Stonebridge Life Insurance Complaints & Reviews

Stonebridge Life InsuranceThey dont know what they are doing

I got the papers in the mail and signed up and found out they weren't right ihave another policy with someone else so I realized stonebridges papers don't even have all the right info. I called and asked them why didn't I get a paper to fill out about a beneficiary they acted like it was normal and told me if something happened to me they would track down a family member to give it to. Basically they knew they weren't paying but sent me a paper they probably made up.

Stonebridge Life InsuranceNo Notice Expired Policy

My mother recently passed away at the age of 90.

In 1982 my mother purchased a life insurance policy written by Stonebridge Life Insurance. She faithfully made the premium payments on a policy that would pay out $2, 500 at the time of her death. I think she assumed this amount would cover her final expenses and perhaps it would have in 1982.

My mother moved to an assisted living facility in 2002. In 2003 she changed the beneficiary on her life insurance policy written by Stonebridge Life.

At some point in time Stonebridge Life informed my mother that the cash value of her policy would make premium payments on her policy and therefore she did not need to mail in her premiums.

No further contact was made between my mom and Stonebridge Life Insurance.

Upon my mother's death which occured January 8, 2010, I contacted the Customer Service Department of StoneBridge Life Insurance Co. After a considerable amount of time spent on hold, I was informed that my mother's life insurance policy had "expired" in September of 2009. When I inquired as to whether she was mailed a notice or otherwise notified, I was told "we do not have to notify you" and no payment would be made to cover my mother's final expense.

Obviously had we been notified of the policy's impending expiration we would have gladly made any necessary premium payments to keep the policy in effect.

I feel cheated by Stonebridge Insurance Company and would STRONGLY urge anyone considering doing business with this company to reconsider based on my experience.

My mother was very proud of the fact that she bought and paid for an insurance policy that would cover her final expenses. We were treated with no sensitivity. This company epitomizes corporate greed.

Stonebridge Life InsuranceLiar

I have had two policies with them for a couple of years. I canceled my credit card and had them direct bill me. I always paid my bill on time yet they still called my home and harassed me saying your not current on your bill. I found this website and was surprised by the number of complaints. Well I just called them and the guy there denied that people complain and I had him read me off about my two policies well it seems as though what I am paying for and what I thought I had were two different things so I canceled..I feel much better..I hate being taken in..

Stonebridge Life InsuranceBogus

I just received a letter from you confirming and congratulating that I registered from Stonebridge Insurance Company with certificate – Accidental Death and Dismemberment. I have never registered with stonebridge, nor do I need insurance because my wife and myself are currently covered under another insurance policy elsewhere!!! Tell them to stop this bogus claim, OR ELSE we will not buy from their stores anymore!!! Please CANCEL the said policy IMMEDIATELY!!!

Stonebridge Life InsuranceMisleading advertising

I received a card in the mail offering $10.00 from Penney's just for calling Stonebridge's 800 number to learn about their services. All I had to do was make a purchase at JC Penney's and send the receipt to Stonebridge and I would receive a check for $10.00--well I sent them my receipt and I did recieve a check for $10.00 which I put in my bank account. Today I received a notice from my bank letting my know that the check from Stonebridge was returned because the account the check was written on had been closed. I'm sure JC Penney's would like to know how Stonebridge is using thier good name to mislead people--I know that I would never use Stonebridge for any insurance purposes!

  • Sh
    Shel111 Feb 09, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My mother took out a policy she was lead to believe was life insurance with stonebridge life. Informed me that she just wanted to know she left me and my brother a little something to help. Paid premiums monthly that were upwards of 40 dollars. My mom passed away this dec years after informing me of the policy which turned out to be accidental death n dismemberment. My poor mother suffered and died of a brain tumor and would be so heartbroken to know they scamed her. My father paid the premiums monthly to stonebridge life so the premium made sense for a life insurance. This is so wrong. I have sold insurance and am sad that they are co
    Companies that would do such a thing. Anyone else have this problem? If so you can email me at [email protected]

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Stonebridge Life InsuranceFraud

I received a JC Penney rebate offer from Stonebridege and complied with their terms.I received a $10 rebate check which I cashed and was notified by my bank that it was was returned insufficient funds and my account was assesed a $19 fee. Stonebridge now has my JC Penney account information and my checking account information and they want more to make it right.

Stonebridge Life InsuranceStay away

On April 26 at 7:10pm, I received a call from a very rude Stonebridge tele-marketer. I told her that I was on the "State-wide Do-Not-Call" list and she immediately laughed and stated that because I was a JC Penney cardholder then I couldn't be on the "Do-Not-Call" list and she continued with her script. I told her that I wasn't interested and she said "let me finish." I told her that she was finished, I wasn't interested, and to put me on their "Do-Not-Call" list. She called me rude and stated, "If you wouldn't interupt me, then I could finish." I then hung up on her.

The lady I spoke with should be fired. There are too many unemployed people who would be happy to represent their company better when dealing with customers.

I plan to contact JC Penney also to express my unhappiness with their affiliation with Stonebridge and for giving out my personal information without my approval.

Stonebridge Life InsuranceScam

I mother open and account with the insurance years ago and was paying her bill throught Jcpenney. When her bill being to double and could not keep up with the charges. We discovered that some had open three more accounts. We called Jcpenney and they had nothing to say. The first lady stating that the insurance was to pay off bills if she lost her job and provided a number to contact Stonebridge. We call Stonebridge and was given two options one was to take a six month pay off or have them to listen to a tape. The account was open since 2009 and it is 2011. To agree on something like that is ridiculous. Insurance is suppose to help people not hurt.

  • Da
    David Aug 07, 2009

    My credit card was charged with an insurance premium out of the blue. I never ordered it not did I sign anything. It was a complete ripoff. When I called the company I was upset and told the customer service rep to just be honest and admit what they did. He got rude with me and told me to be honest about ordering it, which I never did. One of the sales people evidently just signed me up without authorization. Then the rep cancelled the policy and hung up on me. He didn't credit my account so I had to call back to get my account credited. I have shred my credit card and will probably not shop at JCP again because of this. Complete ripoff!

    0 Votes
  • El
    elaine 65 Jan 14, 2017

    have been trying to pay my bill, We have always made our payment over the phone to J C Penny, but they keep rejecting my check ? Could you please get in touch with me 7702677237 .

    0 Votes

Stonebridge Life InsuranceI feel cheated by Stonebridge Insurance Company

My mother recently passed away at the age of 90. In 1982 my mother purchased a life insurance policy written by Stonebridge Life Insurance . She faithfully made the premium payments on a policy that would pay out $2, 500 at the time of her death. I think she assumed this amount would cover her final expenses and perhaps it would have in 1982.

My mother moved to an assisted living facility in 2002. In 2003 she changed the beneficiary on her life insurance policy written by Stonebridge Life.

At some point in time Stonebridge Life informed my mother that the cash value of her policy would make premium payments on her policy and therefore she did not need to mail in her premiums.

No further contact was made between my mom and Stonebridge Life Insurance.

Upon my mother's death which occured January 8, 2010, I contacted the Customer Service Department of StoneBridge Life Insurance Co. After a considerable amount of time spent on hold, I was informed that my mother's life insurance policy had "expired" in September of 2009. When I inquired as to whether she was mailed a notice or otherwise notified, I was told "we do not have to notify you" and no payment would be made to cover my mother's final expense.

Obviously had we been notified of the policy's impending expiration we would have gladly made any necessary premium payments to keep the policy in effect.

I feel cheated by Stonebridge Insurance Company and would STRONGLY urge anyone considering doing business with this company to reconsider based on my experience.

My mother was very proud of the fact that she bought and paid for an insurance policy that would cover her final expenses. We were treated with no sensitivity. This company epitomizes corporate greed.

  • Ed
    Ed Hinerman May 20, 2010

    I'm sorry for your loss and the treatment you got from Stonebridge. While it doesn't help you, I can assure you that your treatment is rare in the life insurance industry. As for Stonebridge I would contact your state insurance commissioner. For no charge they will investigate the matter and there's a good chance Stonebridge will pay rather than deal with the investigation.

    0 Votes
  • Wp
    Wpayton5599 Mar 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am also sorry for your loss, and they cannot do that to you without notification. They must notify you by mail at least once a year of the status of your policy.

    0 Votes

Stonebridge Life InsuranceA lose, lose, lose, lose situation

I've canceled my insurance policies (solicited by phone some years ago). Stonebridge continue to bill credit or store card who then refuse to accept cancellation of policies unless from Stonebridge - despite being told verbally and in writing to all of them! Just keep charging, what can the customer do? A lose, lose, lose, lose situation.

  • Brandon Ceaser Jan 25, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Calling me at 11:17 with excuse my language.Without any reasoning or purpose from StoneBridge Corporate Office.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    flutterbye22 Jun 12, 2014

    Dear Hardso, I was wondering if you ever got your money back and how? I too cancelled my accounts over a month and a half ago. Then they kept on charging my bank account even though they even wrote me back on May 5th 2014 that they would no longer charge my bank account for any payments this would have been great too considering I cancelled them at the end of April. I have written down every name of the people I talked to and the day and times. It is now time for legal action!! For the second time a woman with Stone Bridge told me none of my over drafts were their fault it was my banks fault. SERIOUSLY!!!??? I have faxed them my bank statement even and it says Stone Bridge Life Insurance on my bank statement!! Why on Gods green earth would a bank like Wells Fargo risk their reputation by using a Life Insurance companies name and robbing me of a $35.00 over draft fee 2-3 times a week AT LEAST!! It's official I don't trust any corporation any more!! Who cares if we take this disabled woman's last penny then some must be their MOTTO!! Please if you can let me know how you handled this and did you get your money back?? My e-mail address is [email protected] Thank You, Becky H.

    0 Votes

Stonebridge Life InsuranceMy credit card was charged with an insurance premium out of the blue

My credit card was charged with an insurance premium out of the blue. I never ordered it not did I sign anything. It was a complete ripoff. When I called the company I was upset and told the customer service rep to just be honest and admit what they did. He got rude with me and told me to be honest about ordering it, which I never did. One of the sales people evidently just signed me up without authorization. Then the rep cancelled the policy and hung up on me. He didn't credit my account so I had to call back to get my account credited. I have shred my credit card and will probably not shop at JCP again because of this. Complete ripoff!

Stonebridge Life InsuranceDo not deal with this company

I want to let others know about bad business practices by Stonebridge Life Insurance Company. They fool the elderly about responsive service, but when it comes to paying what is rightfully owed, they drag their feet and in my case do not pay accidental death benefits. I lost my husband almost a year ago as a result of complications from an accidental fall three months later. After months of reviews, expensive documents, mail and emotional stress, Stonebridge rejected my claim because they did not see a direct cause between his fall and his death.

Stonebridge did everything they could to delay and not pay what was clearly seen by others as owed to me. I am on a fixed income and what little I was to receive would have gone to pay for his burial and my own cancer medication.

Fortunately for me, I had a second policy with AAA Insurance and they did not see any issue and quickly paid me. I paid Stonebridge premiums for many years and all I ask is that they live up to their promise.

I recommend no one purchase policies from Stonebridge Life Insurance Company and instead look to AAA as a much better company to deal with.

Stonebridge Life InsuranceRefusal to cancel policy

Have been trying to cancel a policy my mom bought years ago and had deducted from her checking account. Now she's in a nursing home with dementia and I have power of attorney. Have sent my PoA to the company twice along with a letter asking that the policy be cancelled. Although I have a receipt for the second letter, the company denies receiving it and refuses to cancel the policy or the charges against her checking account. This appears to be a deliberate strategy to prevent customers from cancelling their all-but-worthless policies with Stonebridge Life.

  • Ir
    irishmantx Mar 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I hate to say this, but when JC Penny sold my mom and dad a policy
    when I was born, it 'was' a great company. Now that "Stoned Binged"
    took over, I looked into an Accidental Death and Dismemberment
    policy. Big Mistake!! DO NOT Go To These Losers!! I opted for the
    quarterly payment, make my payment and then, I get put on monthly billing. The 'loser phone reps' I spoke to, listened with their eyes rolling, or not paying attention. I like to know how I can contact a lawyer who specializes in insurance fraud? Which attorneys on here I can trust to file insurance fraud charges against this company? I got a bad feeling this company don't care about the
    customers but only their paycheck. I had rude phone reps and a
    cold hearted 'manager' Jaimee who appear to listen with a stoned
    and binged heart. I really hope a real insurance company can
    buy them out! My mom pays monthly payments to these losers
    and gets upset if I want to cancel my policy. Typical moms. LOL
    But "Stoned Binged" is not a professional company, they are worse
    than me!! LOL If anyone out there is suffering like I am, which attorney may I contact to file charges of insurance fraud? I got a bad
    feeling, when the inevitable happens, and I get power of attorney or
    these losers want to sell this account to collections, I will have to sue
    and spend a lot in lawyer and court costs. Oh well.. I just don't trust
    many insurance companies out there.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Justme28 Apr 15, 2011

    This company is a joke. My Dad died 8years ago. and I called them atleast 8 times and faxed the Death certifcates atleast 3times. they kept taking the money out of my moms account. Over 7 years they charged a insurance prem on man that died 8 years ago. I hope a lawyer reads about these complaints and files a case action against them.

    0 Votes

Stonebridge Life Insurancewant to cancel no idea how

jcpenny has me on a monthly life insurance thru stonebridge life, we can't sem to find or figure out how to cancel it, rip off.

  • Jm
    jmtchel Feb 17, 2009

    You should be able to go this website http://www.stonebridge-jcp.com/ and email them or call the toll free # 1-800-527-9027.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    linda c walters Dec 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    THIS COMPANY WILL CALL, CALL, CALL TO GET YOU TO ADD A RIDER TO YOUR POLICY. TALKED TO AN REP BY PHONE ABOUT A WEEK AGO AND HER TO PUT ON THEIR FILES (DO NOT CALL ME AGAIN) JUST GOT ANOTHER CALL FROM THEM IF THEY KEEP IT UP I'M CANCELING.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    irishmantx Mar 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also feel cheated by 'stoned binged' and I want to know if anyone has
    thought of contacting an attorney for insurance fraud charges and or
    other related to similar charges for the way this company is doing the
    customers. I feel 'stuck' but I may want to cancel payment to a place
    that screws me over. Let it go to collections and go from there. I need to find another company. IS THERE ANY LAWYERS WILLING AND HAVE THE GUTS TO SUE THIS COMPANY? Anyone up for a class action lawsuit??? How many on here, seriously want to file charges and also contact the State Attorney's office? Greg Abbott is Texas's Attorney General!

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tony Shafaee Jun 28, 2012

    Hi,
    My name is Tony and I totally agree with you, they did the same to me.
    On Feb. 3Th, 1987 they had me to sign up for the accidental insurance with the promise that, if, NOTHING happens to me in ten years, then they be more than happy to pay back all my paid premiums.
    On Dec.3rd 2007 they cancelled my original policy on their own and seven days later they reopened a new one without consulting with me or sending a check for all those years and I thought that the original policy still is enforced that is why I was keep making a payment until few days ago when finally I was able to get the hold of them, to my surprise, I was told that on Dec. 10, 2007 the new policy has been in effect or my old policy has been switched to the new one which on the new policy there is not such a deal.
    I was informed that I should write a letter to their head quarter which is located in Plano, Texas and ask them why this happened to me.
    I asked if, I may have their phone number or their e-mail address instead of writing a letter which will take months to get the result back, but again to my surprise such huge insurance company dose not a have phone number or the e-mail address to resolve their clients issue!!!.what this one tell you?
    I feel that I got STUCK right here and they are acting like bullies.
    If any one out there can help me, please do so, I will greatly appreciate.
    Thank you.

    1 Votes
  • Ir
    irishmantx Jun 30, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear Tony, Unless you got an attorney that Stone Bridge is scared of, and the same attorney can legally attack, don't expect any money back. Best course of action, find other victims of Stone Bridge, network enough victims to approach some law firms and file a multi-million dollar lawsuit. If you or others feel the same way, about Stone Bridge, its best to grass root network other folks who suffer the same thing, and approach an attorney. Take it to the Media! Plano, Dallas Media loves scandals, and [redacted]s. See if they can air this. Find a lawyer to challenge all these concerns Stone Bridge did! My mom and dad still pay on a policy, I'll never get because I went to Aflac! :) But I digress, who would listen to my advice and make a difference? My car broke down, and I'm on stay-cation, so I borrow my mom and dad's back up car for work, walmart, and paying bills ect.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    martha milliken Sep 02, 2012

    I want to cancel but telephone always busy.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    William J. Theriot Mar 29, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am in 100% agreement that a class action lawsuit signature petition be placed on a temporary website that can then be placed with a law firm that specializes in class action lawsuits to compensate all of the "VICTIMS that grown in size over the last 20 years


    Sincerly,
    William J. Theriot

    0 Votes
  • @William J. Theriot Has anyone taken any measure as far as contacting a lawyer or lawsuits? My grandmother passed away in November and I knew she had me listed as a beneficiary however I did not know the name of the Institution of Insurer. My mom and I just recently found these papers in her belongings and when I call they said her insurance has expired. The last 4 - 5 years has been in and out of Retirement communities - I am not sure what to do but my grandma did keep a register of payments along with paperwork. This isn't about money anymore this is about what is right for the American people and these insurance/retirement companies getting rich off of us and then dumping it in to some trust fund in South Dakota or Colorado that can never be retraced. We need to stand up

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Kristie40 Nov 14, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are charging my JcPennys credit card without my permission. I called jcpennys and they said they can't do anything.

    0 Votes

Stonebridge Life InsuranceDeath Benefits Not Paid

My mother purchased two small life insurance policies while working at JC Penneys about twenty years ago and they were sold to Stonebridge Life Insurance. We had to recently put our mother in a nursing home and due to the high cost of the home had to inquire about possibly surrendering her life insurance policies with Stonebridge. We called them in early November, 2008 and were told we would need to fax them a letter requesting the forms to surrender her policy. Unfortunately our mother passed away on 11/30/08. When the funeral home contacted Stonebridge about her life ins. they were told it was surrendered. We had not heard a word from Stonebridge nor did they send the forms until they heard she had passed away and they quickly started the procedure to surrender her policy. We are not talking about alot of money but it is the principle that our Mother paid this policy religiously and for them to pull this stunt is unthinkable. They are trying to tell us that all you have to do is send a fax with the policy number and signature and they will surrender the policy. Did you ever do anything with an insurance company that did not involve alot of paperwork? I would not buy a thing from Stonebridge and would encourage any consumer not to do so either. She had a small policy with Prudential Life Insurance and we faxed the same letter to them and they sent forms but since the forms were never sent in we will be paid the death benefits - seems maybe they are more reputable than Stonebridge Life Insurance. Please do not buy anything from Stonebridge - they are not to be trusted and are very rude to deal with

  • Jo
    johndoe Jan 28, 2009

    I do not know out of which office this policy you speak of was serviced out of, however as a former employee please e-mail the Vice President of the Exton PA office Brian Smith at [email protected] The local number is 610-648-5000. He is a bit pompus, but should escallate it enough to get resolution. They are preaching first call resolution, this one should do it for you. good luck.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DarrinC Jul 01, 2009

    These jerks have been spamming me with phone calls for the past month. They call twice a day, and if you pick up the receiver to tell them to take you off their list (which I shouldn't have to do, since I'm on the "do not call" list), it's a recorded message saying that all their operators are busy, and to call back later. And they called me! This is so obviously a scam, it's not even funny.

    0 Votes

Stonebridge Life Insurance — Insurance Fraud

Received a flyer from JC Penney to enter a shopping spree, called the 8OO number and was offered a chance to...

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem