The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Southside DogsFrank Popolizio

M Review updated:

My wife and I have had our Male Vizsla puppy for almost a year now that we received from Southside Dogs/Frank Popolizio. While we are extremely happy with our dog and love him, we were not exactly impressed with Franks demeanor and service. When we first e-mailed Frank we told him we wanted an 8 week old male Vizsla, and he replied saying that he would have a litter soon that we could have a puppy from. He bragged on an on about his facility, how clean it was and how his dogs are only the best. He sounded like he was trying to sell us a pitch like a salesman. So anyway, We sent our deposit and everything was fine. We decided we wanted to go to his facility and see "how clean it was". It was about a 5 hour drive and we ended up hitting a pretty bad storm. We informed Frank that we were coming a week ahead of time and even called that day to make sure everything was okay. He had no idea who we were when we called and acted like it was a huge inconvenience. When we arrived you can see that this place is a puppy mill, albeit a nice one, but still, at least 40 cages under a roof with a dog in each one. Even when we got there he wasn't even there and we waited in the smelly, freezing cold, little entrance for about an hour waiting for him to come. VERY VERY weird. When Frank got there, again, it was like he was a salesman, he asked us several times for a deposit and we had to remind him that we had already given on for an 8 WEEK OLD male puppy. We told him we wanted to see the facility and also the mother of the litter which he wouldn't allow because of the cold weather?? BS. At that point they brought out a 13 week old male and tried to get us to purchase this puppy and we again had to remind him that we wanted a male puppy from the new litter, he finally and reluctantly had one of his workers go and and get one for us so that we could see him. That lasted for about 30 seconds. We left feeling very unsatisfied and drove the 5 hours back home. The weeks passed and when we arrived to "select" our puppy, and I say select because he has you fill out a form so that you can be "matched" to your puppy. Don't be fooled, there will not be several puppies to interact with and then you pick one. There will be one puppy brought out and that's what you're given. We were still not allowed to see where the puppies were kept. I guess you can say we've had a relatively good experience with Frank. We love our dog, he's great, he's had some small health problems due to allergies but nothing that we blame on Franks breeding. Hopefully this will help people who want to deal with him in the future. Good product (if you get it) but horrible Customer Service, good luck!

Responses

  • Da
    Dawna Corscadden Miller Jun 07, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    https://www.puppyfind.com/view_listing/?list_id=i82808242c&sid=480fo1q513u5tk5jijj15ilte7&back=%2Ffor_sale%2F%3Fbreed_id%3D109%26country%3D%26state%3D%26city%3D%26page%3D4%26order_by%3Drand%26back%3D%252Fbrowse%252F%253Fstr%253Dw%2526page%253D1

    He's back at it again!!!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dawna Corscadden Miller Jun 07, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    He’s back at it again!!

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeff taruso May 11, 2020

    Stay away, these people are scumbags. They scam people from their dog breeding “puppy mill” to their nasty restaurant. They also are slumlords. Their apartment building caught on fire and killed someone due to negligence. They will ask you for a deposit and you’ll never get a dog. Look elsewhere frank and diane are the scum of the earth.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve James 1947 Dec 07, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It has been 2 full days that we have had Asha (our puppy), and I wanted to let you know how it was going. Well, she and my 2-year-old son, Adrian, have become BEST friends already, it’s hilarious how they interact. I am happy to say she came to us already practically house-trained! She has had 2 accidents, but both were our fault for not seeing the signs. On the day we got her, we went to a local event, “Peace in the Park”, near where we live. There she met so many people and children, and even some other dogs. She behaved very respectfully with the dogs, staying still while they sniffed her and waiting for them to approve before trying to initiate play. I was impressed! Her mother taught her well. She was also exposed to the noise of somewhat loud music being played live. At first, all of this made her nervous, but by the end of it she had come completely out of her shell and was running and playing with everybody. I think it was a great socialization experience for her. My son also got her to walk on a leash. She was following off the leash fine, but as soon as I attached it, she would park herself firmly wherever she was. Coaxing her forward with the smell of food wouldn’t even work at that point. Then she realized that if she complied, she could catch up to where Adrian was and walk alongside him, and that was all the incentive she needed. She now walks on the leash, with or without my son, like a champ! She has even conquered her fear of the porch stairs. She’s come along so much in just two days.. she’s very intelligent, too. Using very small pieces of chicken, I taught her “sit” and “down”(as in lay down) in under 5 minutes, and more importantly, she now knows to sit or lay down in the presence of my son when she gets too excited, rather than jumping at him. She’s already gone on many runs through the field across from our house and is loving life so far. Thank you for a wonderful girl. I’ve attached some pictures, and I’ll be in touch to let you know how she’s doing in the future. Thank you!.

    Comments

    -1 Votes
  • Mo
    Moose Cooper Nov 11, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It is amazing how many times people will write a letter to complain about something but not often write a letter to give a compliment ! Well this letter is about how amazing our second Southside Vizsla is! Lucy is doing great! She is happy and sweet and exactly what we expect from Southside. I have always said, if you are looking for a perfect “show dog Vizsla” then maybe Southside is not the place for you. If you are looking for a Vizsla that is healthy, has a great disposition and a wonderful companion dog, look no further than Southside. Our Southside Sophie is 10 years old. She is just as amazing as she was when we got her from Southside….and now Lucy does not disappoint . She is just as wonderful and sweet as Sophie. Southside Vizslas still rule !!

    -2 Votes
  • Vi
    Videl M. Jul 23, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    More Dogs from this so called "breeder" are being put into rescue currently since they decided to call the state to "dispose" of them

    1 Votes
  • Re
    Research...Please Oct 09, 2012

    It's unfortunate that people do more research when buying a toaster than buying a puppy -- keeping these ### in business!!! There are many resources out there to find reputable breeders, such as local and national breed clubs. Go to a dog show or other dog event (hunt tests, field trials, etc.) and meet owners and breeders who are actually involved with their dogs and not just mass producers. DON'T SUPPORT PUPPY MILLS!!! DO YOUR HOMEWORK!!!

    0 Votes
  • English Ian Aug 07, 2012

    why don't you buy a chinese dog

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • To
    ToughCookie Jul 25, 2012

    I'm fostering one if Frankie's GSPs . Rot in hell Frankie!

    1 Votes
  • An
    Anonymous76428 Jun 06, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    http://thedailystar.com/localnews/x728820388/Area-kennel-owner-faces-new-felony-charges

    June 6, 2012
    Area kennel owner faces new felony charges
    By Denise Richardson
    Staff Writer

    The owner of South Side Dogs and South Side Farms in Worcester was arrested during a court appearance Tuesday on additional charges related to his business activities, Otsego County deputies said in a media release.

    Frank Michael Popolizio, 66, of Schenectady, was charged with first-degree scheme to defraud, third-degree grand larceny and fourth-degree grand larceny, all felonies, and petit larceny, a misdemeanor, deputies said.

    Popolizio was arrested when he appeared at the Worcester Town Court to answer previous animal abuse charges, deputies said. He was arraigned on the new charges by Worcester Judge William J. Fisher and released on his own recognizance, pending another court appearance at 4 p.m. July 3.

    Popolizio was arrested after a six-week investigation by the Otsego County Sheriff's Office Criminal Investigation Division.

    Deputies received a complaint in late April from a Virginia resident who said she sent Popolizio $2, 100 as a down payment for miniature livestock in September, but she didn't receive the cattle or her money back.

    Based on further investigation, Popolizio is accused of stealing $26, 435 from numerous customers during the past five years as he "engaged in an ongoing fraudulent course of conduct by using false or fraudulent pretenses, representations and/or promises, " the release said.

    The customers lived in Virginia, Maryland, California, Pennsylvania as well as New York, deputies said.

    If convicted on the additional charges filed Tuesday, Popolizio faces up to 26 years in prison, deputies said.

    Otsego County Assistant District Attorney Marvin D. Parshall Jr. is prosecuting the case. Anyone else who believes they have been subjected to fraud by Popolizio is asked to call deputies at 547-4363 to file a complaint.

    On Feb. 2, Popolizio was charged with 49 counts of animal cruelty after state police, who investigated complaints that dogs there appeared to be neglected, raided South Side Dogs. The dogs were confiscated.

    The Susquehanna SPCA is caring for dozens of the seized dogs, and Popolizio's attorney said recently that he is opposing action that his client pay for their care. In a separate case, Popolizio already faces potential state prison time if he is convicted of any of five felony charges brought against him by the state Department of Taxation and Finance. Those charges related to his alleged failure to pay sales taxes collected at his now-closed Schenectady restaurant, The Pentagon.

    1 Votes
  • We
    weimaraner owner Feb 24, 2012

    I have had a similar experience with Frank. My dealings were very impersonal and the day I went to pick up my dog, they had no idea that I was going to be there that day. I love my dog, he is probably one of the best pure blood dogs I have ever owned. My only regret was getting him neutered because of the breeder agreement; that way when Frank gets shut down I could sell puppies from my dog. If anyone knows the location of his dogs that have been taken and up for adoption please let me know! What he lacked in respect for animals he definitely made up for in an expensive bloodline in many breeds. Beautiful, well mannered animals that deserve a better life than some crappy puppy farm.

    My friend also purchased a Weimaraner from Frank. When he took her home she was underweight and had tons of worms. The attributed it to the well water. So what if it was well water? You are in the business of making healthy dogs, purify the water before you give it to them.

    1 Votes
  • Ki
    Kimbagirl Jan 24, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Frank needs to be shut down, he is a liar, he will tell you your pup is healthy and give you forged papers from a "vet" stating your pup is whole & sound when they are not. I took my pup to my vet only to be informed that she was not a sellable dog & had a severe heart murmur which she inherited for either her sire or dam. Frank is selling unhealthy dogs to innocent people, Don't let his website fool you, he has a history of complaints from other innocent puppy buyers that have experienced a bait & switch with their puppy purchase.
    Once he has your deposit, you can wait up to 9 months for a puppy. It is very sad to hear that he is still in the business, hopefully enough people will step forward to shut him down.

    2 Votes
  • Do
    dog lover in schdy Jan 22, 2012

    Hey all, this Frank Popolizio is a big absentee landlord in Schdy. He's got properties in my neighborhood, they are terrible, need ot call code enforcement all the time. He is a tax delinquent. His properties are riddledd with code violations. There was a fire at one of his apartment buildings last year and someone died, he claimed he didn't know where the tenant was. He must have paid someone off in the city because we've heard nothing about it since the fire department suggested it was a homicide. And the guy doesn't carry insurance either, so when the building had the fire, the cost of knocking it down had to be paid by the city. For shame.

    1 Votes
  • Do
    dog lover in schdy Jan 22, 2012

    Terrible

    0 Votes
  • Bs
    BSimpson1231 Jan 22, 2012

    After calling the shelter who never called me back, the state police who said they have no knowledge or press release with something like that. and the news station who first posted the story who said they ran it after a anonymous, then had to retract it when they couldn't confirm it. I called the kennel and spoke with Frank. There has been no SPCA or Police at his kennel. He hasn't even had word of the Facebook story but he will look into it now.

    -1 Votes
  • Ge
    GeneMaynard Jan 22, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There's No Such Thing as a 'Responsible Breeder'
    Many people know to avoid puppy mills and "backyard" breeders. But many kind individuals fall prey to the picket-fence appeal of so-called "responsible" breeders and fail to recognize that no matter how kindly a breeder treats his or her animals, as long as dogs and cats are dying in animal shelters and pounds because of a lack of homes, no breeding can be considered "responsible."

    All breeders fuel the animal overpopulation crisis, and every time someone purchases a puppy or a kitten instead of adopting from an animal shelter, homeless animals lose their chance of finding a home—and will be euthanized. Many breeders don't require every puppy or kitten to be spayed or neutered prior to purchase, so the animals they sell can soon have litters of their own, creating even more animals to fill homes that could have gone to animals from shelters—or who will end up in animal shelters or so-called "no-kill" animal warehouses themselves.

    Simply put, for every puppy or kitten who is deliberately produced by any breeder, an animal in an animal shelter dies. Producing animals for sale is a greedy and callous business in a world in which there is a critical and chronic shortage of good homes for dogs, cats, and other animals, and the only "responsible breeders" are those who, upon learning about how they contribute to the overpopulation crisis, spay or neuter their animals and get out of the business altogether.

    Breeding Trouble:
    Producing more animals—either to make money or to obtain a certain "look" or characteristic—is also harmful to the animals who are produced by breeding. Dogs and cats don't care whether their physical appearance conforms to a judge's standards, yet they are the ones who suffer the consequences of humans' manipulation. Inbreeding causes painful and life-threatening genetic defects in "purebred" dogs and cats, including crippling hip dysplasia, blindness, deafness, heart defects, skin problems, and epilepsy. Distorting animals for specific physical features also causes severe health problems. The short, pushed-up noses of bulldogs and pugs, for example, can make exercise and even normal breathing difficult for these animals. Dachshunds' long spinal columns often cause back problems, including disc disease.

    Adoption: The Only Compassionate Option
    There is no excuse for breeding animals or for supporting breeders. If you love animals and are ready to care for a cat or a dog for the rest of the animal's life, please adopt from your local animal shelter, where there are dogs and cats galore—tails wagging and hearts filled with hope, looking out through the cage bars, just waiting to find someone to love. Shelters receive new animals every day, so if you don't find the perfect companion to match your lifestyle on your first visit, keep checking back. When you find your new animal companion, you'll be glad that you chose to save a life—and made a new best friend as well.

    0 Votes
  • Em
    EMorisette Jan 21, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We, too, are ashamed to report that we have a dog from Southside. He is a wonderful animal, well-socialized and sweet. But when we met his mother, supposedly named "Lady, " she didn't even know her name. She knew "come here" and "sit." How sad. But she was a sweet dog and we got to see her with her two-week-old puppies. They were in a heated barn stall with a thin blanket as bedding in a whelping box made of wood. We saw a pavilion in the distance from the heated barn filled with many, many dogs, but we were not allowed to go up there and see them. I wonder if that is where the dogs in poor health were.

    I have contacted the Susquehanna (Otsego County) SPCA and asked to foster a dog to help make amends for buying from this terrible man. They are swamped with phone calls at the moment, but are accepting donations of food and money to help in this operation. At the moment, the court is still in the process of making a decision, as the dogs have been seized on only a temporary basis.

    Attached is a photo of the mother of our dog, in her stall.

    3 Votes
  • Ju
    Jumpover Jan 21, 2012

    Once he opened his restaurant on Erie Blvd - The Pentagon ... perhaps he forgot he had a dog business... egads... this is just horrible to think of those poor helpless dogs...

    0 Votes
  • Me
    meangreenplant Jan 21, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    1/20/12
    CROSSPOSTING: Please share!!! We have a terrible, heartbreaking situation in Upstate New York with Frank Popolizio’s Southside Kennels located in South Worcester, NY. The Otsego County SPCA has been called in, as well as NY State Troopers, to remove over 130 dogs that are staked out w/barrels for shelter and no bedding in the barrels in subzero weather. The dogs are emaciated, eating their own feces, and in horrible physical condition and unable to fend for themselves. There are vizslas, GSP’s, Weimaraners, and Rhodesian Ridgebacks in peril that I know of. There may be other breeds at this puppy mill as well. Please help me get the word out to the neighboring rescue people. The Otsego County SPCA is overwhelmed with the number of dogs they are going to have to take in and they have asked for help. The director, and contact person for this SPCA is a lady by the name of Liz Mackey; her phone number is [protected] . This is a Cooperstown, NY number and the SPCA is located just south of Cooperstown

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tamaridge Jan 21, 2012

    Extremely sad and thank goodness he's being shut down !! I was on his site just a few minutes ago .. I can see how people would consider this a safe facility by just checking out the site ..The only way this is going to stop is by informing the public what to look for and questions to ask ..Here is a site with great info http://www.thepuppymillproject.org/help_me_find_a_dog.html

    also here is his web page !!! http://www.southsidedogs.com/
    I spotted red flags being a reputable breeder of ridgebacks

    1 ) three large breeds ??? I have a hard time keeping up with just my ridgebacks . All three breeds have different needs and the space you would have to provide for them ..

    2) He's not active in any rescue groups of any of theses breeds and only belongs to AKC ..

    3) puppy care !! my thoughts would be how is he able to socialize all these puppies properly ..and also finding the right homes ! When I have a litter, the time between my family life dog and puppies I'm so exhausted ...So I can't imagine having other breeds

    4) Champion Bloodlines "how distend in the pedigree "

    0 Votes
  • Jr
    jrossi Jan 20, 2012

    This breeder is a ###! Do not buy any puppies from him. hopefully he'll get shut down!

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    capistrano6 Jan 20, 2012

    Just got a Facebook posting stating that Otsego SPCA and state troopers have moved in to remove over 130 dogs from this place, some who were tied to outside barrels with no bedding. They were emaciated, dirty and eating their own feces. A call has gone out to anyone who can step forward and adopt these poor beasts when they become available. A true puppy mill. May the owner burn in hell.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.