The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Smoke Anywhere UsaStealing money from my account and false advertising

This was advertised as a Risk Free Trial Program. I signed up and authorized them to take the $9.95 shipping and handling from my bank account. I could return the product if I chose to, by requesting a Return Authorization Number. They refuse to respond to that request, the terms of the transaction have now changed and there is no way to contact them. They are going by numerous names such as EZ Smoker & Smoke Anywhere USA, and when I tried to call the other number, the representative denies the affiliation. They have taken $89.95 and $29.95 as well as the agreed upon $9.95 but these amounts have been taken by two different companies that they claim are not affiiated. How can this be? I finally had to close my bank account. This is one of many such complaints so I doubt it was ony my mistake. This is a fraud and scam and should be stopped. Maybe we should get a class action law suit going.

Responses

  • Ta
    Talib Oct 12, 2009

    Exactly the same thing happened to me. They stole about $119.00 from my account and then another transaction of $29.95. Can anyone please tell me how to get my money back?

    Talib Pirani
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jennifer3320 Oct 13, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just found the same thing on my account!!! I checked and there is no phone number on the website. I JUST SENT and email. On 10/3/09 they took out 89.95 and on 10/6/09 they took 29.95. I ONLY authorized 9.95 for shipping!

    This is ridiculous!

    Jenny

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Randym Oct 20, 2009

    Same think has happened to me. Perhaps we can contact the state attorney general.

    1 Votes
  • Cs
    cshipman Oct 31, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same thing here. First my account was billed $9.95 for the risk-free trial, then $89.95, and now $29.95 and still no product and no way to contact them!

    Craig

    1 Votes
  • Ol
    oldtrrooper Oct 31, 2009

    I am in the same boat as the rest of the posters.First the $9.95, then the $89.95, and still no product. I will
    be closing my account, and opening another. In the meantime if anyone knows how to stop them, then please
    let me know.

    1 Votes
  • 99
    999dozer Nov 02, 2009

    This is starting to sound like a broken record! I had $89.95 & $29.95 taken out of my checking account The same day! That's $119.95 dollars, and who knows if will stop there! What I want to know, has anybody filed a formal complaint with the B.B.B. or the state attorney generals office yet?
    These people are committing FRAUD, They need to be shut down, a class action suit filed against them and be sentenced to the fullest extent of the law! I AM NOT closing my account again! Just opened a new one, not 3 months ago because of identity theft!
    Please let there be a lawyer in this group to get the ball rolling on these thieves!

    1 Votes
  • Pi
    pissedoffsailor Nov 02, 2009

    The same exact thing has just happened to me. I had authorized the $9.95 to be taken out for the risk free trial, and now I have had an additional $29.95 and $89.95 taken from my account. No product, and out of $120. I'm currently trying to find a lawyer or get some sort of legal process going against these con artists.

    Zach

    1 Votes
  • La
    LARAA Nov 02, 2009

    Same thing happened to me, it was advertised as only a charge of 9.95, then 89.95 came out of my account, then 29.95 a day later. I emailed them and they responded saying they were adding 7 days to my free trial (which I didn't even know was a free trial to begin with) and took the last charge out the very next day. I had to cancel my debit card today but filed a dispute with my bank since the debit card is affiliated with Visa, if all goes well I will have the charges back in my account in 3-5 days, as long as this company doesn't try to prove I authorized it. I hope there is a lawyer in this group, also. The first unauthorized charge overdrew my account so all together this has cost me $149.85!!! I think more needs to be done to get the word out about this company. I am sending the product back by registered mail today so I have some proof they got it back. Another expense to add to the list.

    Laurie

    1 Votes
  • Ph
    p_h082002 Nov 03, 2009

    Yup, $89.95 and $29.95 with me too. Here is some more information but this looks like a blatant scam...weird thing is, I actually received an e-cigarette in what looks like a trial packaging. This does appear to be somewhat of a real company but I have no idea whats going on. B-of-A is really good with this type of stuff though so I'm not too worried but I will be keeping an eye out.

    http://topgoogletrends.netcashdaily.net/smoke-51-review-learn-if-smoke-51-works

    Paul

    1 Votes
  • Vi
    Victem13 Nov 03, 2009

    Same thing has happened to me. The only difference is I never ordered any product from these people but was charged $9.95, 29.95, & the next day another $ 89.95. My credit card company is checking into these charges. I can not afford this problem and have been checking on my own I did get an address and phone number for Smoke Anywhere USA---

    Phone : [protected]
    Address: Smoke Anywhere USA, Inc.
    3101 W. Hallandale Blvd.
    Hallandale, Fl. 33009

    Sure hope this helps. These people ought to be shut down after they refund our money and then locked up for grand theft.

    1 Votes
  • Cr
    CRE Nov 03, 2009

    Wow! All of you are stating the exact same story that is happening to me. We need to let the Attorney Generals of our states know. Right now I'm just trying to keep my bank account from being overdrawn!

    1 Votes
  • P0
    p'd off Nov 04, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same story here. I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau of Southeast Florida and have contacted my bank to see what they can do. Criminals! Hopefully, the BBB will check into it and shut them down, and maybe by some miracle, they will refund our money!

    1 Votes
  • Gr
    grump Nov 04, 2009

    Same thing has happend to me. I don't want to change my account either but cant afford for them to keep hitting my account either. Does anyone know if they hit it more than the 3 times?

    1 Votes
  • Wo
    WoeAsYou Nov 04, 2009

    How about quitting? Quitting is free.

    -2 Votes
  • Ha
    hate them Nov 05, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    HOPE BBB SHUT THEM DOWN TODAY!!

    1 Votes
  • Ya
    yardieguhl Nov 05, 2009

    I'm really sorry to hear you all got ripped off by this company. I hope you can get your money back thru your credit card companies. Remember you should always report fraud to the IC3.gov website, they will open an investigation and with the amount of bad news I've read about these jerks they will probably get shut down. I looked there when I wanted to purchase my e-cigarette, but I found a lot of similar complaints so I went to a different website. I got an e-cigarette ($20), charger ($8) and refills from pulsetv.com for any of those who are still interested in these alternatives. The pulsetv company was reputable and have a number where you can call and actually talk to a human. I'm pretty pleased with it.

    Good luck to everyone

    2 Votes
  • Di
    dianelasvegas Nov 06, 2009

    call the federal trade commission and file a suit its free and get the consumer action book its FREE and helpful.

    1 Votes
  • Ri
    rippedoff222 Nov 07, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same issue here verbatim. How disappointing. I am happy to be a part of any efforts to get our refunds and put these people out of business.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Chuck Turner Nov 07, 2009

    CPA network promoting this scam is MediaTrust:

    Corporate Headquarters
    MediaTrust
    404 Park Avenue South 2nd Floor
    New York NY 10016
    Regional Offices

    Toronto
    579 Richmond St W. Suite 100
    Toronto ON M5V 1Y6
    Canada

    Santa Barbara
    24 E. Cota Street, Suite 102
    Santa Barbara, CA 93101

    Sales: 877.987.8785 x 2
    Publishers: 877.987.8785 x 3
    Marketing: 877.987.8785 x 4
    Business Development: 877.987.8785 x 5

    Sales Inquiries
    [email protected]

    Publishers and Affiliate Inquiries
    [email protected]

    Marketing and Public Relations Inquiries
    [email protected]

    Proof: http://www.findaffiliateoffers.com/index.php?function=search&search=smoke&=


    Biton, Shlomi
    Smoke Anywhere USA, Inc.
    3101 W Hallandale Blvd
    100
    Pembroke Park, FLORIDA 33009
    US
    Phone: [protected]
    Phone: [protected]
    Email: [email protected]
    http://whois.domaintools.com/selectsmoker.com


    Go to www.FTC.gov and file a complaint - also with the AG of your state and of Florida

    2 Votes
  • Sc
    screwedinsocal Nov 07, 2009

    Same thing happened to me. I just finished filing a report with the Federal Trade Commission, the Florida state Attorney General as well as the www.ic3.com website.

    2 Votes
  • Tl
    TLC58 Nov 07, 2009

    I also have been scammed. My bank is working on trying to get my money back. I will be filing a complaint with every organization I can find. Everytime you call 305.749.2676 you get a recording and the information will change...advising different email addresses. The charges to my checking account have been made under different Business names: SMOKE ANYWHERE USA INC. EZ SMOKER AND SMOKE-51. ?????? I have called, emailed all the addresses I could find (most returned as "UNDELIVERABLE"), faxed, filled out a form on their web-site and nothing...no response at all. My account has been charged; $9.95/89.95/2-charges of $29.95 I did google ATTORNEY GENERAL FLORIDA and found the form, but it has to be printed and mailed. I live in Kentucky so I will file one with my state also. I also went on the consumer complaints web-site, but they want a $25.00 filing fee??? Which ment I would have to give them my bank info...NOT! I hope someone gets this straightened out for all of us...GOOD LUCK!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Another-Sucker Nov 08, 2009

    I got F$#ked too. Originally sent my complaint to another company (similar name but later learned there were not the culprits) but they were kind enough to redirect my anger to those ### at Smoke51.com owned by Smoke Anywhere USA, Inc. If you want to deal with a “Square Deal, No Games” company, contact www.smokeanywhere.com (no connection with those thieving ### Smoke Anywhere USA.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AmEx Employee Nov 10, 2009

    Just an idea... but maybe you all should oh I dont know, stop smoking?

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kathleen Hard Nov 11, 2009

    I guess they change the company name from smoke anywhere into smoke everywhere.
    I had to close my debit account. It was an advertisement on Web MD.com.

    0 Votes
  • Tm
    tmichael73 Nov 11, 2009

    I got scammed too. The only way to resolve this problem is to close your bank account and reopen one. One thing, though, I actually recieved the product. It worked for about 7 days then went defective. Sent email to company, no response. I couldn't find a number to call. This is blatant fraud and needs to be shut down. I am out over a hundred dollars of unauthorized charges.

    0 Votes
  • Wj
    W.J. ADams Nov 12, 2009

    Has anyone been ripped off by "getsmartsmoker?" It's the same deal as everyone has mentioned, however they ship from England??? I ordered the "free trial: for $9.95 + .30, in early October of this year. I kept getting emails telling me my shippment was delayed due to the "overwhelming response" & that they were extending the "trial" from 10 days to 17 days. btw: the $10.25 I paid was for shipping. I received the priduct (what I thought was a sample pack) on 11/9 & they charged me $99.99 on 11/10. I called them & they said that under "terms & conditions" small print section on main page - that it "clearly states" the rules. I told them that I had just received the package so they said they'd extend my trial for 4 more days. Meanwhile I had no idea any of this was going to happen - the $99.99 is still stuck in "pending" on my checking account so my bank can't do anything about it. Now I evidently have to mail this package back to England w/some sort of tracking info. w/it. Incedently - part of this $99.99 is shipping? I already paid for the shipping when the charged me the $10.25 ($9.95 + .30) 2 separate charges. As I said - This is getsmartsmoker.com out of England. I wonder if it's the same company as all of you have mentioned. The charge that hit my cresit card was from Panama Florida???

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    Smokeanywhereusa Nov 12, 2009

    Dear all disgruntled.

    I am sorry for your negative experience with Smoke Anywhere USA, and its smoke51 electronic cigarettes. The company is doing its best to refund everyone who does not want to keep their electronic cigarette, however we must insist for those who have received thier trial pack, that it must be returned before a refund can be credited to your credit/bank card.

    Upon the introduction of this offer the company was deluged with orders, over 30, 000 in just over a week. We were not prepared for such an overwhelming response, we have doing our best to get back to everyone who has written the company. There are a small group of persons who may have slipped through the cracks and were billed before their product was shipped out. Again, We are answering every email that comes in to us, unfortunately its taking longer than we would all like.

    I understand your displeasure and mistrust, howerver we are offering those of you that are dissatisfied with our compnay and customer service, coupon codes for use on our website. I know this may not sound like much consolation to those of you that distrust us and our company, but know that we are not a scam, we are in no way attempting to steal your money, and how could we, (you would, and are, just notifying your bank who is charging us back for your purchase and refunding your money.)

    There is nothing illict going on here. Again we apologize and are doing everyting we can to address your concerns.

    Respectfuly yours,

    Smoke Anywhere USA, Inc.

    0 Votes
  • Jf
    jfrivers Nov 13, 2009

    Same story here.../these people are thieves and scammers. I have filed a complaint with the Florida Attorney general...you can do so on line. I f you are one of the rare ones to actually receive the crappy product it is just that...piece of crap. i would be hapy to be a part of any class action suit.

    1 Votes
  • Sm
    smoker for 50 years Nov 13, 2009

    Received a package from smoke anywhere.. just refills not free e cig also shipped was $1.75. What can I do with that package? They already stole $9.95 for that also $89.95 and $28.95 from my account. Will try to check with the web for ic3.com.. I am praying that they will stop the crookers and pay us all our money back to our house addresses not directed to our accounts because I had to change the account in my bank.

    2 Votes
  • So
    somepersonz Nov 15, 2009

    Sometimes banks will agree to refund you in situations like this, but not always.

    1 Votes
  • Ye
    yeswecan2 Nov 15, 2009

    Always always always use a credit card -- credit card companies limit your liability to $50, and often $0, if the company doesn't deliver or overcharges.

    1 Votes
  • Po
    P----------off Nov 17, 2009

    Same thing happened to me...had to close my bank account as the monthly charges continued. No one answers phone or they put you on hold and then never pick up.

    What a SCAM!! Get these phony rip off artists!!

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    abbyvlle Nov 17, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I don't take chances with my bank account. If I sign up for something to be sent, I use a debit card that you buy in different amounts, and use that. You can get them at Walgreens drug stores. They don't even ask that the sample be sent back, because they are to busy screwing people that did use a credit card or a bank account. $5.oo eliminates future problems.

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    Glen Showalter Nov 20, 2009

    I have had the same problem with this place. Has anyone gotten a return yet from this company? I am going to file whatever complaints I can, and if anyone comes up with any thing else we can do please let me know. Thanks, Glen.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shirley mace Nov 21, 2009

    same thing happened to us. tried to call, email, block charges and finally had to cancel my card.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Montgomery Nov 22, 2009

    You are rip- off artists, Wuhen I ordered your product, you didn't waste any time taking the money for the trial shipment out of our account. And we never got the trialpkg. Then you waited and you took out $239.00 out of our acct. When I called you and demanded my money back, you told me I had to return the product. When I told you I never got the product you told me it showed Whetever you were looking at showed that it had been shipped.
    It came 4 days later ( time enough for you to ship it to us). Then you told me I had two accounts. I told you there should have been only one acct. I called you again yesterday and asked where the money was because when it came in to the post office my husband tod the postal clerk to send it right back. He NEVER left the post office with it. You told me to fight with my bank to get my money back.
    I am going to File with the FCC and the FBI's mail fraud unit. about you and your company
    Clara Montgomery

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Randym Nov 23, 2009

    I finally received a refund after filing a complaint with the BBB. They sent me an RMA number 3 or 4 days after I filed the complaint. I sent the kit back and received a refund 1 week after I sent it back.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lil midget2 Nov 27, 2009

    I agree the same thing happened to me and they ended up telling me if I want my money back to fight with my bank. They took a total of $259.70 out of my account. I got the card numbers changed so they can't draw anymore out. My bank has returned all but 19.90 they said they would fight with the company to get their money from the company.
    I am going to file an Ic3 complaint hopefully we can get them shut down

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    fredsimon Nov 30, 2009

    they got me $9.95 and then $99.10 i was not going to do it but my wife said to stop smoking and try it the way i read the terms was 7 days to try i got them today 11/30/2009 and they sent them 11/28/2009 i seen they billed my visa $99.10 before i got them i called them today to get back my $99.10 and they say i order on 11/15/2009 and im over my 7 days to try but they mail them out 11/28/2009 so this is a BIG RIP OFF RIP OFF !!!

    0 Votes
  • Am
    amethyst114 Dec 23, 2009

    Same thing Happend to me

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.