Siberian Angel NY CatteryDeath of a kitten due to fip

D Sep 10, 2020
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

We picked up our kitten on August 15th 2020. Our kitten passed away on September 9th 2020 after only three weeks in our home. On September 4th we noticed he had an abnormal rounded belly. After playing phone tag with our vet we made the decision to bring him to an animal hospital on September 8th. The vet believed he had worms and treated him but felt he wasn't critical and sent him home.

Wednesday September 9th I found him hiding in our bathroom unconscious and rushed him to a closer animal hospital. He was diagnosed with FIP which is a fatal disease for kittens, and more common in catteries. I informed Lili that I was at the animal hospital so she could inform other owners from his litter. Her response was to inform me as my kitten was dying that if I wanted a refund or another kitten, I would need to spend another $600 for an autopsy.

My husband and I made the difficult decision to put the kitten down after draining his belly, multiple rounds of sugar injections, and fluids didn't help. We informed Lili on Thursday morning and her response was cruel and accusatory. She asked why we hadn't done more for the kitten when we spent nearly $1, 000 on treatment and watched him die in our arms the night before. She told other owners I warned on social media that she had not known a kitten was sick which was a blatant lie.

Responses

  • Li
    LiliShap Sep 12, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear Danielle Pirhala, this is Siberian Angels cattery owner Liliya Shapovalova.
    I still don't know if any of my kittens died because I don't have any documentation to proof his death from you. No death report, no admission to a hospital, no tests, no procedures, no blood work, no fluid test result, no nescopsy. NOTHING! I am very sorry if it is happen to my favorite Winnie, I loved him so much! he was very strong boy, leader of the litter and his health was certified by licensed veterinarian on the same day he was going forever home. (by the way FIP is not happening in 3-5 days, google about the disease. It takes from 2 month up to 6 month to die from FIP)., I am very sorry but you are not my family to trust your words with no proof. You failed to provide any documentation.
    I am owner and breeder of the Siberian Angels cattery will accept responsibility if proof of diagnosis is provided. I am very responsible with my cats and kittens. They are my kids, I love them so much! All my breeding cats are tested for FIV/ Leukemia - Negative. I provide all information and tests to my customers. Kittens are going home with medical record with all vaccinations on time, deworming, preventive anti flea medications, microchip and health licensed veterinarian certificate. I do accept responsibility if anything happening, people know me for a long time in breeding world. I just have to save myself from scammers- that is why I am asking for proof. Please understand.

    -4 Votes
  • Da
    Danielle Pirhala Sep 14, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @LiliShap I have emailed you the documentation you have asked for. My husband and I tried to text you today but it was unable to be delivered.

    Comments

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Danielle Pirhala Sep 14, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @LiliShap You’re absolutely right FIP doesn’t occur over a few days, and he was only in our care for a few weeks meaning he got infected prior to us picking him up. We have no other cats in our home and this is a feline virus.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    LiliShap Sep 14, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am very sorry for this unfortunate event. I will issue a replacement immediately after I have in my possession a laboratory blood work - feline corona virus positive, abdominal fluid test result and necropsy. Reliance on deep palpation to diagnose FIP as a sole testing method is at least irresponsible. Your first step is to insure you definitely have a correct diagnosis. There are many symptoms similar to FIP, such as Toxic Poisoning or Trauma. Proof of diagnosis is not provided. I am sorry again but I can not be responsible in this case.

    -9 Votes
  • Da
    Danielle Pirhala Sep 15, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @LiliShap So first you say you need documentation on your response to our complaint online, we provide that documentation and now the diagnosis from THREE separate vets isn’t good enough for you? He died after only being in our home for three weeks regardless of the diagnosis, your contract says you are responsible for providing a healthy kitten which clearly wasn’t the case here.

    You are not a Vet, you are not allowed to decide what he died of you are simply a breeder. My husband and I are trained medical professionals, nothing was diagnosed using “deep palpation” which simply means touching his stomach with their hands, you aren’t even using the correct terminology.

    What’s irresponsible is lying to other owners who are asking for information and saying you don’t not know of a kitten who was ill which clearly is not the truth. How dare you say he may or died of trauma or poisoning you truly are a cruel person. You say you care about your animals, but clearly money is more important to you.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.