SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Roof-A-CideDoesn't work

Jo Palm City or Davie, Florida Review updated:

This place is a fraud they pitch to you a product that you can easily purchase from any pressure cleaning shop. They try to scare you with EPA regulations and rules yet they are atomizing chlorine which would follow the same guidelines. They will make you buy an extremely over priced package that comes with trailer and a bug sprayer. God only knows how much they charge now. You end up doing all the advertising because they put you on there site and it takes a webmaster to find you as a applicator. John Brown controls the flow of work. If you aren't on his good side you will not get any work through Roof-A-Cide website the product is also worthless the only one making money off the product is Roofacide and the other half of the scam is the warranties customers will call you for warranty if you happen to treat the roof same day as you clean as most would want to do if you have to come back to the same job you end up using more time and fuel to accomplish the job you have to send a warranty into roofacide so they have your customers phone number and address. Which they will end up stealing your customer as the warranties have there phone number listed under the 800 number. The dilution rate is bogus and you have to spend so much money on there product which is nothing more then copper sulphate extremely diluted at that. Sometimes the bottles they give you even have the crystals still undissolved in the bottom of the jug. You can buy this profuct much cheaper and mix and apply it your self. You becoming an applicator of roofacide will only end up in you advertising there product and having to pay to do it you are paying for there advertising and then they will steal your clients. Not many customers will follow the program anyway the product only works on a completely dry roof which ends up being totally time consuming it is extremely caustic and will eat up your equipment just as bad as chlorine. And WARNING it is very unhealthy. They had pitched that it was non toxic and safe during my first experience using it then later I was told to make sure i wear full respirator and protective gear. They will be pushing jobs to you only if you are running around doing all there warranty work which will start eating up your bottom line. The point is you can take 30k and drop it on a roofacide scam. Or you can get your own product from a chemical company buy a 2 12volt sprayers cost you 200 bucks and treat ten times the roofs and dilute the product strong enough to apply to a wet roof this way you don't have to come back or wait around an hour to put down there perfectly diluted product which if it changes by a gallon it will turn before two years. SAVE YOUR MONEY LEARN HOW TO USE THE RIGHT COMBINATION OF PRESSURE AND CHLORINE AND YOU WILL SAVE MONEY AND THE ROOF LAST JUST AS LONG. I have chlorine treated roof lasting just as long as roofacide and it stains the face boards and painted driveways sometimes the walls and you end up scrubbing those areas with degrease to get it off. Its not worth the trouble or the price tag. And there whole pitch is a lie pressure cleaning doesn't damage roof tiles only shingles. STOP USING YOUR 25 DEGREE TIPS ON YOUR 8 GALLON UNITS. Open up your tips to 10 gallone on and 8 gallon machine it will clean much faster and use a 40 degree spread it will help clean the edges better as well it doesn't run the paint or etch only when you use the tips rated to your machine does it do that . That's what separates the pros from the newbies. You want to clean really fast put 65 degree tips and 14 gallons a minute that would be 7 gallon tips at 65 so two 7s on your surface cleaner then link your two 8 gallon at 3500 which is standard for pros and get half inch hose plumb all lines in half inch. Watch how fast you clean a roof quicker than a chem cleaner, cheaper and I will still cut a clean line into a chem cleaned roof and prove that pressure cleaning rules if done properly and you won't wipe out the landscaping. If you want to treat it with chlorine or copper when you are done it will last a long time and you don't need to pressure clean it so hard or spray an overdose of chemicals. Roof acide works if done perfectly right clean wait for it to dry and then pray it doesn't rain shortly after or you just blew 75 bucks. Also they are constantly raising the price of roofacide and blaming it on the economy that crap doesn't cost them a dime you can buy 40 pound bags of it which is what they do and it will last you all year. They are crooks and they are ripping you off. Plus by the time you add in the price you need to cover them and then the price you need to make a profit you will lose most sales to a chem clean company that will retreat a 4000 sf house for 75 bucks how you gong to make them pay 800 dollars and not feel ripped off? They also overlap areas and will have to many applicators to close to you they will sell it to anyone that comes up with the 30k. Here's what you could get for 30k 4 trailers, you could build your own washers for about 2500 bucks northern tools has honda 24 horse engines with electric start and muffler for about 1200 then you can also buy a pump rated 8 gallon at 3500 psi for 1000 maybe even less the powerwasher platforms sold for 100 batteries and housing 75 poly chain belt 60 and the two gear for the belt maybe another 100 done crap you could buy 8 of those for 20k trailers for 1000 each even less 500 off craigslist used tanks 4 of them used chem tanks 4 of them 8 stainless pressure reels and 4 garden hose reels that's 3000 and then 4 water hoses 50 each and then 8 guns 250 dollars 8 surface cleaners 2400 you could almost set up 4 complete pressure rigs for 30k why blow it on a franchise that won't give you work won't back up there products and why pay to advertise someone else crap. You are responsible for warranty problems. It's a nightmare most roofs it doesn't even work well on white roofs which are very common and it sucks on shingles without increasing the concentration. Trust me they use more roofacide on jobs they are using to advertise its not hard i have roof that has lasted 4 years without a speck of mildew just by making the product stronger. If the product works you have to beg customers to retreat most want to wait until it gets as black as it did when they started they don't want to retreat like program suggests. And if it doesn't work maybe they have lots of trees or they tile is not porous they will be calling for that warranty and you will be footing more money for product and gas and there goes all the profit.
Be smart spend your money wisely don't make mistakes that I did. Buy more equipment and don't blow your wad on roofacide applicator program.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • 98
      Jul 17, 2009

    He sounds like a bitter competitor.

    -1 Votes
  • Jm
      Jul 18, 2009

    Would you mind putting a phone number or Company Name to your comment??

    -2 Votes
  • Be
      Sep 06, 2009

    Regardless - bitterment may be justified. Anyone who takes the time to write in detail as this user, most likely has some vaild complaints. Either way - I'm staying away from Roof-a-Cide. Score one point for the writer!

    +2 Votes
  • Jo
      Feb 19, 2010

    For information on product that lives up to it’s claim want an ethical, customer friendly company to back them with a product that is guaranteed to work check out Clean Up Group.
    www.cleanupgroup.com

    +2 Votes
  • Ti
      Mar 02, 2010

    I've used Roof-A-Cide products for 5 years now and haven't had a single problem. I don't give any legitimacy to a complaint not including a name or contacts. I highly recommend the product. Also, John Browne has never been anything but straight up honest with me.

    Tim M.
    Roof Doctor

    0 Votes
  • Bo
      Mar 12, 2010

    Definitely sounds like a competitor. My company bought into the roof-a-cide program almost five years ago. We have sucessfully treated over 100 large communities over this time period. Not one time have we ever had a complaint that the system did not work. We have had continuous success in re-treating our customers. If anyone would like a list of all of our references with names and phone numbers, please feel free to call me. Bob G. Coastal Roof Cleaning Systems - [protected]
    ... and by the way, the people from Roof-a-cide are the real deal. Don't be caught up to those that are trying to imitate Roof-a-cide, there is no other effective Algae-Mildew preventive on the market.

    -2 Votes
  • Ir
      Mar 13, 2010

    Gee, I can see why the competition is having a COW. Just spin without the facts.
    As a distributor of Roof-A-Cide, we supply RAC authorized applicators who apply our products on a daily basis with excellent results, and no property damage. It's the Only EPA approved stain prevention and is guaranteed for at least two years. Safe and cost effective.
    We receive many inquires about how to remedy roof algae and stains on all types of properties. We elighten future customers about the benefits of Roof-A-Cide Stain prevention vs other cleaning methods, and refer them to a local RAC applicator for services.
    Please contact our office for client references or any questions. [protected]@roof-a-cide-west.com or [protected]
    Irene Graziosi, Roof-A-Cide-West, LLC.

    -4 Votes
  • Jf
      Mar 16, 2010

    I don’t think this is a competitor. Sounds to me like a former Roof-a-Cide applicator who didn’t understand the franchise system.
    You join or buy into a franchise not to get your products cheaper but to take advantage of a proven product line and business plan that works. You pay a premium for products and services to the franchiser not a discount.

    Instead of shooting himself in the foot and slamming Roof-a-Cide and John Browne personally, perhaps a better approach would have been to appropriately discuss his concerns with other corporate officers or to enthusiastically market his applicator franchise to someone else and move on.

    By the way, chlorine is great! Ask any roofer – they love it! The tiles aren’t affected much but, It tears the crap out of the membrane, nails and flashing which is what keeps the water out. The tiles are just “decoration”.
    Also, forget about all the incorrect tip and hose “voodoo”.
    All you need is a jug of chlorine and a wash down wand.
    The plants will get over it but the roof won’t.

    Jim Hill, CPS
    Roof-aCide Applicator

    -3 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 08, 2010

    Ok I feel you all are off base, I like the chemicals over on the SW FLorida - That CUG BIO CIDE. You are never going to convince me that COOPER is a safe chemical. I agree works like hell but stains, and does get in the water systems.

    The VOODO wand theme is way off - Any Handyman or mexican on a roof can BLEACH a roof. BOTTOM line if it does not clean over time, ALL YOU DID Was jack up the CHLORINE, BLEACH the ROOF, and and Slam the PH thru the roof to kill the mold.

    If this is a product that kills mold and cleans the roof, WHY do you have to clean the roof first?

    My GOAL is neutral, all I see is a someone bashing someone and nobody has any real reason or solution -

    I have a CUG BIOCIDE that cleans over time (4-8 Weeks) and Does not slam or cooper treat the roof or bleach it. However I have seen the ROOF a CIDE work, Just not for us over in SW Florida due to our water reclamation police.

    As for Price... Roof A CIde deserves to make MILLIONS - There idea and there capital ----- You can always develope you own and then formulate it, Then get EPA acceptance, Then Market it, Then Cover the Product Liability, Then Carry the inventory
    ...
    ...
    ...
    When you do all that above... Then ### online

    Quit Complaining and Wash the Roof
    Jack Harley
    (Clean as it comes Inc. ) Naples FLORIDA

    -3 Votes
  • Da
      Apr 10, 2010

    I found out long ago (20 years) that using certain chemicals(detergents) with good activity (ions) and chelting agents will effectively wash a shingled roof . There are also rinses that will leave a polymer or silicone residual in it"s wake to help prevent quick regrowth. I believe there are people who claim you can "find many companies who offer soaps which will work" but truly there are a few companies who offer comprehensive plans and "already figured out" ways of effectively cleaning. Envirospec has been around for years and offer all kinds of great chemicals which will effectively clean. Roof a cide offers a comprehensive plan to their niche.
    The writer makes some valid points from his experience. He does seem slightly bitter from my interpretation of his writing. He may feel justified. Any way you see it...you will have people who figure out their way of cleaning and their way of saving money. I can only tell you from my experience...epa is coming down the road...it WILL happen! Just how long will it be before you get caught... and what price is it paying on the environment and your ability to sleep at night from poisoning the earth (Im not a tree hugger at all) Its not the dam soap that is the problem, its the tar and petroleum that washes into the storm sewers from the softened shingles...you can argue this till your blue in the face...but if the epa comes to your location and takes a water sample of your waste water and finds the petroleum in it ...you get fined ...period...period...no lawyer is going to save you..and besides a roof washer aint got the funds to bleed the epa in court...dont fool yourself... They win everytime..
    so the bottom line is still do what you can till you get caught... OR RECLAIM YOU WASTE! Reclaim reclaim reclaim!!!

    -2 Votes
  • Cl
      Sep 02, 2011

    Click here to learn more about how we can help your Community:
    http://professionalroofcleaning.blogspot.com/

    +1 Votes
  • Ro
      Sep 09, 2011

    Roof-A-Cide is just cheap Copper Sulfate. The roof still has to be cleaned first and is usually done by pressure washing, ins pite of what Roof-A-Cide claims. The work is all basically sub-contracted out to pressure washing companies. Here in Venice, Fl the Roof-A-Cide guy is Hoover PRESSURE CLEANING. THEY PRESSURE CLEAN. Nothing "gentle" about that!
    Then, after the walk all over your roof to pressure clean it, to properly use Roof-A-Cide, they have to come back when it's dry and walk all over it again, to spray the toxic Copper Sulfate and then again, every 2 years. THAT'S THE WARRANTY.
    Notice, most of their advertising is devoted to slamming their competition. The say "Chlorine causes damage" The roofing manufacturers disagree and say "USE CHLORINE AND TSP up to 50% chlorine" Believe the Roof-A-Cide salesmen or believe the roofing manufacturers, that's up to you.
    Most of the comments here were from Roof-###-Cide salesmen, this is the manufacturers and ther association-
    From GAF Roofing Manufacturers about black algae removal:

    http://www.gaf.com/Documents/Algae_Staining_on_Shingled_Roof_Surfaces_-_Steep_Slope_Techn-43-808-v3.pdf

    Below is a partial "cut and paste" excerpt from GAF on how to clean a roof:


    "If a new roof is not an option, GAF recommends cleaning the roof with a special mixture. That mixture is:
    4 gallons of water, 1 gallon of bleach and 1 cup of TSP"


    "What NOT To Do! Do not power wash the shingles to clean the shingles. Some roof cleaning companies offer this service.
    However, it is not recommended."


    From ARMA roofing manufacturers Association-how to clean roofing.

    http://www.asphaltroofing.org/pdf/tb_217.pdf

    Below is a partial excerpt cut and pasted below from ARMA:

    Algae discolorations to remove from roofing surfaces, applying a solution of
    chlorine bleach, trisodium phosphate, and water. Solutions for these ingredients depend on the amount of discoloration. Solutions range to one cup TSP and 2.5 gallons each of bleach and water. { Note that they are suggesting up to 50% chlorine!}
    First, gently disperse this solution on the roofing surface. Avoid scrubbing the surface, as this friction may loosen and remove granules.
    Caution!
    High pressure washing systems for algae removal should not be used.

    Owens Corning Roofing manufacturers says the same thing:

    "USE CHLORINE and TSP" "DO NOT USE A PRESSURE WASHER"

    Corning info in link below.
    Click Link, Go to "Do I need a New Roof" Then to "Algae growth" and read what the manufacturer says.

    http://webapps.easy2.com/cm2/flash/generic_index.asp?page_id=36077811

    0 Votes
  • On
      Jul 07, 2012

    I have been in the pressure washing and roof cleaning business for 8 years. I have an A rating for this service on Angie's list in Sarasota Florida. This guy slams roof- a- cide pretty good, maybe he goes a bit overboard, but he hits on to some real problems in our industry . This is the real problem and maybe a solution. Everyone in this business (roof cleaning)wants alternatives to sodium hypocloride (chlorine) that are safe and not harmful to themselves their clients or landscape and they for the most part want to to the job as fast as possible with the best results.It is true that the shingle manufactures themselves are recommending chlorine and TSP to clean roof shingles and low pressure to rinse them off after treatment. Copper sulfate is just an alternative to chlorine, and a pretty unsafe one at that.There are already some safe bio washes on the market, and some metal based ones as well. I have tried them all with varying success. Zinc sulfate works great on mold and is easy to apply, A down side is that is a preventive and not a good cleaner. So you need to clean first then apply it. It lasts about 2 years. Sodium hydroxide will also work., The downside is it does not last more than a year or two at most, and the cleaning thing again The real promise for the future lies in Titanium Dioxide a material commonly found in sunscreen and paint. That product in several forms has proven photo catalytic so it works with moisture and UV light to manufacture hydrogen peroxide a natural disinfectant. As of now the best I can tell it is safe and effective for up to 10 years.The downside is if you happen to spray it on the glass you will be very sorry as it will not come off very easily or at all...ever!. It also has the habit of not remaining suspended in water for long so setting can occur. As of yet I have yet to find any one application cleaner and algae treatment. You would think with all the new nano technology out there and all the people experimenting and with company's like 3M and BASF they would come up with something cheaper and more effective than Chlorine and copper sulfate but as far as I can tell no one has it perfected yet.. My hope for the future is a sunscreen type product that can be applied directly to algae and kill it and keep it off or 5- years. If that does not work you can always use your pressure washer to sandblast like I am doing for the City of Sarasota in this photo.

    +1 Votes
  • Da
      Jul 15, 2012

    If the roofing manufacturers say to use chlorine to clean their roofing, why would anyone listen to anyone else?
    If Ford says to use motor oil in your engine and John Browns Garage says they are all wrong, instead, use a product he invented. You would have to be nuts to listen to him!
    It appears-from the only facts I see here-that chlorine is the right chemical and pressure washing is the wrong method.
    But, you can have your roof cleaned any way you want, as long as you are not worried about the manufacturer voiding your warranty.
    In 2 minutes of online research, I found this link, saying NOT to allow applications to your roof, such as Roof-A-Cide???
    http://www.asphaltroofing.org/pdf/tb_227.pdf

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Jul 16, 2013

    If you want to see how non corrosive roofacide is drop a beer can in the mix see if it disappears lol

    +1 Votes
  • Fl
      Aug 22, 2013

    The roofing manufacturers association says specifically to not allow such field coatings to be applied. http://www.asphaltroofing.org/sites/default/files/tech-bulletin/tb_227.pdf

    +1 Votes
  • Co
      Mar 19, 2014

    Sour grapes to someone that doesn't know what he or she is talking about or most likely a competitor that wants to spread negativity. I have been an applicator for eight years, using Roofacide successfully on all roof substrates and have never had a failure. The owners of Roofacide are the most honest and reputable people in the business. I have completed over 50, 000 roofs with consistent repeat customers who are always extremely happy with the results. Please check my website for precise information or contact us if you have any questions or concerns about any negative comments you may read about. Coastal Painting Company

    -1 Votes
  • Jo
      Mar 20, 2014

    I have looked over this link. I can see how someone that's not familiar with our product, process, and Proven Results might be a little confused - but here are the facts about this particular anonymous rant:

    • It's a 5-year old anonymous post by someone with an obvious grudge against Roof-A-Cide and me personally (the username name is "john brown sucks"). I think it's a disgruntled competitor - we have quite a few of them.
    • The original comment shows that the person writing has a little bit of knowledge about what we do, but not much. For instance, no one that was an actual Authorized Roof-A-Cide® Applicator would think that we were atomizing chlorine.
    • It's unfortunate, but sites like this are often used by people that want to defame a good a company without legal consequences. That is obviously the case here.
    • If you took a look at the comments in this link a little further, you would notice two things: (1) The people making the negative claims are anonymous and have only posted on this entire site once in order to trash our product and (2) The people that have legitimate knowledge of the product and have used it have had no problem in using their names and the names of their companies.
    • Consider this: If a company had a legitimate claim like this, don't you think they would make the name of their company known so that they might have some credibility or stand a chance of getting some sort of restitution or reimbursement?
    • Name ANY successful product and it will take me less than 60 seconds to find an instance on the Internet where someone hates it and has nothing negative things to say about it.

    Now here are the facts that should be considered when weighing this post against everything else that is out there on the Internet about us:

    • We have over 20 years of PROVEN results. We've proven that Roof-A-Cide® is not only safe for the roof and the landscaping but that it's also effective at preventing the recurrence of the algae for years with each treatment.
    • Since day one, we've been working with both the EPA and EVERY MAJOR ROOF MATERIALS MANUFACTURER in the US to have our product evaluated and approved for use on roofs. We are the ONLY company that has an EPA registration and approvals from every major manufacturer for almost every type of roof.
    • We work with some of the most established Roofing, Painting, and Property Maintenance companies in Florida because they know how safe and effective our product & process is.
    • You would be hard-pressed to find ANY reputable Roofing company in Florida that finds it acceptable to use bleach the way it's currently used to clean roofs and you would be hard-pressed to find ANY of them that have enough confidence in a product that they would guarantee results for years - BUT 4 out of the 5 largest, most established Roofing companies in Florida work with us as Roof-A-Cide® Applicators.
    • We recently won a Florida Community Association Journal Readers Choice Award because of our work with HOA & Condo Communities throughout Florida: http://www.flcaj.com/readerschoice/index.cfm
    • When a company has been around as long as we have, someone that can't compete on the level is going to use the anonymity of the Internet to try to cast what we do in a negative light. Again, name ANY successful product and it will take me less than 60 seconds to find an instance on the Internet where someone hates it and has nothing negative things to say about it.

    So while we can't prevent anonymous Troll comments online - we can do these things that NO other company can:
    1. Offer a product that has been PROVEN over 20 Years to be safe and effective
    2. Provide references of communities throughout South Florida that have used it
    3. Have it applied by reputable companies that are licensed and trained to do it properly, and
    4. Guarantee with confidence that the product will work EXACTLY the way we say it will

    John Browne
    Roof-A-Cide
    http://Roof-A-Cide.com
    http://CommunityRoofs.com
    http://NoMoreRoofCleaning.com

    0 Votes
  • Eu
      Apr 15, 2014

    Most manufactures of Asphalt shingles impregnate the shingles with Copper Granules during manufacturing. In the South eastern US, this is common practice to be sold as Fungus Resistant Shingles. Over time 6-8 years, these granules wear off and algae sets in and starts growing. The treatment is the cure to long time algae growth!
    Say what you want to say, but in life we ALL eat supplements to make our nutrition better so we can live longer. Think about Roof-A-Cide as a ROOF LIFE EXTENDER rather then bashing the manufacturer for having a great franchise business model. Putting the same product back into the manufactured product is NOT bad business, just smart business. The fruits and oranges grown here in Florida is treated with the same type of products...Get off the bashing platform.
    Most people in America want instant gratification for any work they have done. With that being said, this is where chlorine gets it fair share.
    BUT, and this is a big BUT, most aren't properly insured with Workman's Comp and SHOULDNT BE UP ON YOUR ROOFS! The cheap chlorine can end up costing you a lot more than just a cheap chemical wash. A huge insurance claim against your home could force you monies out of your pocket!

    -1 Votes
  • Ba
      Jun 05, 2014

    According to several historic preservation orgs I contacted, pressure cleaning an old barrel tile roof does too damage it. It removes the glazing which then makes the tile permeable so that it's now more susceptible to the mold, mildew, growth of algae, staining, etc. Not to mention that subsequent pressure cleanings remove layers of the tile which can significantly decrease the life of the roof. Plus, walking on the roof is never good. for the tiles, no matter how careful the employee (and most aren't; they crack them and then deny it and refuse to fix it). Tile is supposed to age, to develop a patina. It adds character & improves the integrity. HOAs need to stop trying to make developments look like Disney parks & issuing orders for things they don't understand.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
      Jun 14, 2014

    Roof-A-Cide is a gimmick only! The Asphalt Roofing Manufacturers Association says specifically not to allow any coating to be applied to your roofing! It says no roof coatings have proven to have any beneficial effect, but that it can void some manufacturer warranties and break some county or state rules. If you read the full fine print, you will see that 1st, Roof-A-Cide only says your roof will stay clean for 2 years, if you pay first to have them pressure wash it [which the ARMA says specifically "Do Not Pressure Wash" roofing.] And 2nd if the roof had been cleaned properly, with the specific non-pressure cleaning method and chemicals, specified by the ARMA [ called soft-washing] then, it would stay clean for well over 2 years anyway, in fact, 3-4 years is common in South Florida, if the roof is soft-washed. Further reading of the Roof-A-Cide warranty, also shows that they don't just come back for free! It's a pro-rated service. In other words, a gimmick that 1st does not work, 2nd creates a need to have a pressure washer used on your roof-against the Asphalt Roofing Manufacturer's Association { ARMA } specifications. Lastly, it's an ongoing contract and you pay regularly throughout the years, usually having them back up on your roof every 2 years, blasting away with pressure washing and spraying their "Copper Sulfate" which is all Roof-A-Cide is, back on your roof. Look up Copper Sulfate on Google as "POISON" It's listed up high on the EPA site as dangerous! Here is a picture of a roof being Soft-Washed - not Pressure Washed!

    +1 Votes
  • Ch
      Mar 26, 2015

    Ive Been in the pressure cleaning business for 15 years I've tryed several different methods and products over the years and I always go back to pressure cleaning the roofs with a 20%sh rinse my roofs last 3-4 years
    I think products like these are great as a.maintenance to prevent future growth but they still need to be pressure cleaned before you can start these treatments
    So.there is.some truth to what the naysayers are saying
    Most people will wait till its.dirty again before they have it cleaned again so these maintenance packages are hard to sell to individual homeowners
    I think they work fine for HOA which only wanna pay $150 for doing a roof that should pay $300 plus
    Unfortunately there is no clean all cure all

    PC&M of WPB inc

    0 Votes
  • Kl
      May 20, 2015

    Hi from the UK
    We have been in the roof cleaning, restoring industry for 21years over here. Yes we are colder, damper and have different tiles but the theory remains the same, porous surface or granular surface is a great haven for mosses, lichens, algae so and mould. I came over to do a pilot roof for a friend in Anna Maria a few back now and not only cleaned and treated his roof we coated it with a water repellent coating ( which naturally becomes self cleaning as micro organisms get washed off as opposed to being absorbed or caught in th substrate) This roof is not white, like many I saw, it is a burnt terracotta and looks stunning. The added bonus is that it reflects upto 70% of the sunlight which reduces his air on bills by upto 30%. Furthermore it will stay like this for ten years or more. We did bring our own product with us with its height content of ceramics for the insulation. I am following roof a cide on Twitter so I can keep up to date with the market in Florida. I have the sole distribution rights to the products which have a proven record in Europe. If anyone there wishes to find out more or ask a question please do. This process could become huge with the right (reputable professional) people.
    Julian Tuck
    Kleen-Slate UK www.kleen-slate.co.uk
    Sorry if you feel I am interfering

    0 Votes
  • As
      Dec 05, 2015

    Ive been cleaning in south fl for 15 years and i'm always looking for a safer eco friendly way to do the job but quite frankly, all of this non-sense
    of back and forth bashing is not very helpful. It seems to me that most pressure washers always go back to SH for cleaning.
    I feel you use what works best for you and YOUR CUSTOMERS! As far as pressure washing is harmful for cleaning concrete tiles!! poo poo!!
    The NATURAL element of rain down here will in time wash off the coating that is applied to your roof tile from the factory.. hense the reason why the roof gets 4 to 5 years from new to the first cleaning. Anyone who cleans a roof the right way will only get 2-3 years between cleanings because of the erosion of factory sealer. This is why its so hard to sell a maintenance program, most customers do the math and realize its cheaper to just clean it when they get the notice from their HOA. Just my thoughts on this page of confusion.

    DAVID/ASA PRESSURE CLEANING

    0 Votes
  • Roof-A-Cide is a Florida Community Association Journal Reader's Choice Award Winner for 2014, 2015 & 2016 with over 20 years of PROVEN RESULTS for Homeowners, Communities, & Contractors.

    The original poster was likely a disgruntled competitor.

    -2 Votes
  • Roof-A-Cide® is the ONLY EPA Approved solution that safely PREVENTS roof stains for years with each spray. It is also approved by the largest roof materials manufacturers of Asphalt shingles, Clay Tiles, Concrete Tiles, Stone-Coated Steel, and Slate.

    Roof-A-Cide® is Safe, Cost-effective, Proven, AND GUARANTEED.

    -2 Votes
  • Ju
      Aug 12, 2019

    Sorry to enter the fray at this late date, but after Roof-a-cide cleaned my brand new roof (HOA mandated it) my roof had long dirty streaks that weren’t there before and never went away. They claim their employees don’t weigh very much so they can’t do any damage. That is so much BS, not to mention, I watched them drop the sprayer on the roof when they moved around. Heavy metal piece. Don’t trust them.

    0 Votes

Post your comment