Menu
Service Protection Direct

Service Protection Direct review: Customer Service - Harassment 53

C
Author of the review
12:04 am EDT
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I received a letter from this company to contact them to purchase Extended Warranty on my vehicle. I first spoke with a guy named Eric, who provided cost, coverage, and qualified discounts. I said thank you and that I need to discuss this with my husband before purchasing. He then passed me on to another person who claims that I am eligible for even more discounts. She continued her pitch and I also declined immediate purchase. Then Eric passed me to on a guy who tried to close a sale by telling me that he will offer the best deal on coverage that I can afford to pay on monthly basis. I again declined immediate purchase and asked who I should call back for. He then continued to be extremely harassing with me, stating that I should not need to discuss anything with my spouse and buy the warranty since its my car and that I should realize the importance of auto coverage. He raised his tone of voice and made sarcastic and harassing remarks about my relunctance to purchase. He said I will regret not taking the deal and that I will not have a special discount should I change my mind later to purchase. I was scared and shaken up after the call. Please do not let this company continue to do business!

53 comments
T
T
Tommy2Tone1987
Farmington, US
Nov 10, 2012 8:52 am EST

Is there a single complaint out there from a consumer that purchased the coverage, and then had a bad experience with "said coverage"...i certainly cant find one...they all seem pleased...So you people are complaining because they were "rude" to you...I would be too, you all either never called and just sat around and made assumptions, or you called to waste someones time...None of you are "customers", you deserve to be treated badly..your just a waste of time..and most of you that did call, just called to harass someone...I hope you were harassed in return. Seems fair.

A
A
Anibal
, US
Mar 30, 2012 8:40 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Little after my car's original guaranty expired I decided to open a policy with the "Service Protection Direct" as a replacement program for my manufacturer warranty. Their mailing address is 1301 Jamie Lane, Waterloo, Illinois 62208 and their phone number is [protected].

A few weeks after I started my policy I called for some repairs and was denied! Their reason: "there is a restricted period of time before having the freedom to open claims"; which I though was understandable. But recently, my transmission broke-down due to internal transmission failure; I called and was denied coverage for this service! Their reason: "I don't have sufficient oil-change's receipts since I first opened the policy with them". I explained that I usually purchase my own oil and have it changed by family members. Furthermore, since the transmission was not cover I had to pay for the car rental out of my pocket.

I have been paying $186.67 every month for this policy, over a year now. I'm supposedly under their "Platinum" package. I really think that they are targeting me, because oil change is in correlation to the engine not the transmission. I showed them prove of a few general maintenance services, and a maintenance service I did to the transmission about 30, 000 miles ago but that was not enough for them.

The contracts that "Service Protection Direct" sells to the public are backed by the administrator Marathon, which is registered in the states it does business in. Marathon is responsible for all of their claims. Marathon's mailing address is PO Box 961, O'Fallon, Illinois 62269 and their phone number is [protected]

S
S
#SWAG SWAG
Saint Louis, US
Jun 14, 2011 11:48 am EDT

SPD is awesome...Free food and free money... my type of environment but if you truly feel its a scam don't buy. Nobody can tell you how to spend you money. Just realize you will look like an assclown when your precious 6-10 yr old "dream" vehicle starts sputtering. Repairs aren't cheap folks, so ask yourself, do you want to be the person in the repair shop with or without coverage. Choose wisely people.

- Former Fan of Taco Tuesdays

M
M
Maverick Ventura
Simi Valley, US
Apr 15, 2011 1:59 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I just made my claim with Protection Direct. After reading the booklet and bringing my vehicle to the Audi service center. I was amazed when the Audi technician told me it was going to be $3120 to get my Audi A-4 fixed.
I immediatly got on the phone with Marathon which is the policy owner.

I am happy to say the vehicle is covered with Platinum coverage from Marathon and I paid $100 deductible and had to pay for fluids which were not covered.

Word to the wise : Read the booklet.

I will recommend Service Protection Direct again and again.

P
P
Protection Direct Rep
St Louis, US
Mar 17, 2011 7:57 pm EDT

Tmlm82,

We take customer service very seriously at Protection Direct and strive to ensure every customer is satisfied. We sincerely apologize if you had a poor experience. To be removed from our mailing list please email your customer ID (should be on the letter you received) to feedback@protectiondirect.com and you'll be removed immediately.

Sincerely,
Customer Service Team

T
T
Tmlm82
Phoenix, US
Mar 01, 2011 7:14 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I recently received a letter from this company regarding services to extend my factory warranty. When I called to inquire notice I stated I was not interested.
  A few days later I received 2 more calls from this company, one stated he had a wrong number, the second just hung up.
   I called back and spoke to Christine who stated it was the warranty company. I asked to be removed from their list and that I would like to speak to a manager to ensure that my name was removed. She stated that because I called an outgoing line she could not transfer me. I said I would hold for someone to get on her headset because i didnt not want to call another number. She then spouted a 1800 number and hung up. I called back because I didn't even have the chance to write the number down. After being hung up on 2 more times, being insulted the 3rd time by Christine I finally got the number. She apparently forgot to hang up on me because she tells her co-worker while I'm on the line, "I can't believe this @$$ hole called me 3 times" I was outraged with her and spouted back that she should hang up the line before she makes remarks of that nature.
  I then reached Mark Zimmerman through the customer service department who was a "manager" but then treated me with the worst attitude I ever received. My question to mark was how was my information obtained by this company. I stated to mark the vehicle I own is not registered to me, it is a company vehicle I operate and maintain. He then accused me of fraud, theft and the stealing of this vehicle. Among many other insults he stated I needed to go outside walk a dog, hold a baby, and calm down. His constant statement was that I was out of control, rude and didn't have anything better to do. I asked him to provide me with this company's website, he refused. He stated that if I called back he was putting a note in my system to let everyone know to hang up on me. I did call back to customer service and asked the gal who has taken my call before what the website was. Www.Proyectiondirect.com now working out of st. Louis.
Does anyone know where these people get their information, i believe this to be total fraud.

I
I
Islandlady
Manassas Park, US
Feb 25, 2011 10:15 pm EST

Terrible customer service. They take your money, do not cover anything, and do not want to refund your money when you cancel. Even the managers are rude and not helpful.

T
T
Tired of Indecency
, US
Feb 08, 2011 10:59 pm EST

This is amazing! Is there no limit to how many shady operations that are out there? Not only do you have to check out businesses attempting to sell you something, you also have to check out businesses attampting to hire you. I posted a resume on Careerbuilders.com and they called to set up an interview. I'm so glad I checked into it! This is one interview I will not waste anytime with, I won't even call to cancel the interview. This is freakin' crazy, is there no decency left in this world?

C
C
col302
Miami, US
Aug 05, 2010 8:39 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

It sounds like a lot of you had a bad experience or purchased coverage you just did not fully understand. I currently have this coverage and have put 3 claims in over the past 2 years. 2 out of the 3 claims were paid fully. I was upset when the one claim was not paid but after some investigation I found that I was not covered for this to begin with. This blog has been active for a little over 16 month and there are only 34 complaints... Of course if you have a bad experience with a company your going to check up on them and write something up. I'm sure they talk to and sell 100's of policies a day. As far as the sales people go... THEY ARE SALESMAN! There job is to sale you something hence their titles. Stop being petty. As far as I am concerned this is a reputable company. Sure you may have some pushy sales associates here and there but you can not equate that to it being a horrible company.

C
C
Class Action Attorney
San Diego, US
Apr 19, 2010 4:12 pm EDT

If you are a California resident and have been contacted and/or scammed by this company, please contact me:

Christina E. Wickman, Esq.
WICKMAN & WICKMAN, Consumer Rights Attorneys
5151 Murphy Canyon Road, Suite 100
San Diego, CA 92123
Tel: [protected]
Fax: [protected]

A
A
Ann_Max
Detroit, US
Apr 02, 2010 10:04 am EDT

I, on the other hand, was scammed over $1, 000! When I tried to cancel, they kept transferring me around. Once I reached the final person, he continued pushing and questioning me. The guy tried to have control over me by demanding a better reason for my wanting to cancel, but I just made my statement and wouldn't budge. He immediately said, "Ok, it's cancelled now." I just didn't believe him because he NEVER asked for any security questions to confirm I am who I claimed. He refused to give me a cancellation confirmation number. Plus, I did not hear any typing in the background. I've cancelled accounts in my past and I always hear the person over the phone typing in my reasons of cancellation or complaint. This person was FAKING it. I had to contact my credit card company about this situation. I will keep an eye out on Service Protection Direct. If they try to charge me, I will have to dispute their charge via my credit card company and get a new credit card. Any way, I'm relieved I cam across this site. It really gave me the courage to confront the jerk over the phone.

B
B
BNS2006
, US
Mar 31, 2010 9:11 am EDT

I would have to agree! I like a fool, was suckered in. I took the bait, they made everything sound so good with all those discounts. THEY SCREWED ME. Once I realized this was a scam they had already taken $300 out of my account, and a payment of $158 on the 1st. The day I called to cancel they harrassed me and told me I was silly for canceling, that I need this! That I'm being very foolish for canceling. Finally after a back and forth argument with this representative he agreed and let me cancel. I checked my banking statement the next day.. they took out another $158 which it was the 30th. So they went ahead and took the money they would have for the 1st!

A
A
A Recent Widow
Houston, US
Mar 23, 2010 3:35 pm EDT

I am a widow and I had an even WORSE experience of 4 people trying to play me. At first they would not even tell me the name of the company. I would advise people to STAY AWAY FROM THESE SHYSTERS. :) A Recent Widow

J
J
Joeyann
, US
Jan 22, 2010 12:49 pm EST

I agree with all the complaints. I just got off the phone with Aaron at SPD and what a nasty attitude and very rude. He said he couldn't give me information unless I gave him a down payment on a warranty. I would not recommend them to anyone. Stay away from them.

A
A
anonymous1111111
, US
Jan 11, 2010 10:46 am EST

i also just received a very suspicious letter stating this so i googled the address on the letterhead (since there is no company info). I'm glad I came across this site...shredding the letter now.

D
D
Donald L.
, US
Dec 02, 2009 7:12 pm EST

Yeah, I just called in and I too spoke to Gavin Halohand x1021 (I think).

I am not a shill for this company. I don't work for this company. I am currently unemployed, driving a 180, 000 mile Toyota Corolla. Gavin was very respectful. He was trying to quick talk me, but having been in sales, I knew how to respectfully work around his quick talk. I was very nice when speaking to him and he showed me the same quality of conversation. He DID try and pressure me into buying the coverage TODAY, saying that my car was a high-mileage car and that he needed to get special approval to get the car insured for Power Train and the approval was only good for today, if I called back, the warranty coverage would only be good for Engine Coverage. After I declined the numerous times he attempted to collect a down payment from me, he kept on offering me an easier payment program. I told him the payments were not the problem, but that I wanted to consult the paperwork and review the policy before I made a payment. That's the sensible thing to do. Why would you purchase something over the phone that you know absolutely nothing about? If I have nothing in writing, I'm not going to give you my information to my bank account. That's just common sense.

I told him that I would consult the paperwork and give him a call back if it all checked out. My car is ready to take a crap, so I figured an extended Power Train warranty would do me well. I'm going to do some research on the internet and then review the paperwork they're going to send me. If everything checks out and I believe I could benefit from this program, I'll call back and enroll. If not, then I haven't lost anything.

A
A
atti2dinal1
St. Louis, US
Oct 21, 2009 4:08 pm EDT

I am a previous upper level employee for United Warranty Solutions, Service Protection Direct, Automotive Protection Direct, TXEN Partners, LLC, Columbus Capitol Partners, ...the list goes on and on, and is essentially the same company changing names over and over. I was an employee there for over three years until I had to leave due to practices that I felt were not legal, such as getting mailing lists from the DMV, and false advertising using the vehicle companies trademarks in the mailers.

So here's the deal. I went into this with the thought that I was providing a great service. And for some, it was. If you truly have a vehicle that has just gone out of factory coverage, and can get past the bullcrap deals the first salesperson throws at you and get coverage through a trusted and rated Warranty Company, then you're good. It does seem a bit sheisty to pay the down payment first before you see any paperwork, but the contracts do get automatically mailed usually within three to five days.

But it's when you take the first offer, or the Powertrain Coverage (DuraLube, a 5yr/100k coverage that activates when you put their "oil" into your vehicle, you receive it before you get the contract stating that once you put it in your car it's non-cancelable and non-refundable since they can't retrieve the "oil" back), or try to cancel your policy that you get taken for a ride, as the recent Attorney Generals lawsuit that was filed on these companies on March 6 states. Go to http://ago.mo.gov/newsreleases/2008/030608.htm to read about the lawsuit details.

If you purchase the coverage, make SURE that it's what you want, because you're going to go through hell and back trying to cancel it. You call Customer Service to cancel, who attempts to save the deal. If it's a no go, they transfer you to a "save specialist" who then will lower your contract price, extend the interest free payment plan, add an additional year or so onto the contract length, etc... to try and get you to stay. If you've made it this far and are still adamant about cancelling, the "Save specialist" will then send you to a "Manager", which usually happens to be any random salesperson that is around who isn't on the phone at the time, and sometimes you will get the Sales Manager. They will attempt to scare you into keeping the contract, letting you know the price of repairs and labor in your area, etc. My advice is this; as soon as any of the above mentioned people hear that you will be going to the Attorney General, lawyer, or BBB they will instantly cancel the policy. This applies to ALL extended warranty companies, as they are all mainly run the exact same way.

So, once you've cancelled, good luck getting your refund in a timely manner. Some states stipulate that your refund needs to be sent within a certain time frame, or you will receive interest on it, so make sure to look through that part on the contract (usually in the back) to see what, if anything, applies to your state. Filing a complaint with your states insurance commission will ensure that your refund is received faster.

Another route is if you've paid by credit card; you have the option to dispute the charges...the same can apply if you've used your checking account, however if you've made numerous payments already to the finance company (warranty companies only withdraw the initial down payment, the remainder always goes through finance, usually Mepco or Warranty Finance, LLC.), it can get confusing, as you will be disputing two different companies, and some banks will only allow you to dispute so far back.

Okay, now let's assume that you are keeping the policy and have a claim. The Call Center that you initially purchased the policy at does NOT handle claims. They aren't the actual Warranty Company, merely a broker for them. Your contract and ID card will both have the Claims Center phone number, as well as the Roadside Assistance number. Make sure you read up on what is covered, whether you have towing service, Roadside assistance, Rental Car Coverage, Trip Interruption; some of the policies will even pay for your hotel if you are away from home during the break down.

Once your car is at the dealership, (and NO, you don't have to take it to the dealership you purchased the car through, if it's an extended coverage you can take it to ANY certified mechanic), your Service Writer will call the Warranty Company and start the claim. There is no need for you to call it in. Once it is determined what is wrong with the car, they will again call the Warranty Company and find out if it is a covered component. Here's where a lot of people cancel, because they assume this coverage is the same as their factory warranty without reading the coverages, and their previously covered part is no longer covered. If the part(s) is(are) covered, you will pay your deductible and be on your way. The process truly is simple.

All in all, this type of coverage can be beneficial, as long as you go into it with your eyes open, and ask a lot of questions. Ask who re-insures the company, as all Extended Warranty Companies are required to be re-insured. Check the company out on the BBB site, /link removed/; and don't believe the salesperson when you call and get a quote and are told you have to decide right then or your file will be closed. That's because they have a quota to fill daily, and want the deal for themselves. Your information will be saved in the database, and you can think about it, check it out, and call back. This simple rule applies; if it sounds too good to be true, it always is. Keep that in mind.

J
J
JT in Austin
, US
Oct 14, 2009 6:55 pm EDT

Best way to get rid of them: Call and tell them no one lives at your address by that name. All you have to give them is the customer number for it to be removed.

When they switch to hard-selling you for your own car, tell them that yours is a piece of crap and has been totaled and rebuilt. They completely lost interest in me when I told them that.

G
G
Grumpy69
, US
Jul 23, 2009 8:36 pm EDT

Well, if they send you junk Mailthe quickest way I found for it to stop was stuff every thing back in the postage paid envelope and mail back blank this works with all the junk mailers they pay postage twice and if enough reciepents did it the junk mail would slow down I always get my extended warranty at dealer ship I purchased car from because them selling it means they infact represent the company as their agent and dealers ship can be held responsible to a point

C
C
CraigPA
, US
Jul 20, 2009 7:13 pm EDT

This is a scam folks. The correspondance they send is fundamentally misleading, false and disingenuous. I won three cars. two of which are about a year old and certainly under factory warranty. The third car is three years old, but I originally extended my factory warranty to five years. Yet their letter insists that my (unspecified) vehicle factory coverage has expired. Lies lies lies. Not only do I detest recieving these letters, but the companies (this one maybe?) that constantly call my cell phone with the same bogus offer drive me absolutely crazy. This company preys on naieve people that don't ask questions and believe anything they read.

G
G
gjduekfnj654
, US
Jul 14, 2009 11:06 pm EDT

This is probably not even a warranty company. It's probably some sleazy collection agency trying to send fake/illegal mailers in hopes that some will respond. Once you do, they've got info about you ... like the phone number you called them from and any info you confirmed while speaking to them.

Just throw it away! If they call and you answer, hang up.

S
S
Scarfany
Somewhere, US
Jul 08, 2009 8:54 pm EDT

Everyone need's to Google "Nixon's Operation Taken for a Ride" and read the lawsuit out there. If you have bought the warranty or have called and had a bad experience, you should complain. I was scammed by another "company" about a month ago and am glad I googled this letter when my spouse got it today. Hope this helps!

B
B
Batman001
Miramar, US
Jul 06, 2009 9:47 am EDT

So far the only thing I can figure is these guys are under pressure to sell extended warrantees... can anyone reply who purchased the plan and had any repairs not covered when they used the dealership of record when obtaining coverage.

I don't need to know how poor they are at customer service, I just need to know if they deliver on their promise.

thank you

D
D
Dolly Lolly
Indianapolis, US
Jul 02, 2009 3:45 pm EDT

I just got the warranty, it will cost me $1698.04 for the 5 years of protect on their POWER TRAIN COVERAGE thing. I took my car to Car-X, to have the A/C checked. It would blow cold then warm then cold, anyway, too much freon, they took out the overage, ( which they did NOT charge me for, I love Car-X) and then drove my car to check it out and they told me I was starting to have Transmittion problems and it would cost over $2400.00 to fix. let's do the math. $2400.00 minus the $1698.04 I am paying for protection, equals $701.96 in savings. and all she has to do is live for 90 days past today. plus they send you something to put into either your oil or gas or transmittion I didnt exactly hear that but before I put it in my car it is going to Car-X to be looked at. If anything else goes wrong with the water pump (which Pontiacs are notorious for) that too isd covered and that is like a $700.00 - $800.00 job because of where they are located. it is saves my hubby from having to change out another water pump LOL (I love my Pontiacs) or if the timing chain jumps off or breaks, thats covered. I will come back in 90 days and let everyone know if it is a scam or not. as I will have only made 3 additional payments costing me a total of $612.01. If they dont fix my car at the dealer like I was told and give me my rental car, will stop all future payments and have my Lawyer get all my money back.

C
C
csmith
Saint Louis, US
Jun 10, 2009 12:50 pm EDT

i work for the company and its not a scam there is just alot of pressure to sell and a high turnover rate so some cant handle the pressure. we are a valid warranty company and pay all of our claims so i dont know why you all think its a scam. were backed by hanover whos been around for like 80 yrs so put that in your pipe and smoke it

B
B
Bob
Overland park, US
May 26, 2009 5:09 pm EDT

After receiving a number of these selicitations and answering none, I have to agree this is a scam. I just received the umpteenth offer but this one is under the name of "Dealer Warranty Program" at the same address in St. Louis.

Bob

K
K
kit
st louis, US
May 05, 2009 8:39 pm EDT

Are you all really ###ed or what? I would say so...The reason why they have to do it on that phone call is that because people dont want the warranty then but want to call back later when they hav something already wrong with the vehicle. If you like paying out of ur pocket for repairs go ahead but I can assure you being covered with a warranty is better than payin a couple grand for a transmission. So if you feel harrassed just grow up and good luck with your repairs. This is 2009... either talk it over with ur spouse before calling and make sure you have some way to pay for it...nothing is free. atleast they provide help

S
S
Snorks79
Chicago, US
Apr 27, 2009 6:26 pm EDT

*******Horrible Horrible horrible horrible horrible Horrible horrible horrible horrible*******

I, of course, was the sucker and bought their stupid extended warrenty. After I had paid into it for almost a year my transmission went out and I needed to get it replaced. Low and behold even though the information I received stated I was covered, they wouldn't cover it. There didn't really give me much of an explaination as to why. I was quite disgusted and decided to cancel the stupid thing and the sales man tried to tell me how great their service was and how I should really keep it, ya right I said. Well, he never actually closed out my account so the next month rolled by and the 200.00 was taken out of my account. I called back and was transfered, no lie, 10 time before I finally got a manager who didn't seem like his head was totally stuck up his ###, boy was I wrong. He said I had to wait 10 business days to receive a check in the mail with the money they took out without authorization form me. So I waited and waited and waited, 10 business days went by. I called on the 14ths business day and spoke to a manager who said it was mailed out that day. Are you F**cking kidding me, I already waited the 10 days I was supposed to for my money and now I have to wait longer because you guys probably screwed up again? I asked to speak to his manager and was told and I quote, " this phone call will not go past me, I am the manager and the check was sent in the mail... excuse me, who the hell are you to tell me who I can and can't talk to? We'll see about that, I said. I called back and received the corporate number and put in a formal complaint in regards to the whole process... Stan, if you're reading this, ' KISS MY ###'

J
J
Jacob Dunham
, US
Apr 24, 2009 12:32 am EDT

The comment from Mike Harris was written by an employee. The blanket is being pulled off of this scam, is only a matter of time.

N
N
Nantes Rahym
El Paso, US
Apr 20, 2009 3:38 pm EDT

I really wondering how they get our information

N
N
Nantes Rahym
El Paso, US
Apr 20, 2009 3:36 pm EDT

Hi guys Thanks a lot that you save me. Two days ago I took my second reminder letter and they saying that If I am not call them immediately my car is gonna go down. But I just bought my car for 2 mont ago. I checked mechanic he said my car is great. But the letter saying that if I am not gonna activate my caar will be break. I said how they know my cars status that will be break or engine will burn. I really surprised.

Like five minuts ago I tryed to call them thankyou for god that they did't answer the call. After I start to thing why they dont have web site and I wrote google to SPD and I found this site. I read all the COMMENT and I discussed my self and I am not gonna call them.

Thankyou guy that you shared this information.

N
N
notgfrodman
Owensboro, US
Apr 13, 2009 2:08 pm EDT

If someone talks rude to you, "that's doing their job"? These [censored]es don't even have a clue on the info. How did they get your info ? It was sold just like everyone else. I get the high pressure slaes crap DAILY. DOn't stand for it, either don't call in the first place, or give em the old fashioned click. WHat are they gonna argue with themselves? I used to be nice, Just say no people, if thats not good enough, you know what to do.

R
R
rodair
Orange, US
Apr 10, 2009 4:16 pm EDT

I just called these guys up. Very professional the way they handled things. Sure they did everything that you all are saying on here, no doubt about that, but I did the same as some, gave my info, etc. Read a bunch of your comments and decided to back out. Called them back and had no problem. Again, very professional, I already have my "down payment" back in my account.

Maybe some of you need to learn some sort of manners when it comes to dealing with sales people. There's just like you all. They are trying to make ends meet. My god people.

G
G
Georgia girl
Warner Robins, US
Apr 09, 2009 7:01 pm EDT

I believe this company to be a total scam! I received a letter stating my 2005 Montana Sv6 factory coverage is expired or about to expire. I never bought or owned a Montana. The last car that was purchased new in the USA was a 2000 Chevy Astro Van. It isn't in my name and neither are any other vechiles we own. The last car that I purchased in my name before I got married was a 1985 Plymouth Turismo. So how or wheere they got this information is beyond me. It was also sent to my mother-in-laws house addressed to me not my own house.

N
N
Nicolette
Stafford, US
Apr 07, 2009 11:03 am EDT

i too agree with all the complaints. i hope everyone who is contacted by service protection direct trash their letters or dont take their calls and dont be like me. I unfortunately signed up with them but thank goodness i read the contract in detaIls and realized i could cancel. I called to cancel and like most businesses they try to prevent you from cancelling by suggesting discounts. I told the young man i still wanted to cancel because i found a similar plan with triple A that was cheaper. He started cussing me out and told me how stupid i was and that he is offering me a discount and i dont want to take it and that my car is going to break and i have no coverage. These guys are very rude and unprofessinoal. i hope no one every signs up with them. initially i spoke with justin jan and he was very nice and polite and i did sign up, but after reading the reviews from you guys and because of shopping around, i realized how rude this young man was.

D
D
David G
, US
Apr 04, 2009 10:00 am EDT

How did they get my information to begin with? Did the licensing and registration company give it away?

L
L
lori g
Racine, US
Mar 27, 2009 3:24 pm EDT

I received the letter today - addressed to my ex-husband. We have been divorced for eight years. The car they referred to was a leased vehicle that was in MY name only leased four years AFTER my divorce. I have since returned that vehicle to the dealer as the lease was up, and I now own another vehicle. I'm glad to see they are so up on their information. What a crock!

J
J
JOV
Austin, US
Mar 25, 2009 11:57 am EDT

I totally agree with 99% of all the complaints. These guys (Service Protection Direct) state that these phony auto warranty notices that are mailed out a second time to unsuspecting consumers.
I believe a first letter was never sent and they make it sound like it is such an urgent matter and need to be taken care of ASAP. Which is bogus.
The bottom line is they are condescending, rude and very unprofessional. They also offer the most expensive auto warranties in the business.
Well at least the auto dealers have nothing to fear, Service Protection Direct is priced just as high as the auto dealers. Is this someone you want to do business with? I don't think so!
JRV

N
N
NJNJ
, US
Mar 24, 2009 9:24 am EDT

I beleieve that the Shane and Shane9000 commenters are just shills for the company. I was able to check out a previous letter sent to me by this fraud of a company. I tossed it a long time back, but I recall it was signed by either Gene Corbett or Bob Bentrup - EXCEPT that neither person exists. The real names behind this are Gene Bentrup and Bob Corbett. A couple of new names came up in my search including Joe DiMartini and Jeff Reauseh. Can't find anything Jeff, but Joe DiMartini has apparently also gone by the name of Joe Wartonick. The latest letter is sgined by one Thomas Grant, but I was unable to find a record of him either. I have probably received 3 or 4 "2nd Reminders" from these clowns. I will be writing to the Missouri AG and the New Jersey Consumer Affairs Dept to report the harassment from SPD. Somehow they also have found my office number and periodically I get a pre-recorded message with the same garbage they put in their letter. I just hang up. They MUST be a scam outfit.

M
M
Mike Harris
Glen Carbon, US
Mar 20, 2009 11:26 am EDT

I totally disagree I have been with this company over a year and a half I have had numerous claims ranging over $5000 and more and they paid for every single claim. This company is not a scam, I have told friends about it and they have not had any problems, what so ever. I too spoke with the aggressive salesman, but it was my decision to do so, I don't understand why you people are complaining about those guy doing there jobs. You may have some saleman that are shady, but what salesman isn't? They make things sound better, they paint pictures that is there job. The guys at SPD are just selling themselves, everytime I call I am treated with nothing but respect! When I first called I was very skeptical about giving my information over the phone, but they have made me into a believer and I am very pleased with this company. They are far from a scam, they have help me out on claims that were not covered, worked with me on my monthly pymts and so forth, to you all who are bad talking SPD you must not have received the treatment I have from SPD. I give them two thumbs up!