises as fast as they can make them, and I wish that I could afford the attorney to sue them. I have testimony to offer and the phone numbers of witnesses to the threats. I want to chew them up a bit and I don't know where to begin. Yes, I did survive their program and now that I am safely away from them, it is time to take a stand. One law they break on a daily basis is the Truth in Lending Act. Second paragraph. Threats are made daily and that will require an attorney that I cant afford. There are many other questionable practices. Any lawsuits need a witness? [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Harlin Dec 10, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We are in... Stevens is making us more into debt. Now we are stuck with a contract of almost 4, 000. There is a lot we could talk about! We are just trying to survive and steven's is ripping people off! My email is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Dd
    ddrc Sep 27, 2012

    Whats the nrxt step

    0 Votes
  • Dd
    ddrc Sep 27, 2012

    How do i vet ahold of you.

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    SMF 18726 Sep 09, 2012

    I recently left Stevens because they didn't come close to giving me the mileage they said was typical. Do you have a law firm willing to get this case certified as a class action? I also have outstanding injuries caused by Stevens mandated physical competencies testing at some quack physical therapist. Let me know at [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ve
    Vegaslocal777 Sep 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have checked with BBB regarding Stevens Transport and they only list one complaint even though apparently there are many complaints listed on fraud websites such as this one. I am steering away from Stevens Transport and all the other companies like them (which seems to be nearly all of them) because of all the bad reviews and coomplaints I've read. My suggestion to all who have been mistreated by Stevens or any other Trucking / Training school is to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau so that there is a record of all the complaints and a rating which is due to the infraction. Right now, the BBB has given Stevens an A plus rating because they have only received one complaint in three years about this company. Everyone needs to file a complaint with the BBB on this company so that red flags are raised in the appropriate manner. Stevens isn't the only trucking company who operates and rips off students in this way. There are way too many doing this and they need to be stopped. They are simply getting money from the govenment to operate a school, pocketing the money and hanging the students out to dry.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carlos cc Oct 31, 2010

    Im in. I got tons of proof on several items too. Bills that have total miles paid to stevens and actual paid miles on load were much less. Got images of qualcom messages to deliver load after i told them i had no hrs to drive. Got a huge one for them. Firing me on the excuse that i drove 105 miles per hr even after i put down on the vehicle insoection report that the speedometer was not working. Plus their own mechanic confirmed it would appear that way because a lead wire had a short. I got many more too. Im in for the lawsuit.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.