SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Sheila Gray Acting Teacherterrible teacher

1
N Review updated:

I attended her acting classes and witnessed her to be callus and money hungry. For starters at the beginning of all of her classes she sits in her chair guiding the students through a half hour relaxation warm up. Which may I add takes up half the classes time. Our eyes are closed for it but you can hear her texting on her blackberry which makes the most irritating clicking noises. Not helpful for a relaxation excersize. Also throughout the warmup she's counting her money. She is often 20 minutes late to her own class making her students wait. She eats throughout class and spits on you while doing her critiques. Blowing her nose and hocking lougies. She has these long mundane egotistical, pretentious, stories she tells about herself instead of teaching. She is constantly name dropping. If a student doesn't quite understand her ridiculous method of "carving people out of thin air" she berates and yells at them, instead of taking the time to show them. She is unfit to be an acting teacher, or any kind of teacher for that matter. A joke, in fact. Go to her class if you want a good laugh.

Responses

  • Kl
    Klavdia Jan 07, 2012

    I started taking Sheila's Class recently and I already see how it takes me to another level!
    She is a real methods teacher!!! She knows how to push the right buttons in you and get it out from you! I will highly recommend her to anyone and suggest to stick to her for at least for 6 months. I saw a tremendous growth from the fellow students, who stuck to her for a while! And her clients / students GET JOBS!! She is an awesome coach! A mentor!
    So what if she mentioned her celebrities clients?!!! Don't we all want to hear about a real life experience? And talk about food is rediculous! I always bring my food with me, since I take 2 classes in a row and it's 6 hours long. Sheila teaches all day long with no breaks. One of my friend, who is a professional actor from Russia, with the background in theatr and films brought his daughter to her teen class . He called me later and told me that he finally found a real, true teacher. He wasn't even allowed to be in a room, and could just eaves dropping. I would say- just focus on technique!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Max beesley Jul 14, 2019

    @Klavdia NY Ny the first review on here is ridiculous. Without giving there name which I’d love to know as would sheila. I’m sure she’d have a good idea why perhaps the class is t working for them.
    But to say terrii Le and take personal pot shots is bullshit.

    Let me tell you I e worked with her for 25 years. She is one of the beat in the business and her methods have never failed.

    So instead of attacking someone and trying to do damage to their rep which by the way you won’t there are too many success stories. Think about another profession.
    Max beesley.

    -1 Votes
  • In
    incredibly hurt Jan 24, 2020

    @Max beesley She is abusive, nobody deserves to be yelled at like that. I needed trauma therapy after her class, no joke. I had no idea what a “normal” class was like, because I was just starting out. She should not be teaching. It hurts people. Pushing someone doesn’t have to involve insults, yelling, or belittling. All these comments here about “oh you got your feelings hurt, get out of the business” are exactly what is happening!!! Why is that a good thing to point out... like “haha, guess you can’t take the heat, you big wuss.” We are not “weak” for being affected by someone so abusive. We are being honest about our feelings and trying to protect other vulnerable artists. She has the capacity to traumatize her students deeply. Why risk it? There are other teachers who don’t have to abuse students to get good results.

    2 Votes
  • De
    DenaF Jan 07, 2012

    Sheila Gray is an outstanding acting teacher and coach. She is very passionate, insightful and dedicated. I would try to make her audition workshop if you can January 27 - 29th.

    As far as "yelling", well she better yell at me if I'm stuck in fear and cannot access my truth, but then again, I have developed that trust with her and she knows that is what works for me. A lot of emotions are alive in an acting class, hopefully. Yelling is NOT her default so I hope not to give that impression. She does not berate or belittle any student. She passionately wants each student to find their truth and be solid, talented and whole actors, (in my opinion).

    As far as eating, well, she allows all of us to eat in her class. Thank goodness because the classes can go on very late into the night and if you are there for the second class, it can be exhausting. I like to bring a healthy snack and most times will offer her and others some. We are in this together. Is it unconventional, maybe, but after all it is just food.

    Sculpting, wow. That is challenging work and many times I wish I could just skip over it. However, when I invest the time in doing it, it pays off. It isn't a technique for everyone but I love it. Certainly not one she just made up. It challenges my ego as well to not give a care as to what others are thinking of me. This is a big hurdle while working on a movie set in front of hundreds of strangers.

    Honestly, I wish I could take Sheila with me on every audition but then I would be the most successful actor in Hollywood and then my fears would start to feel lonely.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    logmacrae Jan 07, 2012

    I attend Sheila's acting classes on a weekly basis and can say first hand that Sheila teaches her students the techniques and processes that make successful actors and actresses. l personally love the way she continues to push and motivate me to take my career to the next level in every class. Although Sheila's style of teaching many seem unorthodox or weird when you first attend she truly knows how to get results. Not only would I never seek another teacher but I also feel comfortable enough with Sheila to tell her my own life problems and fears, which in turn she is able to use to make me a better actor.

    -1 Votes
  • Cg
    CGP07 Jan 07, 2012

    I have been attending her acting classes on and off for a little over 2 years now and she has been a great teacher for me. Sheila is hands on with her teaching because she wants to get the best out of the actor. All the students I have come across in her class have been great and are really there to learn the craft.. I recommend her classes if you are serious about your future, if not then go somewhere else.

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    PH3000 Jan 07, 2012

    I've been attending Sheila's classes on and off for over 8 years. In that time I've also attended many acting classes taught by other teachers because I've relocated many times over the years. Sheila is hands down the best acting teacher I have ever worked with. I would highly recommend taking her classes to anyone that wants to improve as an actor. I feel myself improving with each class. That's something I've never experience with any other teacher. On top of that Sheila is an extremely generous and caring person.

    0 Votes
  • No
    Nowornever Jan 07, 2012

    I can respect all of these comments, but when you put someone into this type of vulnerable place and tell them to "sculpt" and had never have actually taught them your method of acting and say watch the other students. Is not exactly teaching. When a student clearly has trouble with it and continues to "do it wrong, " there should be some help. Instead of being yelled at. You dont teach algebra but saying watch the other students and then expect the troubled student to do well.

    2 Votes
  • Ar
    Art03 Jan 07, 2012

    I was shocked to see this complaint. Sheila is not only a great teacher, but a mentor as well as an extremely talented actress herself. Within months of joining her class I've felt my work go from "cliche" acting to work that comes from truth. I sincerely believe this transition is thanks to the sensory style Sheila teaches. When someone does not understand, she shows them herself. Watching her emotional journey when she demonstrates inspires many of us to want to do sensory more. Sheila not only teaches you, she shows you and educates you.

    I find Sheila to be the opposite of "money hungry." Despite the fact that she is incredibly qualified (De Niro, Winona Ryder, etc...go see for yourself), she Understands what it is to be talented but broke and would take the opportunity to cultivate a gift over a pay check any day. That's just the type of person she is; a generous, passionate, soul.

    Sheila helps people find their gift in an organic and encouraging way. Classes like hers are rare and I'd recommend them to anyone who loves to act, whether it be beginners or professionals.

    -1 Votes
  • Sh
    shearer Jan 08, 2012

    I've been studying with Sheila for a few years now. I'm an extremely sensitive kid and I gotta say this person complaining sounds completely out of line to me. I can't begin to tell you how much I've learned from Sheila- sure some of it is difficult and she's tough but who wants a teacher who's just easy? I actually feel honored to be in her class. Her lessons have transformed me as an actor.

    -1 Votes
  • Ar
    Arta Mintz Mar 14, 2017

    @shearer You, pretending to be "an extremely sensitive kid" sounds completely out of line! Your response is as fake as it gets!

    2 Votes
  • Gl
    Gluther Jan 08, 2012

    Shelia Gray is a wonderful person and an amazing coach. First Shelia is far from money hungry, that statement is ridiculous, I guess you didn't read what she did for her student Taylor Kitsch . Research and read about it & you will no Shelia Gray is not money hungry. Also from my own personal experiences, shes not money hungry but very understanding! I love Shelia and her approach to teaching. I am a new actor, and because of Shelias method other actors who've been the business for years are shocked when they find out I've only been doing it since July! I like the fact she mentions her big time students/ celebrities. It makes me comfortable to know she has a high production rate, as opposed to other acting coaches who've students never gotten a auditions. So what the matter with name dropping? I love the fact Shelia guides you and let you find what really works for YOU. I love the fact she yells and lets you know when your messing up. I prefer this than someone telling me I'm doing great and I'm actually not doing good at all. Shelia Gray is rare person this day and age. She cares about all of her students and truly wants the best for their career, not a lot of people around like Shelia Gray. I recommend anyone who's serious about acting to attend Shelia Gray

    -1 Votes
  • Ar
    Arta Mintz Mar 14, 2017

    @Gluther Ok, this one doesn't seem like a fake review considering the number of mistakes ))) I just wonder what a great actor has started his career in July 2012 by shocking experienced actors with his amazing talent

    2 Votes
  • Ma
    Maggie Lamonica Jan 08, 2012

    Sheila is an amazing coach, I have worked with her for years. There is nobody better in the world at what she does. If you want to be a serious working actor your first step is to get in all of her classes. She will always take you to a new level, and cares deeply about your success and growth as an actor. Working with Sheila is a magical, and transformational experience. Invest in yourself and get to her!

    -2 Votes
  • Ja
    JA204 Jan 08, 2012

    I have been taking class with Sheila for about 6 months now, and am amazed at what I have accomplished in that time. Before I started with Sheila, I would go to an audition and "act" the lines. In the highly pressurized situation of a professional audition, I had a difficult time expressing hard-to-access emotions; I knew that I was not performing to my full potential. Working with Sheila has made me much more free and relaxed as an actor . . . I am more confident because of her. Honestly, I don't know how she does it . . . she puts so much energy into every class and every student. Her commitment is impossible to ignore. I love being in class because I am surrounded by professional working actors; I am constantly inspired. I feel as though I have struck gold.

    -3 Votes
  • Be
    Bellas Jan 09, 2012

    You must be willing to open yourself up to knew experiences because if you're not then you won't learn. Sheila Grey is an amazing coach. She has taught me things that i never that i could learn/do. Her teaching method is so useful. I use her methods on a daily bases which got me call backs to all the acting high school i applied to. Sheila has brought me to a whole new level in my acting. After taking a few different classes there has been an amazing change. I am not afraid to reach new emotions. I have learned more from Sheila than all my other acting teachers i had before her. She works on each individuals weak and strong links. I love her! She has changed my life! Because of Sheila I got call backs from every single acting High School that I tried out for!!! There is no one like Sheila because she cares about everyone and wants you to succeed and do well.

    -3 Votes
  • Fm
    FMNorris Jan 09, 2012

    Sheila is inspiring!
    My family and friends are laughing at this persons ridiculous comments. I have been going to Sheila's classes for a number of years now, when ever I am visiting New York.
    Without doubt, Sheila rates as an inspiration. I walk away from her classes filled with excitement. She is constructive and honest. If you want to grow and develop your acting skills, go to Sheila's classes!
    I'm truly grateful for having discovered Sheila's classes. Sheila gives her heart and soul to her students.
    I thank you Sheila.

    -3 Votes
  • Lo
    lopez J.'s Jan 09, 2012

    Whoa!!! Someone Got their feelings hurt!!! Must be deep pain to say things that are so vindictive and untrue about one of the best Acting Coaches on the planet. I can only smile and wish I could relieve somehow this person's injured ego. First of all, Sheila is a class act. I studied with her for over 3 years straight in NYC. I watched actors come and go and stay...as is the nature of this Biz. Secondly, Sheila's technique works... once you make the personal commitment to dedicate yourself to learn it and CHECK YOUR EGO at the door you will find yourself able to become a better actor than you ever imagined and be booking business. Thirdly, She is worth every penny you pay to go to class. She will be honest with you and push you to your limits that no other teacher would invest the time to do. I was lucky enough to be able to be her class secretary. So i can tell you that I've seen her push people and their talent and that it has always been done in a loving and caring manner...always! If you don't check your ego at the door she will confront that ego because it is a wall to impede the search of your truths.. and that's what she wants you to discover in her classes so that you can access them to become a better artist. I believe this whole childish complaint is about this bruised ego and the static image of oneself.. not of one's openness to growth.
    It is very important to understand that I have three girls who study with Sheila and as father I am proud to know that my daughters are being taught by one of the most talented and sought after Acting Coaches in the business, and in the end, will be better than the best out there. It is more important, however, to understand that my three daughters and myself are, in the end, all better human beings because we have crossed Sheila's path.
    If you are in NYC and serious about Acting on the highest level. This is where to go and Sheila is who you need to meet.

    -2 Votes
  • Jt
    jtrain Jan 09, 2012

    I cannot believe the complaint...I've taken many classes and hers are the best I've ever found...she has given me tools that will last a lifetime and help my career...even my agent raised an eyebrow when I mentioned I was taking her classes...then I started to get great auditions...she is an UNREAL teacher who will show you how to be an amazing actor...she only yells to get a reaction from you...if you don't want to be a real actor...go back to your day job and buy headshots and pretend to be an actor...most likely you have no talent and can't handle real acting...if it were easy we would all be rich Hollywood actors..but it is hard and most likely if you were being yelled at...its because u think u are above doing the groundwork and you deserved to be yelled at. If u can't take the heat, stay out of the kitchen

    -2 Votes
  • Er
    Eric Santiago Jan 10, 2012

    I have been studying with Sheila since I was 16 and am 21 now, I have never been so faithful to an acting coach because I have never learned under someone who is so committed to the art. Every class I attend I walk out feeling prepared for whatever this industry has to throw at me, no matter how much doubt I have or had before. Sheila has been there for me when I needed someone to help me become more grounded and organic in the craft, and has never misguided me in utilizing the substances that make me the best actor I can be.
    A minute In any of Sheila Greys classes, is never one wasted.

    -Eric Santiago

    -2 Votes
  • Ju
    Julian_S Jan 10, 2012

    I studied with Sheila Gray for three years solidly, attending all of her classes, and I continue to work with her privately whenever I have a role or audition I need help with. Sheila Gray is an OUTSTANDING acting coach, a gifted actress, and an incredibly kind, generous, and loving human being. Sheila coaches many actors currently working in film, tv, and theater - professional actors turn to Sheila for help because the technique that she teaches is incredibly effective and she gets results. Sheila’s approach to teaching acting is direct, honest, rigorous, and can at times be grueling – she will push you and demand that you push yourself. Sheila holds all of her students, from beginners to professionals to the highest possible standard, and works tirelessly to help her students achieve growth beyond their own expectations. Casting Directors, producers, and directors can be very tough and Sheila wants her students to be prepared for the realities of the professional acting world.

    Sheila has a profound sensitivity to each of her students that allows her to pinpoint where they are on their journey and what they need specifically to grow. Part of this process involves gaining insight into each student’s personal make-up to understand who they are, helping them to better access their inner life and bring that fearlessly to their acting work. It also includes Sheila sharing her own life experiences where relevant to illuminate an element of a scene, or a relationship dynamic.

    Sheila cares about her students and is incredibly passionate about the work. I have seen countless examples of students breaking through and achieving new heights in their work thanks to Sheila’s guidance; I see the pride and love that is so evident in Sheila when this happens. She is a truly dedicated teacher, and I am deeply grateful for having had the opportunity to study with her.

    -2 Votes
  • Mh
    MH11 Jan 11, 2012

    Sheila is a kind and generous person on top of being the most wonderful teacher. I have studied with her for the last 2 years and have gained so much that it’s almost impossible to put a price on it.
    There was a time when I was able to go to all of her classes every week, and now I’m working so much that I can only make it once in a while. I miss it when I’m not there and it’s always so refreshing to go back in and be recharged.
    The work I’m getting is largely due to the fantastic coaching I have received from Sheila, and so for this I would like to say thank you!

    -2 Votes
  • Bj
    Bjohnson88 Jan 13, 2012

    I've had the privilege and honor to not only study with Sheila Gray, but also to serve her as her class secretary. I don't find one ounce of truth in this person's complaint. I've never seen her once counting her money, especially considering it was my job to do so she could focus on teaching class right away. Spits on you, blows her nose, hocks lougies? These are completely fabricated things. It's a shame this person felt the need to lie in an attempt to discredit Sheila. As for "carving people out of thin air" that immediately tells me that this person failed to understand the acting method behind Sheila's process.
    I've never seen her berate a student and I've also seen her consistently take time to get up and help students when it's their turn in class. Many times class goes over the time limit because she does so. Her ability to be sensitive to each student's individual needs combined with her LACK OF PRETENSION are two examples of the unlimited amount of reasons why she is the best acting teacher I have ever found. I thank God every day I walked into her class two years ago and the lifelong relationship I have built with her. Anyone who is looking for an acting class in NYC should make their first stop at Sheila Gray's classes.

    -2 Votes
  • Ch
    ChelseaLopez Jan 14, 2012

    I have been studying with Sheila Gray for nearly five years now. From the first moment I walked into class I knew Sheila was a one of a kind teacher. I have visited and participated in various acting classes, but have never come across anyone who teaches as brilliantly as Sheila does. As the years pass I realize how fortunate I am to learn my technique from her. Many acting coaches are quick to tell you to "go prepare", but never clearly explain what to do during preparation. Sheila's classes have taught me the true meaning behind preparation. While other teachers vaguely instruct you to create a tool box, Sheila hands you a wrench and hammer and says "here's the start to your tool box now discover what other tools you'd like to use". It pains me to see anything negative being written about Sheila and the beautiful, life changing technique she teaches. She taught me how to take the ideas i have about a character in my mind and ground them in real honest and raw emotion. If you are anyone who is passionate about the true art of acting or curious to learn, thank the sky your reading this comment and come visit her classes.

    -2 Votes
  • Mi
    MichelleGuo Feb 07, 2012

    I never understood the need of acting classes or private coaching until I met Sheila. Her passion for her students is incredible, and I could not ask for a more inspiring coach. Sheila understands her students on not only a professional level, but also a personal level, which allows her to push her students exactly where they need it. Although I was unfamiliar with certain acting techniques that she used in class, I now understand the importance of them and have seen a tremendous difference in my acting skills because of them.

    Sheila has helped me realize my full acting potential and has been the only acting coach who has been able to push me out of my comfort zone so that I can constantly learn and grow. Words cannot describe how much I have grown since I began working with Sheila, and I know that I will not stop. I love her not only as a coach and a teacher, but also as a friend.

    -2 Votes
  • Ar
    Arta Mintz Mar 14, 2017

    @MichelleGuo maybe she is a good friend, but as ACTING TEACHER - A JOKE!

    3 Votes
  • Cr
    creativemf Apr 22, 2012

    hehe - Sheila is the typical acting teacher! Both an ### and an INSPIRATION -- so why complain?? quit! go be an ordinary hack and die n obscurity ;)!

    -2 Votes
  • Ar
    Arta Mintz Mar 14, 2017

    @creativemf Quit - is exactly what we did! and found much MUCH better acting coaches with real results.

    2 Votes
  • In
    incredibly hurt Jan 24, 2020

    @creativemf Lol quit and die!? Would you tell that to a friend? Luckily for me, I have so much more to give than she ever recognized. I learned that once I left her class. I started out strong in her class, and I got worse and worse the longer I was there!!! So many bad habits I had to break. And the fear and sense of failure she put inside me, that is something I continue to work on. I am talented. She is not!

    1 Votes
  • Da
    daisy22 Nov 14, 2013

    I totally agree with this complaint. Sheila is a terrible teacher. She does not allow dialogue and actually told me to "shut up". She also called me argumentative, resistant and a "pit bull". Fortunately, I have a very healthy self esteem and I am very resilient.

    I am sure many actors have quit this wonderful craft as a result of her wrath. Not to mention, she charged me $600 for a private and taught me absolutely nothing. Absolutely laughable but I let her have it. Obviously she needs it more than I do. She does not give instruction, but screams at you if you are not doing it her way and does not permit questions. Sheila is a hag and nobody should ever allow themselves to be abused by her. Walk away as I did. There are tons of AMAZING coaches out there to share your life and experiences with. Good luck and God bless!!

    5 Votes
  • Ar
    Arta Mintz Mar 14, 2017

    @daisy22 Thanks for your Honesty! We had the same experience.

    4 Votes
  • In
    incredibly hurt Jan 24, 2020

    @Arta Mintz Yup. Get out while you can, before you get hurt.

    2 Votes
  • In
    incredibly hurt Jan 24, 2020

    @Arta Mintz She is so mean. I’m glad I went elsewhere too.

    2 Votes
  • Ar
    Arta Mintz Mar 14, 2017

    The complaint is 100% true. All positive comments following the complaint are FAKE! Just look how they were entered on Jan 7, 8, 9, 10, 11...Have you ever seen such a perfect immediate response?! If you pay attention, the style of writing is the same as well as the vocabulary. Going back to the complaint, this was very similar to our impression. Spending $200 per hour per person was a complete waste. Moreover, since she said that every year she prepares students of Laguardia High School audition, I asked if there will be a any writing required (because if it did, we would take our time to prepare). She said NO WRITING. Thanks for another clueless advice. THERE IS! Anyway, I am not going to mention every single thing that was wrong with Sheila's class, but I will let you know that if you do meet with her, you will remember my review thinking "Why did I ignore it?!"

    4 Votes
  • In
    incredibly hurt Jan 24, 2020

    @Arta Mintz Ridiculous. Her “on camera” workshop did not even include text analysis... which is absolutely essential before you learn a bunch of lines!! So expensive and embarrassing once you get there. without giving you any instruction or preparation, she expects you to just read her mind. And then yells at you for doing it “wrong”! I left with no idea how to actually do an on screen audition - which has so much to do with eye contact & intention, which she doesn’t teach.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Janinappp Apr 17, 2018

    WTF!
    THAT‘S THE BIGGEST [censor] I’VE EVER HEARD!!! Sheila IS THE BEST acting coach you could wish for! She pushes you to your boundaries and far beyond, she‘s a warm-hearted, sensitive woman wanting to help you improve your craft. I would recommend her to each and every actor out there! Don’t miss out on the chance to work with her if you can!!!

    -2 Votes
  • Jo
    Jo Champa Dec 07, 2018

    I have known Sheila since we were both in Sandra Seacats acting classes.
    She is a great coach and a great human being.
    If someone wants to complain, they should also be honest enough to sign their complaint.

    -2 Votes
  • In
    incredibly hurt Feb 05, 2019

    Awful experience. She is abusive and mean. Period. [removed]. There are many teachers out there that do not have to bully you to get good results. Bad teaching is when you bully students into a state of being completely frozen, afraid to take risks. That is what she did. She took my fragile beginning actor and bashed it until I had no self confidence. Multiple private coachings, at huge expense, and I never booked a single gig off those tapes. She was so mean, I still wince from the things she told me - my body is big, i should just lose weight, the way i dress shows I have low self esteem. Ridiculous. Unprofessional - always late, has long rambling conversations about her personal life that have nothing to do with the class. I will never forget it - I was in the middle of an improvised scene, and she barked at me multiple times "start over, this is horrible, start over" and then when the time was up, she asked me what happened there? So i said well you interrupted us multiple times so we could not do the scene, and she gaslit me and said that she didn't. Horrible, awful experience, I wish I could get that year back. And the many thousands of dollars I spent, because I didn't know better. There are scores of teachers out there that are respectful, kind, encouraging, warm, and nurturing - she is none of those things.

    4 Votes

Post your comment