Whittaker Homes Complaints & Reviews

Whittaker Homes6 - 8 mths building time - not met - took 20 mths !!!

We signed contract in Feb 2006 with the expectations that it would take 6-8 months to build unless a hurricane or unexpected delays occurred. They actually finally delivered & closed on my house in October 2007. The roof truss was left outside for months which caused it to get mold and mildew substantially before it was actually placed onto the house. Customer service is horrible to have them return to tweek things that went undone like my driveway not being scored at the appropriate time, therefore causing major cracks in the driveway. Can only seem to get faxes sent in to request for something to be addressed. Phone calls were rarely returned in spite of numerous phone messages I left.

6 - 8 mths building time - not met - took 20 mths !!!
6 - 8 mths building time - not met - took 20 mths !!!

Whittaker Homes
  • Wine Is Good Jun 25, 2016

    Too much information missing here. We are building a house, and there is a LOT that happens after you sign a contract and BEFORE construction begins. It can literally take months after a contract signing for your builder's package to be approved by your lender, your loan application to be prepared, signed, and accepted by the lender, your plans to be approved, permits to be approved etc. THEN comes the backhoe on the property. Weather also plays a part. This is Florida. Was construction began or going on during rainy hurricane season?

    Your roof truss would have been pretreated to protect against mold and mildew. So what you should be looking into is not only the contractors who ordered and placed the roof, but asking for a supply log to see who the roof wood was purchased from. Every piece of your home will have paperwork to back it up. You need this information for warranty purposes and also for any issues.

    Your contract should have also included a clause to protect you from things like this.You need to read over your contract again. Then you need to think about hiring an attorney.

    1 Votes

Whittaker HomesLack of communication, did not finish home

My husband and I signed a contract to have Homes by Whittaker (out of Ocala, FL) build a home for us in July 2005. The contract stated that the company would do their best to complete the home in 150 days. There was a delay caused by waiting for building permits; permits were finally done in November 2005. Whittaker construction did not start on our home until January 2006, and it dragged on all year. There were complications during the entire process, seemingly due to poor communication between the various subcontractors and the job supervisors. We were able to move in finally in December 2006, with a long punch list to be addressed. Well, here it is September 2007, and many punch list items are still not completed. The most important of those things are that our front door is defective and needs to be either repaired or replaced. It is an expensive door with a glass panel in it, and the panel is crooked. Our side door to our garage was to be replaced as well, due to it getting dented by the crew during the building process, and this has not been done either. It is not even installed securely to our home, and there are open spots in the stucco finish around this door where water can and does get in. I'm sure that is not good for the integrity of the stucco. The exterior of the home received one coat of paint. Our grass sod (included in the price of the home) was not placed where we had indicated that it needed to be, and much was destroyed when we put in our pool this summer. Overall, this was one of the absolute worst experiences we have been through, and I would NEVER recommend anyone to do business with this company. A neighbor of ours also had a home built by Whittaker, during the same time as our home was being built, and his home took almost two years to be completed. I watched several other homes being built, finished, sold, and moved in to while we waited for our home.

Whittaker HomesI would not recommend this builder to anyone!

I signed with Whittaker on October 2005. We were told it would take 8 months to complete after the slab was poured. It took them 8 months just to start. They billed us for a large amount of fill without telling us the cost before it was delivered. (We had asked them for 4 months to let us know what the cost would be for extra fill.) When we asked for the original bill from the fill company, they refused to give it to us. The trusses were delivered without being covered. They were put up black with mildewed. We tried to contact the builder through the sales person, the on site supervisor, the main office and return receipt certified letter. We never got a response. We finally moved into our house in March 10, 2007. We are still waiting for repairs to be done on the house from the punch list. We have no expansion joints in our poured concrete driveway, a cracked tile in the bathroom, a large hole underneath our garage side door, two outside spigots that make a constant loud sound when you use them, bubbles in our vinyl flooring, a shower that does not drain properly and tile in the kitchen that was done incorrectly. I would not recommend this builder to anyone. I have built 2 other houses and never encountered the lack of communication or the amount of problems I encountered with this builder!!!

  • Gi
    GI May 14, 2008

    In our opinion, we would never recommend this builder either.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    Whittaker Buyer, Wessex Ct Mar 11, 2009

    Got concrete? You're going to need plenty to repair the cracks in the porch and the driveway that Whittaker does not cover on the day you close, at your own expense. You will be directed instead to the Home Buyers Warranty Limited Warranty Coverage form. This will be "reviewed", sent to Whittaker for their response, and then you will be sent a form letter stating emphatically that "concrete is not covered under your original contract."
    We were denied the option of an exterior walk through on closing day because it was raining. The very next day revealed two long cracks in our aggregate driveway and 2 cracks on our concrete porch. Our complaints were met with complete and total disregard by the Whittaker Corporate staff. Repeated calls and messages went unacknowledged. We placed these items on our 4 month service repair list letter and after no response, on our 11 month letter. A worker came out and ran a bead of silicone caulk onto the porch cracks. The project repairman, never told us the driveway would not be addressed, however, he stated not to count on the concrete company to show up, because they had a reputation for being unreliable. This was confirmed by the fact that it took over a year for a re-pour of the back garage door cement pad which had also broken away, 2 months after our closing. This last step, no pun intended, seemed to be Whittaker's version of their "Mission Accomplished". The pad broke away again 6 months later and remains in that condition today.

    After all the hype, full-page advertising and boasting, Whittaker has proven to be anything but New-Homeowner-conscious. Once you've signed at closing, you are on your own. Think we are an isolated case? Think again. Virtually every neighbor on our circle has had to fight for many other major issues consistently denied as not warrantied by Whittaker.

    I will never recommend this builder to anyone looking for a home, used or new. Here at the Golf Club of Wentzville you will pay an exceedingly expensive Homeowners' Association fee. And yet, any reasonable request for action will fall on deaf ears. Our street, driveway, sidewalk, and inadequate storm sewer is an unsightly discolored, mosquito-infested mess.

    Caveat Emptor.

    0 Votes
  • Nm
    nmccormack Nov 28, 2016

    I have lived in a Whittaker home for over 20 yrs. The house has a lot of quirks, but the biggest problem is that rain seeps behind the kitchen doors and rots the wood, deck, kitchen floor, doors, ect. After speaking to many neighbors, they have the same problem. My niece bought a Whittaker house in another subdivision and they had the same problem there. We have taken down the deck for the 3rd time and tried to fix the problem, but still the water is leaking under the door onto the kitchen floor. I think it's time to call in a contractor. We also have the same problem with the walkout basement door.

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem